Tonight: Franz Ferdinand

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jan 27, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 118

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2014
    6
    Although there are many hints of the brilliance that Franz Ferdinand have on this album with tracks such as "Ulysses", "No You Girls" and "Twilight Omens", there are too many weak tracks which drag the album down such as "What She Came For" and "Dream Again". I wonder why they didn't include the far better original version of "Lucid Dreams" instead of the long-winded 7 minute version whichAlthough there are many hints of the brilliance that Franz Ferdinand have on this album with tracks such as "Ulysses", "No You Girls" and "Twilight Omens", there are too many weak tracks which drag the album down such as "What She Came For" and "Dream Again". I wonder why they didn't include the far better original version of "Lucid Dreams" instead of the long-winded 7 minute version which doesn't seem to go anywhere.
    Best Tracks : Ulysses, No You Girls
    Worst Tracks : What She Came For, Lucid Dreams, Dream Again
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    7
    After a highly productive start to their career Franz Ferdinand more or less disappeared after album number 2. 4 years later here they presented us with "Tonight", a solid album that shows a logical progression from "You could have it so much better...". While "Tonight" doesn't have the knockout punches that were present on the bands' debut, "Tonight" see's an expansion of the bands'After a highly productive start to their career Franz Ferdinand more or less disappeared after album number 2. 4 years later here they presented us with "Tonight", a solid album that shows a logical progression from "You could have it so much better...". While "Tonight" doesn't have the knockout punches that were present on the bands' debut, "Tonight" see's an expansion of the bands' sound. The record is unmistakably Franz but their is a bigger range of influences to be heard and the band borrow from a range of late 70's early 80's acts (e.g Talking Heads for one). "Tonight" is a very good record without being a brilliant record. The band sound so comfortable with their style it makes their sound alternate between assured and lethargic. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    Seeming to have lost a vital part of what made them so great on their first two albums, Franz Ferdinand's third album is, as a whole, a substantial step down for this once great band. The depth of thinking and creativity that made great songs like "Michael", "Outsiders", "Take Me Out", and "Walk Away" is almost completely gone on this album, replaced by disco beats that do little to makeSeeming to have lost a vital part of what made them so great on their first two albums, Franz Ferdinand's third album is, as a whole, a substantial step down for this once great band. The depth of thinking and creativity that made great songs like "Michael", "Outsiders", "Take Me Out", and "Walk Away" is almost completely gone on this album, replaced by disco beats that do little to make up for it. That said, tracks like "Ulysses", "No You Girls", and "What She Came For" are just too infectious to ignore and save what would otherwise be a mediocre offering. Honestly, this album is going to come down to what makes you like about Franz Ferdinand. If its their fun and catchy side (example: "Do You Want To") than you will love this album, but if its their sarcastic and witty side (example: "The Fallen") you may feel less than fully satisfied by this album. Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    Critics are dull and often wrong. This is the most adventurous album the band has ever done, where every risk has payed off. It sounds like the band we have always loved, matured and a bit rough around the edges, which is a nice change. Gritty synths dominate the album. It has guts and plenty of them. Never a dull moment on this one.
  5. May 25, 2012
    9
    Adding a synth into the band as one of the central instruments is a welcome addition and welcome change, or rather, enhancement to FF's sound. The songs are as catchy as the previous two albums and the 7+ minute "Lucid Dreams" is a fantastic showcase of the newly added synth.
  6. GilJ.
    Jul 20, 2009
    2
    I wholly agree with the Paste review. "A band that once mattered" - who suddenly sound like they listened to too many recent Blur albums and think no-one gives a damn about tunes anymore. Unmemorable to the core and disappointing in the extreme.
  7. FrederikVanU.
    May 21, 2009
    9
    A genial album, specially Ulysses and Send Him Away.
  8. JeroenH
    May 1, 2009
    10
    According to some of the critics this album must be boring and by far not the best they can do. Luckily the critics as usual have no clue, as the difference in the rating between critics and users on this site shows. Franz Ferdinand actually managed to make an album that is timeless and addictive and becomes better every time you hear it. It's their best album yet and one of the very According to some of the critics this album must be boring and by far not the best they can do. Luckily the critics as usual have no clue, as the difference in the rating between critics and users on this site shows. Franz Ferdinand actually managed to make an album that is timeless and addictive and becomes better every time you hear it. It's their best album yet and one of the very best albums yet released in 2009! Collapse
  9. Katie
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    I have to laugh a bit at Allmusic's review. They're usually reliable, but... "a sound they established several albums ago?" "Several" usually means more than two, does it not? Silly writer, either learn what words mean or actually look at the discography. Anyway, a couple months after release and this is still my pick for album of the year, tons of fun and especially in the I have to laugh a bit at Allmusic's review. They're usually reliable, but... "a sound they established several albums ago?" "Several" usually means more than two, does it not? Silly writer, either learn what words mean or actually look at the discography. Anyway, a couple months after release and this is still my pick for album of the year, tons of fun and especially in the middle it's like one hit single after another. Seeing them in May - should be brilliant. Expand
  10. TwelveV.
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    A catchy pop album that is better than most, best album of 2009 so far.
