Two Dancers

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Sep 8, 2009
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jim
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    Great cd.
  2. MR
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    This album is a HUGE grower. Give it a handful of listens and it'll work it's way to the top of your playlist. One of the top albums of 2009, without a doubt.
  3. NickA
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    A mix of textbook indie, falsetto vocals, and a bucketful of cracking songwriting, Wild Beasts have achieved a rare breed. Something not only intelligent, but also beautiful.
  4. jenniferr
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    love it! Cant wait to see them when I am in England in September.
  5. LeahT.
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    What at first might sound like a mildly irritating voice grows like a wonderful cankersore on your lips and forces you to sing along. Must hear: Hooting and Howling, All the King's Men, This is Our Lot. Wonderful and unique.
  6. garathd
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    A beautiful, Heart wrenching album- I cant imagine two singers that are so much of a contrast but compliment each otherso much. Just a brilliant album- CD of the year no contest.
  7. JamesL.
    Sep 10, 2009
    7
    The first album wasn't too great in my opinion, with the except of Devil's Crayon - an excellent song. This album is allround better but has no standout song. A good listening experience but nothing spectacular.
  8. FrankS.
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    This is one of the few albums of the year which deserves a warm welcome from every listener. With the first album I felt nothing but was very interested, now I am touched by the music and their better developed songstructures. They built a fundament for the future of getting a great rock group.
  9. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    The most brilliant, British masterpiece. The Wild Beasts are exceptional on this record. Their music is blindingly atmospheric and at times eerie, yet equally it is primal and powerful with the growl of a beast rumbling in its underbelly. Not only this but their lyrical prowess is on full form. Put this album on, loud and loose yourself in the milky light of the mighty moon.
  10. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    My God, Wild Beasts, what have you done? You've just created something you can never beat, some masterpiece that you will never recover from!
    In the meantime, we can listen to it, to its beautifully crafted songs, to its wonderful lyrics, and its dangerous melodies. An album to listen when it rains, when it's sunny and when you're drunk and nobody will sleep with you.
  11. May 17, 2012
    10
    This album is fantastic in every way. I vaguely remember not caring much for it the first couple times, but then one song stuck out to me: Fun Powder Plot. As I listened to that track, more and more tracks began to stick out, until at last I was singing along to the entire album over and over and over. It's erotic, but not romantic or contrived. It's moody, but not immature or sophomoric.This album is fantastic in every way. I vaguely remember not caring much for it the first couple times, but then one song stuck out to me: Fun Powder Plot. As I listened to that track, more and more tracks began to stick out, until at last I was singing along to the entire album over and over and over. It's erotic, but not romantic or contrived. It's moody, but not immature or sophomoric. The lyrics are incredibly poetic, taking cues from all kinds of classic literature (although following album is more obvious about its inspirations).
    One of my favorite albums ever; I cannot recommend it enough.
    Expand
  12. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    Two Dancers is a bit overdone lyrically, but it's otherwise the sound of a band who are keen to make a big difference in music. The sense of a stone cold classic to come from this band in a few years time remains sharp, and if it doesn't happen, then pigs shall fly.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Two Dancers, then, doesn't so much follow up their debut as announce Wild Beasts as one of our genuinely special bands, one that can compete--in terms of both musical and lyrical ingenuity as well as sheer pop nous--with any US act you've seen talked up in the music press this year.
  2. As the subtle, off-tonic final note puts to bed the album closer The Empty Nest, and with every aspect of the record exceeding expectations, Two Dancers makes a strong case to be named album of the year.
  3. The heart of Two Dancers lies in these seemingly jarring juxtapositions. The individual ingredients may be a decidedly mixed bag, but the final product is both coherent and very satisfying.