• Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Aug 23, 2005
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 123

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinK
    Aug 30, 2005
    0
    Hooray, another 17 dollar coaster.
  2. PatS
    Aug 23, 2005
    6
    It gets a bit much after a few listens. They've brought the percussion to the forefront in a few tracks, songs like 'The Bleeding Heart Show' where the drumming carries the song are standouts.
  3. JeffH
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    Quite simply, there is no better band working right now, and this album is at least the equal of their previous two brilliant releases. If you figure in Carl Newman's solo album and Neko's solo work, there just couldn't be a better pop collective out there. If you like indie pop in any shape or form, you MUST own this record. I just don't have superlatives enough to go Quite simply, there is no better band working right now, and this album is at least the equal of their previous two brilliant releases. If you figure in Carl Newman's solo album and Neko's solo work, there just couldn't be a better pop collective out there. If you like indie pop in any shape or form, you MUST own this record. I just don't have superlatives enough to go on further. Expand
  4. Adam
    Sep 3, 2005
    8
    Excellent disc.
  5. Jared
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Duh!
  6. MorganG
    May 10, 2006
    1
    This album is impossible to like. I tried and I tried to find some good in the cd, but came up with nothing. I took a chance when I bought this album and ended se up selling this album back to the store. If you like throwing your money down the drain, then this is the album for you.
  7. NicholasB
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    Mass Romantic was wonderful; Electric Version its equal; but Twin Cinema surpasses them both. It's nigh on the perfect pop record.
  8. AdamK
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    Just an Incredible Album! This group has done it again--amazingly enough. I don't know how to explain it; when a song like Jessica, Dressed In Cobras comes booming out of the stereo, you want to jump off the rooftops doing somersaults in the sky. This is what great music is about.
  9. CraigE
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    Note to all artists who aspire to "Best Album of the Year" recognition: don't release your album in the same calendar year as a new New Pornographers release.
  10. Rory
    Aug 24, 2005
    8
    There's about 8 great songs on Twin Cinema. "Use It" is one of the best songs ever. My preliminary formula is to play the first four, skip the two tracks that awkwardly reference women's names and then play the next three. Then skip to "Star Bodies." Other standouts are the two songs that Neko Case sings lead on. "The Fables on My Street" has that totally cool funk piano There's about 8 great songs on Twin Cinema. "Use It" is one of the best songs ever. My preliminary formula is to play the first four, skip the two tracks that awkwardly reference women's names and then play the next three. Then skip to "Star Bodies." Other standouts are the two songs that Neko Case sings lead on. "The Fables on My Street" has that totally cool funk piano breakdown in the coda and "Bones of an Idol" is nice. So 1/2 the songs are ass, that's still not a bad ratio. Can't be too greedy y'know. Expand
  11. BrianM
    Aug 26, 2005
    7
    Not nearly as good as the last two records or A.C. Newman's solo disc, but it's a grower. Good things can be found if you stick with it, but don't expect brillance.
  12. MarkC
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Crazy-good record that makes you literally stop in your tracks at times and admire just how great it is. Songs like "Sing Me Spanish Techno" or "Jackie, Dressed in Cobras" are so tuneful and heads-and-shoulders above what's being played on the radio -- or so-called "indie"-rock stations -- that it boggles the mind. Perfect end-of-the-summer listening.
  13. Ashoholic
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    Listen to those Drum Beats!!! Catchy, Poppy, Whats not to love. This whole album should keep all the skinny little white-belt, converse wearing hipsters shaking and groovin'. The only problem...is Neko skipping out on the first North American Tour?
  14. TristramC
    Sep 2, 2005
    8
    The most mult-dimensional of the three NP records, I must admit I wasn't sure at first. After the 5 listen test though, it is official that these guys have done it again. As a previous reviewer said, this is definately more mature but not in a 'euphemism for old and spent' kind of way; on this record is the delights fans have come to know along with the feeling an already The most mult-dimensional of the three NP records, I must admit I wasn't sure at first. After the 5 listen test though, it is official that these guys have done it again. As a previous reviewer said, this is definately more mature but not in a 'euphemism for old and spent' kind of way; on this record is the delights fans have come to know along with the feeling an already great band is still getting better. Expand
  15. JohnM
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    Jackie's dressed in cobras!!!
