Touch

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Touch has a better batch of songs than All I Have.
  2. Vibe
    80
    Cohesive and musically mesmerizing. [Jun 2005, p.161]
  3. Blender
    80
    Amerie's heat is irresistible, in large part because it's subtle. [Jun 2005, p.108]
  4. She has an urbane sophistication that sets her apart from the likes of Ashanti and Nivea.
  5. Touch shows her being assertive and in charge.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    [She] may not have the gospel pitch of artists like Beyonce or Alicia Keys, but when it comes to revitalizing R&B, this much is certain: She's definitely got the right Touch. [29 Apr 2005, p.151]
  7. That Harrison was evidently too busy to produce the entirety of Touch suggests a missed opportunity for a more cohesive and potentially even better album.
  8. Q Magazine
    70
    [Her] reinvention, no matter how calculated, has worked wonders. [Aug 2005, p.127]
  9. The influence of Beyoncé's massive hit "Crazy In Love" is all over Amerie's sophomore effort.
  10. Amerie is all grown up on her second effort. And in this case, growth is good.
  11. The New York Times
    50
    Unfortunately, nothing else here is as delicious as "1 Thing." [25 Apr 2005]
  12. Uncut
    40
    It's disappointing that nothing else on the record even enters the same solar system [as "1 Thing"]. [Aug 2005, p.92]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jan 6, 2013
    8
    Much better than her first as this album delivered some great hits! It's slick R&B at its best with a nice range of tracks, that might soundMuch better than her first as this album delivered some great hits! It's slick R&B at its best with a nice range of tracks, that might sound similar but as a whole come together nicely. 1 Thing was the obvious smash hit and a highlight on the album. Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2011
    1
    Quite possibly the least exciting or innovative album I have ever bought. I'm sure even High School Musical 2 soundtrack had more charisma. IQuite possibly the least exciting or innovative album I have ever bought. I'm sure even High School Musical 2 soundtrack had more charisma. I don't recall any of the song titles except the title track and the tedious 1 thing. Completely forgettable. Full Review »
  3. ChrisE
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    For someone that had never heard her first single and first found out about the sultry R&B singer after looking at a TV special about the Top For someone that had never heard her first single and first found out about the sultry R&B singer after looking at a TV special about the Top 100 Hottest Girls, I never expected to feel an album like this. Beyonce is about as far as I'll usually go--but the guilty pleasure that is "1 Thing" (after hearing a clip of it on the TV show) really, to borrow the chorus's lyrics, "got me tripping" about the gorgeous Amerie. Touch, her sophomore effort, certainly sparked the R&B-Hip Hop community after "1 Thing" topped the charts, and deservedly so; its blaring horn and frantic drum beat (on top of the chick's thin, but surprisingly unique singing abilities) make it quite the hot listen! Touch follows quickly into the title track, another great example of catchy Hip Hop-influenced R&B gone great. There are some missteps here, as evident in the bland "Like It Used To Be" and the behind-the-curtains bore that is "Just Like Me." The remix of the No. 1 hit "1 Thing" isn't much atypical from the original song, but the opener begins with the pumping chorus, and that draws you in nonetheless. Touch is one of those discs that is just meant to be played in the club. Amerie did it right here. Full Review »