This Machine Kills Artists

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
This Machine Kills Artists Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Artist(s): Buzz Osborne, Buzz Osbourne
  • Summary: The debut full-length solo release for the Melvins' Buzz Osborne is an acoustic 17-track album.
Buy On

Top Track

Drunken Baby
I walk or crawl 'cause it's easy for me I am unsure of my mind and speech I wanna say thank you to all my friends I won't complain about beginnings... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 80
    The music might be slightly quieter simply because it isn't amplified, but it's not any gentler than his usual stuff. By contrast, Osborne seems to be going out of his way to make these recordings as combustible as possible.
  2. Magnet
    Jun 18, 2014
    This Machine Kills Artists is definitely lengthier than need be, but if this album has an intended accomplishment, it's further illustrating the expanding range of Osborne's songwriting abilities. [No. 110, p.59]
  3. The Wire
    Jul 14, 2014
    Without a doubt these are good songs, and Osborne's vocal is always ear grabbing. But I'd love to hear the full band versions they deserve. [Jun 2014, p.55]
  4. 67
    On the whole, Osborne turned a confusing detour into an interesting wrinkle and a worthwhile addition to his massive catalog.
  5. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 18, 2014
    At 17 tracks, it becomes a bit of a repetitive slog towards the end, but it's good to see that this old dog has just as much bite as ever when he strays. [Aug 2014, p. 209]
  6. Jun 3, 2014
    Buzz’s riffing and attack give the songs enough personality to sound individual and prevent the album becoming an analogous mess.
  7. 40
    It is an interesting experiment, but realistically most listeners will struggle to get past the first couple of tracks before reaching for their trusty copy of Houdini.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 17, 2016
    Please forgive my 2 year late review but I never would have believed that this album would have been relegated to such treatment. This onlyPlease forgive my 2 year late review but I never would have believed that this album would have been relegated to such treatment. This only proves how jaded "professional reviewers" have become. Seeing that this album was made by one man nearing his 50's, and that he most likely hates all that "professional reviews" represent...I could possibly understand the scores as if they thought his very existence was a personal slight.

    Sorry guys, this isn't made for radio **** This album is a guy and an acoustic guitar. And this album still has far more personality than the vast majority of the crap force fed to the masses these days.

    Want to hear a true unknown legend (unknown to the masses but widely accepted as a god by those within the industry)? Then sit back and enjoy perfection. Google the man and see what he helped create. After doing so respect the longevity of his career, his abrasive non-commercialism, his influence upon several genre's of music, and the balls it takes to put together this album.

    "This Machine Kills Artists"....part of that machine are these so-called "professional critics". A bunch of bought and sold nut-cuppers with the integrity of a filet-o-fish. They wouldn't recognize music for music's sake if you slapped them in the face with a red herring. They are not musicians, they are not artists, they are hacks.

    This album, and yes I call it an album, is pure acoustic bliss. Yes, it has it's highs and lows but when listened to in its entirety it is truly a complete masterpiece. This was not recorded with an eye to commercial success. It was recorded as a labor of love. It should be appreciated as such.

    It simply is a one man acoustic tour de force.

    The opening song, "Dark Brown Teeth" sets the tone perfectly and says much about professional critics; whether intentionally or not. But each song melts organically from one to the next.

    "Laid Back Walking" is an amazing track albeit far too short. "Vaulting Over a Microphone" is a languishing lament. And then "New River"...listen to that critics...
    "The Ripping Driving" is as rock n' roll as you can ever aspire to be...but it takes only
    King Buzzo and his guitar to pull it off.

    Quite frankly not only the name of the album but the names of the song's prove that this is an indictment upon the music industry as a whole. King Buzzo presents a very powerful case. Appreciate what has been given to you critical twits and realize that music is not a popularity best it is an expression of honesty laid is not something to be commercialized.

    It is what it is.

    And given the drivel that is considered music these days it is damned near perfect.