• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: May 15, 2012
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 134

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    Extremely strong, hella enjoyable album. It's front loaded with a raucous assortment of dance party ready tracks that run the gamut from strutting stomp clap anthems, down and dirty funk and pure pop candy. Midway the album takes a turn to the dark side, delving into some driving industrial sounds along with a couple heartwrenching emotional tracks. And despite the high quality and minuteExtremely strong, hella enjoyable album. It's front loaded with a raucous assortment of dance party ready tracks that run the gamut from strutting stomp clap anthems, down and dirty funk and pure pop candy. Midway the album takes a turn to the dark side, delving into some driving industrial sounds along with a couple heartwrenching emotional tracks. And despite the high quality and minute attention to detail in the production choices that is obvious throughout the entire run of songs, Adam Lambert's stunning vocals are the true star. His voice soars into the stratosphere, drops back down to a more earthy tone where you can practically hear him smiling with the pure joy of singing, then lowers to tender whisper. The whole album flows incredibly well from beginning to end, something quite rare in a pop record these days, taking the listener on a captivating journey.

    Highly recommend this album.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album is a true work of love and artistry. The pop banger's on the front half are dance party tunes, and the back half is loaded with ballads , some will grab your heart and make you cry, you can feel the pain. There is something for everyone on this album. It's fresh and current, and let's you hear Adams vocals upfront. There is no other artist like him in music right now.This album is a true work of love and artistry. The pop banger's on the front half are dance party tunes, and the back half is loaded with ballads , some will grab your heart and make you cry, you can feel the pain. There is something for everyone on this album. It's fresh and current, and let's you hear Adams vocals upfront. There is no other artist like him in music right now. The album is totally cohesive and takes you on a journey to trespass into his soul. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album does an amazing job of balancing retro style that are favorites to many and current pop sensibilities. Tracks to check out: Shady, Cuckoo, Broken English, Underneath, and Runnin'
  4. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album makes me want to break out a thesaurus so I can use all the words to describe how much I love it. Yeah, that sounds over the top but it's true. I literally do not need to skip a single track which is very rare with any album. What's even rarer? Me going to a brick and mortar store to purchase an actual cd. And I did because that's how much I enjoy a pop album from someone whoThis album makes me want to break out a thesaurus so I can use all the words to describe how much I love it. Yeah, that sounds over the top but it's true. I literally do not need to skip a single track which is very rare with any album. What's even rarer? Me going to a brick and mortar store to purchase an actual cd. And I did because that's how much I enjoy a pop album from someone who can actually sing and not rely on computerized wizardry. It definitely reminds me of a time when pop artists had actual talent to rely on. The songs are solid, full of catchy hooks, insane vocals, attitude and a nice mix of substance and emotion with a nice dose of freak flag waving. Definitely be jammin to this for a long time. I hope everyone who likes mainstream pop music with a funky twist and almost indie like influences can check your preconceived notions at the door and give this album a try. Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    10
    Well done album. Better than I expected and I expected it to to be good. The fast songs lead into the slower side of the album effortless. The regular album ends on a very moving note with Outlaws of Love, and the deluxe album has the perfect encores. A lot of the songs on Trespassing are going to be my summer jams.
  6. May 15, 2012
    10
    Flawlessly funky and full of dance inducing beats, there's plenty of emotion here too. Has me dancing, singing and crying in turn. Outlaws of Love will pull on your heart strings, while Shady is classic funk updated in the best possible way. A must have for pop/funk/dance fans everywhere.
  7. May 15, 2012
    10
    The album is pure joy. Everything I love in a performer. First and foremost, the vocals. Adam's vocal ability is rare. He's done what your average pop star just can't do and he's managed to make everything current. I can't sit still when I listen to the first half of the album. The beats are so contagious and the production throughout is perfection. The second half really captures theThe album is pure joy. Everything I love in a performer. First and foremost, the vocals. Adam's vocal ability is rare. He's done what your average pop star just can't do and he's managed to make everything current. I can't sit still when I listen to the first half of the album. The beats are so contagious and the production throughout is perfection. The second half really captures the brilliance of his voice. It stirs emotions and tears at the heart, in the best possible way. He really makes me feel the lyrics. It feels so personal.
    It's cohesive, balanced and so enjoyable. It makes me happy. The album is more than I dreamed an album could ever be. At last.......
    Expand
  8. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album is what For Your Entertainment wanted to be when it grew up and probably SAdam, when he grew up as an artist.

    There is not one tract on it I have skipped past. There are several standout tracks such as 'Shady' ft Nile Rogers and Sam Sparro, 'Trespassing', 'Cuckoo', 'Never Close Our Eyes', 'Chokehold' and I could go on. However...'Underneath' is perfection and heartbreak in the
    This album is what For Your Entertainment wanted to be when it grew up and probably SAdam, when he grew up as an artist.

