Tre! - Green Day
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 91
  2. Negative: 14 out of 91

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    7
    Tre is the weakest in the trilogy but is still a solid album. Unlike the last two it doesn't stick to one genre. The lyrics are strongest here but the music is less interesting. Its more about the lyrics so its not as exhilarating as the first two. Its still a solid album though and fans like myself will be pleased. Notable songs: Brutal Love, Drama Queen, X-Kid, Little Boy Named Train, Dirty Rotten Bastards and 99 Revolutions Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    1
    I think, prior to the formal review, I should give a bit of my background with Green Day. I'm only 16, so I'm not one of those die-hard Dookie fans, I tend to gravitate towards their newer albums (i.e American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown). That being said, I can appreciate their older albums. I don't care for their first two albums, and honestly I don't really like Dookie, but I can at least appreciate it for the revolutionary album it is. Insomniac is an alright album in my opinion, and the same goes for Nimrod. Warning is, oddly enough, my favorite Green Day album, and American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown are just fantastic albums, any way you look at them. So, we come to Uno!, Dos!, and Tre!, three of the worst albums I've ever heard in my life. All bands have their black sheep albums (RHCP has One Hot Minute, Smashing Pumpkins has Zeitgeist, Coldplay has Mylo Xyloto, etc), but these albums are really, really, really terrible, even compared to some of the greatest band's worst efforts. I'm sort of lumping these together (the words I say apply not only to Tre!, but too to Uno! and Dos!), because these albums honestly are not worth my time and effort to write three individual reviews. With Green Day's career as makers of epic, lengthy, thematic, overtly-conceptual rock operas seemingly over, they decided to venture back into the catchy, three minute (most not even), three power-chord punk song territory. However, punk honestly isn't the right word; pop-punk, would be. Now, some may cry Judas and assume that my negativity is entirely based upon this change towards pop, but that isn't the case. One of the only redeemable songs on this trilogy, "Kill the DJ", is honestly one of the most dance-y, poppy songs Green Day has ever made, and they nail it perfectly. However, and this is me being as honest as humanly possible, that is the only good song on these albums. Green Day's attempts at a return to punk form (songs like "Nuclear Family", "Let Yourself Go", "Makeout Party", "Wow! That's Loud", "Sex, Drugs & Violence", and "99 Revolutions") all seem trite, and fall way short of such classic punk rockers like "Burnout", and "Stuck With Me". Now, it may be wrong to compare new music to old music, but these albums were marketed as a return to their punk roots, at which they fail. Now, I mentioned Green Day treads new territory, too, with the poppy sound. They perfect this style ever so articulately on the aptly titled "Kill the DJ", a song which i can honestly say I love. However later attempts at this feel shoe-horned in, and rather sell-out-y. The most prominent example of this would be "Nightlife" on Dos!, a song which, without Armstrong's signature bratty whine, could be mistaken for a song not, in fact, by Green Day, even featuring several rapping versus from guest artist Lady Cobra. Another example of this would be "Makeout Party", also on Dos!. With lyrics like "It's a makeout party on another dimension", one could assume that: 1. Armstrong never passed 9th grade English and Grammar, and 2. Armstrong wants to be an angst-y teen again. Speaking of lyrics, one of the worst lyrics I've ever heard in my life appears on the Tre! song "Sex, Drugs & Violence", when Armstrong proclaims "Sex, drugs and violence/ English, math and science!", a lyric which makes no sense, given Armstrong only briefly mentions this comparison of these primitive human feelings and desires (sex, drugs, and violence), to these primitive topics of study (English, math, and science) once in the entire song, excluding the chorus. The main problem on these albums is, in fact, singer and guitarist (now a dignified rhythm guitarist with inclusion of long-time touring guitarist Jason White as lead guitarist on this trilogy). The lyrics are terrible, and the songs that are so clearly written by Armstrong (the generic, trite, three power-chord songs with little variation) are as terrible as the lyrics. The only highlights of the album are the other musicians, with drummer Tre Cool giving some stellar drum trackings as per usual, bassist Mike Dirnt providing some ear-worm inducing bass-hooks, and guitarist Jason White providing some solos never heard on Green Day albums before (obviously because Armstrong did not posses the talent). However, it's not fair to place the whole of the blame on Armstrong, as the one lyrics sung by Dirnt on lead ("I don't want to be an imbecile, but Jesus made me that way" on "Sex, Drugs & violence") is just as terrible as Armstrong's worst lyric. Even more so, how would these other, clearly superior, musicians, allow this trilogy to be released and tarnish their otherwise fluke-less career? After seeing Billie Joe's on-stage, sleeping-pill-induced freak-out from two years back, one could formulate a theory on just how stable Billie Joe may be behind the scenes. All this in mind, Uno!, Dos!, and Tre! by Green Day are some of the worst albums ever. However, I'll give it a 1/10, just for "Kill the DJ". Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    ¡Tré! is the third instalment in Green Day's ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy and it is a satisfying end to a satisfying set of albums. With these three albums Green Day have ditched the rock opera themes of their past to albums and went back to basics. ¡Uno! offered us a with a simple but effective pop-punk record which brings us back to the days of Dookie, ¡Dos! had a more garage-rock feel to it with songs appropriate for a party. ¡Tré! begins with opener "Brutal Love", one of the best songs on the trilogy and is definitely the standout track from the album. This is followed by the more pop-punk songs "Missing You" and '8th Avenue Serenade" both of which are very good. "X-kid" is a beautiful song about a fallen commrade with a very catchy riff. The penultimate song, "Dirty Rotten Bastards" sounds like a throw back to "Jesus of Suburbia" from "American Idiot". It may not be as good as said song but it is still an effective and catchy tune. However, the album isn't all good. Songs like "Sex, Drugs and Violence" and lead single "The Forgotten" are more filler than killer and the former is one of the worst songs Green Day have ever recorded. ¡Tré! is a simple album with some good songs. It is not an essential purchase but it sure is a hell of a lot of fun. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    I'm sorry to say that these three albums are exactly what I feared they would be: 75% filler.
    It seems like they could have saved their fans a lot of time, anticipation and money by picking out the best 4 songs from each of them to make one good album instead of 3 mediocre albums.
    There are a few gems in there that are worth downloading but for the most part the songs all follow a
    simple generic formula that isn't really bad but gets very stale after you hear it 20+ times.
    The whole 3- album gimmick just seems like a really sly way of getting people to fork over more cash.
    My advice would be to listen to the albums online first. Pick your favourites and then download them individually. You'll end up with about 10-12 songs that are worth having and the rest of it will fade from your memory as quickly as it arrived
    Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    I don't have much to say about this. Mixed feelings. It's not bad but it's not good. It's totally forgettable. Some tracks stand out from others, yes, but once I listen to it I feel like I'm never feel the will to listen to it again. It's totally not impressive and the lyrics are okay. I wouldn't wast my time here if I can spend it wisely with "¡Uno!"
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tré O Melhor Da Trilogia.

    Missing You,8th Avenue Serenade,X-Kid,Sex,Drugs & Violence,Walk Away,Dirty Rotten Bastards,99 Revolutions São Como Chiclete Quando A Gente Escuta Não Sai Da Cabeça E Não Esquecemos.

    Brutal Love,The Forgotten São Lindas Baladas Românticas Brutal Love Sendo Mais Bem Planejada.

    Top De Tré.
    1-X-Kid
    2-Missing You
    3-Walk Away
    4-8th Avenue Serenade
    5-99 Revolutions
    Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    ¡Tré! is the final chapter of Green Day's beautiful trilogy. It's better than ¡Dos!, and come closer to ¡Uno!. The songs are generally sadder than the other two albums (The Forgotten), but they're all very good, especially X-Kid, 99 Revolution and Brutal Love. I think ¡Tré! is on the same level of ¡Uno! and Warning, all in the list of Green Day's great albums.
  8. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    green day is perhaps the only one punk band alive, still continuing the good works of sex pistols and ramones.....uno! and dos! are perfect examples of punk albums while this album Tre! brought in some variations of pop with songs like BRUTAL LOVE, X-KID.... pop- punk is the overall genre of this album and those who are expecting something like TIME OF YOUR LIFE would definitely love this album... Expand
  9. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    On ¡Tré!, the last album in the 2012 trilogy, Green Day further widens their palette while also being rather underwhelming at times. Here's the full-track-by-track review for further elaboration.
