Under My Skin

  • Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: May 25, 2004
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 240

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobynS
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    Avril Rocks and she always will so everyone who thinks other wise and shut up!
  2. EmilyW
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    This album helped me so much through a time which i was very upset and confused, but on purchasing this album, I overcame the problem effecting me at the time. I believe that music is very therapeutic and influences how you feel at a certain time, or even heightens it as well. Surely everyone has had this experience at some point in their life?! Well. . . I love this album so much and is This album helped me so much through a time which i was very upset and confused, but on purchasing this album, I overcame the problem effecting me at the time. I believe that music is very therapeutic and influences how you feel at a certain time, or even heightens it as well. Surely everyone has had this experience at some point in their life?! Well. . . I love this album so much and is definitely one of my favourites. My favourite songs on this album include don't tell me, he wasn't, how does it feel, happy ending, noboy's home and fall to pieces I LOVE IT, SHE ROCKS!!! GO AVRIL!!! can't wait til her next album!!! Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Darker powerful music with a lot of emotion. Amazing album my favorite album from her she is lyrically experimenting that is obvious but she did good. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite Avril album because it's so dark, but then again it's so emotional. This is one of those albums I could praise for hours. I recommend it to everyone.
  5. Nov 15, 2015
    8
    Depois do fenômeno de vendas que foi o ”Let Go”, seu disco de estreia, responsável por mais de 17 milhões de cópias vendidas ao redor do mundo, Avril Lavigne ‐ que ganhou uma legião de fãs em um curto intervalo de tempo, amadurece o seu som e vem com mais atitude sem deixar de fazer canções de fácil acesso ao público.
    Pode até fazer pouco significado hoje, mas ”Under My Skin” vem com os
    Depois do fenômeno de vendas que foi o ”Let Go”, seu disco de estreia, responsável por mais de 17 milhões de cópias vendidas ao redor do mundo, Avril Lavigne ‐ que ganhou uma legião de fãs em um curto intervalo de tempo, amadurece o seu som e vem com mais atitude sem deixar de fazer canções de fácil acesso ao público.
    Pode até fazer pouco significado hoje, mas ”Under My Skin” vem com os dilemas de vida de uma adolescente rebelde e pouco contente com o mundo que vivia. A canadense canta, compõe e toca em quase todas as faixas, muitas com auxílio do guitarrista Evan Taubenfeld e um time de peso, como ex-parceiros de Pearl Jam, Linkin Park e de Evanescence ‐ o último sendo responsável por grande parte do sucesso da banda e do disco ”Fallen” que vendeu mais de 16 milhões, venceu 2 Grammys e aqui tem função de transformar o som de ”Under My Kin” do despretensioso do ”Let Go”.
    O resultado final é positivo, sendo até hoje o melhor disco da carreira da cantora e manteve seu sucesso comercial, sendo responsável por mais de 9,5 milhões cópias vendidas e marcaria o nome da cantora como uma das mais bem sucedidas artistas femininas do Canadá e um grande ícone pop adolescente dos anos 2000 e que viria a ter uma mudança significativa em sonoridade e personalidade depois desse trabalho, se assumindo de vez como artista pop e deixando o seu marcante lado rebelde de lado.
    Expand
  6. NormanG.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Personally I think this is her best debut album B/c it contains varios kinds of songs and its deep.
  7. MichaelB
    Jun 9, 2004
    1
    Garbage.
