True Romance Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut studio release for the British pop singer includes some tracks from her two previous mixtapes "Heartbreaks and Earthquakes" and "Super Ultra."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Minor quibbles aside (Set Me Free is a little over-wrought and clichéd), True Romance is a simply stunning record.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    83
    Like 90s pop stars turned 10s pop sophisticates Justin Timberlake and Beyoncé, Charli XCX stamps her personality across the entire project, and True Romance suggests she'll be worth following for a while.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Charli XCX isn’t smashing any glass ceilings in pop; she’s perfectly roughing up the edges of a long-standing mold.
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    True Romance is the pop-album equivalent of a wicked Tumblr.
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    70
    She’s the fun pop you don’t have to be embarrassed about listening to, and she’s definitely worth focusing your attention.
  6. 67
    True Romance may not match Aitchison’s high ambitions for her debut, but it’s a hell of a start.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    50
    While a few slivers of genuine spontaneity can be found throughout True Romance, particularly in the watery K-pop-esque opus "Nuclear Seasons," the sum as a whole feels rather forced.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    An AMAZING array of synth-pop and electronica. This album is one of the most underrated of 2013, songs like 'So Far Away' and 'You (Ha Ha Ha)'An AMAZING array of synth-pop and electronica. This album is one of the most underrated of 2013, songs like 'So Far Away' and 'You (Ha Ha Ha)' show what a diverse artist Charli is. True Romance is the perfect example of love's many sides. Each song tells a story, and each song has it's own unique sound - whether it's the ear-filling beat of 'You (Ha Ha Ha)', or the hip-hop influences of the Brooke Candy assisted 'Cloud Aura'. Charli solidifies her vocal and instrumental talent with True Romance. This album is a MUST-Listen. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrierThis album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrier because this album is STUNNING - vocally & musically. The production is flawless, along with the mysteriously intriguing songwriting. This album is a must-have for ANY music taste, the synthpop, bubblegum pop, and even hip-hop influences lace the album together so well. Expand
  3. May 12, 2013
    10
    Charli XCX is one of the best people ever. Her music is very amazing. I didn't know what to expect and wasn't sure if it was going to be good,Charli XCX is one of the best people ever. Her music is very amazing. I didn't know what to expect and wasn't sure if it was going to be good, but it was AMAZING. This is really her type of music. I can't think of any other type of music that she could sing except for this. It's really amazing. I adore You (Ha Ha Ha). I hope she makes more music because she is amazing! Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    This album is extremely personal, and I really appreciate her artistic direction. The beats are amazing, her voice is great, and even though aThis album is extremely personal, and I really appreciate her artistic direction. The beats are amazing, her voice is great, and even though a song or two falls short, it's hard to even notice them because this is one of the best albums I've heard this year. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2015
    8
    Track by track review:
    1. Nuclear Seasons 10/10
    2. You (Ha Ha Ha) 10/10 3. Take My Hand 9/10 4. Stay Away 6/10 5. Set Me Free 9/10 6.
    Track by track review:
    1. Nuclear Seasons 10/10
    2. You (Ha Ha Ha) 10/10
    3. Take My Hand 9/10
    4. Stay Away 6/10
    5. Set Me Free 9/10
    6. Grins 8/10
    7. So Far Away 7/10
    8. Cloud Aura 10/10
    9. What I Like 10/10
    10. Black Roses 7.5/10
    11. You're the One 8/10
    12. How Can I 9.5/10
    13. Lock You Up 7.5/10

    Highlights: You (Ha Ha Ha), What I Like, Cloud Aura, Nuclear Seasons, How Can I.
    Potential singles: You're the One, Cloud Aura, Nuclear Seasons, You (Ha Ha Ha), What I Like.
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2014
    7
    A fun debut album from Charli XCX that features some amazing bangers but unfortunately seems to have been stuck in release date limbo a bitA fun debut album from Charli XCX that features some amazing bangers but unfortunately seems to have been stuck in release date limbo a bit too long and rather than being cutting edge comes across slightly dated. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    Didn't know quite what to expect from this album and was pleasantly surprised. There's quite a mixture of different types of electronica. FromDidn't know quite what to expect from this album and was pleasantly surprised. There's quite a mixture of different types of electronica. From the kooky Nuclear Seasons and Set Me Free to the laid back What I Like and the 80's influenced Lock You Up, there's something here for every type of electronic fan. Charli has a lot of talent and control over her work for one so young, she just needs to push it that bit further. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews