• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
This Is... Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the Swedish duo of Caroline Hjelt and Aino Jawo features guest appearance from Charli XCX as well as production from Stargate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    91
    It’s a refreshingly fun album with no pretenses, just plenty of sing-along hooks and dancefloor jams.
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    It plays like a sweet-toothed sparring session, one punch after the next of joyful high-pitched barking.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    79
    This Is... Icona Pop, like Carly Rae Jepsen's "Kiss," may someday be viewed as a full-length that included one pop masterpiece, but that underscores the delectability of the treats Icona Pop has sprinkled around that triumph.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    70
    Even when they're shouting, they do so in a particularly musical and distinctive way, and although their smash is one of five This Is… songs the duo had no hand in writing, they nevertheless suggest a consistent sense of authorship through the intensity of their shared ecstasies and frustrations.
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    66
    Two songs from the EP made the cut for the album (“Ready For the Weekend” and, predictably, “I Love It”) and though the latter--a Charli XCX co-written club banger--still stands out high above the rest of the album’s tracks, the songs that comprise This Is...Icona Pop are even larger and louder than their predecessors.
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    60
    It has ten passable tracks and one certified super-smash that will either get listeners gleefully singing-along or reaching for the skip button. You decide.
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    40
    It’s not a terrible album. It’s not a spectacular train wreck. It is, in fact, so remarkably unremarkable that neither a glowing nor incinerating score feel deserved.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 18, 2015
    9
    This is exactly the kind of album that makes you want to live. The sounds are very festive and efficient even in the slower tracks. The duo isThis is exactly the kind of album that makes you want to live. The sounds are very festive and efficient even in the slower tracks. The duo is perfectly synchronic and gives shape to a powerful music.
    There is no a worst or a best track (although the first ones are more direct and catchy than those of the second half).
    Appreciabile highlights include the emotions in Just Another Night and the total madness in Ready For The Weekend.
    Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Many pop songs revolve around the dance floor and the drinks, drugs, sex, etc. that go along with it. But in this throbbing set of danceMany pop songs revolve around the dance floor and the drinks, drugs, sex, etc. that go along with it. But in this throbbing set of dance anthems, Icona Pop captures the experience and emotion of party-culture with an sincerity and (dare I say it?) maturity that few others have managed, giving to what might otherwise be tired themes a fresh idealism and an intellectual spark missing from the works of contemporaries like Kesha and Lady Gaga.

    With this LP, swedish singers Caroline Hjelt and Aino Jawo aimed to create music “which you can both laugh and cry with at the same time.” The album achieves this desired affect through intense, aching beats and earnest, tight vocal harmonies, and by giving to each tune a bright, inflinching optimism about the future that rings nostalgic for all of us “90s b****”s out there. And, of course, the tracks are all so darn catchy. Without a doubt, this is one of the best pop albums of the year.
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    A great and enjoyable album. I love how Icona Pop have made this album fun and that's what make it more interesting. Get ready for half anA great and enjoyable album. I love how Icona Pop have made this album fun and that's what make it more interesting. Get ready for half an hour of singalongs and dancefloor anthems! Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    Eh. I have heard better albums than this one, but some songs are actually really good! The best songs are "I Love It", "We Got The World", andEh. I have heard better albums than this one, but some songs are actually really good! The best songs are "I Love It", "We Got The World", and "On A Roll". Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    Perfect dance-pop album. Full of fun bops. I Love It is probably the worst song on the album, All Night (summer anthem) and Hold On are myPerfect dance-pop album. Full of fun bops. I Love It is probably the worst song on the album, All Night (summer anthem) and Hold On are my favorite tracks. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    O álbum bom em si, mas algumas músicas são horríveis! Mas em compensação há músicas ótimas como All Night e I Love It. Este grupo tem futuro,O álbum bom em si, mas algumas músicas são horríveis! Mas em compensação há músicas ótimas como All Night e I Love It. Este grupo tem futuro, e acredito no sucesso delas. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    Have to give this cd a 5. I love the track "I lLove It" and hoped the rest f the cd would be similar fun, sing-a-long, dance music, althoughHave to give this cd a 5. I love the track "I lLove It" and hoped the rest f the cd would be similar fun, sing-a-long, dance music, although it missed the mark for me, and for me, only two or three songs are remotely enjoyable. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews