This Is Forever

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Oct 9, 2007
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2016
    0
    The influence is obvious, but the passion is lacking in this muddled and unappealing album. Repetitive and dull are the first two words that come to mind when listening to this, but I can also see how someone may in fact enjoy it. Some songs can be catchy after a couple listens but the band itself can rub anyone the wrong way. For starters the name of the band is pretty much the conceptThe influence is obvious, but the passion is lacking in this muddled and unappealing album. Repetitive and dull are the first two words that come to mind when listening to this, but I can also see how someone may in fact enjoy it. Some songs can be catchy after a couple listens but the band itself can rub anyone the wrong way. For starters the name of the band is pretty much the concept of the album. I'm not kidding the album is filled with the angsty breakup cheese one can expect, but it never really satisfies the listener. About 10 minutes into the album I was thinking about Walking Away, which is never a good sign. What I Want is a band that has a unique but also can provide meaningful, thought provoking lyrics, but apparently that is too much ask. Especially for this band who has neither characteristic. In terms of She Wants Revenges's career It's Just Begun, and the band has some promise. The singer, Justin Warfield has a very unique voice, so they got that going for them. I just expected a lot more from a band that has Barak Obama's personal DJ. Thanks Obama. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    This album is heavily influenced by an early 80s cold wave sound, but I wouldn't say that its going for nostalgia or ripping of anybody. The production is clearly heavily inspired by that of bands like Bauhaus, but make no mistake, this is not redoing what has been done, and it actually breathes new life into a genre that has been devoid of anything interesting for about 25 years.The albumThis album is heavily influenced by an early 80s cold wave sound, but I wouldn't say that its going for nostalgia or ripping of anybody. The production is clearly heavily inspired by that of bands like Bauhaus, but make no mistake, this is not redoing what has been done, and it actually breathes new life into a genre that has been devoid of anything interesting for about 25 years.The album goes in well as a whole, with the standout tracks, apart from the singles, being the excellent "She Will Always Be a Broken Girl", "This is the End", and "Rachel". Collapse
  3. ErikH
    Nov 5, 2007
    2
    Ben H., never favorably compare shit like She Wants Revenge to legends like Joy Division again... ever. There's no comparison in quality at all.
  4. benh.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Ian's dead. Dave's sober. She Wants Revenge is the only band to energize the noirish roots of new wave. If Joy Divison isn't for you, then SWR isn't for you either. Just be honest about it instead of claiming that they "ape" those who have come before them. SWR must be on to something if the Rolling Stones are doing shows with them.
  5. amandaa.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Awesome, as usual.
  6. franke.
    Oct 28, 2007
    7
    I don't know if its the critics who are giving this negative ratings cause you've had The National, Acrade Fire, Panda Bear, Animal Collective, and all that more abstract music all year, but this is really catchy and good to jam to. It's just as good as the new Pinback.
  7. DrewM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    8
    ME WANT FOOD!! Oh sorry....I think it's pretty damn good. My girlfriend hates them after she discovered "tear U apart" could be about rape. Good stuff overall!
  8. brandonw.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    They use a catchy style involving hopelessness and the many pitfalls of life. Without a lot of room to improve from their debut album they used all of it.
  9. MounirB.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    This is band is very reminiscent of the Cure in their particularly broody periods - like Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me
  10. TheSmokingCupcake
    Oct 19, 2007
    7
    I'm mystified at the reaction to this album. It is, I admit, not essential and a bit daft (given the level of mimicry), but who goes out to get a SWR album expecting ground-breaking, life-changing material. It is what it is and its just as (I cringe to use this adjective) "fun" as the last one. If you want Depeche Mode, listen to Depeche Mode. If you want Joy Division, put on your I'm mystified at the reaction to this album. It is, I admit, not essential and a bit daft (given the level of mimicry), but who goes out to get a SWR album expecting ground-breaking, life-changing material. It is what it is and its just as (I cringe to use this adjective) "fun" as the last one. If you want Depeche Mode, listen to Depeche Mode. If you want Joy Division, put on your copy of Closer...And, if you can't, at the very least, respect Replacement for the picture perfect retread of Low-Life era New Order, you haven't been listening to this record closely enough. Expand
  11. JustinZ.
    Oct 18, 2007
    8
    Reminds me of the 80's... new wave synth at it's worst. But I love it!
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. While a few songs put the "meh" back in melodramatic ('Walking Away,' 'This Is the End'), This Is Forever is full of catchy songs that improve on the band's first album.
  2. Of course, nothing on This is Forever is really new territory; the 80’s influenced synthesizers, the electronic drums, the monotone vocalist, it’s all been heard before. It’s all been done so much better.
  3. This is She Wants Revenge's "The Black Parade:" a lot dumber, but a huge improvement.