  8. Di
    Sep 3, 2004
    4
    I didn't buy this album because all the songs are the same cliche rock music except for two, most of the songs are boring and this album isn't half as good as Let Go. Don't Tell Me is a very weak (yet leading single) track as well. Not a very good hook to help you remember it either. All the tracks on Let Go were very different but here they are all very similar and I didn't buy this album because all the songs are the same cliche rock music except for two, most of the songs are boring and this album isn't half as good as Let Go. Don't Tell Me is a very weak (yet leading single) track as well. Not a very good hook to help you remember it either. All the tracks on Let Go were very different but here they are all very similar and it's just a phase for her trying to get "credibility". Overall she changed her sound (and image) too much. And left the Matrix, who wrote Complicated although she takes credit for the song because she wrote the "preppy clothes" line. The best tracks on this album are Together, Slipped Away, Nobody's Home and Fall To Pieces. The only ones that stand out to me. And I didn't think this album would do near as well as Let Go and so far it hasn't. Oh well. Expand
  9. Alexisb
    May 20, 2007
    2
    oh god what a shallow album, oh god what a disapointment! i was never an Avril Lavigne fan but i always follow her work because i literally fell in love with Let Go..now? please Avril, you could've IMAGINED more interesting stories..meaningless songs, sort of like the songs u read in a 13 year old girl's diary...so weak, once this album is over ull be like "so what was i doing? oh god what a shallow album, oh god what a disapointment! i was never an Avril Lavigne fan but i always follow her work because i literally fell in love with Let Go..now? please Avril, you could've IMAGINED more interesting stories..meaningless songs, sort of like the songs u read in a 13 year old girl's diary...so weak, once this album is over ull be like "so what was i doing? oh yeah...cleaning the roofs"...Avril is in the spotlight, she should take that in consideration and do her best to write real songs! and if she cant then she has to face the bad critics Expand
  10. jamesl
    May 25, 2004
    0
    man she just sounds bad! there is so much hype but the songs are all the same worst lyricis i've heard for years
  11. -annonymous-
    Jul 27, 2004
    0
    (silence) this is onea those artists. I'm not going to say that she sucks. you guys already know that she is terrible, and she can't even pronounce David Bowie? She called him David Booie, and also, avril is honestly just a little b*tch. she tries to act like she writes her own stuff, but she doesn't.. she does not write her music.. as an artist myself I have absolutely no (silence) this is onea those artists. I'm not going to say that she sucks. you guys already know that she is terrible, and she can't even pronounce David Bowie? She called him David Booie, and also, avril is honestly just a little b*tch. she tries to act like she writes her own stuff, but she doesn't.. she does not write her music.. as an artist myself I have absolutely no respect for her and her music.. every time I listen to it, it bores me and I wanna throw the stereo out the window... thaz all I gotta say Expand
  12. SarahM
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    A boring and try-hard production of a talentless singer. I used to like her, till she started thinking she was some super-hardcore punk rocker. Her music is pop and awful. Her voice lacks talent. Half the time, she doesn't sing, she just talks. It's not talent, get over it.
  13. k.trujillo
    Jul 12, 2004
    1
    her music sucks, but shes so hot. i want her
  14. AlexF.
    Jul 25, 2007
    5
    This album was way better then her last one. At least this album had some feeling to it and was not as pointless.
  15. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amoamo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais amo dwemais Expand
  16. TJHattori
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Avril Lavigne has a gift to write deep and emotional lyrics which you don't find around. Under My Skin is truely a wondeful CD which has helped her in escaping the Pop Punk label she got after Let Go . The music she produces never overcomes the power of her voice. Though her style is Pop like with less shouts and more words, she has found a place among the top rocking girls of all Avril Lavigne has a gift to write deep and emotional lyrics which you don't find around. Under My Skin is truely a wondeful CD which has helped her in escaping the Pop Punk label she got after Let Go . The music she produces never overcomes the power of her voice. Though her style is Pop like with less shouts and more words, she has found a place among the top rocking girls of all time. I like her because she knows that success can be achieved by clear image rather then sex-bomb style which is the main thing we find in todays Female Singers like Britney and Christina, Expand
  18. RandyB
    Apr 2, 2005
    8
    Not exactly the best cd I think she is capable of, and of course there are so many Na-nas that I wonder if she just ran out of things to say. But it completely trumps 'Let Go', which listening to it now is rather bland. I like the direction that Avril took with this, and for those who would say she turned depressed, well, people go through shit. It would be BORING to have Not exactly the best cd I think she is capable of, and of course there are so many Na-nas that I wonder if she just ran out of things to say. But it completely trumps 'Let Go', which listening to it now is rather bland. I like the direction that Avril took with this, and for those who would say she turned depressed, well, people go through shit. It would be BORING to have someone's writing be so perky all the time. 'under my skin' does have its flaws, but there are not enough of them to discredit its artist's powerhouse vocals and greatly improved sound. Expand