  11. DanielS
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    I can't say this is the best album about franz ferdinand, but Tonight finds the feeling I was looking for about music years ago
  12. AlexD
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    Don't even bother reading the 'professional' reviews. This album is Franz-tastic!
  13. PierreB
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    This album gets better and better, though its not really inovating it is more musical and less loud then the album before.
  14. JuliaA
    Feb 20, 2009
    8
    I'd just complain about the lyrics...it's not as unique as before.though some words still gave you the silent shrug and winked 'aahh that's tricky' :). the music I'd just go against Lucid Dreams (too long with the noises in the end). My favourite tunes would be Twilight Omens and Can't Stop Feeling because it's just there repeatedly run inside my I'd just complain about the lyrics...it's not as unique as before.though some words still gave you the silent shrug and winked 'aahh that's tricky' :). the music I'd just go against Lucid Dreams (too long with the noises in the end). My favourite tunes would be Twilight Omens and Can't Stop Feeling because it's just there repeatedly run inside my head and YAY for that! Expand
  15. Leon
    Feb 19, 2009
    9
    This album is great. It seems the critics, have something against synthpop or anything on that track. Although they never come out and say it, you can tell by the above mediocre scores.
  16. Adam
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Its just brilliant. Franz Ferdinand once again produce a fantastic listen from beginning to end. Amazing!!!
  17. AronH.
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    It' something different again. Brave and very amusing.
  18. VéroniqueDECAUDIN
    Feb 7, 2009
    9
    A great, dancy, expected album.
  19. TiagoM.
    Feb 5, 2009
    8
    Slower and less aggressive than the previous works. Franz Ferdinand grew up too fast. Tonight feels like an album from a ten years old band that still work together making great songs but lost part of their vivacity. However, this album stands above the crowd, and certainly will figure between the best of 2009.
  20. ALD!
    Feb 4, 2009
    7
    I have to admit ---- this is slowly growing on me. If you loved their first two albums, you're going to have to really work at enjoying this record. They took the style of their previous "dance" records and kinda went overboard (in my humble opinion). BUT....it's still a good album.
  21. RobertoN
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    It is a great album, not better than their debut, but more consistent than 'You could have it so much better', even though it has some 'so so' songs. 'Ulysses', 'No you girls', 'Bite Hard' and the superb 'Lucid Dreams' are the bright spots of this album.
  22. EthanP
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    A very solid album from a band that has already proved themselves worthy!
  23. JayP
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    Just brilliant! So enjoyable and such a grower!
  24. DW
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    Fantastic new disc from FF. Was amazing to see it live and the energy and groove of this disc is out of this world. Who new FF could swing? Best album of the year.
  25. RyanC
    Feb 1, 2009
    10
    The best Franz Ferdinand album so far. Ulysses is a knockout single!
  26. CliffD.
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    Sorry I can't give it a ten, but it seems like all of the major magazines' criticisms are unwarranted. They say it's a good dance album but it lacks substance. I think it's about time for a good dance album, and I still think the lyrics are sincere if not meaningful. Not everything can be graded on the same basis as Dark Side o the Moon
  27. BrandonD.
    Jan 30, 2009
    7
    The songs that are good are interesting enough, but the rest is just dull, unoriginal, and unimpressive.
  28. ELWING.
    Jan 29, 2009
    9
    Tonight might not top the energy and hooks of the debut but an improvement from the previous effort nonetheless. Requires repeated listens to reveal true value of the album. And it's far better than those offered by most indie bands today. Franz Ferdinand are still the kings of dance rock.
  29. RayM.
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Reminds me of an uplifting dream you want to return to after you awake. The familiar sounds are reassuring, while new sounds delight. Nothing profound, but it makes you feel euphoric. Put your dancing shoes on!
  30. LixyT.
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Superb, superb. This album is filthy and ridden with sex and drugs, but retains a certain cerebral quality Franz Ferdinand have always managed to achieve. Other bands can only look on in awe at their versatility and imagination.
