• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NivB
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    A lot of people are comparing this album's songs to the hit "1 Thing" - and that's something which is wrong to do. True - "1 Thing" is a truely amazing creation from Amerie, and the producer that brought us Beyonce's "Crazy In Love". And true, most of the album's songs don't match the greatness and uniqueness which is "1 Thing". However, as compared to Amerie A lot of people are comparing this album's songs to the hit "1 Thing" - and that's something which is wrong to do. True - "1 Thing" is a truely amazing creation from Amerie, and the producer that brought us Beyonce's "Crazy In Love". And true, most of the album's songs don't match the greatness and uniqueness which is "1 Thing". However, as compared to Amerie previous effort - "All I Have" - and to similar artists, she manages to create a unique, energetic, and vibrant music that just makes jump up and shake your booty... This may not be that one album that breaks through and becomes a classic, but for what it was meant to be - a pop/R&B album that is meant to make summer nights even hotter - it does exactly that, and maybe a little more Expand
  2. SamK
    May 19, 2005
    10
    Dis iz da best album at da mo. It iz worf it.
  3. DwightV
    May 18, 2005
    9
    This is one of the better R&B albums to come out the last couple years, her album is right up their with Beyonce's and Alicia Keys. I can't stop listening to it and I'm not even a huge R&B fan.
  4. LizzyB
    May 28, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album, bought it because of 'One Thing' and whole album was great, you dont find that a lot these days.
  5. MininaenaeBob
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    It is safe to say that this is in the top three for the best c.d.'s of 2005.
  6. soulchildu
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    This album is so unique b/c she definetly manages to balance an urban sound with sophistication. i commend her on that and it succeeded. i can't stop listening to her songs b/c they are well written coupled with those super eloquent and professional beats on the album. i recommend this album to all of the classy ladies out there who don't have time for 'ghetto noise' This album is so unique b/c she definetly manages to balance an urban sound with sophistication. i commend her on that and it succeeded. i can't stop listening to her songs b/c they are well written coupled with those super eloquent and professional beats on the album. i recommend this album to all of the classy ladies out there who don't have time for 'ghetto noise' yet want to jam in their cars! Expand
  7. AdrianoC
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    Best r&b album of 2005. And yes, there are plenty of songs here as good as "1 thing" (in fact, there are several songs better than "1 thing").
  8. renee
    Jun 11, 2005
    9
    Amerie did her thing, this album is really good its like 8 good songs on this album.
  9. AnnaS
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    V.gd album! a new style to the music scene - excellent!
  10. Borisf
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    Ashanti needs to take notes from Amerie! "touch" is both a masterpiece in the bedroom and on the dancefloor proving she can handle up beats, mid tempos, and slow jams "one thing" is the perfect opener with its frantic drum beats, mezmerizing instrumentation, and peircing vocals! this album pushes Amerie over Ashanti in the R&B world she's still no Beyonce but with another album like Ashanti needs to take notes from Amerie! "touch" is both a masterpiece in the bedroom and on the dancefloor proving she can handle up beats, mid tempos, and slow jams "one thing" is the perfect opener with its frantic drum beats, mezmerizing instrumentation, and peircing vocals! this album pushes Amerie over Ashanti in the R&B world she's still no Beyonce but with another album like this Beyonce may have some competion Expand
  11. LeonelD
    Oct 22, 2005
    8
    nice record
  12. BPatrickM
    May 18, 2005
    9
    I bought the CD on the strength of "One Thing" and I'm very pleased with the purchase. The CD features two additional sure-fire hits, "Touch" and "Talkin' About", which are both tons of funky fun.
  13. ChrisE
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    For someone that had never heard her first single and first found out about the sultry R&B singer after looking at a TV special about the Top 100 Hottest Girls, I never expected to feel an album like this. Beyonce is about as far as I'll usually go--but the guilty pleasure that is "1 Thing" (after hearing a clip of it on the TV show) really, to borrow the chorus's lyrics, "got For someone that had never heard her first single and first found out about the sultry R&B singer after looking at a TV special about the Top 100 Hottest Girls, I never expected to feel an album like this. Beyonce is about as far as I'll usually go--but the guilty pleasure that is "1 Thing" (after hearing a clip of it on the TV show) really, to borrow the chorus's lyrics, "got me tripping" about the gorgeous Amerie. Touch, her sophomore effort, certainly sparked the R&B-Hip Hop community after "1 Thing" topped the charts, and deservedly so; its blaring horn and frantic drum beat (on top of the chick's thin, but surprisingly unique singing abilities) make it quite the hot listen! Touch follows quickly into the title track, another great example of catchy Hip Hop-influenced R&B gone great. There are some missteps here, as evident in the bland "Like It Used To Be" and the behind-the-curtains bore that is "Just Like Me." The remix of the No. 1 hit "1 Thing" isn't much atypical from the original song, but the opener begins with the pumping chorus, and that draws you in nonetheless. Touch is one of those discs that is just meant to be played in the club. Amerie did it right here. Expand
  14. May 23, 2011
    1
    Quite possibly the least exciting or innovative album I have ever bought. I'm sure even High School Musical 2 soundtrack had more charisma. I don't recall any of the song titles except the title track and the tedious 1 thing. Completely forgettable.
  15. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Much better than her first as this album delivered some great hits! It's slick R&B at its best with a nice range of tracks, that might sound similar but as a whole come together nicely. 1 Thing was the obvious smash hit and a highlight on the album.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. She has an urbane sophistication that sets her apart from the likes of Ashanti and Nivea.
  2. The influence of Beyoncé's massive hit "Crazy In Love" is all over Amerie's sophomore effort.
  3. Touch has a better batch of songs than All I Have.