    Brutal Love: A truly great opener, slowly & beautifully building through a repetitive (in a good way) structure. With its strong emphasis on harmonies & addition of horns/piano &
    classic R&B influences, all culminating with power chords at the end, Brutal Love proves to be one of the most wonderfully ambitious moments of Green Day's entire career. A good song to show someone who claims they've stagnated stylistically. 8.5/10 - Missing You: Good riffs & melodies but the lyrics are pretty stupid, especially in the pre-chorus. It's basically a sadder & less cringe-worthy version of Weezer's Where's My Sex. 7/10 - 8th Avenue Serenade: Okay song but it's pretty much just filler. I'd skip it. Not very remarkable at all really. 6/10 - Drama Queen: A refreshingly stripped-down & cutesy acoustic ode from Billie Joe to what I'm guessing to be fathers his age dealing with their teenage daughters. There's a few awkward vaginal references ("she's old enough to bleed now") but they just increase the realism & sincerity of the situation being presented. 8/10 - X-Kid: A solid & impressive straightforward pop-rock song that I hope gets a lot of success when it's released as a single in February. The lyrics are a bit ambiguous but it feels more vague & personal than a complete phone-in. 7.5/10 - Sex, Drugs & Violence: A well-written self-ode to Billie Joe's hedonistic & rebellious youth with very infectious melodies. The emphasis on Mike's vocals, both backing & lead, was a nice touch too. 8/10 - A Little Boy Named Train: According to Billie Joe (from what I've read) this song is about a true story of a hermaphrodite who had their penis cut off by their parents in order to present the child as gender-neutral. Their name was also questionable, one of which "he" went by at some point was Train. As interesting as that song topic is however, you'd never guess this by looking at the lyrics here. I guess there's vague references to the story but it's mostly pretty bland. Not the worst song here lyrically but there was a ton of wasted potential, especially considering how twisted Billie Joe's mind has been lately in the lyric department. Kinda unremarkable musically too. 6.5/10 - Amanda: Solid & catchy simple pop-punk song despite some awkward rhymes in one verse. Lyrically well-done otherwise though, dealing with a dysfunctional relationship. 7.5/10 - Walk Away: A a rather generic & dull breakup-based song that kinda comes off as filler. 6.5/10 - Dirty Rotten Bastards: Quite possibly the best song on the entire trilogy. I kid you not. As great as some songs here were... WOW. This song is an epic 6-minute medley, much like that of the ones on American Idiot except with admittedly less depth in the lyrics. Whereas Jesus of Suburbia & Homecoming were further narrations of an ongoing story, Dirty Rotten Bastards is just plain FUN. It's a complete blast to listen to, from its made-to-sing-along-to-while-drunk-with-your-friends wordless intro to the breakneck punk jam in the middle, complete with an awesome bass solo, to the epic conclusion, all lyrically complimented with a certain energetic youthful attitude that Green Day hasn't always presented convincingly lately but is pulled off near-perfectly here. This is the song to show your cynical friend who thinks Green Day has "lost their edge" or something like that, and in my opinion is the best Green Day song of 2012. 9.5/10 - 99 Revolutions: While fun, catchy & well-executed musically, lyrically this is a phoned-in late-to-the-party Occupy Wall Street "anthem" that only evokes eye-rolling from me. To me Green Day made their only worthwhile political statements in American Idiot & 21st Century Breakdown. Still happy it's the end credits song for The Campaign though. 7/10 - The Forgotten: Each song in this trilogy of albums has had one especially infamous song; on Uno it was the dancey Kill the DJ & on Dos it was the hip hop-influenced Nightlife. This time around it's The Forgotten, a piano-driven ballad that was featured in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2, which needless to say had the punk purists freaking out. What they fail to realize however is that the Twilight soundtracks are consistently (at least to most of my gender that bothers to be open-minded enough) the sole good quality of an otherwise crappy franchise, and The Forgotten is no exception. It's an absolutely gorgeous song despite some vague lyrics, and further shows Green Day's potential for versatility. 8/10 - Overall, while ¡Tré! is a little less consistently good than ¡Uno! or ¡Dos!, and certainly contains more filler, the good traits far outweigh the bad ones, and lyrical themes feel more refreshingly personal than the other 2 albums. Score: 75/100 Expand
  10. Jan 4, 2013
    2
    Did I actually read one review say there is "some pretty badass guitar work"? Is this really what people think musical talent is. This is beginner guitar work. This sounds like a band of novices or even new musicians. I'm starting to get tired of having to review boring untalented "pop" music. Being the jerk I am towards "pop" music, I generally try to at least give points to the catchy aspect that is fed to a drone's head. Do you like to repeat "walk away" or "carried away" over and over? The "oh my gosh" factor comes in when you hear the few rebellious cuss words; feels thrown in. One thing that does get tiring is the forced "we try to make you cry" track. Why? Again, feels forced and done only to sell records and concerts.

    I could go on for a while about talent but I don't feel like remembering the pain so let us move on to production; the album sounds good. I do not expect less from a band of this much money. It's clean, tuning is good, and vocal harmonies are on (if you do enjoy these vocals). The drum tracking is pretty darn good as usual for this band.