  19. michaeld
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    I am from the bahamas for a rock albulm to catch my attention it`s hot i love all the songs my wife and my babby in the womb, Avril is the fun in the sun for us
  20. raVen
    Feb 15, 2005
    8
    (7.5) So she's no Bronte sister. Anyone remember the last decade, when our pop teens were serving up cheese like "Mmmbop" and "Baby, One More Time?" Sure, the album has a ton of yeah yeahs and na-nas and oh ohs. (She even spells them all out in the liner notes for those who feel like singing along). And maybe sometimes it seems like it makes use of the same fifteen-or-so lyrics, and (7.5) So she's no Bronte sister. Anyone remember the last decade, when our pop teens were serving up cheese like "Mmmbop" and "Baby, One More Time?" Sure, the album has a ton of yeah yeahs and na-nas and oh ohs. (She even spells them all out in the liner notes for those who feel like singing along). And maybe sometimes it seems like it makes use of the same fifteen-or-so lyrics, and just resequences them for each song. Admittedly, this is a problem when she doesn't have a Grade-A melody. But on songs like "My Happy Ending" and "Nobody's Home," you simply don't CARE that the words are a little thin because her voice sounds so damn good singing them. The latter, in fact, is one of her two or three best period - that's including all those hooks from "Let Go." Her sound is quite addictive, and her voice holds and never loses your attention. But I hope for her next release she sheds some of the schoolgirl cliches. She has scratched out her very own niche, and it's up to her to fill it with a poetry deserving of her killer presentation. Expand
  21. MaryA
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    Just listen to it!
  22. EdwardH
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This is a very deep album from Avril Lavigne and I like it. It proves she kan kick ass bein' deep and still be fun at tha same time. She has reel emotion on this album. Unlike sum other BS won't mention. She is a reel singer with a big heart 2 match. Luv ya Av, keep on droppin' those hitz!
  23. kammieA
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Avril Lavigne was never really my favorite singer, a few years ago I liked some of her songs but didn't like the image she put out for people. But as soon as i heard "Don't tell me" on the radio, I knew I had to buy this album because of the way the song sounded. I thought it was very unique and I had a feeling that I would feel the same about the whole CD. I usually get sick of Avril Lavigne was never really my favorite singer, a few years ago I liked some of her songs but didn't like the image she put out for people. But as soon as i heard "Don't tell me" on the radio, I knew I had to buy this album because of the way the song sounded. I thought it was very unique and I had a feeling that I would feel the same about the whole CD. I usually get sick of CD's after about a few weeks but I bought this cd 3 months ago and still put it on repeat every single day. I think this album is excellent in every meaning of the term. Every song, even though the lyrics aren't the best, has it's own flavor and beat and melody and even though the themes aren't all great, everything flows very well. This album is 100 times better than "Let Go" because her first album was a debut and with her second album, she shined. I can relate with every song because each one has its own unique quality and pop- rock sound I can't get enough of. I've always been waiting for this type of CD and I cannot go one day without listening to it. Three and a half months and STILL my favorite album. EVERYONE who craves a pop-rock sound and who relates to music should get this album because I'm telling you, you won't be dissapointed. This is indeed my favorite album of all time and I have yet to see any artist taking her place as my favorite album. I usually get sick of a lot of songs on a CD but this one, I listen to every song on there and still don't get sick of any of them. As I said before, Avril was never really my favorite artist in terms of her singing but as soon as this album came out, I gave her way more respect as a singer and co-songwriter. This album has a better approach with people, teens in general, trying to cope with life and if Avril Lavigne wants to address those issues, then hell, if she can come out with an album like that again, I won't give a rats ass if shes singing about birds and trees. This album is excellent, a perfect ten and still stands as my all time favorite album Expand
  24. LaurenceH
    May 24, 2004
    9
    Probably Avril's best piece of hard work. Yes, maybe some tracks fall flat like 'How does it feel'... Yes, some fall in a commercialism blow like 'He wasn't' but we sense there is effort, in tracks like 'My happy ending' and 'Nobody's home'. This isn't dissapointing AT ALL. Avril grown up very well, too. The guitar ISN'T Probably Avril's best piece of hard work. Yes, maybe some tracks fall flat like 'How does it feel'... Yes, some fall in a commercialism blow like 'He wasn't' but we sense there is effort, in tracks like 'My happy ending' and 'Nobody's home'. This isn't dissapointing AT ALL. Avril grown up very well, too. The guitar ISN'T spectacular, but, hey, wait 'til she's 21... BWAM! She'll blow up even stronger. This record rocks. Expand
  25. DawnS
    May 30, 2004
    10
    this cd was awesome!! I cant believe it got a 58!!!