    There is not one tract on it I have skipped past.

    There are several standout tracks such as 'Shady' ft Nile Rogers and Sam Sparro, 'Trespassing', 'Cuckoo', 'Never Close Our Eyes', 'Chokehold' and I could go on. However...'Underneath' is perfection and heartbreak in the form of a song.

    In closing... Well played, sir...well played
    Expand
  9. May 15, 2012
    10
    Favorite Pop album since Gaga's 2008 The Fame! With songs like Pop That Lock, Naked Love, Cuckoo, and Kickin In it has the fun of a Gaga album. Then the lyrical content of Chokehold, Broken English, Runnin, & Underneath adds the sophistication of a P!NK album! And oh the funk of Shady! All tied together with that amazing voice! Wow!
  10. May 15, 2012
    10
    Trespassing has far exceeded my expectations, without a doubt the hottest thing to happen to pop music in many years. Every single track is flawlessly produced and they all flow so well together. The first half of the album is full of fun, funky and upbeat songs that are sure to get you out of your seat and dancing. The second half is filled with mellow, moody and sometimes dark tracksTrespassing has far exceeded my expectations, without a doubt the hottest thing to happen to pop music in many years. Every single track is flawlessly produced and they all flow so well together. The first half of the album is full of fun, funky and upbeat songs that are sure to get you out of your seat and dancing. The second half is filled with mellow, moody and sometimes dark tracks that I think every single one of us can relate to in one way or another. There is not one song on this album that I would say I don't like, amazing from start to finish. Expand
  11. May 15, 2012
    10
    This is a brilliant album from start to finish. Each track highlights Adam's vocals in its own special way. From funky to fabulous, from partying to the slower, softer ballads, this album is the work of an amazing artist.
  12. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album is the best I have heard this year. The vocals are superb. The dance numbers are engaging & make me get up and dance. The ballads are so beautifully performed that they bring the listener into the very heart of the emotion of the songs. The mixture of songs is artfully balanced. The CD has been on repeat in my home since it was purchased. Can't get enough of it.
  13. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album exceeded my expectations. From the fun upbeat songs; Shady, Cuckoo, Kickin In and Naked Love to the emotional ballads: Underneath and Outlaws of Love and everything in between there is amazing cohesion that is sometimes lacking when you have so many great songs on one CD. There is no one song I don't like. And as always his voice is spectacular.
  14. May 15, 2012
    10
    Lambert simply has the finest voice in pop music today. And he has the intelligence and skill to present it in mesmerizing performances. "Trespassing" is a truly great album - irresistible.
  15. May 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic pop album with male vocals unheard of in this genre. Great contrast between upbeat dance/funk first half that flows beautifully into the darker introspective second half. An added surprise are the 3 bonus tracks found on the deluxe edition. This one is a must buy.
  16. May 15, 2012
    10
    This CD has been expertly produced. The songs are relevant, the voice is immaculate, the beat is irresistible, and the emotion goes straight to your heart. Set to be a world wide success, better get your copy now before they get sold out.
  17. May 15, 2012
    10
    Very few albums I like on first spin. Sometimes I have to hear the songs several times before they grow on me or they never do at all. Three albums over the past few years I have liked at first spin Lady GaGa's Monster, Adele's 21 and Adam Lambert's Trespassing. The songs on this album have great hooks in them and I find they are stuck in my head.
  18. May 15, 2012
    10
    This is one outstanding Pop album and truly has me wanting to listen over and over. It takes you from a great funk, dance spectacle through a journey into heart grabbing ballads which are stunning. Adam's vocals shine, are flawless and his range phenomenal. Best album I've purchased this year.
  19. May 15, 2012
    10
    Trespassing has far exceeded any expectations I may have had. It is stellar! Each song is a superb escape. Adam Lambert has emerged as a true artist with this album. Executive producer, singer, song-writer. Best music I have purchased in a long time. This album will be on repeat for a long time. My standout tracks are Runnin', Kickin In, Pop That Lock, Shady, Trespassing. Seriously, itsTrespassing has far exceeded any expectations I may have had. It is stellar! Each song is a superb escape. Adam Lambert has emerged as a true artist with this album. Executive producer, singer, song-writer. Best music I have purchased in a long time. This album will be on repeat for a long time. My standout tracks are Runnin', Kickin In, Pop That Lock, Shady, Trespassing. Seriously, its that good. Great job Adam! Expand
  20. May 15, 2012
    10
    At first listen loved 12 of the 15 songs, by third listen loved them all. Keep changing my mind but think Underneath is No 1, very special! All dance tunes are fine, Adam has put his finger on today's pop dance scene while still showcasing his wonderful versatile voice. He listened to us fans who said "too much electronics" and has incorporated just the right amount to soundAt first listen loved 12 of the 15 songs, by third listen loved them all. Keep changing my mind but think Underneath is No 1, very special! All dance tunes are fine, Adam has put his finger on today's pop dance scene while still showcasing his wonderful versatile voice. He listened to us fans who said "too much electronics" and has incorporated just the right amount to sound contemporary. Many songs tug at the heartstrings as well. The production team is superb also. Expand
  21. May 15, 2012
    10
    I loved the funky songs on this album. The first half just wants to make you dance. The second half is very reflective and his voice just soars. One of the few albums I have purchases this year and most certainly the best. POP with breathtaking vocals, one of a kind.
  22. May 15, 2012
    10
    It's a rare thing to like every song on an album, and even more rare to find a cohesive framework and well polished sound throughout. Trespassing is one of those rare finds. The album's first half of funky fierce fun dance tracks is balanced by the dynamic and angsty second half, leaving you eager to go back and listen all over again.
  23. May 16, 2012
    10
    I am so floored by this album! Some of the songs already feel like old friends and others are so new and full of hidden depths. Adam has taken for his subject nothing less than one long overwhelming late-night confession of fear and love. And he has succeeded wildly.