    In closing, this is another album to appeal to the masses of casual music listeners. Sounds like every previous album in a progressively worse direction. Will not care for another album. Stop.
    Expand
  11. BKM
    Jan 4, 2013
    7
    Green Day completes their trilogy with a satisfying collection of punk/pop songs that qualify as the most melodic and mellow of the set. Tre! is like a cool down exercise after the more amped up tunes of the first two albums. All in all a solid if not remarkable finale to a solid if not remarkable undertaking.
  12. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    this album truly caps off a wonderful trilogy. theres no question green day has truly made an im pact on punk rock, and this clearly shown. the amount of songs they wrote in such a short time is phenomenal.
  13. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    Waited for this album after listening "The Forgotten" in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2...Good so far... "Missing You" and "The Forgotten" 10 on 10..Lovely
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    If you are comparing this cd or any other cd green day has released to 21 century breakdown (and saying 21st century breakdown is their best cd), you are no green day fan. they shoulda quit at nimrod. Dookie was their best. American idiot was their last ACCEPTABLE cd. the rest of this is money grab and terrible music. so to all the ten year olds who are pushing them on and saying these cds are amazing, please, please, please go back to listening to justin beiber and niki minage and all that other **** bc no green day fan enjoys what they have become in order to appeal to you. Expand
  15. Dec 25, 2012
    5
    As you seen, it's the worst idea a group of musicians can have to make 3 album ins 6 months. Uno was a 5/10, Dos a 4/10 and Tre is a little bit better and gets a 5/10. '8th Avenue Serenade' and 'Drama Queen' are pretty nice and those two made me hope for something better than the two CDs before. After all, Tre! consists out ouf 12 songs without sense in their lyrics, that all sound the same. The same simple guitar riffs and the same stupid drum rhythm. Billie Joe Armstrong does some decent voice experiments that work and some lyrics like "Did you win or maybe did you lose? Now you're going to lick your wounds anyway" in Walk Away make you listen closer to the elswhere dull songs. So Tre! is a tiny step better than both other albums of the trilogy, but that doesn't really matter because it's also a disapointing release from a very talented band. Expand
  16. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    Green Day are back with their third part of the Trilogy.The third and final album is the best of the whole Trilogy.It has beautiful slow ballads like "The Forgotten" and "Drama Queen",epic multi-part song like "Dirty Rotten Bastards",catchy pop-punk tunes like "X-Kid" and "Missing You",political song like "99 Revolutions" , even a soul song like "Brutal Love" which is a tribute to Sam Cooke.It's their best album since American Idiot and the best way to close the Trilogy. Expand
  17. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    Q:What could be worse than a dud album? A:Three in a row.
    This release contains more simple song structures with even simpler lyrics which one has come to expect from uno and dos. Of course, they can choose to take any direction they want but I just can't understand why they've chosen this one. To me they appear to have dumbed down their abilities to target the teenage market. It would be
    great if they put their extensive talents into something a little more thought provoking. Maybe next time Expand
  18. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Following the nice Uno! and the fantastic Dos! is no easy feat for any album, and it's a task that not many albums would be up to, but in this case, Dos! is trumped in style by the third album in Green Day's trilogy - Tre! Tre! is considered the after party in the series and follows a calmer, more reflective mood, reminiscent of Warning and parts of American Idiot. The album contains some of the best tracks in the trilogy, including Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards, 99 Revolutions and The Forgotten, all of which become infectiously addictive. Don't believe what the critics say, this is Green Day's best album since American Idiot and is up there with the best of Green Day's work, an easy 10/10 and a perfect way to round off a wonderful trilogy of albums.

    Watch out for: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards, 99 Revolutions, The Forgotten
    Expand
  19. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    One of Green day's greatest albums,all "Killer" and no "Filler its a must have by far the best of the trilogy.
    Green day have produced some of their finest songs ever with songs like "Brutal love" ,"X-Kid","Dirty rotten Bastards" and "99 revolutions"
    But saying that not one song stood out as a bad song all were great,overall its a far better album than "UNO" and "DOS" which were both
    solid albums.
    The best way to describe "TRE" is that it has songs which remind me of Dookie but it has the stadium rock feel at times of "American idiot" and "21st Century Breakdown" with the experimental side of "Nimrod" and "Warning"
    MUST BUY ALBUM OF THE YEAR.