  26. LauraS
    May 30, 2004
    9
    This album really surprised me. She grew up in a very mature way, and the strongest cut is probably ''Together'', which was co-written with Chantal Kreviazuk, surprisingly. It's a little short, though.
  27. AngelaB
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    This CD has a much more mature sound from the first one. I personally think it rocks.
  28. AlexM
    Jul 19, 2004
    8
    This album will probably suprise you if you are expecting the same sound from Avril as on "let go". "Under My Skin" has more of a pop sound with true rock at its core. "Under My Skin" is a very good album. There aren't many mistakes on this album, really only two. "Under My Skin" is a very good album. There are really only two mistakes in the album that keep it from being truly This album will probably suprise you if you are expecting the same sound from Avril as on "let go". "Under My Skin" has more of a pop sound with true rock at its core. "Under My Skin" is a very good album. There aren't many mistakes on this album, really only two. "Under My Skin" is a very good album. There are really only two mistakes in the album that keep it from being truly great. Avril lacks consistency in her lyrics from song to song. Most of the time her lyrics are very intriguing and fun to listen to, but then it is as if she runs out of creative ideas for the lyrics and produces lyrics that either don't make sense or ten to be pretty childish but the audience she is speaking to is teens so it is not that big of a problem. The other problem is that she doesn't have a variety of stories to tell which annoyed me a little after the fourth time through the album. Her problems are that of every girl, they are boy problems. Boy problems are talked about in most of the songs, but the way she shows us those problems is how she keeps you interested in each song and in my case liking every song on the album. Her first single "Don't Tell Me" is about the pressures of girls to "put out", which is an idea that has been adressed many times before, but the way Avril does it is very inspiring. She takes the guy in the song on with her tough lyrics, where she flat out tells him she will not "put out" and will kick his ass to make him never forget. The only problem with this song is that she has to put down "that other girl" to help make her point. Throughout the CD Avril hints at what I think she really wants to do, which is create some very powerful rock music and in the songs in which she tries it she does it beautifully. The song which you can really hear the rock influence is the best song on the CD which is called "forgotten" There are some very well placed violions towards the end of the song that give it an extra kick and little different feel than the rest of the album and really make the song ten times better. The rest of the album is very good too. Songs like "Take Me Away" and "Freak Out" just to name a few, are very hard, cool songs with intriguing lyrics and very good guitar play, that only showcase Avril's potential. This album is very good and as she matures she and her albums can and will only get better. "Under My Skin" is definitely worth a look if you are searching for something with a little pop sound with true rock at its core. Expand
  29. bethd
    Aug 17, 2004
    10
    this album is wicked avril is a amazin singer keep it cummin avril
  30. bryana
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    this is one of the best albums i have listened to, far more diverse and interesting than Let Go. her partnership with chantal allowed her to mix her guitar-led rhythms with piano, giving the album a more spicy theme. it's been two months since i bought the album and i still find it good. my favorite songs in the album are take me away, how does it feel, and fall to pieces. however, i this is one of the best albums i have listened to, far more diverse and interesting than Let Go. her partnership with chantal allowed her to mix her guitar-led rhythms with piano, giving the album a more spicy theme. it's been two months since i bought the album and i still find it good. my favorite songs in the album are take me away, how does it feel, and fall to pieces. however, i dont like forgotten. it reminds me of alanis morissette, especially the intro. it sounds like alanis' uninvited.. anyway, under my skin is still my favorite. a good album, avril! Expand
  31. SamD
    Jul 1, 2006
    7
    I usually listen to music that's really complex and deep, so this is what i listen to when i just want relax with some pure punk pop.
  32. chrisn
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    This album is one of the best in my collection, Avril Lavigne is ace!
  33. AndyH
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Great pop album with catchy hooks. Puts a smile on my face.