  16. AleksC.
    Sep 4, 2005
    8
    While I am rather new to The New Pronographers, I can tell why they are so critically acclaimed, and why the fan base is so huge. They have the power pop sound down, and it would be upsetting if they got passed up on a Grammy. Only problem for me though, is that, no matter how hard I try, I just can't get really into the songs on this album. The lyrics, and sounds are great and all, While I am rather new to The New Pronographers, I can tell why they are so critically acclaimed, and why the fan base is so huge. They have the power pop sound down, and it would be upsetting if they got passed up on a Grammy. Only problem for me though, is that, no matter how hard I try, I just can't get really into the songs on this album. The lyrics, and sounds are great and all, but this borderline pop-rock style hinders my ability to say that I love this band. Great, just not perfect. Expand
  17. BillyS
    Sep 4, 2005
    9
    Oustanding music from a collaboration worth keeping in tact. Gets better with each subsequent listen...
  18. TimD
    Jun 26, 2006
    8
    That NME mark proves just how awful a publication it has become under conor mcnicholas tutorship. Their constant overlooking of the terriffic american/canadian pop scene (picaresque 5/10? idiots) in favour of horrendously dull british acts is simply derisory. How you can big up the pipettes and the arctic monkeys while their much better behaved siblings monkey swallows thew universe and That NME mark proves just how awful a publication it has become under conor mcnicholas tutorship. Their constant overlooking of the terriffic american/canadian pop scene (picaresque 5/10? idiots) in favour of horrendously dull british acts is simply derisory. How you can big up the pipettes and the arctic monkeys while their much better behaved siblings monkey swallows thew universe and band club toil round in northern clubs is quite, quite bizarre. It really cries out for new editorship. Oh, and twin cinema is a very very strong album; bleeding heart show is so jawdroppingly gorgeous i tend to dribble just thinking about it. Expand
  19. EricC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Impossibly fun. I was only a couple of songs in to this album before it became one of my favorites. I'll blast this music from my stereo for a while.
  20. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Pop at its finest
  21. RobertM
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Really can't stop listening to this album. awesome.
  22. PaulH
    Nov 2, 2005
    8
    another solid album, i rank this one ahead of electric version, right behind mass romantic. but none of them are as good as the slow wonder, still, good stuff.
  23. FranciscoP
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    Completely agree with the Lost at Sea review - TNP are now a band I can't live without. IMO, this is by far their best work yet. I loved the first two cd's but this is the first I can listen to all the way through. Brilliant!
  24. RaulJulia
    Oct 18, 2005
    7
    I have dropped my 13 bucks on Electric Version and Twin Cin and feel somewhat let down. While both are decent records, neither live up to the excessive hype built up around them. Their songs are like veneers and fail to connect on a deeper level. 'Pop' music is capable of so much more. I'll be selling my copies.
  25. W.Haas
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    Really this is the indie pop album of the year. Not to mention NP accomplished their best yet.
  26. D*To-
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    One of the top few albums of the year, with probably the song of the year ("The Bleeding Heart Show"). This album is a masterpiece from the very beginning, with the burst into "Twin Cinema." The genius of the interwoven lyrics of Case and Newman is brilliant, not to mention Bejar at his best ("Jackie, Dressed in Cobras").
  27. Matt
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    If there was any question that they will go down as one of my all-time favorite bands, this puts that question to rest! Another brilliant album without using the same formula.
  28. TylerW
    Aug 23, 2005
    6
    It seems the media labels "The Next Big Thing" tag to even the most medicore releases. The New Pornographers have a nice collection of songs. Has anyone even bothered to comment on the terrible artwork! If it werent for those NYC rockers The New Lows, I might be able to digest this record.
