Tre!

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Dec 11, 2012
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 113
  2. Negative: 17 out of 113
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    Mmmmmmmmmmmm overall the trilogy isnt' great but a few songs off this album are really good. Personally I think they were just out to make money, and that's understandable, but it cost them some fans. I'm still going to watch out for their next project of course but my hopes aren't as high now!
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    I'm sorry to say that these three albums are exactly what I feared they would be: 75% filler.
    It seems like they could have saved their fans a lot of time, anticipation and money by picking out the best 4 songs from each of them to make one good album instead of 3 mediocre albums.
    There are a few gems in there that are worth downloading but for the most part the songs all follow a
    I'm sorry to say that these three albums are exactly what I feared they would be: 75% filler.
    It seems like they could have saved their fans a lot of time, anticipation and money by picking out the best 4 songs from each of them to make one good album instead of 3 mediocre albums.
    There are a few gems in there that are worth downloading but for the most part the songs all follow a simple generic formula that isn't really bad but gets very stale after you hear it 20+ times.
    The whole 3- album gimmick just seems like a really sly way of getting people to fork over more cash.
    My advice would be to listen to the albums online first. Pick your favourites and then download them individually. You'll end up with about 10-12 songs that are worth having and the rest of it will fade from your memory as quickly as it arrived
    Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2016
    6
    This album, I feel, is caught somewhere in the middle between Uno and Dos. On one hand, there are some fun, catchy tracks ("X-Kid", "Walk Away", "Missing You") as well as some more experimental stuff ("Brutal Love") that make the album, as a whole, fairly enjoyable. On the other, the garbage guitar tone is still present and as noticeable (if not more so) than it was on Uno, and theThis album, I feel, is caught somewhere in the middle between Uno and Dos. On one hand, there are some fun, catchy tracks ("X-Kid", "Walk Away", "Missing You") as well as some more experimental stuff ("Brutal Love") that make the album, as a whole, fairly enjoyable. On the other, the garbage guitar tone is still present and as noticeable (if not more so) than it was on Uno, and the self-plagiarizing is worse than it was on Dos.

    It should be noted that this album is no Uno; even if some of the songs feel a bit short, out of place, or like filler, they're all fairly musically and lyrically competent, and function as likable little tunes on their own (In fact, it was with some of these shorter and sweeter tracks that I had the most fun, such as "8th Avenue Serenade"). There's nothing particularly new or groundbreaking on this album aside from the first track "Brutal Love", a delightful fusion of doo-wop and glam rock style for which the too-clean guitar actually works, but there's still plenty to enjoy: the addicting "Missing You" and "Walk Away" stand out particularly, as does the lead single "X-Kid", which in following the tradition of the trilogy having one excellent single per album, is great fun and instantly warrants multiple listens. As with Dos the lyrics seem to suit the song better than they did on Uno, which makes for comfortable listening and meaning this album is one you can easily jam to.

    Now, on to the negative. As I said, the trilogy has a tradition of one great single per album, while the others are mediocre at best. This is again true for "The Forgotten", a cheap carbon copy of 21st Century Breakdown's "Last Night On Earth"; the slow, sad-sounding tune doesn't really fit in with anything on any of the three albums, and seems completely out of place for the band as a whole. Once again, more exciting and energetic tracks such as "Missing You" or "Walk Away" could have filled this spot, but for some reason one of the worst songs on the album (in my opinion) was chosen as the second single. The largest opportunity for producing singles in the trilogy came with this album, and it was thrown away. The songs don't really fit together as a whole, either; listening to them individually you sound fine, but a trip straight through the album without a break will leave you puzzled through sonic inconsistency. Even though I listed them as a strength, the shorter songs can also be considered a weakness because a few have a tendency to sound random and nonsensical ("Amanda", "Sex, Drugs, and Violence", "Little Boy Named Train"), completely out of step with the rest of the album's sound. Lastly, "Dirty Rotten Bastards", which is supposed to be the "Jesus of Suburbia" (from American Idiot) of the album, completely fails in capturing the diversely grand and epic nature of its predecessor, mainly because there's no story to/behind it to make us understand the potency of the lyrics; indeed, this too feels like a cheap carbon copy (though in style more than sound) of an earlier Green Day tune.

