True Romance - Charli XCX
True Romance Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut studio release for the British pop singer includes some tracks from her two previous mixtapes "Heartbreaks and Earthquakes" and "Super Ultra."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Minor quibbles aside (Set Me Free is a little over-wrought and clichéd), True Romance is a simply stunning record.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    83
    Like 90s pop stars turned 10s pop sophisticates Justin Timberlake and Beyoncé, Charli XCX stamps her personality across the entire project, and True Romance suggests she'll be worth following for a while.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Charli XCX isn’t smashing any glass ceilings in pop; she’s perfectly roughing up the edges of a long-standing mold.
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    True Romance is the pop-album equivalent of a wicked Tumblr.
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    70
    She’s the fun pop you don’t have to be embarrassed about listening to, and she’s definitely worth focusing your attention.
  6. 67
    True Romance may not match Aitchison’s high ambitions for her debut, but it’s a hell of a start.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    50
    While a few slivers of genuine spontaneity can be found throughout True Romance, particularly in the watery K-pop-esque opus "Nuclear Seasons," the sum as a whole feels rather forced.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. May 12, 2013
    10
    Charli XCX is one of the best people ever. Her music is very amazing. I didn't know what to expect and wasn't sure if it was going to be good, but it was AMAZING. This is really her type of music. I can't think of any other type of music that she could sing except for this. It's really amazing. I adore You (Ha Ha Ha). I hope she makes more music because she is amazing! Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    This is probably my favourite album of all time. It's just so fresh, original and good. Tracks like Grins, So Far Away, Take My Hand and many more are just masterpieces! Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Okay. This is what I call an album. The songs are amazing, I love all of them, especially Take My Hand, Nuclear Seasons and Cloud Aura. I will play Take My Hand on my wedding, for sure. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    This is a very good album, from its amazing imagery provoking lyrics and electronic drums to its catchy and memorable yet unique melodies. However while some of the tracks are quite boring, the ones that are good are so good you will not forget them. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    Charli XCX eventually received mainstream audience's attention with her collaborations on Swedish electro queens Icona Pop's 2012 sleeper hit "I Love It" and Australian rapper Iggy Azalea's currently inescapable, 7-week number-one "Fancy". But the Brit diva's 2013 debut studio album True Romance -- it's technically her second studio album, considering her 2008 one never saw an official release -- has to be the destination to visit if anybody's ever curious as to what she's capable of.

    The deliciously dark Eurythmics inspired opener "Nuclear Seasons", which includes haunting vocal layers later found on "Grins", already allows the listener to take off their chains held down by expectations of any electropop album sang by somebody so unapologetically youthful as Charlie XCX and explore the album on their own terms. The combination of Myspace era emo, sappy songwriting ("Why you gotta go to sleep/Don't go to sleep/Let's go out"), and indietronica with a touch of darkwave and witch house might mislead skeptics into believing it's all about fun, games, and love, and guess what? It is. But it's the kind of self-conscious silliness that mainstream pop should be about. The sincerity in her sassy, party girl attitude certainly combats that of Kesha and her Dr. Luke produced safety sass.
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2014
    7
    A fun debut album from Charli XCX that features some amazing bangers but unfortunately seems to have been stuck in release date limbo a bit too long and rather than being cutting edge comes across slightly dated. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2014
    0
    qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq Expand

See all 12 User Reviews