  29. JohnG
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    My only criticism is that the vocals are buried too deep in the mix... or I'm going deaf. Otherwise this is wonderful transcendant ear candy.
  30. HelderM
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    catchy songs, inspirated songwriting and arrangements, driving drums... a pleasure to listen with repeat mode on. the best a powerpop can be.
  31. RobJ
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Wonderful quirky melodic pop from this Vancouver group. Stronger than Electric Version. There are a couple of jump out of your seat songs.
  32. Alex
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Yet another winner from a great band.
  33. PatrickD
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Absolutely perfect and tremendously addictive power pop. I was worried that they wouldn't be able to match Mass Romatic and The Electric Version, but they have surpassed them. I was lucky enough to find a pre-release version of this, and have not stopped listening to it for weeks now. The New Pornographers are "ear candy" - incredibly rich, hooky music it's virtually impossible Absolutely perfect and tremendously addictive power pop. I was worried that they wouldn't be able to match Mass Romatic and The Electric Version, but they have surpassed them. I was lucky enough to find a pre-release version of this, and have not stopped listening to it for weeks now. The New Pornographers are "ear candy" - incredibly rich, hooky music it's virtually impossible to tire of...there's something new to hear every time. That they are not the most popular band on the planet is a crime. Do yourself a favor and buy Twin Cinema (and their other 2 CDs) today. Expand
  34. CoolferG
    Aug 25, 2005
    6
    For every high point there's one equally low point. Some songs plod along like an out-of-step death march. Others are fantastic.
  35. GabeH
    Aug 26, 2005
    9
    Filled to the brim with crispy, irrepressibly hooky guitar work, boomingly insistent percussion, and pitch-perfect harmonies, Twin Cinema finds the Pornos making a lateral progression in their music: Dan and A.C.'s songwriting prowess is as acrobatic and engagin as ever, but this is by no means their best album. Which is not to say that this is not as good as their others.
  36. Aaron
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    The group's best effort yet. It's a picture perfect record of instantly lovable indie pop. I think it's one of the year's best discs.
  37. AlexE.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    The first time through, I hated this album. Where had all the sing-along hooks gone? And what on Earth was the deal with "Stacked Crooked"? But now, I find myself singing "Jackie, Dressed In Cobras" and "Broken Beads" at the top of my lungs in the car just as much as "Use It" or "The Bleeding Heart Show". This, to me, is the mark of a truly great album. It is a grower, but it sneaks up on The first time through, I hated this album. Where had all the sing-along hooks gone? And what on Earth was the deal with "Stacked Crooked"? But now, I find myself singing "Jackie, Dressed In Cobras" and "Broken Beads" at the top of my lungs in the car just as much as "Use It" or "The Bleeding Heart Show". This, to me, is the mark of a truly great album. It is a grower, but it sneaks up on you, revealing its brilliance gradually. Just give it a little time, and you will see. Plus, Kurt Dahle's drumming on the album honestly has to be heard to be believed. Incredible. Expand
  38. DouglasC
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    All right, may not be their best album. But compared to all the albums put out this year that I have heard, I have to give this one a 10. Just like Mass Romantic and Electric Version, it is very difficult to listen to this album without wanting to sing along and jump all around the place like a silly fool. This album puts me in a good mood, give it a chance and it will undoubtedly do the All right, may not be their best album. But compared to all the albums put out this year that I have heard, I have to give this one a 10. Just like Mass Romantic and Electric Version, it is very difficult to listen to this album without wanting to sing along and jump all around the place like a silly fool. This album puts me in a good mood, give it a chance and it will undoubtedly do the same for you. Expand
  39. MarkM
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    This is by far my favorite of the new pornographers' albums. Some have complained that it is not as bouncy and high-energy as their other albums, but when they slow down the music, such as on "The Bleeding Heart Show" and "Falling Through Your Clothes", I think it works to great effect. Also, this record has what has become my all-time favorite New Pornographers song, "Sing Me This is by far my favorite of the new pornographers' albums. Some have complained that it is not as bouncy and high-energy as their other albums, but when they slow down the music, such as on "The Bleeding Heart Show" and "Falling Through Your Clothes", I think it works to great effect. Also, this record has what has become my all-time favorite New Pornographers song, "Sing Me Spanish Techno". This is a purchase that's worth every cent. Expand
  40. [Anonymous]
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Pop genius.
