To Lose My Life

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    I'm a fan of good music first and foremost. This is without a doubt one of the best albums I've heard from any band. The lyrics, some of the darkest and thought provoking one can find. Music should drive emotion, and this offering sure does - big time ! Brilliant album.
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    This is actually a very good album. It has a very Editors/Joy Division feel to it. Now, I give it an 8 only because they said they specifically don't LIKE Joy Division and yet they sound a lot like them. If a band sounds like what they don't like, then I do have to knock it a little but Death and Farewell To The Fairgrounds are both incredible songs, and To Lose My Life is a veryThis is actually a very good album. It has a very Editors/Joy Division feel to it. Now, I give it an 8 only because they said they specifically don't LIKE Joy Division and yet they sound a lot like them. If a band sounds like what they don't like, then I do have to knock it a little but Death and Farewell To The Fairgrounds are both incredible songs, and To Lose My Life is a very haunting anthem. Overall, 8/10. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    6
    It's typical Indie rock - I wouldn't says it's synthy or anything but I get a Depeche Mode vibe off it. There are a couple of good songs on it but its mostly filler. The tracks on the first half of the record are my recommendations off of this. Everything else is distinctly average. It could be that the voice just doesn't click with me, I don't know but it's one of the more disappointingIt's typical Indie rock - I wouldn't says it's synthy or anything but I get a Depeche Mode vibe off it. There are a couple of good songs on it but its mostly filler. The tracks on the first half of the record are my recommendations off of this. Everything else is distinctly average. It could be that the voice just doesn't click with me, I don't know but it's one of the more disappointing records that I've bought over the last couple of years. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    To Lose My Life is a very dark album. People complain about how dark it is but I find it to be refreshing. I haven't heard a band with such dark lyrics since Interpol's "Antics". "Death" is a great opener and each track after that holds up. All In All, This a pretty good album.
  5. May 31, 2011
    7
    A good welcome to the music world for White Lies. Contains the right combination of anthems like "Death" and the title track "To Lose my Life", and feel good tunes like "Unfinished Business". Without a doubt there are some tracks which have a real stadium feel, and by that I mean that you could see these songs being blasted out in front of 60,000+ fans. However, there is some elements toA good welcome to the music world for White Lies. Contains the right combination of anthems like "Death" and the title track "To Lose my Life", and feel good tunes like "Unfinished Business". Without a doubt there are some tracks which have a real stadium feel, and by that I mean that you could see these songs being blasted out in front of 60,000+ fans. However, there is some elements to this album which are forgettable, but overall, a good album indeed Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    Catchier than Interpol, brighter than Joy Division and less serious than Editors
    Amazing album, Death was good song, but I fell in love with them since farewell to the fairground
    the only weak song is 50 on our foreheads
    I was waiting for some good new indie band to enter the charts
  7. NickJ
    Apr 16, 2009
    7
    Excellent debut. Perhaps steals sounds from several predecessors; The Killers, Interpol and a whole host of 80's guitar/synth bands (Joy Division anyone?) to mention a few. But it does it whilst producing some great noise. Very good dance music, fun, listenable to and a great sing-a-long for the car, if you don't mind slightly morose lyrics.
  8. ValM
    Apr 14, 2009
    7
    Nice voice. Very sweet arrangements. Rhythm section is perfect. It that kind of music when after listening you wanna create songs yourself. Despite some dark lyrics it makes living more enjoyable.
  9. alexr
    Apr 7, 2009
    7
    A good mix of Editors, Ordinary Boys and The Killers. Obviously not groundbreaking stuff, but it's certainly not a bad album. But certainly not a classic, either.
  10. jaspy
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    Energy, rock.... one of the best debut albums i've listened to... maybe a pair of weak songs, but amazing.
  11. ThomasJ
    Mar 27, 2009
    5
    If you think the Killers rock, this could be your definition of 'alternative'. However if you've heard the source material they're obviously borrowing from, you'd wonder why they decided to produce a boring, watered down version of something great.
  12. MusicMaven
    Mar 20, 2009
    7
    Best described as a more pop-oriented version of Editors or a British response to The Killers. White Lies bring some decent songs to the table, but this is well-traveled neo-post-punk territory. If you enjoy similar bands, it's worth a listen.
  13. PetarS
    Mar 18, 2009
    3
    Extremely boring and uneventful.
  14. JordanH
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Masterpiece from start to finish.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. The feeling remains though that their broad emotional strokes will have to concede something to intimacy and solitude to ever really win hearts.
  2. To Lose My Life is an album made to a predefined plan with skill and no heart.
  3. For all its glum pronouncements of murder, mortality and loss, it’s an ecstatic listen, ponderous party music.