True Romance

True Romance Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut studio release for the British pop singer includes some tracks from her two previous mixtapes "Heartbreaks and Earthquakes" and "Super Ultra."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Minor quibbles aside (Set Me Free is a little over-wrought and clichéd), True Romance is a simply stunning record.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    83
    Like 90s pop stars turned 10s pop sophisticates Justin Timberlake and Beyoncé, Charli XCX stamps her personality across the entire project, and True Romance suggests she'll be worth following for a while.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Charli XCX isn’t smashing any glass ceilings in pop; she’s perfectly roughing up the edges of a long-standing mold.
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    True Romance is the pop-album equivalent of a wicked Tumblr.
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    70
    She’s the fun pop you don’t have to be embarrassed about listening to, and she’s definitely worth focusing your attention.
  6. 67
    True Romance may not match Aitchison’s high ambitions for her debut, but it’s a hell of a start.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    50
    While a few slivers of genuine spontaneity can be found throughout True Romance, particularly in the watery K-pop-esque opus "Nuclear Seasons," the sum as a whole feels rather forced.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    increíble album, usando elementos del hip-hop en cada cancion, las canciones oscuras le quedan muy bien. mi favorita YOU'RE THE ONE, WHAT Iincreíble album, usando elementos del hip-hop en cada cancion, las canciones oscuras le quedan muy bien. mi favorita YOU'RE THE ONE, WHAT I LIKE, LOCK YOU UP... el mejor álbum del 2013 Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrierThis album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrier because this album is STUNNING - vocally & musically. The production is flawless, along with the mysteriously intriguing songwriting. This album is a must-have for ANY music taste, the synthpop, bubblegum pop, and even hip-hop influences lace the album together so well. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Okay. This is what I call an album. The songs are amazing, I love all of them, especially Take My Hand, Nuclear Seasons and Cloud Aura. I willOkay. This is what I call an album. The songs are amazing, I love all of them, especially Take My Hand, Nuclear Seasons and Cloud Aura. I will play Take My Hand on my wedding, for sure. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    This album is extremely personal, and I really appreciate her artistic direction. The beats are amazing, her voice is great, and even though aThis album is extremely personal, and I really appreciate her artistic direction. The beats are amazing, her voice is great, and even though a song or two falls short, it's hard to even notice them because this is one of the best albums I've heard this year. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2015
    8
    Great debut album, I can't believe that this is the same person that made SUCKER one year later, I love both albums and they're completelyGreat debut album, I can't believe that this is the same person that made SUCKER one year later, I love both albums and they're completely different. I think the best song is Nuclear Seasons. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    Charli XCX eventually received mainstream audience's attention with her collaborations on Swedish electro queens Icona Pop's 2012 sleeper hitCharli XCX eventually received mainstream audience's attention with her collaborations on Swedish electro queens Icona Pop's 2012 sleeper hit "I Love It" and Australian rapper Iggy Azalea's currently inescapable, 7-week number-one "Fancy". But the Brit diva's 2013 debut studio album True Romance -- it's technically her second studio album, considering her 2008 one never saw an official release -- has to be the destination to visit if anybody's ever curious as to what she's capable of.

    The deliciously dark Eurythmics inspired opener "Nuclear Seasons", which includes haunting vocal layers later found on "Grins", already allows the listener to take off their chains held down by expectations of any electropop album sang by somebody so unapologetically youthful as Charlie XCX and explore the album on their own terms. The combination of Myspace era emo, sappy songwriting ("Why you gotta go to sleep/Don't go to sleep/Let's go out"), and indietronica with a touch of darkwave and witch house might mislead skeptics into believing it's all about fun, games, and love, and guess what? It is. But it's the kind of self-conscious silliness that mainstream pop should be about. The sincerity in her sassy, party girl attitude certainly combats that of Kesha and her Dr. Luke produced safety sass.
    Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    Didn't know quite what to expect from this album and was pleasantly surprised. There's quite a mixture of different types of electronica. FromDidn't know quite what to expect from this album and was pleasantly surprised. There's quite a mixture of different types of electronica. From the kooky Nuclear Seasons and Set Me Free to the laid back What I Like and the 80's influenced Lock You Up, there's something here for every type of electronic fan. Charli has a lot of talent and control over her work for one so young, she just needs to push it that bit further. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews