Unapologetic - Rihanna
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 317

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna!
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Too many people are basing this album off of Rihanna's history and situation. This is an amazing album and I'm not saying that because I like her as an artist but because she really gave her all on this album and it shows. She is one of the few rare artists that can create an album with so many sounds and still sound genuine. On this album, she has pop-rock (What Now), torch (Stay), reggae (No Love Allowed), Hip-hop (Phresh Out the Runway), R&B (Jump),80's rock (Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary), disco (Nobodies Business), and even a little bit of jazz (Get It Over With). The problem is too many people are basing this album solely off of the one song with Chris Brown which I think is pretty decent. If this album was by any other artist, there would be no hesitations to call this album of the year. I don't get it. When her voice is weak, they say she needs more power. When she's too innocent, they say she needs an edge. When she sings about sex all the time, she sings more about love. When they say she can't perform live, she blows them away. Now that she's proven how great of artist, people want to point out little petty things like how she doesn't write her own lyrics or her duet with Chris Brown. Not everyone can write their own lyrics and Rihanna is showing that she is a SINGER. And her duet with Chris Brown was spot on, that is NOBODIES BUSINESS but their own. Leave her life out of it ad just enjoy the music for what it is. At the end of the day, I'm glad she is Unapologetic about being herself because God knows people will judge her regardless so even trying to remotely care will only leave her in misery. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    5
    By far her worst album. Only a few good songs on it like the duet with chris brown and David guetta, the rest are dire!
    Stop Rihanna and come back in a few years time.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I have to admit that at first listen of this album, I wasn't too impressed but after I went through my day and I realized that I was playing the songs in my head, I had to go back and listen again. Now, the entire album is repeat. Give it another try. Trust me, all of the songs will get to you.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Riri has done it again. I don't understand all of the negativity with people on this album. Is it because she did a duet with Chris? Anyways, Love without Tragedy is the most beautiful song I have ever heard. I also am in love with What Now, Pour it Up, Jump, No Love Allowed, Diamonds, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise, Get it Over With, Numb, and Phresh Out the Runway. Heck, I love the entire album. Go buy because she definitely deserves #1 for this album. :) Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    I like Rihanna, but her formula is getting stale. It's almost like she's not needed on the project; she's not the engine behind the album. The main figures on this album seems to be the producers and the host of writers employed. She serves up some urban cuts and sappy ballads. She also collaborates with her beloved, convicted domestic abuser Chris Brown on the insulting "Nobodies Business." Overall, 1 or 2 ok tracks and the rest same old, same old. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    It's actually good, even though it's so easy to hate, especially because of the Chris Brown duet. This album goes back to the dark feel of Rated R, but improves on it. It's moody and a much needed improvement on Talk That Talk. 'Diamonds,' is a great song, but there are so many great songs on it besides that. Though 'Nobody's Business' is a cringe-worthy idea, it's a great song. 'Jump,' 'What Now,' and 'No Love Allowed' are amazing tracks. Of course, the dumb David Guetta pairing is a skip, and 'Phresh Out The Runway' is an easy one to forget. If you need a personal track, just listen to 'Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary,' which is a seven minute epic seemingly all about her abusive relationship with Chris Brown. It's a compelling album and much better than the last two. Give it a shot! Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Moving away from Talk That Talk, Unapologetic is a lot of effort by Rihanna. All the songs have it's story and flow very well when you are listening this album. The album goes in the awesome GGGB, Rated R, Loud collection!
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I don't know what everyone else is hearing but I hear some pretty decent music. I don't really like Rihanna and I can honestly say that she's proven to me that she can make decent music. I don't understand why people are stooping so low by giving her a 0, it isn't that bad. I was going to give her an 8 but now I'm just going to giver her a 10 for that foolishness.
  10. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Well, I particularly liked the album mainly two songs themselves, not thought necessary Rihanna to duet with Chris Brown because she knows very well that he did not have concert. But she wants to think so, going back to review the album will not be a shadow of Rated R but it is good she could have put full songs and not have done that even in Talk That Talk with songs that felt like they were not completed. Could choose their best duets have put artists we know, the album cover could be better but one thing ripening Rihanna piece of symbolism that thing too. "I'll do a review of personnel who speak badly of Rihanna and everything she does is wrong, surely you are fans of Lady Gaga covered band of demons." Simply hit Rihanna in parts this album, some songs back on your first album and some on her fifth album. Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Very bad album. I like only 4 of the songs - Phresh Off The Runway, Jump, Stay and Right Now. The other tracks are bland and boring. This album is the worst from Rihanna. She is trying to hard to be ghetto while she isn't. She is a POP star and she must embrace it!
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I love this album. It's really different from what she's done before. As usual, this album contains an outstanding variety. This album also continues the trend started in previous albums, since the quality of the music has yet again augmented from her previous release.
  13. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    The reason people are rating this album poorly is because they want songs like "We Found love" or "Only Girl In The World". That's what they expect from Rihanna. This was unexpected and although I love her club bangers, I'm enjoying her refreshing ballads right now. Do your thang baby gurl.
  14. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    What did Rihanna do? The album cover is terrible. The songs on the album are terrible. The lyrics of every song are terrible.. The only listenable song is "Diamonds" (the remix) too much party for rihanna
  15. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    This album is some of Rihanna's best work. Whilst her "thug life" persona still reigns strong, this project is still something we've never heard before. Just like all of her albums, Rihanna's sonic variation spans widely across the album, but this time, it's more than that. Some of the songs really go into uncharted territory for her level of pop supestardom. It goes without saying that probably not every track will be for everyone.. and there are highs and lows. But her brave experimentation is eventually proved very successful. The epic heights of 'Diamonds', the luxury of 'Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary', the beauty of 'Stay', the funk of 'Nobody's Business', the mystery of 'Numb' and the wild 'Jump' are some of the highlights. But the production and music all round is really great.
    Rihanna's lyrical allusions to Chris Brown throughout the album is the only one thing which unfortunately can't be ignored. As if a controversial collaboration with him wasn't enough, for some reason a couple of questionable references to past events seem somewhat... unnecessary.
    That said, Unapologetic should not disappoint anybody with a broad taste and general appreciation of urban pop music, mixed with the best of other genre influences like reggae and EDM.
    Expand
  16. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    What did Rihanna do?

