User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. geophriq
    Jul 31, 2004
    8
    When listening to a John Frusciante album for the first time, it is imperative not to expect a certain sound or feel based on his past albums. Like all great artists, Frusciante makes sure that each album differs greatly from all his others. While his last album--Shadows Collide With People--was a highly produced, time consuming disc reminiscent of the synthesizer sound of the 80s, The When listening to a John Frusciante album for the first time, it is imperative not to expect a certain sound or feel based on his past albums. Like all great artists, Frusciante makes sure that each album differs greatly from all his others. While his last album--Shadows Collide With People--was a highly produced, time consuming disc reminiscent of the synthesizer sound of the 80s, The Will To Death is miles away. His voice sounds stronger than ever, his songs are extremely relaxed, and of course his guitar continues to have that seductive heart wrenching delivery that makes him arguably the finest guitarist still in action. Because of the nature of the album compared to others in his repetoire, The Will to Death is bound to disappoint some listeners who expected a more zany effort. Rest assured though, John Frusciante is still without a doubt, on top of his game. Expand
  2. carlyw
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    Amazing, obviously punk isnt dead yet. When i listened to it i cried beacause of its raw origionality and beauty.
  3. WichIta
    Jan 17, 2005
    9
    Lets be honest here, the guy is a guitar god. He's got the freakiness of Barrett, he's become as prolific as Zappa and he's sold as many albums as Hendrix. This album see's him develop more clarity, and as usual there's a couple of tracks that you just wish he'd left out, and a couple of pieces of music that you wish just went on forever. I'd love to see Lets be honest here, the guy is a guitar god. He's got the freakiness of Barrett, he's become as prolific as Zappa and he's sold as many albums as Hendrix. This album see's him develop more clarity, and as usual there's a couple of tracks that you just wish he'd left out, and a couple of pieces of music that you wish just went on forever. I'd love to see a best of of Johns. I've made a few different ones on the iPOD but if you put his best songs together he might just get the solo recognition he's more than deserving of. Expand
  4. DaveyD
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    an absolutely amazing album.hes amazing and this album shows his briliance once again. his lyrics are deep and meaningful and each song takes you to another plain...
  5. NoFuture
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    God Bless Frusciante
  6. patm
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Anything john plays is amazing.
  7. JonathanB.
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Perfect.
  8. MarcD
    Jul 27, 2004
    8
    If you like this, buy Shadows collide with people. Very few musicians today can put out this amount of quality in such a short time. If you are looking for RHCP, don't look here, or at any of his solo work. The best term I can use to describe is "catchy"
  9. PatrickB
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    I really believe that this guy is the greatest musician of this decade. Not only is his guitar work always brilliant, but he can churn out 6 albums in 6 months - all of which are amazing. The Will to Death, along with Inside of Emptiness, is probably my favourite of all John's albums (including Blood Sugar Sex Magik, my favourite Chili Peppers album).
  10. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    It makes me cry, every single note is full of passion, this man is not joking. His life is music. John Frusciante is my favorite composer of all time. These songs are perfect for a rainy day, perfect for the heart that is in love, perfect for the ear that wanna hear some of the beauty that can be created with a guitar and a voice that goes deep in your feelings. Just listen to it and let you go!
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 70
    Stirring but sombre stuff. [Aug 2004, p.86]
  2. As another impressive portion of his potent '04 output, Will to Death's immediacy and quality should quiet the critics-- particularly those who pegged his early solo records as the work of a narcotics pain-train washout.
  3. Zooming sheets of spacious wind-tunnel prog and raw, solo-spattered soul. Commercially, it's suicide. [26 Jun 2004, p.55]