  41. BernardA
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    This is the first cd from this band that I bought & after listening to it I just have to get their previous cds. Every song is a gem especially Use It, Sing me Spanish Techno & Star Bodies. The only weak spot is Jessica Numbers which is really boring. Along with Spoon's Gimmie Fiction this is one of the best releases of 2005
  42. ZacharyM
    Sep 4, 2005
    9
    Excellent. Refreshlingly new sounding.
  43. matta
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    Could be their best album(although Electric Version is right there with this). The title track, Use It, The Bleeding Heart Show, The Jessica Numbers, and Sing Me Spanish Techno are all classic. Not only one of the best power-pop albums of the year, but currently one of the ten best as well.
  44. MarkS
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    I regret trading in their first two efforts, but that's o.k., because this disc has a magic feeling that channels good vibrations.
  45. DaveG
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    I don't just give away perfect scores, but after a year of this album I can't give it any less than one. This is pop music at its very finest, and the crowning achievement of The New Pornographers. If you haven't heard this album, it's about time you got on board.
  46. CurtA
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    If I have to see that another White Stripes album is gaining acclaim (or even attention), I am going to vomit. TNP's Twin Cinema is measured yet spontaneous with some of the best drumming I have ever heard -- it compares with some of the best of Jimmy Chamberlain of Smashing Pumpkins and Glenn Kotchke of Wilco. Twinc Cinema is like your favorite cup: you never get tired of drinking If I have to see that another White Stripes album is gaining acclaim (or even attention), I am going to vomit. TNP's Twin Cinema is measured yet spontaneous with some of the best drumming I have ever heard -- it compares with some of the best of Jimmy Chamberlain of Smashing Pumpkins and Glenn Kotchke of Wilco. Twinc Cinema is like your favorite cup: you never get tired of drinking from it no matter how many timmes you've done it. Expand
  47. CarlosD
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    C'mon people, this is the most ebullient pop music you'll find anywhere, and it's smart to boot. Stands up to repeated listenings and never grows old
  48. ElizabethP
    Mar 21, 2006
    2
    Just plain awful! It's incredibly hard to sit through any of the songs. A lot of the songs sound alike and the vocals are annoyingly cloying. All the "energy" that everyone professes they have doesn't make up for the weak songs. The New Pornographers are too busy trying to impress us with their array of instruments that they fail to create a single good song. No style and Just plain awful! It's incredibly hard to sit through any of the songs. A lot of the songs sound alike and the vocals are annoyingly cloying. All the "energy" that everyone professes they have doesn't make up for the weak songs. The New Pornographers are too busy trying to impress us with their array of instruments that they fail to create a single good song. No style and definitely no substance. Expand
  49. SimonS
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    I've had A LOT of fun dancing away to this album. Its quite uplifting music.
  50. TeePets
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    I've had this album in the CD player at least three times a week for the past 8 months and am still amazed by it on every listen. A celebration of music -- rich, vibrant and sometimes scary. A masterpiece.
  51. mr.hankey
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    The New Pornographers could be considered a band full of fun, quirky and electric songs that are indie pop. Well for this album Twin Cinema, The New Pornographers have seemed to look at their idols because I can hear some classic rock in there. Twin Cinema in my opinion is the New Pornographers best because it isn't as "poppy" as their past releases that were still brilliant. Twin The New Pornographers could be considered a band full of fun, quirky and electric songs that are indie pop. Well for this album Twin Cinema, The New Pornographers have seemed to look at their idols because I can hear some classic rock in there. Twin Cinema in my opinion is the New Pornographers best because it isn't as "poppy" as their past releases that were still brilliant. Twin Cinema the title track of the album stands out as a song that is a fusion of syths, guitar and drums that in the end becomes an anthem. The Bleeding Heart Show is a ballad of brilliance that is one of the best of the album because it is so likeable, also a song that you can sing along to. Sing Me Spanish Techno is probably my favorite song because it is the song that is most relatable to classic rock in general. But overall the album is definitely a highlight of 2005 and should have not been missed. I still listen to it this day. See you on tour with Belle and Sebastian. Expand
  52. emis
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    one of the best albums in 2005.
  53. susiek
    Jan 23, 2007
    8
    Very good although not as good as Electric Version. It took me a while to get into this album, but I think it was worth it. There are a few songs on this album that rub me the wrong way depending upon my mood, but there are others that I need to crank up as loud as I can no matter when I hear them.
  54. PlatypusQuest
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    This album is completely remarkable, easily the best album of their career. And Eff E is completely MAD! Jackie Dressed in Cobras is my favorite song on the album!! He's mad I tell you! MAD!!!
  55. ChadS
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    I respect Jack Johnson, but he doesn't make me proud to be from Hawaii. Poi Dog Pondering did. If I was Canadian, The New Pornographers would replace the Crash Test Dummies as my local fav. "Sing me Spanish Techno" is such a cool title and the song doesn't let you down. The vocalist sings the title with such feeling, a potentially jokey idea is turned into a notion that's I respect Jack Johnson, but he doesn't make me proud to be from Hawaii. Poi Dog Pondering did. If I was Canadian, The New Pornographers would replace the Crash Test Dummies as my local fav. "Sing me Spanish Techno" is such a cool title and the song doesn't let you down. The vocalist sings the title with such feeling, a potentially jokey idea is turned into a notion that's suddenly poignant. "Jackie Dressed in Cobras" sounds like "Kimono my House"-era Sparks informed by indie rock. It's the most distinct track on "Twin Cinema", and maybe the best. My favorite Candian is Jane Siberry, but she hasn't made a truly great album since "When I was a Boy". Expand
  56. NateL
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    It is what it is.
  57. EffE
    Nov 7, 2005
    6
    I like this album, but I can't say it's as good as reviews say. Most songs are either good though. However, I have to disagree with many reviews: the three Dan Bejar's songs (Jackie..., Broken Breads, Street of Fire) are horrible. I hate them ! I enjoy the other songs though, especially The Jessica Number.
  58. justinb
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    best album of 2005, just listen and you'll know what something with that title sounds like.
  59. ErikS
    Dec 2, 2005
    5
    Not nearly as good as Electric Version
  60. EddieT
    Oct 24, 2005
    4
    I hate being one of those people that searches out new places on the Internet to gas their acrid opinions, but I have to tell someone: I just find Carl Newman's songs unbelievably dull. It was true for his solo record but never more than here. Isn't "These Are the Fables" completely predictable? Doesn't the faux cleverness, as in "Use It," make you shudder? Although I hate being one of those people that searches out new places on the Internet to gas their acrid opinions, but I have to tell someone: I just find Carl Newman's songs unbelievably dull. It was true for his solo record but never more than here. Isn't "These Are the Fables" completely predictable? Doesn't the faux cleverness, as in "Use It," make you shudder? Although it's minorly funny/effective to cast a Bejar song as a campfire singalong, this album has so few new ideas. Instead of being its own album, it feels like a sequel to a sequel. Expand
  61. KristiC
    Oct 25, 2005
    8
    this band makes me proud to be from vancouver!
  62. TrishK
    Aug 22, 2005
    4
    Really not that good. Empty, brainless pop music that'll be forgotten with the decade.
  63. michaels
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    Incredible record! So many well-laid hooks you'll be dancing around, in awe the entire time. Great guy-girl harmonies that remind me of Anniversary. Only criticism is that it is a bit overwhelming -- they coulda included some musical interludes to cleanse the pallette.