    Trespassing is simplicity at its finest with no filler. There is genuine beauty to every urgent line of this record, and it
    I am so floored by this album! Some of the songs already feel like old friends and others are so new and full of hidden depths. Adam has taken for his subject nothing less than one long overwhelming late-night confession of fear and love. And he has succeeded wildly.

    Trespassing is simplicity at its finest with no filler. There is genuine beauty to every urgent line of this record, and it sounds so glorious it is impossible not to feel buoyant when listening to it.

    Most importantly Adam has found his voice. The title track, Trespassing, opens the album with a declaration of muscular resolve. No dream seems unrealistic and no amount of bravado seems out of place. This is the kind of song that shelters your fears and makes you stronger. It sets the tempo for a rare and wondrous adventure.

    The sway and drive of this music fills you with yearning and hope, from humor-laced, hedonistic escapes like "Shady" and "Kickin In" to devastating epics like "Outlaws of Love." In between are party anthems like "Cuckoo," "Naked Love," and "Never Close Our Eyes," the bombast and swagger of "Pop That Lock," and intensely emotional songs like "Better Than I Know Myself," "Broken English," "Chokehold," and all three bonus tracks.

    Ultimately, though, Trespassing is defined by one lyric, "Welcome to my world of truth." "Underneath" speaks of what happens when you are brought up to be full of love and the world doesn't love you back. Do you become jaded and cynical? Or do you find redemptive power? Because even here, flowing beneath the heart-breaking "red river of screams" there are glimmers of hope ("such a beautiful release / you inside of me").

    With Trespassing, Adam has taken the stand that anything is possible if we are not too terrified to let our emotions flow forth. He has left nothing on the field. Trespassing is an emotional inferno that leaves you with fire in your heart and tears in your eyes.
    Expand
  24. May 15, 2012
    10
    Amazing, fun, pop album, with just the right balance of emotion, Executive Produced by Lambert himself. Flawless production makes for fantastic beats that still allow the incredible vocals to be showcased. From liberating dance anthems to personal ballads, Trespassing proves that not only can Adam sing, he also knows music.
  25. May 15, 2012
    9
    This album exceeded my expectations, and they were sky-high. I love the new funky direction Adam has taken, and the songs really showcase his voice while still sounding fresh and modern. The darker side of the album is emotionally raw, and his vocals are unmatched. Superb production throughout.
  26. cmg
    May 15, 2012
    10
    this is a technically skilled yet immensely enjoyable album, that spans an emotional spectrum as it brings the listener on its full circle ride. lambert's vocals are lush and sensuous and sensational; and the album's production, while clearly a factor in creating the vibe, supports the vocals in a seamless fashion. it spans sensibilities of new and old genres and tastes, truly one of kindthis is a technically skilled yet immensely enjoyable album, that spans an emotional spectrum as it brings the listener on its full circle ride. lambert's vocals are lush and sensuous and sensational; and the album's production, while clearly a factor in creating the vibe, supports the vocals in a seamless fashion. it spans sensibilities of new and old genres and tastes, truly one of kind blend of beats, voice and sonic innovation. Expand
  27. May 15, 2012
    10
    I hope this is useful for non-fans and casual listeners. :-) And no, I don't work for Adam or RCA! LOL

    My cd arrives today, but I've spent the last week listening to the online stream. Until now, I've never heard an album where EVERY single song is awesome. My reactions to each track range from "I love this song" to "OMG I'm gonna faint!" Enthusiastic track-by-track reviews from
    I hope this is useful for non-fans and casual listeners. :-) And no, I don't work for Adam or RCA! LOL

