This New Day Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This fifth album for the Brit rockers was produced by Youth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Each of their albums so far has been misleading because none of them have really caught what Embrace are about properly, who they are. This New Day, warts and all, finally does that.
  2. This New Day is an excellent companion to Out of Nothing, with only a slight drop-off in quality.
  3. 'This New Day' is, by Embrace's own standards, a triumphant album indeed. [25 Mar 2006, p.35]
  4. Sounding suitably big and blustery, it's also stuffed with lots of positive thinking and hopes for a better tomorrow. [May 2006, p.128]
  5. 40
    This large, noisy album will probably satisfy Embrace enthusiasts while continuing to baffle those who can't see the point. [May 2006, p.105]
  6. An album so overblown yet inspiration-free as to be worthy of national shame.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. RachelR
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, best so far.
  2. Julian
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    They do not disapoint. I was worried after the short time between Out of Nothing and This New Day, but the positive confidence that Out of They do not disapoint. I was worried after the short time between Out of Nothing and This New Day, but the positive confidence that Out of Nothing created has seen them create their best work yet. The best may still be coming.... Listen to "Target" for a snapshot of the band. Collapse
  3. matthew
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Best Album yet. The critics are so off on this one. I cannot stop listening to this album. I've been a fan since their first album. I Best Album yet. The critics are so off on this one. I cannot stop listening to this album. I've been a fan since their first album. I thought that we had basically heard their best stuff with thier first two albums, but THIS is the most amazing Full Album from start to finish. If you're a fan of Embrace, then you are indeed smiled upon by the Gods. Expand
  4. DavidP
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    This New Day is a great album from an amazing band who have recently risen up and left all the ashes from some of their earlier work. From This New Day is a great album from an amazing band who have recently risen up and left all the ashes from some of their earlier work. From the first single 'Nature's Law' to the similarly anthemic 'Target' to the melancholy future single 'I Can't Come Down', this most recent album is as good as 2004's Out Of Nothing. Almost all of the songs are soaring hits - skyscrapers! Expand
  5. Sooperkat
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    This album is a real grower. I've listened to it over and over and just keep finding new layers. Beautiful.
  6. MarkJ
    Apr 17, 2006
    9
    Incredible album - don't understand the bad reviews, which seem to sugges that someone just doesn't like good music.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2006
    0
    The most pointless band in the world... ever!

See all 15 User Reviews