  64. TimJ
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    brainless pop music? there is nothing brainless about this. This is a very complex, ambitious work and it gets better with each listen. seriously.
  65. CyndyP
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    I thought The New Pornographers could never surpass "Mass Romantic, " but they've done it. "Twin Cinema" is as tuneful and ebulllient and giddy as "Mass Romantic", but has more depth and subtlety and weird surprises.
  66. Titus
    Aug 26, 2005
    9
    A little bit of filler, but really a beautiful album. A lot more mature than their previous work, definitely a bit of a departure. Really quite wonderful though.
  67. TroyP
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    The New Pornographers have gone three for three. Where pop bands fear to tread, longevity, the NP's seem to be headed. Fantastic hooks, deep, loving melodies and the incomparable Neko Case add up to the best album of the year, no matter what comes out after it. These guys are the best band working, period.
  68. Jenny
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    I am a huge fan of the New Pornographers and this is their best album yet! Not their "Mass Romantic" sound, but it's still amazing! I highly recommend it to everyone!
  69. VinceH.
    Sep 27, 2005
    7
    Not their best album by far. Both the previous NP albums and especially AC Newman's "The Slow Wonder" are far superior. My main reasoning is this: only a few exuberant songs on this album are as brilliant as even the average songs from Electric Version. "Twin Cinema", "Use It", "Sing Me Spanish Techno", "Three or Four", and "Streets of Fire" are the most memorable, and that is my Not their best album by far. Both the previous NP albums and especially AC Newman's "The Slow Wonder" are far superior. My main reasoning is this: only a few exuberant songs on this album are as brilliant as even the average songs from Electric Version. "Twin Cinema", "Use It", "Sing Me Spanish Techno", "Three or Four", and "Streets of Fire" are the most memorable, and that is my main problem: the lack of truly catchy songs. AC Newman obviously has a natural genius for melody, and in my mind ranks with Jeff Magnum, Jeff Tweedy, Miles Kurosky, and James Mercer among indie-pop Gods in terms of his absoultely brilliant melodies and catchy hooks, but the songs don't blow your mind or stay lodged in your bloodstream like the previous albums do. Pitchfork says this is their most mature album to date, which I do somewhat agree with. Definitely gets better with repeated listenings, but it is a bit of a dissapointment considering how awesome their last 2 albums were. Expand
  70. TylerA
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    Love it Love it Love it. How can one not erupt into joy when Newman sings "Traveling at god speed over the hills and trails" in the awesomely rocking "Sing Me Spanish Techno", or the throw-your-arms-into-the-air-and-celebrate climax of "The Bleeding Heart Show". Wonderful album.
  71. justina
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Brilliant, fun, hook-laden pop through and through. Just awesome.
  72. AlexG
    May 19, 2006
    9
    Excellent album. Totally lively and interesting. This was my first exposure to Neko Case, and she's got an incredible voice. A lot of the melodies remind me of Syd Barrett's stuff. I wasn't a fan of power pop before I heard this album, but it's opened my eyes.
  73. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    When I first hears "Use It" on the radio, I felt that sense of instant recognition of a great band reaching a peak, fully realizing their sound, similar to the first time I heard "Losing my Religion" by REM or "Bulls on Parade" by Rage. The album matches the epic quality of that song, although "Use It" remains a standout track.
  74. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Great album...and The Bleeding Heart Show is one of my favorite songs ever constructed. I simply can't get enough of Neko and Kathryn's voices. It is pure pop as is should be.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Twin Cinema is another great pop album from the New Pornographers, a release that's crammed with so many memorable melodies that the bumpier moments fade into the background.
  2. It's their trademark boisterous hyper-melodies... that will have you involuntarily humming their praises for weeks (months!) to come. [26 Aug 2005, p.59]
  3. Exhilarating and complex enough to keep you warm year-round. [Aug/Sep 2005, p.108]