Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    May 17, 2011
    60
    Such is the electronic murk elsewhere, it feels better to dabble your toes in this record than plunge right in. [May 2011, p.120]
  2. The Wire
    May 3, 2011
    60
    It's impressive on the first few listens, it grows irritating with repeat play. [Apr 2011, p.57]
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    60
    On its own, Tomboy isn't moving forward but it isn't treading water, either. Lennox performs a tricky balancing act in that sense.
  4. 60
    It's a gentle, woozy mood-scape in which nostalgia for the candyfloss summers of childhood shades imperceptibly into the sweet melancholy of encroaching autumn.
  5. Apr 14, 2011
    60
    While Person Pitch rippled with punctuated sound, Tomboy is a cyclic plateau, a triumph of building algorithms that gradually add plushness and sonic density, but very little movement.
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    60
    On Tomboy, he seems about half-awake, caught between the haziness of sleep and the defensiveness of waking life.
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    Tomboy once again sees Lennox creating a distinctive, hypnotic sound-world - but it sometimes feels too much like a world from which there is a strong desire to escape.
  8. Mojo
    May 17, 2011
    40
    Rather than gaining urgency Tomboy instead feels rhythmically constrained and sonically muted. [May 2011, p.100]
  9. Apr 11, 2011
    40
    Tomboy doesn't speak loud enough for us to hear it. It hums, rather; it mumbles. It actually can't speak.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of my favorite albums of the year so far. It sucks you into its unique sound world - I just keep going back for more. This isDefinitely one of my favorite albums of the year so far. It sucks you into its unique sound world - I just keep going back for more. This is right up there (if not better) than Person Pitch, in my opinion. Highly recommended. Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2011
    8
    Took a few listens to realise just how many great songs there are on this one. Overall though, I don't find it as memorable or versatile asTook a few listens to realise just how many great songs there are on this one. Overall though, I don't find it as memorable or versatile as Person Pitch. I get bored listening to this LP the whole way through at times because the songs have a very similar feel to them, but as individual tracks I can't fault them. Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Brilliant album, even not following the sampler-based and brilliant too Person Pitch; Noah's still delivering his best melodies and lyrics.Brilliant album, even not following the sampler-based and brilliant too Person Pitch; Noah's still delivering his best melodies and lyrics. Slow Motion and Last Night at the Jetty are the highlights, the reverbed guitars and the strange noises mixed with more minimal percussion create one of the best albums of 2011. Full Review »