  34. janetm
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    I got it for my 18th birthday, It is really more into dark and serious. I did go through stupid guys trying to get into your pants, charmers but in all it is a respectful cd. It is not over produced by the matrix, she wrote so much about everyones experiences, don't be jealous. I relate a lot to ''nobody's home'' it does come into great grips, I will also be I got it for my 18th birthday, It is really more into dark and serious. I did go through stupid guys trying to get into your pants, charmers but in all it is a respectful cd. It is not over produced by the matrix, she wrote so much about everyones experiences, don't be jealous. I relate a lot to ''nobody's home'' it does come into great grips, I will also be coming with an album, later cats. Expand
  35. idontwanttosaysame
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    oh my god this cd rocks i luv avril she rocks her songs r very deep keep on rocking babe
  36. James
    Jun 22, 2004
    8
    First of all, I have to say that I am not a teenager, but I do like this cd. I think the guy who wrote for the Guardian was a bit bias or have something against young artists of today like Avril who tries to be successful commercially, while still maintain a sense of artistic honesty and integrity. They are very good pop / rock songs with heartfelt lyrics, an adult can also relate in many First of all, I have to say that I am not a teenager, but I do like this cd. I think the guy who wrote for the Guardian was a bit bias or have something against young artists of today like Avril who tries to be successful commercially, while still maintain a sense of artistic honesty and integrity. They are very good pop / rock songs with heartfelt lyrics, an adult can also relate in many instances. When I hear the cd, I can tell that the songs are very well-crafted and Avril has really put her soul into her music; unlike the dead-pan manufactured songs by many of the younger artists these days like Britney and Christina. Both music and the music industry are evolving today, many younger artists are struggling to achieve success commercially, and still hoping to have their own voices and artistic merits heard. That's why I'm so glad to see artists like Avril and Nelly Furtado. They certainly wrote good pop songs that have individuality and I certainly enjoy them. Expand
  37. kristyh
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Avril Lavigne's new album is so good. I've had it on repeat ever since I bought it. I've liked Avril since she first came out and as much as I liked her before, I have to say that she has definitely made a lot of improvement in her music. In Under My Skin, she had much more say in her songs, taking the lead role in the writing or co-writing with other people (including Avril Lavigne's new album is so good. I've had it on repeat ever since I bought it. I've liked Avril since she first came out and as much as I liked her before, I have to say that she has definitely made a lot of improvement in her music. In Under My Skin, she had much more say in her songs, taking the lead role in the writing or co-writing with other people (including Chantal Kreviazuk, Ben Moody, and her guitar player, Evan Taubenfeld, just to name a few). Every song on the album is personal to her and you can definitely hear the emotion in her voice. Her second CD is also more rock than her first. Probably the slowest song is "Slipped Away," which is about her grandfather passing away. My favorites are "Together," "Forgotten," and "Take Me Away." In these three you can really hear how her voice has matured and they are a little deeper than previous songs by Avril. Whether you are an Avril fan, don't know much about her, or even if you didn't particularly care for her in "Let Go," if you haven't checked this album out already, you definitely should. Expand
  38. ad
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    excellent what the hell do the ppl who gave it 0 know. i love it shes brilliant.
  39. janpk
    Jul 5, 2004
    4
    i was interested in this cd because it was dark or something.. it's still the same corny supermarketsound. but hey.. a smart product it is!
  40. BeckyR
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    I thought her CD wuz the shi*. i really love her shes my roll model i luv her so much!!!!!!! her last CD i think wuz about a 9
  41. MarcA
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    She is the best singer of this era and I am sure there is no one compete her lyrics and her style...............KEEP ROCKIN' GIRL
  42. andrewt
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    A great album. All the songs -RAWK- especially My Happy Ending, He Wasn't and Fall To Pieces. I would definitely recommend this album to everyboy. A great follow-up to Let Go.
  43. JK
    Dec 19, 2005
    6
    i liked it when i first got it..... but its kinda forgettable... yeah i should go find it and try and remember some of the songs.....
  44. Tomoko
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    This album is a bit more edgier and darker than her debut Let Go. Every song is memorable except How Does it feel and Slipped Away which drag on a bit. But He Wasn't and I always Get What I want are very jumpy and catchy-great!The lyrics have definately improved-with a much mroe mature sound and deeper meaning whereas on Let Go some of the lyrcis were nonsense and shallow. Whether This album is a bit more edgier and darker than her debut Let Go. Every song is memorable except How Does it feel and Slipped Away which drag on a bit. But He Wasn't and I always Get What I want are very jumpy and catchy-great!The lyrics have definately improved-with a much mroe mature sound and deeper meaning whereas on Let Go some of the lyrcis were nonsense and shallow. Whether you're a fan or not-it shouldn't dissapoint you at all-unless you're a sad anti-avril member who don't know what they're talking about most of the time...idiot. Expand
  45. EmilyS
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Avril is amazing. Finally, a teen pop artist who can write a decent song! I like this album more then Let Go because it is darker and deeper. Good job, Av!