    Let's just start from the basics. The album cover is terrible. The songs on the album are terrible. The lyrics of every song are terrible. She needs new writers, or to just start writing her songs.

    The only listenable songs are "Diamonds", "Lost in Paradise", and "Nobody's Business". Don't bother buying the rest.
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    4
    This album, like all other Rihanna albums, seems rushed and is full of album fillers. There are two stand out songs, 'Diamond' and 'Half of Me'. Shocking as it may, 'Numb' featuring Eminem is the most disappointing.
  18. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    The unstoppable Rihanna surprise us with this fresh breath of air (again). This isn't better than her previous works, this is different. Let's talk about each track, a bit of advice: forget everything you ever heard from her. Presh off the Runaway: Guetta is in here, and doesn't sound like him. Good, eh?

    Diamond: A new class on pop anthems, don't forget to give credits to the ever
    clever Sia.

    Numb (Feat. Eminem): Sounds more like an Kanye West song, and that's good thing, you'd better forget the pain you've heard from this duo before. A CLUB BANGER.

    Pour it up: Rihanna is kinda rapping here. Loveeeeeee song: Love making song, for real. The beat is hypnotic, and what about that guitar to the end? Sexiest thing.

    Jump: Rihanna is on the Dubstep train, just as she could do: with suggestive lyrics and a great production (Timbaland is also behind this, awesome). This will be banging the clubs too, and yeah, she's playing with ginuwine's pony.

    Right Now (Feat. David Guetta): The amazing duo are back, isn't one of their best, but will make you dance anyway.

    What now: A power ballad, not necessary at all.It feels a lack of cohesion.

    Stay (Feat. Mikky Ekko): Rihanna's best vocals, great lyrics, a piano, and this guy's awesome voice. Also written by Mikky, this song is a relaxing stop on the album.

    Nobody's Business (Feat. Chris Brown): Are you feeling the 90's vibe in this? I'd rather refer to this as "the bomb", great beat, a controversial collab, and defiant lyrics.

    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: Isn't a song with 2 tittles, they are two songs in one. The first, a heartbreak song, with smart references, Marilyn Monroe and James Dean; the second one, a exposure of rihanna's feelings about her career, her life.

    Get over it: Slow it down, again. It tastes like that early 2000's thingy.

    No love allowed: Down-tempo disco hall. this is closer to the end. It's very relaxing that island sense.

    Lost in paradise: Dubstep is here again, in a more blended way. Half Of Me: Isn't better way to end this album, than with a great ballad written by two Adele's (Emeli Sandé and that one who makes you cry with every song, Adkins)

    Rihanna did it again. That's all. Isaac Santos
    Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    too much auto tune going one as she has changed both her appearances and voices many times to keep up with the other artists trying to be something that they are not.
  20. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is very sure of herself and seeks deeper songs to express this, we see a dramatic change to his previous album Talk That Talk where she is electric and hyper-active. In this album we can see that Rihanna is returning to its origins as the first albums. This album is phenomenal and we call Rater R 2.0
  21. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ela está se superando cada vez mais e assim, esse cd está em uma evolução muito grande, ela está top nas paradas da billboard e merece o reconhecimento, depois de LOUD Riri só vem explodindo na atualidade, pois os antigos são muitos fodas. Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the singer from Barbados. Diamonds is mature and shows us a new Rihanna. Another song from the album is extraordinary stay showing this maturity. Rihanna did a mature and cohesive album and deserves to be in the spotlight of pop music.
  23. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    WOW, can't believe that Rihanna will collaborate with a man who abused her and be so nonchalant about it. Her actions are irresponsible and sends the wrong message to her young fans. She should be setting a better example. Other than that, the music doesn't live up to the hype. It doesn't contain any of those anthemic hits that brought her stardom and we've grown to love. Overall very rushed and not many good songs. Disappointed in Rihanna and her music. Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    One of my most anticipated releases this year and I'm left disappointed. "Unapologetic" could of been a great album, but it lacks those BIG dance anthems that Rihanna is known for. Overall very vapid and no artistry whatsoever!
  25. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Love LOve LOVE this album. I can jam, cry, dance, and vibe to this album. Repeat until her next one come out which hopefully is next year lol. Only Rihrih can do an album each year and still have the world sucked in.
  26. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Its just an perfect album. every song on the album is a hit. it shows Rihannas vocal talent in ballades like "What Now" or "Stay" (which are both one of the best Rihanna Songs). Her last big Album was "Rated R and i think "Unapologetic" as well as it. I think the best Tracks on the Album are "What Now" and "Whats Love Without Tragedy"
  27. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The album is very close to be named perfect.
    'Stay' is her best ballad EVER, 'Mother Mary' is a real grower. And of course, 'Jump' is classic already.
    It's the first Rihanna album I can listen from start to finish without any skipping (maybe just Loveee Song, kinda repetitive). Guetta's Right Now is basic, but will be huge in Europe.
    All other songs from dubstep-urban beginning to the
    ballad-y second half are incredible Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his charisma attracted fans from around the world, praised for its beauty, for its life history, and especially for his MUSIC.
    In Unapologetic, Rihanna shows that came to stay. With powerful ballads, and hip hop and urban vein, it shows what is to be a
    versatile artist.
    No wonder it is the most tanned on facebook, and his youtube channel is the most watched in the world.
    Rihanna is the VOICE!
    Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Although not a perfect album, i appreciate her going away from the typical candy-pop that most other artists make, We all can predict what a Britney and Katy Perry album will sound like. This is unexpected and I love it! "Jump" "Nobody's Business" "Numb" including her new number single "Diamonds" are the albums stand outs.
  30. Dec 6, 2012
    3
    I just have mixed feelings about this album, I was excited when I purchased this album but with the majority of songs on "Unapologetic" that I listened to, I was disappointed. It didn't appeal to me like the previous albums that she has made e.g "Loud" or "Talk That Talk". "Unapologetic" is certainly not the best album that has been made by R&B star Rihanna. I give her credit that her lead single off her album "Diamonds" was good, but that's the only positive feedback I can give this album. Expand
  31. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    "Unapologetic" is a huge mixed bag off pop, R&B, dubstep, electronic music and soft tunes, which has given comparisons off her 2007 album 'Rated R'. I mean, really does it need reference? its sounds like that album [...] Rihanna has brought a demure and confident collection off songs since "Rated R", but she sounds so confused and lost in the lyrical depth and its meanings... maybe something less explicit and uneven next time. But, its sure a hit." Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2012
    3
    NOVEMBER 2011: Overall, Talk That Talk is a poor effort. While there are still some highlights, the album is a huge downgrade compared to her previous albums. I wouldn't surprised if she does another album next year.

    NOVEMBER 2012: Well, another year has passed and Rihanna has done another album. Big **** surprise there.

    After last year's half-assed cheap cash-in piece of **** that
    is Talk That Talk, you'd think that Rihanna, her songwriters and producers would have learned their lessons from that album and her record label should've let her have a break from the music world for a while. But NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! They have to make another ridiculously rushed product just to cash in on a already ridiculously rushed product.

    This album is just **** terrible. The lyrics were boring and repetitive, the music is uninspired and I felt like they wasted Eminem's talent on the track Numb. If you're expecting another Love the Way You Lie from them well don't. Eminem's rapping only lasted 30 seconds. WHAT IS THE **** POINT ON PUTTING HIM ON THE SONG ANYWAY???

    Alot of the tracks on this album are just fillers and uninteresting to listen to and I fell asleep half the time.

    But the album starts to get good during the second half of the album with tracks like Stay being a nice piano track, Half of Me is a pretty good track pretty much thanks to one of the writers being Emeli Sandé and Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary being by far the best track on the album.

    But the track Nobody's Business was just disturbing to listen to much due to the fact that it has Chris Brown on the track because well, he beat Rihanna up like a bodybag three years ago. While it has a nice sound and a OK sample usage from Michael Jackson's track The Way You Make Me Feel, you just cannot help but just thinking about the incident at the back of your mind.

    Rihanna's vocals on the album is once again a hit and miss. Some tracks she can give out really powerful vocal chords and yet on some of the tracks like Phresh Out the Runway, Pour It Up, Right Now and No Love Allowed I just felt like she was just using one different vocal chord on each of those tracks and it has got really stale.

    While it still have some gems, the album as a whole though is just a bore. For most of the album's length, Rihanna's singing is dull, the music is dull and it feels more like a half-assed EP than it is a full length album.

    With rushed under-produced tracks, rushed production values, being boring as hell and relentlessly forgettable, Unapologetic is a big mess.

    Track Picks:

    Diamonds,
    Stay,
    Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary and
    Half of Me

    DW Rating:

