Tre!

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Dec 11, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. 83
    Green Day's third disc in three months lets their tightly wound hooks decompress, delivering stadium-worthy three-chord nods to various ghosts of rock past, from Otis Redding to Baba O'Riley.
  2. Kerrang!
    Jan 9, 2013
    80
    The final album in the set is the best of the bunch, [8 Dec 2012, p.50]
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    ¡Tré! picks up where its predecessor, ¡Dos!, left off.
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    70
    In the end, iTRÉ! is unexpectedly the strongest record overall of the three. Although it has its own issues, these don't drag that much the whole affair down and there aren't any horrible missteps such as "Nightlife".
  5. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    Green Day still sounds best when it's confused, angry, and playing with abandon.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    70
    It's hookier and not as ponderous as ¡Uno! but not quite as breakneck as ¡Dos!.
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    62
    It's more raw, pointed and hard-hitting than anything they've released in years, yet it's littered with head-scratching filler and awkward sonic diversions.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre!Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre! was instantly the one I was most excited for due to the descriptions Billie Joe gave. After hearing Uno! and Dos! my expectations were very high for Tre! and it did not disappoint. While I thought the first two albums were good, this one provides me with extensive replay value with every song. Tre! opens with the grandiose "Brutal Love," a sprawling ballad complete with piano and horn contributions, a la King for a Day. The albums does not turn back from there. There are no genre-bending experiments on Tre!, just tributes to many decades of music, as well as past Green Day efforts. "Drama Queen" delves into 50's do-wop and throwback for fans of Warning in "Sex, Drugs, and Violence," for example. While, yes, I agree that it is not Green Day's top material, Tre! salvages an otherwise slightly above average trilogy and, hell, still beats out most music today, warranting a 9/10. **** Kesha's album is rated higher than Tre! right now and anyone that knows real music will know that Tre! is still prime entertainment, even if it's not Green Day's greatest effort. That being said, it deserves to be mentioned as one of their better albums, in my humble opinion. Their ability to channel different eras of rock and still be able to make it their own is uncanny. Must listens: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    It's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it'sIt's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it's so disappointing....The trilogy it's not what I expected....Now we just wait for the next proposal of this band in the future, and check this like a lesson to learn Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no fillerBy far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Full Review »