  31. SK
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    "Ulysses" is better than anything from their second album. An orgasmic dancefloor indie-pop tune , with an exciting production .I like especially the part in the refrain with the "out of time" warped beat & pseudo vocals(Scissor Sisters/of montreal) , like turning your vinyl form 45s to 33s! That's how actually the whole album flows , with a more "dancey" direction and some "Ulysses" is better than anything from their second album. An orgasmic dancefloor indie-pop tune , with an exciting production .I like especially the part in the refrain with the "out of time" warped beat & pseudo vocals(Scissor Sisters/of montreal) , like turning your vinyl form 45s to 33s! That's how actually the whole album flows , with a more "dancey" direction and some interesting production tricks , without losing their edge(clever , sexy and their dark melodrama still here) with tunes that make the album already sound like a FF greatest hits collection! Expand
  32. Kimberley
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Album of the year comes early.
  33. JoyM.
    Jan 28, 2009
    9
    I don't think it's as good as their first album, but it definitely lives up to the precedent they've already set, I love it.
  34. JJP.
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    best album ever made.
  35. KarolK.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Brilliant album - I'm impressed. Groovy and with a storng dance influence. I just prefer the old Lucid Dreams over the elector album version. The record is amazing nevertheless. The melodies, guitars, bass work, drumbeat that makes my heart beat faster - everything is in it's place. FRANZ is back! New songs are even better live. I've been to their gig in Warsaw and all the Brilliant album - I'm impressed. Groovy and with a storng dance influence. I just prefer the old Lucid Dreams over the elector album version. The record is amazing nevertheless. The melodies, guitars, bass work, drumbeat that makes my heart beat faster - everything is in it's place. FRANZ is back! New songs are even better live. I've been to their gig in Warsaw and all the new songs they played were perfect. Best release from them was for me their debut, but it's just slightly ahead of Tonight. Expand
  36. ShazzaD.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    It's no Franz Ferdinand (the album), and it doesn't wear its Screamadelica-era acid house influences perfectly, but the hooks and particularly the lyrics are as sharp as ever!
  37. CDouble
    Jan 27, 2009
    8
    Really enjoyable record. Even the lesser songs are still catchy as hell. The experimentation turned out great. This record is more danceable than their debut, and might be just as much fun.
  38. MattA
    Jan 27, 2009
    8
    I'm glad to have FF back after such a long hiatus. The album has some excellent dance/punk/rock tunes on it. However, not all are as catchy and memorable as their debut or sophomore. What i love about this band is that they always seem to be having fun, and doing what they do best. My only complaint is that i wish they took more of a risk with this recording. I believe that they I'm glad to have FF back after such a long hiatus. The album has some excellent dance/punk/rock tunes on it. However, not all are as catchy and memorable as their debut or sophomore. What i love about this band is that they always seem to be having fun, and doing what they do best. My only complaint is that i wish they took more of a risk with this recording. I believe that they should have tried something a little new, (an attempt is seen in Lucid Dreams long version) but i hope that their next record has them taking some risks. Overall, a fun record to own, but not quite as memorable as their last bits of brilliance. Expand
  39. KevinR
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    Not the very best of Franz Ferdinand, but this album is just too damn catchy and fun to call anything but great.
  40. BobA.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Good, hard driving beats. Channels a little Jim Morrison with the Cure.
  41. RossB.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    It's been a while since I've put Franz Ferdinand on my itunes, even though I really enjoyed both of their previous albums...so I almost thought twice about picking this album up....but it's been the only thing on my itunes since, some fantastically catchy tunes from the opening current single Ulysees it starts rocking your socks off, works its way through some quirky lyrics It's been a while since I've put Franz Ferdinand on my itunes, even though I really enjoyed both of their previous albums...so I almost thought twice about picking this album up....but it's been the only thing on my itunes since, some fantastically catchy tunes from the opening current single Ulysees it starts rocking your socks off, works its way through some quirky lyrics and good old rock n roll before ascending into some funky electronika to finish, topped off with an acoustic little number to see you out. Great stuff, still exciting, energetic and engaging. And scottish, which is always good :) Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Filter
    78
    The lurching rhythms, slick hooks and stomping choruses are still everywhere you turn, but the Fraz lads have branched out, with seemingly mixed results. [Holiday 2008, p.90]
  2. 70
    Even at just 42 minutes, Tonight is relentless, yet the comedown is exquisite.
  3. 60
    For all their adroitness, most of the songs on Tonight sound too similar to each other (and to existing Franz Ferdinand songs).