    1.5 stars out of 5
    Expand
  33. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Her best album since Rated R with different rhythms , great lyrics and vocal. She keeps surprising us with wonderful worksand showing to the world who Rihanna really is and what she really feels.
  34. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I can't believe in some reviews that I read.."Her actions are irresponsible and sends the wrong message to her young fans" was the worst I think..YOU WHO WRITE THIS, KNOW WHAT MESSAGE RIHANNA SENDS TO HER YOUNG FANS WITH HER ACTIONS? THE MESSAGE OF FORGIVENESS AND LOVE! JUST THAT! You idiot fans who give 0 because Rihanna did make a music of Chris Brown...oh God..I'll stop here.About the album,incredible! Amazing vocals,a lot of genres,amazing musics...one of her best albuns. Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2012
    3
    LMAO at people giving this album a 10, its a 3 at best with only a few decent songs and production. And it has nothing to do with her situation with Chris Brown or any other excuse. Her music just gets worse and worse but it doesnt matter because her stans will never admit it.
  36. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    If you are a Rihanna's fan, this album works perfectly for you, she keeps her style and the lyrics are mixed, some very deep and some just to relax and dance. I think is amazing!!!
  37. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Personally I think that Unapologetic is one of Rihanna's best albums. She mixed different kind of music and that makes it an album completely different from the other ones. It's true that some of the Unapologetic songs could have been done better (for example:Pour it up or Numb that has nothing related with the last Eminem and Rihanna collaboration) but songs like: diamonds, stay, right now, lost in paradise, half of me, love without tragedy and loveeeeee song are truly good. My advice to the people that don't like Rihanna and pointed Unapologetic with a 0 just because it's another fast Rihanna's album, is to listen it without judging her and listening just the music. Expand
  38. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    This is a great album, from the ballads to the pumping dance music. Definitely some amazing production and vocal delivery. Don't understand why people are hating on her production choices, she's been making gritty dance music, included dubstep, since 2009 (Mad House anyone?). While the Chris Brown track does feel a little forced (yay for controversy and hype) , the song is still good.
  39. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I'm surprised the reviews aren't better. This is her best album by far. "Diamonds" is already a #1 smash and "Jump" and "Right Now" are future #1's.
  40. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    Of all songs on Rihanna's album, I liked only two - Lost In Paradise and Stay, all the others were just forced with sounds and her emotions. Although the song Fool In Love from her Loud album is also forced with emotions, she did that song absolutely perfectly, but the one - Nobody's Business - was just too much. Lost In Paradise was absolutely gorgeous, I enjoyed listening to that song, it has rhythm, positive vibrations and just feels good... I would love that Rihanna makes songs like Lost In Paradise or Stay, they are perfect, all the others are awfull... My overall rating for this album is 4. Expand
  41. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I think this is one of her best album. 100% better than Talk That Talk. This is album is very emotiona and different. This album is my drug, except some song, it super!
  42. Nov 30, 2012
    7
    Rihanna has made a good album, but, in my opinion she could make it better then another albums like 'Loud'. She try to do 'Unapologetic' during one month, and the world liked it, if Rihanna started to produce 'Unapologetic' three months ago, could be a biggest success by a big singer. (I don't speak in English, I just try, understand me please)
  43. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Unapologetic is amazing love song's Love Vocal Love All Rihanna is a Really DIVA Unapologetic is perfec love love loveeee LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE Ririh Queen
  44. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This album is probably one of her best. It has a wide range of genres in it. You have the slow, beautiful ballad "Stay" which really highlights Rihanna's vocals. Then you have the heavy dance track "Right Now" which has a dark twist to it. Standout tracks would have to be "Stay" and "Phresh out the Runway". Phresh is Rihanna at her best and shows how bad ass she is. Love the album
  45. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unlike Rihanna waited behind a new concept in Unapologetic compared to their last albums.
    Of course it contains some cliches to please the audience, the more the essence is the most notable.
    Rihanna shows a remorseless complete in all respects.
    Expand
  46. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Simply amazing. It has songs for every taste -pop, r&b, dubstep etc. The album cover looks great and I can't find a song that is bad. Well done, rih! #navy.
  47. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    It doesn't matter what the music that this woman makes sounds like. She is dating the man who beat the **** out of her. She is validating abuse against women to millions of her fans. If you buy this album you are indirectly encouraging abused women to stay in abusive relationships. Don't give this stupid woman a cent of your hard-earned money.
  48. Nov 30, 2012
    5
    Sexual lyrics as usual, deteriorated vocals..... mixed review only for the dance singles for Diamonds, Jump Right now. So I guess it is her highest peak....
  49. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10
    Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10
    Pour it up:
    oookay Rihanna and producers. Use different beats,please.... 3/10
    Loveeeeeee Song: I don't know that guy and i don't like this voice but Rihanna's part is really cool. 7/10
    Jump: Okay, but thats all 5/10
    Right Now: I want to be honest.Right Now, i get headache. 1/10
    What Now: A cool song but she cries a little to much. This song has energy!! 7/10
    Stay: Amazing. Do it just like that. You don't need David Guetta trash. 10/10
    Nobody's Business: I don't like Chris Brown but this song is danceable. 6/10
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: 7 minutes, a loooong song but not the highlight (which is Stay). 5/10
    Get over it: Yeah Rihanna, Thats your style! 9/10
    No Love Allowed. Your dance hall carrier is over. Too sad. 6/10
    Lost in Paradise: Power full and danceable 8/10
    Final points: 5.8 --> 6 points. Her last album "Talk That Talk" received 3 points... You're getting better Rihanna
    Expand