    Expand
  20. Dec 16, 2012
    3
    Truly underwhelming. Three albums in three months got us the same old same old from the band. Truly nothing original, thought provoking, energetic, or memorable from Tre! (or the collection as a whole to be quite honest). I don't think the band should pack up their two decade bag or anything, but maybe next time spend some time trying to craft a great album instead of three truly forgettable albums. Expand
  21. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    There are a few catchy songs that will appeal to the mainstream, probably get some radio play. There are many (a majority actually) that I think are repetitive, both from other songs from the album and from other songs from the new box set (iUno!, iDos!, etc.). Others are not written too well (Drama Queen and Amanda being examples). These songs were written in a hurry and sound mostly the same. Albeit, there are some catchy songs, ones I would play more than once. But in the long run, some are rehashes of songs from earlier in the box set and the Green Day catalogue. 5/10. Expand
  22. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    It's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it's so disappointing....The trilogy it's not what I expected....Now we just wait for the next proposal of this band in the future, and check this like a lesson to learn
  23. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    By far the best album of the trilogy. It's filled with memorable songs that will only add to Green Day's legendary catalogue. Every song is different but there is a seamless flow to the album that was lacking in the other two. Standout tracks include 'Brutal Love', a country-influenced love ballad that slowly builds to an epic climax, 'X-Kid', with outstanding vocals, and 'Dirty Rotten Bastards', a 7-minute epic in the veins of Jesus of Suburbia and Homecoming. All in all, a bit disappointed with the trilogy but this album redeems it as much as possible. Expand
  24. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre! was instantly the one I was most excited for due to the descriptions Billie Joe gave. After hearing Uno! and Dos! my expectations were very high for Tre! and it did not disappoint. While I thought the first two albums were good, this one provides me with extensive replay value with every song. Tre! opens with the grandiose "Brutal Love," a sprawling ballad complete with piano and horn contributions, a la King for a Day. The albums does not turn back from there. There are no genre-bending experiments on Tre!, just tributes to many decades of music, as well as past Green Day efforts. "Drama Queen" delves into 50's do-wop and throwback for fans of Warning in "Sex, Drugs, and Violence," for example. While, yes, I agree that it is not Green Day's top material, Tre! salvages an otherwise slightly above average trilogy and, hell, still beats out most music today, warranting a 9/10. **** Kesha's album is rated higher than Tre! right now and anyone that knows real music will know that Tre! is still prime entertainment, even if it's not Green Day's greatest effort. That being said, it deserves to be mentioned as one of their better albums, in my humble opinion. Their ability to channel different eras of rock and still be able to make it their own is uncanny. Must listens: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards Expand
  25. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    Green Day is one of my favorite bands, and this album dissapoints me... worst of the trilogy by far. it was a very boring album. by the time i was done with the album and listening to the last song, it made me cry. 1. because the trilogy was over 2. that the song was over and the whole album over (hoping for one good song on the album) 3. the song was very sad and the worst of all is the music video for the last song on the album "The Forgotten"

    Uno and Dos were great, but this album was very boring.
    Expand
  26. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    Mmmmmmmmmmmm overall the trilogy isnt' great but a few songs off this album are really good. Personally I think they were just out to make money, and that's understandable, but it cost them some fans. I'm still going to watch out for their next project of course but my hopes aren't as high now!
  27. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Honestly, Green Day has disappointed me with this so-called awesome trilogy. Only 5 or 6 songs are great when you combine the entire trilogy and that's not satisfying. Green Day are one of my favorite bands and I love their albums like Nimrod, American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown but too much repitition is never good. If you think that any album of this trilogy is better than their previous albums then you're truly mistaken. This album is better than the previous two installments but it is not how I expected it to be, to be honest. I expected much bigger sound, I imagined them on a much bigger scale, putting their entire effort into this album to make it sound like a masterpiece but they couldn't do it. I like "The Forgotten", "Brutal Love" and "Walk Away". I completely understand that they're a punk rock band but they need to evolve now. You can't survive by sticking to one thing forever, but if you still choose to stay, you need to improvise, you need experimentation which can make your old sound good. I hope they make better albums in future and really put their efforts into the work they've been doing for so many years instead of releasing three mediocre albums in a single year. Expand
  28. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Collapse
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    70
    In the end, iTRÉ! is unexpectedly the strongest record overall of the three. Although it has its own issues, these don't drag that much the whole affair down and there aren't any horrible missteps such as "Nightlife".
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    40
    Tre! is more whimper than bang.
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    80
    The final album in the set is the best of the bunch, [8 Dec 2012, p.50]