Tre!

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Tre! Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final album in the ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy for the punk rock band.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 83
    Green Day's third disc in three months lets their tightly wound hooks decompress, delivering stadium-worthy three-chord nods to various ghosts of rock past, from Otis Redding to Baba O'Riley.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    ¡Tré! picks up where its predecessor, ¡Dos!, left off.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    Green Day still sounds best when it's confused, angry, and playing with abandon.
  4. This is Green Day doing what Green Day have always done.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    58
    ¡Tre! succeeds most as an exercise in influence-dropping and self-recycling, with a glimmer of inspiration here and there.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    I wish I could close the book on ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! with a more favorable assessment than a resounding, Eh, it was ok.
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    40
    ¡Tré! offers a few ballads, swelling string-laden anthems and even a six-minute medley à la American Idiot--styles that once represented a new aesthetic for the band but now sound forced and exhausted.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no fillerBy far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tré O Melhor Da Trilogia.

    Missing You,8th Avenue Serenade,X-Kid,Sex,Drugs & Violence,Walk Away,Dirty Rotten Bastards,99 Revolutions São Como Chiclete Quando A Gente Escuta Não Sai Da Cabeça E Não Esquecemos.

    Brutal Love,The Forgotten São Lindas Baladas Românticas Brutal Love Sendo Mais Bem Planejada.