  50. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    Rihanna turns to a variety of producers on Unapologetic (David Guetta, StarGate, Benny Blanco, The Dream, etc.) in order to create a newer and less generic sound, and in all honesty, it works. While Unapologetic is in no way her revelation album, it is certainly darker and more elemental than any of her previous works, featuring infectious mid-tempo moments like "Diamonds" ("We're like diamonds in the sky") that show a side to Rihanna's vocals that we've never heard before, while also incorporating cinematic and vulnerable moments such as "Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary", which has contributions by The-Dream, who is known for a line-up of hit singles. Unapologetic is mainly influenced by hip-hop, EDM and dubstep genres without sounding like every pop album on the charts this year; "Right Now" featuring David Guetta comes off as formulaic, but in the end, it'll have everyone in the club jumping and singing along, which has always been Guetta's goal. In "Numb", Rihanna sings quietly over a gloomy bass about glamorizing the euphoria from drug use whilst Eminem joins in with one of the funniest lines of 2012 ("I'm the butt police and I'm looking at your rear, rear, rear!"). If you're looking for vulnerability, you're gonna have to wait. However, if it is viewed in pure entertainment, it's one of the greatest pop albums of the year. Expand
  51. Jan 11, 2013
    4
    Rihanna's worst album so far. think she should care more about releasing good albums than an album every year. There are more ballads, unlike most of her previous albums. I liked her new music, but I like her old music better. She tries several different genres in the album, so you will like some songs regardless of your taste. The first few tracks are really stupid, but the rest of the album is not that bad.
    Track by track review (a little bit long, so I hope you don't fall asleep):
    1. Presh Out The Runway - 0/10 - It just sounds unfinished. Her voice is robotic, the instrumental could have been a lot better, and the lyrics are too stupid and don't make any sense.
    2. Diamonds - 8/10 - I didn't really like it at first, but now I think it's pretty good song. The lyrics in the chorus don't make so much sense (are there any diamonds in the sky?) , but overall it's a good and inspirating song. Slower than most of Rihanna's music.
    3. Numb (feat. Eminem) - 0/10 - Like in "Phresh Out The Runway", Rihanna sounds too robotic, and also Eminem couldn't sound weirder in this song. The lyrics are basically "I'm going numb" repeated several times, which isn't really creative.
    4. Pour It Up - 1/10 - Again, Rihanna sounds robotic and weird. The lyrics are too repetitive, does she really have to repeat "still got my money" in the entire song?
    5. Loveeeeeee Song (feat. Future) - 0/10 - Rihanna sounds too robotic (again?) and Future sounds like he wants to kill you when he should sound romantic.
    6. Jump - 4/10 - One of the few not-so-bad tracks in the album. Rihanna still sounds a bit robotic, but the composition is pretty enjoyable and the lyrics make some sense, except for the "ride it, my pony" part that is just an attempt to talk about sex while keeping the track clean.
    7. Right Now (feat. David Guetta) - 9/10 - Again, a good track in the album. A good and fun beat and lyrics that actually make sense. Best track in the album.
    8. What Now - 7/10 - Nice and unexpected ballad, even though she sounds different from usual. Again, a good track in the album. Slower than most of her songs, which is not really a bad thing in this case.
    9. Stay (feat. Mikky Ekko) - 6/10 - Good track, but I didn't really like some of Rihanna's parts, even though it's her song. Mikky Ekko really makes it better. Quite enjoyable if you like ballads.
    10. Nobody's Business (feat. Chris Brown) - 8/10 - Even though Chris Brown sounds a bit annoying in this song, it's a pretty good and fun song. The composition is great for the parties, and I really think the lyrics are about some of Rihanna's life.
    11. Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary - 7/10 - The song is good. The lyrics are sad, but what's a ballad without sad lyrics? It's like "Titanic", you feel sad watching/listening to it but you like it anyway.
    12. Get It Over With - 2/10 - Streak of good songs successfully broken. Her voice doesn't fit the lyrics, and the metaphor about "floating in the clouds" doesn't make any sense. The composition is not so bad though.
    13. No Love Allowed - 3/10 - The composition is not so good, but the lyrics do make some sense, except for some parts like "911, it's a critical emergency yeah, run run run" that don't really have much to do with dangerous love the rest of the song describes.
    14. Lost In Paradise - 8/10 - One of the best tracks in the album. Not a slow ballad, but not really a dance track. Different from anything Rihanna's ever released. Not quite sure how to describe it.
    Expand
  52. Apr 11, 2013
    3
    I dont know what Rihanna is thinking trying to release a full length album every year. Her quality has gone WAY down even since the release of "Loud" her last good record. There are only two good songs on this album, "Stay" and "Diamonds". I feel she needs to talk a good 2-3 years and work on the QUALITY of her music again and not just worry about the quantity that she releases.
  53. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    Seventh Album, Seventh Year, Seventh? Anyway Rihanna brings 'Unapologetic' which sheds light and draws influences from her Fourth album 'Rated R' and Sixth 'Talk That Talk.' Personally I think that it is much more developed than her last, but not as good as her others. It has heavy-influences from EDM, Dub-step and Hip Hop and is her most diverse album to date. I loved how Rihanna put her musical style together on this album and probably this could be the end of Rihanna's ritual of releasing new s**t every November. Maybe she'll take a break (two years at the least). But saying that she'll probably release again in a year's time. Expand
  54. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    I still don't get why there's a lot of people who hates this album. It is nearly perfect. Yes, it isn't filled of commercial and pop songs, but it is confidential, it has tons of amazing lyrics and it is portraying an amazing era. Definitely not Rihanna's best, but very good though.
  55. Nov 26, 2012
    1
    The production of this album is just gives a lot to talk about. This Album Is Poor in the lyrics, on the sound, only the vocals is something good on this album. Even the artwork and the essence that this album gives is the same as Talk That Talk and Rated R, She should wait to release her albums a little bit longer.
  56. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Almost all are like fillers and have been rushed. nothing stuck in my head except diamonds and stay. A compilation of rejected album songs...MIXED to NEGATIVE...LOUD, TALK THAT TALK & GOOD GIRL GONE BAD are the best
  57. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is amazing, its not as good as Loud, but to be honest i really dont think she'll ever make an album like that again. If you are looking for the future billboard hits check all the songs from track 7 they are marvelous. However, my favorite songs on the album are track 11 and 15.
    My advice to anyone is to buy the album.
    Expand
  58. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    After one listen of the latest album however, we can firmly put
