Timbaland Presents Shock Value Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Hives, Fall Out Boy, Elton John, Justin Timberlake and Nelly Furtado are among the guests on the prolific hip-hop producer's latest solo disc.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Shock Value is a far-reaching and ambitious disc; a masterpiece, even, in its own way.
  2. Timbaland's good stuff — ''Oh Timbaland,'' ''Bounce'' (with Timberlake, Dre and Elliott), and half a dozen others — is really good: music that moves the hips and stirs the head.
  3. Shock Value doesn't feel as random and indistinct as many albums by producers using all-star lineups do. [19 Apr 2007, p.62]
  4. The beats here are as staggering as ever, but of an indulgent 19 tracks, none sound like they were good enough to give to anybody else.
  5. 40
    It's strangely joyless. [Jun 2007, p.115]
  6. 40
    On Shock, Timbaland has pushed himself--he's clearly striving for some of the charisma his best collaborators ooze. [May 2007, p.113]
  7. A long collection of awful ideas and recycled ideas in the absence of an Idea.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. BrittaneyJ
    Jul 19, 2007
    this is a wicked album
  2. MaxS
    May 12, 2007
    Amazingly addictive album. The beats are amazing, the combinations are fresh and each song is vastly different from another.
  3. jonw
    Jun 19, 2007
  4. NathanL
    Apr 12, 2007
    Shock value has 17 tracks and I wish I could say I loved all of them.....but I don't. Tracks 1-5 track 10 and 13-17 are all good tracks, the rest I could have done without but I think Timbaland is great and the beats he has on his album are completely HOT! Standout tracks: Give It To Me, Oh Timbaland, Scream, Bounce, The Way I Are, Time, One And Only, Apologize. Expand
  5. CarinJ.
    Nov 22, 2007
    My suggestion is that you first listen to track #18 'Hello'; make up your mind thereafter. There are three or four more songs that are really good but it's a very mixed bag. Expand
  6. JosephA
    Apr 12, 2007
    Not very good @ all. A couple of stronger tracks among a lot of really weak, even annoying ones. Very disappointing. I recommend just picking up FutureSex/LoveSounds (Timberlake) & Loose (Furtado) Expand
  7. ToddW
    Apr 19, 2007
    This drek should be titled, "Timbaland Presents Suck Value." What a concept, a hip-hop artist trying to be shocking! With a supporting cast of has-beens and no-talents to lend a helping(?) hand, no less. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews