User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 269

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Why are you users talking just about Joy Division and Radiohead? In fact I really found offensive when someone was talking about OK Computer. Turn On... and OK Computer have nothing in common!! TELEVISION!! Does someone remember this band? Maybe the first band to create melodies based on two guitars? This is the main influence for every indie rock band in the world, specially for Interpol.Why are you users talking just about Joy Division and Radiohead? In fact I really found offensive when someone was talking about OK Computer. Turn On... and OK Computer have nothing in common!! TELEVISION!! Does someone remember this band? Maybe the first band to create melodies based on two guitars? This is the main influence for every indie rock band in the world, specially for Interpol. And the "depressive" sensation? It came from Joy Division, obviously. Forget Radiohead! This is a totally different topic... Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    possibly one of the greatest albums ever recorded. everyone stop comparing them to joy division. just because paul banks sings in a baritone voice, it does not mean he is ripping off ian curtis. it just means he sings in a baritone voice. last time i checked joy division didnt use a ton of reverb, interpol does. interpol is way more melodic than joy division. and i do not see thepossibly one of the greatest albums ever recorded. everyone stop comparing them to joy division. just because paul banks sings in a baritone voice, it does not mean he is ripping off ian curtis. it just means he sings in a baritone voice. last time i checked joy division didnt use a ton of reverb, interpol does. interpol is way more melodic than joy division. and i do not see the similarities with ok computer. yeah its a sad dark album, but i wouldnt say that sad dark albums are exclusive to radiohead. lucky, paranoid android, karma police, climbing up the walls, exit music (for a film), and no surprises sound nothing like this album. stop comparing them. even if they are "ripping them off", they ripped them off in a brilliant way. kurt cobain admitted to ripping off the pixies on nevermind, no one will argue that that album is bad. turn on the bright lights is an amazing album. end of argument Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    Sometimes as an adult you go back and revisit things 10 years later that you almost completely forgot about. Fortunately I did that today. This album still holds up amazingly well in 2014. It's one of my favorite albums ever released and it really broadened my horizons when I was just stating to branch out and listen to some new things. They kind of doomed themselves in a way bySometimes as an adult you go back and revisit things 10 years later that you almost completely forgot about. Fortunately I did that today. This album still holds up amazingly well in 2014. It's one of my favorite albums ever released and it really broadened my horizons when I was just stating to branch out and listen to some new things. They kind of doomed themselves in a way by releasing something so great as a debut - they could never hope to live up to it and their following releases always left me feeling disappointed. Interpol is not one of my favorite bands but this album ranks at the top as far as debuts go. In my opinion it has the best one two opening punch of any record and the final four songs are equally as impressive. Truly superb guitar layering, tone changes, and propulsive rhythms have a really hypnotic effect. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Such a great album, draws you in at certain times and then has you take a step back .Timeless classic which, though does have elements of Joy Division within, is a nice deviation from the norm of post-punk revivalists.
  5. May 10, 2011
    8
    A bit overrated but still somewhat of a modern post punk classic. The lyrics are a bit silly or nonsensical and that's usually a problem with me but for some reason it works with this album. Tracks like "Obstacle 1" "NYC" and "Leif Ericson" are just beautiful and make you wonder why this band couldn't go on forever.
  6. May 28, 2011
    10
    The lyrics can be very very awkward, but I get the feeling that it's intentional. It is tough, however, to find an album with soooooo many brilliant hooks. "Obstacle 1," "PDA," "Say Hello to the Angels," "Stella...," "Hands Away," and "Obstacle 2" have got to be some of the most amazing rock hooks ever put on record, while the rest of the album is enticing in an ethereal, hypnotic (and IThe lyrics can be very very awkward, but I get the feeling that it's intentional. It is tough, however, to find an album with soooooo many brilliant hooks. "Obstacle 1," "PDA," "Say Hello to the Angels," "Stella...," "Hands Away," and "Obstacle 2" have got to be some of the most amazing rock hooks ever put on record, while the rest of the album is enticing in an ethereal, hypnotic (and I mean extremely hypnotic) way. Simply put, what. a. **** record. Expand
  7. May 26, 2012
    10
    Turn On The Bright Lights is a brilliant and complex album, both lyrically and instrumentally. I can't believe that it has taken me this long to start listening to Interpol, but I'm very glad that I gave this band a chance. This is about as good a debut album as I have ever heard.