  59. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    It's a very personal album,more than 'Rated R'! Shows a Other Side of Rihanna "The Robyn Side".But The Tracklist is so disorganized and this made a confusion in my head.It's hard for understand the message of the album.
  60. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    She writes none of her own music, enough said. Though many artists don't I just cannot believe that someone so "talent" cannot make an attempt to write their own music. I guess I just miss the days when music was something personal to every artist and bands created everything on their own.
  61. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    unlike others, i did not base my opinion off the album off the artist's past work or history. this album is blessed with several radio-friendly tracks as well as several alternative hits that will help crack a smile to those who don't wish to have the "mainsteam-ear" such as myself. studio also uses great work in having synthesized sounds and familiar beats to get the listener involved early on in the song. standout tracks; Numb ft. eminem; Nobody's business ft. Chris Brown Expand
  62. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Rih prepares the start of her most powerful era yet as Unapologetic reigns supreme, raising the bar even higher this year, setting standards for pop music at its highest level yet. Taking a whole new take on EDM, Rihanna list's some of the top producers under her belt this time around, as we are blown away by the albums opening track 'Phresh Out The Runway' as we get the change to see Rihanna experiment with electronic and Hip Hop on the same track... Impressive for a pop artist. Songs such as Diamonds and Stay easily let us relate to the project as they are the ones we know and love. Songs such as 'Jump' 'Lost In Paradise' and 'No Love Aloud' give the album a more fun, inspiring, up-tempo tone, setting the album apart from old favourites such as TTT, Loud and Rated R. Overall a great project from the Barbados-raised superstar, leaving us wanting more. Just what will Rih do next...? Expand
  63. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    Rhianna had already been a great pop artist. Some of her songs are in the group of the best in the business. However this newest Rhianna's album is uninteresting and even boring. The album contains a bunch of collaborations, that in my opinion were not very well succeeded. The only very good song of Unapologetic is for me, Diamonds. And Rhianna not even wrote it, it was Sia. So, I think is starting to lose her music skills. Is true that she is the most regular artist in music (7 albums in 7 years), but I think that she should take more time with the creation of an album, and make a better one that the last ones that she made. I know that she is able to create great songs, she just needs more time. Expand
  64. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    This is her 7th album and in such a short amount of time its crazy to think she can accomplish so much. It's not her best but it definitely has enough hits on there to last her 'til the next one comes out.
  65. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Not going to lie i was nervous about how this album would turn out. But after listening to it, it is a really wonderful and good album. One of my favorite songs on the album is Diamonds.
  66. Dec 23, 2012
    1
    Rihanna Has Proven In The Past To Make Good Albums (Loud, And Talk That Talk)
    But Sadly This Album Is By Far A Major Low Point In Her Music Carrer.. If Every Song Was Like Diamonds And Mother Marry I Would Give It A 10! I Only Liked Two Songs, I'm Being Very Harsh Because She Can Do So Much Better!
  67. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    I miss when Rihanna knew how to make great songs and great albuns like " Loud " , " Rated R " ,Unapologetic is so disapointing . The songs don't have any feeling is just electronical sounds , she should stop for a while and make good albuns like she used to.
  68. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Rihanna has been back to the Rated R time in a totally different way. Rated R had more electronic songs, and this one is full with R&B, Hip-Hop and ballad songs, totally different from the Rihanna original style. but anyway it was good.
  69. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    That album uses good songs, good positions in the Billboard Hot 100. "Pour It Up" needs to break into the Top 10. So, when do you think the next song will release? What month?
  70. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    Although it's certainly no Good Girl Gone Bad, Unapologetic 'unapologetically' matures Rihanna in terms of music production and lyrically aims at pissing off the media and many mom with its 'unapologetic' subject matter, with songs such as "Numb"; although obscure, the Barbian songstress confesses that she is so high, she's "going numb", which makes for an ear magnet (especially for the listeners 'under the influence' and features the king of controversy in hip-hop and previous collaborator Eminem. While drug abuse, fame, and fortune are many risqué moments as well, its most explicit is its graphic confession of her lingering love for ex-boyfriend (and 'Rude Boy' if you will) Chris Brown(which has all but withered now). The two even collaborate on the Michael Jackson-tinged song "Nobody's Business". Whether you like it or not, it's there and it's raw. In general, Unapologetic has the bass bumpin' beats and heart throbbing ballads to balance itself evenly between the two and although it's missing the ensemble of potential hit-singles previous efforts held, there should be at least one song for everyone thanks to its diversity in production. Expand
  71. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    pitchfork give only 4.5, ouch. so Unapologetic is album without vision or idea. tired of dubstep , reggie, or Guetta sounds 3 albums in a row.. boring. maybe 2 or 3 songs I like only
  72. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    Well, Rihanna is back again. This time though, releasing an album which is surprisingly personal, dissing fans and critics that criticised her on again and off again relationship to her abusive beau, Chris Brown. Much better than her previous album last year, the pop diva storms the chart with one of her best singles yet, 'Diamonds'. While the rest of the songs don't live up to this single, it is a good effort from one of the more popular singers out there. Expand
  73. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Dull, numb and stupid. Rihanna releases a new single accompanied with other 13 songs that don't stand out. Best tracks: Diamonds. Listenable tracks: Pour it Up. Hated tracks: are there any more tracks on this album?
  74. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    This Rihanna is clearly not at her best; Unapologetic is generally a flat and overproduced, too rushed record. The fact is that one some songs her vocals are good, but the songwriting and producing is lamentable, while on others the lyrics are good enough, but the production really lacks; or the other way round.

    Too bad for masterpieces like "Diamonds" (Rihanna's best song by far, and
    one of the best of 2010s) or "Love Without Tragedy". The balladry on this album is also worth listening to, but both "Stay" and "What Now" display a lack of songwriting skills, using dried out cliches and unmatching expressions, used just for the sake of rhyme. There is also some quality r&b music (namely on "Love Song" and "Get It Over With"), but the dance numbers from the album are surely the worst; "Jump" and "Phresh Out the Runway" are decent enough, but "Right Now" murders the whole record. Another wrecking ball for the album is "Nobody's Business", while "Numb" ft. Eminem is also a dull melody. All the other unmentioned songs are not that bad, but not that good either.

    This is actually a step back from her previous albums "Rated R", "Loud" and "Talk That Talk" and pushes Riri back to her dance-hall rooted sophomore album, 'A Girl Like Me'.

    8.3/10
    Expand
  75. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of her best, if not the best. The mix of sounds does not affect the cohesion at all. She seems to have found her niche with this. Well done.
  76. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Her best album to be honest. It experiments with electropop, R&B, club music and more, with catchy dance songs like Right Now and Lost In Paradise, urban tracks like Fresh Off The Runway and Pour It Up, ballads like Diamonds, What Now and Stay, reggae in No Love Allowed, retro in Nobody's Business and experimental tracks like Numb and Jump. The album truly delivers, it takes the listener on a journey. Rated R was her best album until this one. Expand
  77. Mar 4, 2013
    2
    in my opinion this is the worst album she has ever released..the only song that i like is stay...! i was expecting sth different..she should release another album this year that will be like her previews ones so we will forget about this so bad album.
  78. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    I was dissapointed in this album. some songs were worth listening too such as What Now, Stay, Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary. The rest is okay. Rihanna needs to stop making an album every year and work on better productions and better lyrics instead of trying to hurry and release her albums
  79. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Unapologetic is one of the Rihanna's best albums and consequently one of the best albums of 2012, this is because of a range of factors: There are a wide range of genres used such as pop, rock, and even frequent dubstep/baseline breaks in some of her songs. It reveals Rihanna's soft side in songs such as ''Stay'' and ''Loveeee song'', and ''Diamonds'' as well as playing up her 'Bad' girl attitude in songs such as ''Phresh out the runway'' and ''Pour it up''. Almost every song in this album is fantastic and on a very high level, she used a range of featured artist including the fan favorite Eminem. The only problem with this album is that it is very addictive. Expand
  80. Duu
    May 22, 2013
    4
    The quick and dirty of this album is: There are 14 songs and only four ones worth listening to. "Diamonds" is a classic song of our era (congrats to Rihanna and Sia--the songwriter) The reason I gave this album four is because even though this album has four out of fourteen good songs, "Diamonds" is such an epically well constructed and career defining song, it is the same as having 2 or 3 good songs on an album. Beyond "Diamonds", the other good songs are "Pour it Up", "Loveeeeeee Song", and "Jump" which recycles/re-imagines Ginuwine's hit song "Pony". Generally speaking, this album is not a complete album and Rihanna should have just released a few singles. Expand
  81. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    This is not Rihanna's best album, but it also is not her worst. The songs at first glance seem generic and rushed, but addictive nonetheless. Several highlights are Nobody's business, No love allowed, and Right Now. The music is decent on this album, although not Rihanna's highlight
  82. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    I read the reviews then listened to the songs. "One of her worst?" nooo. Not her best but still good. Half of Me, Jump. Diamonds. Phresh Out the Runway, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise. These are good songs whoever said the album is completely terrible. No, it may not be your favorite but this is far from terrible. Rihanna is unique. The lyrics are not like Talk That Talk, Rude Boy, or Hard but are still good. The EDM is perfect besides 1 or 3 give or take. Vocally she's good no real direct autotune. Expand
  83. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    I Love Rihanna! LOUD And Talk That Talk Were Perfect Albums! This Album Is By Far Rihanna's Worst! There Are So Many Things Wrong With This Album But Dubstep Is The Main Issue! Vocally Rihanna Is Still Here Though... Diamond, Stay And Mother Marry Are Great Song... The Rest Belong In A Strip Club's Trash Can.. As A MEGA Fan I'm Really Sad That This Album Sucked!
  84. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    "Unapologetic" is an album very sentimental and we can not deny. Rihanna spent over 6 months in the production of this new album with great producers and songwriters. And the songs that stand out are: "Diamonds" "Stay" "Pour It Up" and others. So that is one of the best albums of Rihanna's career, but the RATED R is the best of all.
  85. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    A great, diverse album. It has club bangers like Phresh Out the Runway, Pour It Up and Jump. It has great ballads like Stay, What Now, Half of Me, and Diamonds, R&B songs like Loveeeeeee Song, and other great standout tracks like Lost In Paradise, Numb, Nobody's Business, Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary, and No Love Allowed. Every song on here is great, something that's hard to find in music nowadays but Rihanna seems to deliver more consistently than her peers when it comes to the quality of her albums. This album has something everyone could enjoy. Most of these reviews are negative because of her personal life and not the actual quality and content of the album. Expand
  86. May 12, 2013
    9
    This totally slays all over Talk That Talk. This album is really great! Pour It Up, Stay, Diamonds and Nobody's Buisness Numb and Jump are the best tracks on the album. Great album!
  87. May 25, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Unapologetic" Uma Porcaria Rihanna Mal Acaba De Fazer "Talk That Talk" Em 2011 Que Já Um Disco Muito Ruim Com Turnê,Três Videos E Lança Um Apenas Um Ano Depois Fora Que Tem Uns 3 Meses De Shows Mais 1 Mês De Video Do Cd "Talk That Talk" Claro Que Não Ia Sair Um Disco Bom Só Tem Duas Músicas Boas Diamonds E What Now Mas Nem Essas Duas Salvou O Disco.
    E Stay,Lost In Paradise E Right Now Mediano E O Resto Insuportável
    Expand
  88. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    The emotional starkness with 'Stay' combining with the vitality of 'Right Now' and 'Diamonds' makes the phenomenal album of Unapologetic. Give this album a chance, and you will not regret it.
  89. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Even if heavy synths of "Phresh Out The Runway" aren't the best way to open the album, I have to admit, that "Unapologetic" is a perfect album. Promoted by two amazing pop soul ballads ("Diamonds" and "Stay"), chilled-out hip hop song ("Pour It Up") and a monster Guetta collab ("Right Now") it's ready to become the greatest album of 2013. From sweet-love R&B song "Loveeeeeee Song", through the dubstep "Jump", most epic song Rihanna ever made "Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary and reggae breakup record "No Love Allowed" to the deluxe edition only "Half Of Me" this album is almost flawless (excluding Chris Brown's unnecesary guest verse in "Nobody's Business"). It's definitely my favourite album of all-time.