    Top De Tré.
    1-X-Kid
    2-Missing You
    3-Walk Away
    4-8th Avenue Serenade
    5-99 Revolutions
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    By far the best album of the trilogy. It's filled with memorable songs that will only add to Green Day's legendary catalogue. Every song isBy far the best album of the trilogy. It's filled with memorable songs that will only add to Green Day's legendary catalogue. Every song is different but there is a seamless flow to the album that was lacking in the other two. Standout tracks include 'Brutal Love', a country-influenced love ballad that slowly builds to an epic climax, 'X-Kid', with outstanding vocals, and 'Dirty Rotten Bastards', a 7-minute epic in the veins of Jesus of Suburbia and Homecoming. All in all, a bit disappointed with the trilogy but this album redeems it as much as possible. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    Waited for this album after listening "The Forgotten" in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2...Good so far... "Missing You" and "The Forgotten" 10Waited for this album after listening "The Forgotten" in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2...Good so far... "Missing You" and "The Forgotten" 10 on 10..Lovely Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2014
    7
    I honestly found this album to be the best in the Trilogy. The album starts off with the Doo-Wop influenced Brutal Love, which starts offI honestly found this album to be the best in the Trilogy. The album starts off with the Doo-Wop influenced Brutal Love, which starts off slow and then builds up to this epic love ballad and is one of my favorites on the album. This is a great way to introduce this album. The album is a little bit more experimental, compared to the previous two in the trilogy. Another favorite of mine is X-Kid, with it being my favorite on this album. The guitar riff is so melancholic and the lyrics are actually really sad as well. My other favorites are Sex, Drugs & Violence, with a catchy chorus that just makes you want to sing along to every time. 99 Revolutions is just a wonderful political song, and Dirty Rotten Bastards is a call back to American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown and the guitar solo on that is just terrific! Some least favorite tracks on this album would be A Little Boy Named Train. It's just so boring and the only thing decent about it is the chorus. The Forgotten is a let down, it's a Beatles influenced track and it feels rushed. The main problems with this album are some songs feel rushed and or incomplete. They miss something to make it stand out. And, same with the rest of the Trilogy, the production is too clean-cut and I just can't stand it. All in all, this is a pretty good album and the best in the Trilogy. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    5
    As you seen, it's the worst idea a group of musicians can have to make 3 album ins 6 months. Uno was a 5/10, Dos a 4/10 and Tre is a littleAs you seen, it's the worst idea a group of musicians can have to make 3 album ins 6 months. Uno was a 5/10, Dos a 4/10 and Tre is a little bit better and gets a 5/10. '8th Avenue Serenade' and 'Drama Queen' are pretty nice and those two made me hope for something better than the two CDs before. After all, Tre! consists out ouf 12 songs without sense in their lyrics, that all sound the same. The same simple guitar riffs and the same stupid drum rhythm. Billie Joe Armstrong does some decent voice experiments that work and some lyrics like "Did you win or maybe did you lose? Now you're going to lick your wounds anyway" in Walk Away make you listen closer to the elswhere dull songs. So Tre! is a tiny step better than both other albums of the trilogy, but that doesn't really matter because it's also a disapointing release from a very talented band. Collapse
  7. Jun 11, 2014
    1
    I think, prior to the formal review, I should give a bit of my background with Green Day. I'm only 16, so I'm not one of those die-hard DookieI think, prior to the formal review, I should give a bit of my background with Green Day. I'm only 16, so I'm not one of those die-hard Dookie fans, I tend to gravitate towards their newer albums (i.e American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown). That being said, I can appreciate their older albums. I don't care for their first two albums, and honestly I don't really like Dookie, but I can at least appreciate it for the revolutionary album it is. Insomniac is an alright album in my opinion, and the same goes for Nimrod. Warning is, oddly enough, my favorite Green Day album, and American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown are just fantastic albums, any way you look at them. So, we come to Uno!, Dos!, and Tre!, three of the worst albums I've ever heard in my life. All bands have their black sheep albums (RHCP has One Hot Minute, Smashing Pumpkins has Zeitgeist, Coldplay has Mylo Xyloto, etc), but these albums are really, really, really terrible, even compared to some of the greatest band's worst efforts. I'm sort of lumping these together (the words I say apply not only to Tre!, but too to Uno! and Dos!), because these albums honestly are not worth my time and effort to write three individual reviews. With Green Day's career as makers of epic, lengthy, thematic, overtly-conceptual rock operas seemingly over, they decided to venture back into the catchy, three minute (most not even), three power-chord punk song territory. However, punk honestly isn't the right word; pop-punk, would be. Now, some may cry Judas and assume that my negativity is entirely based upon this change towards pop, but that isn't the case. One of the only redeemable songs on this trilogy, "Kill the DJ", is honestly one of the most dance-y, poppy songs Green Day has ever made, and they nail it perfectly. However, and this is me being as honest as humanly possible, that is the only good song on these albums. Green Day's attempts at a return to punk form (songs like "Nuclear Family", "Let Yourself Go", "Makeout Party", "Wow! That's Loud", "Sex, Drugs & Violence", and "99 Revolutions") all seem trite, and fall way short of such classic punk rockers like "Burnout", and "Stuck With Me". Now, it may be wrong to compare new music to old music, but these albums were marketed as a return to their punk roots, at which they fail. Now, I mentioned Green Day treads new territory, too, with the poppy sound. They perfect this style ever so articulately on the aptly titled "Kill the DJ", a song which i can honestly say I love. However later attempts at this feel shoe-horned in, and rather sell-out-y. The most prominent example of this would be "Nightlife" on Dos!, a song which, without Armstrong's signature bratty whine, could be mistaken for a song not, in fact, by Green Day, even featuring several rapping versus from guest artist Lady Cobra. Another example of this would be "Makeout Party", also on Dos!. With lyrics like "It's a makeout party on another dimension", one could assume that: 1. Armstrong never passed 9th grade English and Grammar, and 2. Armstrong wants to be an angst-y teen again. Speaking of lyrics, one of the worst lyrics I've ever heard in my life appears on the Tre! song "Sex, Drugs & Violence", when Armstrong proclaims "Sex, drugs and violence/ English, math and science!", a lyric which makes no sense, given Armstrong only briefly mentions this comparison of these primitive human feelings and desires (sex, drugs, and violence), to these primitive topics of study (English, math, and science) once in the entire song, excluding the chorus. The main problem on these albums is, in fact, singer and guitarist (now a dignified rhythm guitarist with inclusion of long-time touring guitarist Jason White as lead guitarist on this trilogy). The lyrics are terrible, and the songs that are so clearly written by Armstrong (the generic, trite, three power-chord songs with little variation) are as terrible as the lyrics. The only highlights of the album are the other musicians, with drummer Tre Cool giving some stellar drum trackings as per usual, bassist Mike Dirnt providing some ear-worm inducing bass-hooks, and guitarist Jason White providing some solos never heard on Green Day albums before (obviously because Armstrong did not posses the talent). However, it's not fair to place the whole of the blame on Armstrong, as the one lyrics sung by Dirnt on lead ("I don't want to be an imbecile, but Jesus made me that way" on "Sex, Drugs & violence") is just as terrible as Armstrong's worst lyric. Even more so, how would these other, clearly superior, musicians, allow this trilogy to be released and tarnish their otherwise fluke-less career? After seeing Billie Joe's on-stage, sleeping-pill-induced freak-out from two years back, one could formulate a theory on just how stable Billie Joe may be behind the scenes. All this in mind, Uno!, Dos!, and Tre! by Green Day are some of the worst albums ever. However, I'll give it a 1/10, just for "Kill the DJ". Expand

See all 32 User Reviews