  8. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Wow - not just one of the great debut records but one of the greatest albums of all time. It's def in my top 10 records ever anyway. You haven't lived until you've heard this record. The Joy Division influences are there but I think this is better than anything the Manchester band ever did. Interpol took the dark, brooding indie guitar genre to a whole new level on this record. Every trackWow - not just one of the great debut records but one of the greatest albums of all time. It's def in my top 10 records ever anyway. You haven't lived until you've heard this record. The Joy Division influences are there but I think this is better than anything the Manchester band ever did. Interpol took the dark, brooding indie guitar genre to a whole new level on this record. Every track is brilliant from start to finish. Really captures the atmosphere of night time in a big city especially somewhere like NYC. 10 years on and the band's live sets still rely heavily on tracks off this record which says it all considering they have plenty of other great tracks to choose from. There hasn't been many records released by anyone since this that have been quite as good. Expand
  9. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    all i have to say is Interpol's Turn On The Bright Lights, is Number 2 on my personal top 100 albums of all time... now that has to say something right??
  10. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Anyone with a decent sized attention span and an appreciation for how an album sounds as a whole has to consider Interpol's debut one of the decade's best.
  11. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    The Album to me is basically black comedy, Its dark, downright depressing yet despite the overwhelming flow of bitter sweet agony you cant help but grin, this showing your morbid sense of entertainment and joy, making u laugh in a fit of sweet delight knowing that someone out their is WAY worse then you. Ohh and tracks are rather Catchy 2
    -Interpol Turn On The Bright Lights: 10/10
  12. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    One of the finest recordings of the 2000s, and easily the greatest rock/alternative album recorded in the 2000s decade. The album is hauntingly simplistic that creates a mesmerizing aura about living in high-octane New York City.
  13. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    An excellent debut record from the NYC indie post-punk revivalists. Most of the lyrics are poor, worth disregarding entirely in fact. The gloomy, unsettling music more than compensates, and there are also enough unexpected left-turns in the songwriting structures to reward repeated listens, such as the double-chorus in "Stella Was a Diver and She Was Always Down", and the excellent bridgeAn excellent debut record from the NYC indie post-punk revivalists. Most of the lyrics are poor, worth disregarding entirely in fact. The gloomy, unsettling music more than compensates, and there are also enough unexpected left-turns in the songwriting structures to reward repeated listens, such as the double-chorus in "Stella Was a Diver and She Was Always Down", and the excellent bridge in "PDA". "Obstacle 1" boasts one of the most unnerving moments in modern music, with the scary line "stabbing yourself in the neck" surrounded by deep-throat guitars. It's very effective. Much better than Editors for obvious reasons, partly because here, they sound like Interpol, not trying to force a Joy Division clone out of limited talent. Expand
  14. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    This album is a masterpiece of 2000's. It is the best album of that decade and one of the greatest of all time.
    There are guitars, playing elegant and sad melodies, being soft, hard, gentle, raw.
    There's an incredible drumming through it, Sam Fogarino plays the drums with an unmistakable emotive style, his style. There are unforgettable bass lines, played by one of the best bassist of
    This album is a masterpiece of 2000's. It is the best album of that decade and one of the greatest of all time.
    There are guitars, playing elegant and sad melodies, being soft, hard, gentle, raw.
    There's an incredible drumming through it, Sam Fogarino plays the drums with an unmistakable emotive style, his style.
    There are unforgettable bass lines, played by one of the best bassist of our times, Carlos Dengler, and there's the melancholic moving voice of Paul Banks.
    This is an expressionist record, emotions flows through it from start to finish. When you put it on and the first track, Untitled, begins to play, you already feel the talent, the beauty and the uniqueness contained in what you're hearing. These things won't disappear during the listen and when you'll have finished to hear the last track, the love for Interpol will be filling your heart.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. It sounds like the Ramones covering OK Computer. It's also one of the best debuts of the year.
  2. 60
    Bright Lights isn't a trudging soundtrack to depression; it's laced with upbeat, albeit bittersweet, songwriting. [#9, p.148]
  3. Predictably claustrophobic listening.... When they come up for air, Interpol have the tunes to match all the mannered gloom. [Sep 2002, p.107]