    10 out of 10
    Expand
  90. Jul 11, 2013
    4
    Is funny how Rihanna's first number one album in the US could be the worst album in her career. This girl is always making the same things in her songs.
  91. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    Definitely not the best RiRi album, but not the worst either. Maybe it's just I'm so used to Rihanna's voice. But she definitely released the wrong songs. She should have released "What Now" and "Lost In Paradise".
  92. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    A plethora of lewd and loud anthems flourish in a minefield. Following in the footsteps of Talk That Talk, Unapologetic shuffles through the mix with Diamonds among thorns. There are five tracks too many here, that are incidentally placed in the album's heart. If the thorns were removed, a cohesive project of perfection rivaling Rated R is hiding in the shadows. But with thorns in the heart, Unapologetic suffers from bloated filler. Expand
  93. Sep 11, 2013
    4
    The worst album by her so far. When someone tries to work on so many things at one time [Recording, Dating, Designing clothes, Acting] that comes out with horrible results just hear: "Pour It Up", "Phresh Out The Runaway" and "Loveeeeee Song" and you'll know what i mean. Nobody's Business is the best song on it. But that's not enough to impress the world.
  94. Nov 1, 2013
    3
    When diamonds first came out, I liked it but I thought it was a little bland. So when I heard an album of even blander songs, I was bored to death. In addition to that, half the songs sound like generic rap songs that every other artist does. What happened to Rihanna from the past?
  95. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Well, there is no surprise...good job as always!
    I love affectional voice of Rihanna, every song on this album is authentic, regardless of genre ("Lost in paradise" electronic, house "Pour it up", "Numb"- hh, rave. She is so trueteller! I love Rihanna!
  96. Nov 4, 2013
    5
    This is one of the weakest albums Rihanna made. There are a few standout tracks like Diamonds, Stay and Half of Me but songs like Pour it up is a big disapointment. She needs a break.
  97. Nov 16, 2013
    3
    We can clearly see a decline in Rihanna's music over the years. It seems like the fame has sunk into her and that she believes that whatever quality music she makes, it will still be purchased and acclaimed. Very disappointed!!!!
  98. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Rihanna had a total up do upon this album, you see the vulnerability and emotion throughout the songs, She expresses situations she's experienced some of her other albums some what lacked. her voice and live voice have immensley improved. Great Album.
  99. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    This album is great! it has variety for different crowds, ''something for everyone''.
    The best songs on the album are Jump, No Love Allowed and Mother Mary/ Love without tragedy.
  100. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums by Rihanna, if you go back to her first album in 2005, you will see how Rihanna has evolved!! This album is just as good as Loud. This album may be rushed but it doesn't defeat the fact that she releases good music. Very diverse!!
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    The now-24-year-old's voice may be simple, but it's distinctive--and as defiant as her album titles.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Even when Unapologetic fails, it often does so in interesting ways.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Sonically, the first half of Unapologetic picks up on the syrupy Southern hip-hop minimalism popular last summer, while much of the latter half is a grab bag of unwieldy balladry.