Tomorrow's Harvest

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Tomorrow's Harvest Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the first full-length release in eight years for the Scottish electronic duo of Marcus Eoin and Mike Sandison.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    100
    It is chock-a-block with everything you have ever loved about the Boards over the last 15-some-odd years.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Though demanding repeated listens, Tomorrow’s Harvest distinguishes itself by making intense commitment (e.g. What’s the better way to enjoy it, headphones or stereo, broken-up “side” listens on vinyl vs. one full immersive CD spin?) a welcome task for the summer of 2013.
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    90
    Tomorrow’s Harvest is as strong a return to form as it is stunning an update, with the Scottish duo refining their blend of nostalgic sonics and futuristic sheen.
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Far from daft, Tomorrow’s Harvest is a psycho-spiritual stormer.
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    It's vintage Boards Of Canada--a beautiful, shimmering, electronic maelstrom of liquid, vintage synths and slo-mo beats. [Jul 2013, p.82]
  6. 80
    While their latest transmission isn’t the easiest to receive, upon success, it can be the most rewarding piece of science fiction in years.
  7. Jun 11, 2013
    40
    Where the dog-eared, snapshot ambient wooze of Twoism and Geogaddi once harbored a feverish throb, Tomorrow’s Harvest now prickles with hollow spaces: a fragmentary, pixelated symbolism has been lost in the construction of an outline of a broader system.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Although not as striking as their debut album Music Has the Right to Children, Tomorrow's Harvest is everything i had hoped for in a returnAlthough not as striking as their debut album Music Has the Right to Children, Tomorrow's Harvest is everything i had hoped for in a return from Boards of Canada. It has a feeling of fallout, what to expect after a cataclysmic event, and each track is its own part of that journey. There are throwbacks to Boards of old, and also new ventures into their sound scape and i can't stop listening to it. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    The silver lining around the eight-year wait between albums is that my yearning for more BoC sent me on deeper voyages through their catalogThe silver lining around the eight-year wait between albums is that my yearning for more BoC sent me on deeper voyages through their catalog until I had absorbed every vibration. At its bleakest, Tomorrow's Harvest never loses its undercurrent of optimism. For the experienced listener, BoC combines heart and brain in music that evokes faint memories of some forgotten, but beloved, home. Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I'm not sure how I missed this band. I search for new music all the time and I luckily came across Boards of Canada through metacritic. ThisI'm not sure how I missed this band. I search for new music all the time and I luckily came across Boards of Canada through metacritic. This is one of the best cd's I've ever heard. It takes you to a completely new place. Would recommend to anyone! Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    What I love about this album is that BoC are still BoC and it is still the best ambient music to date. But it is also completely different.What I love about this album is that BoC are still BoC and it is still the best ambient music to date. But it is also completely different. BoC were never so dark, so ambient and so non-melodic. But the atmosphere remains and that's what was initially that what made BoC so special, wasn't it? Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    Although Boards of Canada may not immediately strike a first-time listener as great fun, my own personal joy comes through involving myselfAlthough Boards of Canada may not immediately strike a first-time listener as great fun, my own personal joy comes through involving myself with the music rather than superficially glancing. Dissecting their music, and their clues and tricks, is what allows me to work out the questions I have about the band. Although everything Boards of Canada put into their music is right there in front of me and requires so little to lose myself in, it asks a lot of me to work things out. Although I can now look back at their older material and constantly confirm their intentions to myself, Tomorrow's Harvest will keep me occupied in this respect for just as long. Although I do have questions this time around, that are slight annoyances rather than general wonder, it’s this kind of trickery that keeps Boards of Canada enjoyable and by the time I've worked out everything from their music that I think I possibly can, they'vee left a sizable mark on my life. Collapse
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    8
    It sounds like pure Sci-Fi, but inspired on real humankind issues. The shortest tracks are the most deep and fascinating ones.

    Im still
    It sounds like pure Sci-Fi, but inspired on real humankind issues. The shortest tracks are the most deep and fascinating ones.

    Im still shocked how their music is very well known and they dont even have to play live. If you search on YouTube 'Boards of Canda Live', you will find nothing.
    Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 8 years of expecting for such an unispiral monotonous bland album. Only 2 tracks can be compared with previous melody-riched albums: Reach for the Dead & New Seeds. Just can`t believe how some of fans loudly praise it with words "their best album" or "this album changed my life". It seems so ridiculous especially after existing such lush, intricate, truly adventurous album like their "Geogaddi". Almost all the tracks of "Tomorrow's Harvest" were made of two or sometimes three sample loops strengthed for 4-6 minutes. Cant figure out how such boring builded stuff can be enjoyable. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.