The Way It Is

  • Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Jun 21, 2005
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Cole's voice is sweet and ringing, like a wiser version of Lil' Mo who has had to weather a tremendous amount of drama.
  2. The New York Times
    80
    [An] excellent debut album. [27 Jun 2005]
  3. Vibe
    80
    Cole's ability to belt to her heart's content saves the album from its inconsistent production. [Jul 2005, p.137]
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Cole's street-savvy Oakland, Calif., upbringing gives her vocals depth and her songs a genuine, lived-in feel. [8 Jul 2005, p.69]
  5. These songs stay stuck with you like a lump in your throat.
  6. For the most part she rides the album's multiple peaks with a rare mix of street smarts and chops.
  7. Sadly, The Way It Is never quite lives up to the album it could have been.
  8. Los Angeles Times
    63
    Her vocals can be surprisingly characterless, but at times Cole manages to lightly convey the deeply contradictory emotions involved when love goes wrong. [10 Jul 2005]
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    Keyshia dona, amores. Não merece essa nota ridícula dada pelos usuários, what a shame. Vocês não sabem apreciar r&b, beijinhoooooossssssssKeyshia dona, amores. Não merece essa nota ridícula dada pelos usuários, what a shame. Vocês não sabem apreciar r&b, beijinhoooooossssssss gossip girl Full Review »
  2. LisaK.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    I love this album i really do. I think that it is timeless u can never get tired of it and if u do just pop in "just like you". And the I love this album i really do. I think that it is timeless u can never get tired of it and if u do just pop in "just like you". And the monica and mary comparison it's not necessary these women are all talented including ciara, beyonce, ashanti and mya. It's not fair 2 put them up against eachother. Full Review »
  3. NickI
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    This album is perfect from start to finish.