    To wrap things up, Tre isn't a bad album, but it could have been a lot better, and thus a lukewarm and not entirely satisfying ending is wrought to Green Day's Uno/Dos/Tre trilogy. After listening to Demolicious, the album consisting entirely of demos of the songs from these three albums released two years after the trilogy's conclusion, I have only this to say: when some of the demos are better than their studio versions, it makes you wonder if they would have been better off just releasing the demos instead. 6/10
    Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    I don't have much to say about this. Mixed feelings. It's not bad but it's not good. It's totally forgettable. Some tracks stand out from others, yes, but once I listen to it I feel like I'm never feel the will to listen to it again. It's totally not impressive and the lyrics are okay. I wouldn't wast my time here if I can spend it wisely with "¡Uno!"
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    5
    As you seen, it's the worst idea a group of musicians can have to make 3 album ins 6 months. Uno was a 5/10, Dos a 4/10 and Tre is a little bit better and gets a 5/10. '8th Avenue Serenade' and 'Drama Queen' are pretty nice and those two made me hope for something better than the two CDs before. After all, Tre! consists out ouf 12 songs without sense in their lyrics, that all sound theAs you seen, it's the worst idea a group of musicians can have to make 3 album ins 6 months. Uno was a 5/10, Dos a 4/10 and Tre is a little bit better and gets a 5/10. '8th Avenue Serenade' and 'Drama Queen' are pretty nice and those two made me hope for something better than the two CDs before. After all, Tre! consists out ouf 12 songs without sense in their lyrics, that all sound the same. The same simple guitar riffs and the same stupid drum rhythm. Billie Joe Armstrong does some decent voice experiments that work and some lyrics like "Did you win or maybe did you lose? Now you're going to lick your wounds anyway" in Walk Away make you listen closer to the elswhere dull songs. So Tre! is a tiny step better than both other albums of the trilogy, but that doesn't really matter because it's also a disapointing release from a very talented band. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    Green Day is one of my favorite bands, and this album dissapoints me... worst of the trilogy by far. it was a very boring album. by the time i was done with the album and listening to the last song, it made me cry.

    1. because the trilogy was over 2. that the song was over and the whole album over (hoping for one good song on the album) 3. the song was very sad and the worst of
    Green Day is one of my favorite bands, and this album dissapoints me... worst of the trilogy by far. it was a very boring album. by the time i was done with the album and listening to the last song, it made me cry.

    1. because the trilogy was over

    2. that the song was over and the whole album over (hoping for one good song on the album)

    3. the song was very sad

    and the worst of all is the music video for the last song on the album "The Forgotten"

    Uno and Dos were great, but this album was very boring.
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    There are a few catchy songs that will appeal to the mainstream, probably get some radio play. There are many (a majority actually) that I think are repetitive, both from other songs from the album and from other songs from the new box set (iUno!, iDos!, etc.). Others are not written too well (Drama Queen and Amanda being examples). These songs were written in a hurry and sound mostly theThere are a few catchy songs that will appeal to the mainstream, probably get some radio play. There are many (a majority actually) that I think are repetitive, both from other songs from the album and from other songs from the new box set (iUno!, iDos!, etc.). Others are not written too well (Drama Queen and Amanda being examples). These songs were written in a hurry and sound mostly the same. Albeit, there are some catchy songs, ones I would play more than once. But in the long run, some are rehashes of songs from earlier in the box set and the Green Day catalogue. 5/10. Expand
  8. Aug 4, 2016
    5
    It's kind of hard to find enjoyable an album that has underrated and uninspired songs, we are closing the trilogy with Tré!, who showed at the beginning (2 first songs) a very well introduction, but suddenly (3-9) they got worse and worse (exception of X-Kid) making a body very bad structured. The main reason why I say that was decent was for the final three songs, that made the album kindIt's kind of hard to find enjoyable an album that has underrated and uninspired songs, we are closing the trilogy with Tré!, who showed at the beginning (2 first songs) a very well introduction, but suddenly (3-9) they got worse and worse (exception of X-Kid) making a body very bad structured. The main reason why I say that was decent was for the final three songs, that made the album kind of worth it. Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    If you are comparing this cd or any other cd green day has released to 21 century breakdown (and saying 21st century breakdown is their best cd), you are no green day fan. they shoulda quit at nimrod. Dookie was their best. American idiot was their last ACCEPTABLE cd. the rest of this is money grab and terrible music. so to all the ten year olds who are pushing them on and saying these cdsIf you are comparing this cd or any other cd green day has released to 21 century breakdown (and saying 21st century breakdown is their best cd), you are no green day fan. they shoulda quit at nimrod. Dookie was their best. American idiot was their last ACCEPTABLE cd. the rest of this is money grab and terrible music. so to all the ten year olds who are pushing them on and saying these cds are amazing, please, please, please go back to listening to justin beiber and niki minage and all that other **** bc no green day fan enjoys what they have become in order to appeal to you. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    70
    In the end, iTRÉ! is unexpectedly the strongest record overall of the three. Although it has its own issues, these don't drag that much the whole affair down and there aren't any horrible missteps such as "Nightlife".
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    40
    Tre! is more whimper than bang.
  3. Kerrang!
    Jan 9, 2013
    80
    The final album in the set is the best of the bunch, [8 Dec 2012, p.50]