    My cd arrives today, but I've spent the last week listening to the online stream. Until now, I've never heard an album where EVERY single song is awesome. My reactions to each track range from "I love this song" to "OMG I'm gonna faint!" Enthusiastic track-by-track reviews from reputable publications/blogs are cropping up everywhere. I've not seen any reviews that weren't positive. (With the exception of one shockingly homophobic rant. I won't say which site because they don't deserve hits.) I've seen several reviews that actually had a disclaimer that the reviewer was a non-fan but was happily converted by this amazing album.
    Unlike most albums that are just a couple hit singles with filler, Trespassing is an amazing, cohesive work of art. With the impressive soaring vocals and the maturity and depth of the song writing, one could call this pop music for grown-ups. There are many A-list collaborators, but Adam is the glue that binds it together - he was executive producer and co-wrote 12 of the 15 songs. I urge you to invest in the album, don't just cherry-pick and download individual tracks. I agree with many reviewers that if Trespassing can just get enough exposure, it could easily be Album of the year. Keep reading for track-by-track descriptions:

    The first 7 songs are exhilarating dance pop hits. "Trespassing" is all attitude and swagger; "Cuckoo" is a 'lets get crazy' dance party; "Shady" is naughty and absolutely funkaliscious; "Never Close Our Eyes" is a joyous celebration of life with soaring vocals; "Kickin' In" is an ode to the intoxication of the clubbing scene; "Naked Love" is an infectious, playful romp that's easy to sing along to; "Pop That Lock", about claiming your power, escalates to a bombastic blow-the-lid-off jam session.

    The energy of the second half of the album shifts to mid-tempo songs and ballads that are soulful and personal. "Better Than I Know Myself", which is about seeking reconciliation between the light and dark sides of self, is a great transition piece with a balance between slower, emotional verses and a more energetic chorus; "Broken English", about the frustration of communication problems, is a powerful, slow burn and some parts remind me of George Michael's heavier ballads; "Underneath" will rip your guts out. Achingly beautiful and deeply personal, it ebbs and flows between quiet vulnerability and a powerful demanding cry. Only Adam has the skill and artistry to pull off a song so emotional and vocally demanding; "Chokehold", about the addictive nature of a toxic relationship, has a throbbing beat and is both dark and hauntingly sensual; The standard album closes with "Outlaws of Love", a stripped down heartbreaker that also highlights Adam's incredible voice. It is a soulful lament inspired by the struggle for GLBT acceptance, but it captures the pain of anyone in a relationship that is unfairly condemned.

    The deluxe album includes 3 bonus tracks. Trust me, these gems are well worth the extra $2. "Runnin'", an intense, pounding plea for the strength to take command of a life that is dysfunctional and out of control, is utterly spellbinding - Adam uses his rarely-heard low register and soars almost 3 breathtaking octaves. "Take Back", also more up-tempo than other ballads, is filled with energetic frustration and the painful regret of a crumbling relationship. The rhythmic vocal embellishments are at times hypnotic, but in a very good way. "Nirvana", about the spiritual beauty of love, is a beautiful, ethereal lullaby and perfect to close the emotional journey of this album. Adam's voice is both exhilarating and calming.
    Expand
  28. May 15, 2012
    10
    Wow! I love that this is a pop album that has meaningful lyrics that are truly relatable to everyone! There are songs to dance and party to and songs that will bring you to tears. The music is fantastic and Adam's vocals really soar. You really can't go wrong if you purchase this album... should easily be the album of the year!
  29. May 15, 2012
    10
    Trespassing is simply put, a brilliant album. I have listened to the Deluxe version and I love every song. That is the first time that has happened to me since the Beatle's White album! Brilliant song writing and production! Trespassing is a vocal masterpiece and I don't expect to hear an album this good for a long time! Adam Lambert is the best male vocalist since...Jackie Wilson! LoveTrespassing is simply put, a brilliant album. I have listened to the Deluxe version and I love every song. That is the first time that has happened to me since the Beatle's White album! Brilliant song writing and production! Trespassing is a vocal masterpiece and I don't expect to hear an album this good for a long time! Adam Lambert is the best male vocalist since...Jackie Wilson! Love Trespassing so much! Expand
  30. May 15, 2012
    10
    I don't have enough good things to say about this album, so I'll just call it mind-boggling brilliant.. everything an album should be and so much more.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    40
    Trespassing is magnificent is its competence, but sadly, it doesn't appear to have an actual beating heart in it anywhere. [Aug 2012, p.102]
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    60
    If few of the songs are classics, his octave-leaping voice is often a showstopper.
  3. 60
    Trespassing isn't a totally cogent statement. Lambert suffers from a lack of restraint, while the second half of the album lags. But you have to admire Lambert's ability to go over the top and then ratchet higher still.