Tron: Legacy - Daft Punk
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 113

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    Awesome music to listen to. I'm not familiar with Daft Punk's past work, but I can tell they did an awesome job on the soundtrack of Tron Legacy!
  2. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Never listened to a soundtrack as much as I have listened to this one. Some tracks are just beautiful and some are just freaking awesome. If there is another sequel, Daft Punk...you have to do it!
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    A brilliant soundscape that blends perfectly with the movie. While their past work has always left me feeling a bit underwhelmed, they've really shown real ability as composers with Tron: Legacy. Who knew techno and orchestral could work this well together?
  4. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    We all know Daft Punk for their amazing house music, style, live performances and for producing songs that were considered essential in the French house scene. However this is their first time producing a soundtrack, and it is a true work of musical genius. It was surprising to hear such brilliance on musical ability. Don't get me wrong, their music is amazing but this confirms their abilities because first of all it is a different area for the duo and style. Tron: Legacy director Joseph Kosinski and music supervisor Jason Bentley made a great decision when they requested the duo to compose the film score. Daft Punk went all out on this soundtrack, and their hard work and genius produced an amazing sound-scape that will match the movie's uniqueness and darkness. Daft Punk's score was arranged and orchestrated by Joseph Trapanese. For two years the band collaborated with him on the score. In the end was the music that will make this movie a success and block buster. On another note this film score reminds us of the beauty that arises from mixing electronic and classical music. What makes this soundtrack so powerful is the emotion it conveys and delight it brings to the ears. It is extremely moving, captivating and inspirational to the lister. It offers the movie a personality, one that is dark yet moving, ambient and omnipresent. With the multi-layered classical ambiances and electronic feel, Daft Punk is sure to be remembered for their genius and spell bounding music. Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Dubroc
    Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Independientemente de si se ha visto o no la pelicula, uno no puede dejar de escuchar su excelente banda sonora. Compuesta por el duo frances de musica electronica Daft Punk, la banda sonora es el acompanamiento sonoro perfecto para la pelicula, incluso en muchos momentos de la misma, es la musica, la que mas destaca en escena. Cabe destacar que, cuando se escucha
    fuera de la pelicula, si se ha visto la misma, cada pista, te hace recordar el fragmento donde sonaba, sino se ha visto por el contrario, uno se ve envuelto en una sensacion que te teletransporta al futuro, tanto es las partes suaves y tranquilas, como las mas energicas. Es mas durante muchos momentos, mientras se escucha, recuerda al paisaje sonoro de Blade Runner. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    Congratulations to Daft Punk for understanding the essence of Tron and delivering a masterpiece! The music they created blends with the stunning visuals of the movie to immerse you in an amazing digital world.
  7. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Yes, when I first saw this name of the film, I know it is about the first love of boys and girls, the most pure love in our life, the love we can never forget. The actress is a really common girl, and in some aspect, she is too normal so that no one can notice, I cannot even image what kind of cute girl she will become. I know, she will become a cute girl she that boy will love her, , Cheap tv series dvd collection, fine package and clear image Expand
  8. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. This is one of the best Orchestral-Electronic-crossover-soundtrack I have ever heard.
    Starting with "The Grid" as the "real" Intro to this soundtrack the motives are always appear in many variations through the CD. Highlights: The Son of Flynn, End Of Line, Derezzed, Solar Sailer, TRON Legacy
    It's great to hear the teamwork of Daft Punk and Joseph Trapanese was successful.
    Collapse
  9. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Daft Punk really out did themselves on this one. The album feels like a story without the context of Tron. I enjoyed almost every song on this album. Great music for everyone on their stone hustle and flow.
  10. May 12, 2013
    10
    Best decision Disney ever made. Choose Daft Punk to write the Tron: Legacy album.This album was almost better then the movie itself.It blends with the movie with the movie's electronic feel.
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    Overall, a brilliant album. I went into the movie without knowing they did the soundtrack. The whole time, I was thinking this movies all right; but the soundtrack is great! The music truly reflects the visuals of the film and it is above par for any soundtrack out there. The french duo seem to take classics such as "Lux Aeterna" composed by Clint Mansell, and expound on the core elements of the track. Taking symphonic and electronic to a convergence; truly blending the two genres in a way that demands your attention. Expand
  12. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Tron Legacy's soundtrack is nothing short of an immersive experience through the mind, and highlights, with glorious detail, the symbiotic relationship that an orchestra and a pair of DJ's can have when they work together. Starting off with a beautiful piece, consisting primarily of strings and your typical "epic" soundtrack fanfare, the album is like a film in itself. The suspense builds up, and song by song, it slowly gets more intense, up to the penultimate track, which is the climax. A beautiful combination of strings, trumpets, synthesizers, and keys comes together seamlessly all throughout the album. That said, the album isn't perfect, with some tracks feeling a bit underwhelming compared the one that came before, or the one that comes after. That said, Daft Punk shows their musical prowess is as fine tuned as a pair of robots can be. A must buy for lovers of both theatrical scores and electronica, the Tron Legacy soundtrack is a must buy. Expand
  13. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    Tron: Legacy quickly immerses you into a detailed, stunning world. It sells its simple plot with awesome music, graphics, and sound effects. For a romp of good-vs.-bad action, see Tron: Legacy!
  14. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Who better to compose the music for one of the most visually appealing movies in recent history than the French electronic music duo Daft Punk? Their last record, Human After All, may not have been as good as their fans myself included hoped for, yet I hadn’t lost any interest in them and was pumped to hear what they’ve created for Tron: Legacy. Not unexpectedly, a lot of the tracks are working as underlying instrumentation of the movie and aren’t such huge euphoric songs. However, every single one of them is unique and worthy to listen to on its own. And to make the album even more exciting, we have outstanding hymns la Derezzed, The Son of Flynn, Outlands, End of Line, or the orchestral masterpiece Adagio for Tron. Maybe even more fantastic are the beginning and the ending of the album Overture and Tron Legacy (End Titles), two gems that make it absolutely legitimate to name Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo the Mozart and Beethoven of our generation. Even if you disliked the movie, this soundtrack is one of the best musical backgrounds any movie has had in cinema history and one of the best work Daft Punk has done in their career. Hats off! Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    50
    The music is so devoid of anything to grab onto, listening to it is rather like plummeting at speed through the artificial landscape constructed for the film. [Mar 2011, p.48]
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    60
    The fortunes of this soundtrack will ultimately rest with the success of the film but its brooding mix of old and new styles certainly wets your appetite to see it.
  3. After listening to Legacy it seems difficult to imagine anyone else achieving what they have whilst working with Disney studios.