  46. MichaelC
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    Honestly, the best album I have ever bought in my entire life! Avril has once again proven to us all that she is the best singer/songwriter in the pop world today!
  47. BeNA
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    i love all of Avril's songs! PS AVRIL FANS: She has got a new album coming out soon calle no showers just songs! SHE ROCKS!!!
  48. DanD
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    I am a feminine guy and I like womens' music so this album is like totally fabulous!
  49. nayanatara
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    the bst love it love it love it!!!!!!!!!!!!
  50. Jeffm
    May 24, 2004
    10
    A great album, it is complex but yet somehow very simple.
  51. melanies
    May 25, 2004
    10
    Every music genre mixed together makes this one kick ass alternative punk cd even if it isn't super hardcore.
  52. KylaR.
    May 29, 2004
    10
    This album really has strenght! The soing 'He wasn't' TOTALLY rocks!
  53. BitBurn
    May 31, 2004
    7
    A great "teenage" rock record. It's pretty much the same thing as the first one but maybe a little more daring.
  54. madelinep
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Avril Lavigne really expressed herself in this album. She proved that she matured and that she is not a kid anymore.
  55. KhayoC
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    I love this cd, it has a great repertory and lots of songs that define Avril as a mature and frustrated woman! Best songs: My Happy Ending, Freak Out and Forgotten!
  56. Joey
    Dec 27, 2005
    8
    This is a cool album. It's a bit more punky than 'let go' but that's a good thing. I've heard people saying Avril sings rock music - sorry Av, but you're 100%pure pop!!!!! The album is great though. The songs are great and full of feeling - very catchy *****
  57. AlasdairN
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    great album
  58. KrystiG
    Dec 26, 2004
    8
    I like this CD a lot. I just got it a couple days ago, & I can totally tell that it's a lot different then Let Go. This CD is more of her personally. Her emotions, not someone else's. And she's a good songwriter, not great, but she might get their someday. And this CD isn't as poppy, which is better for me.
  59. RachelM
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    I love this CD. I bought it the day it came out, May 25, and I can still listen to over and over again every day and not get sick of it. I would recommend that thought about getting it, but had second thoughts should buy it anyway because you will certainly not regret it!
  60. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Avril comes more ROCK than never in her second album. Just one song is can be really called POP, the funny 'He Wasn't that makes anyone to remember 'Sk8er Boy' from ''Let Go". The CD is full of guitars and some parts of piano and it goes from the first track until the last. This is a good work, with some errors as 'Freak Out' but with a few perfect songs as 'Nobody's Home' and 'Forgotten' Expand
  61. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Pra mim, não existe álbum melhor ou pior da Avril e esse é ótimo!
    Apesar de que a melhor música se encontra neste: Nobody's Home concerteza !
    A Avril veio para este trabalho com o estilo mais sombrio e dramático que agradou a maioria, concerteza é um ótimo sucessor de Let Go!
  62. Dec 4, 2016
    6
    All in all a good effort. Some gorgeous songs, some powerful vocals, some pop rock and some basic teen rock - just an all round good album, not overly memorable, but not totally forgettable.
  63. May 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Under My Skin is a perfect dark rock album.It's my favorite album in this world.Like so much her voice.My favorite song is Don't Tell Me Together and Take Me Away Expand
  64. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Avril lavigne's music has always been amazing and will always be. She is an inspration for people like me so if you hate her dont bother saying it just shutup
  65. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    I certainly feel that this is one of her best albums. I enjoy the beat of the music, but mostly I love listening to the words. Not at all depressing, and they describe mostly images of heartbreak, hopelessness and especially loss, but she puts it as tastefully as she can. When describing things like that, sometimes you just need to let out all your emotions, which she does perfectly. HerI certainly feel that this is one of her best albums. I enjoy the beat of the music, but mostly I love listening to the words. Not at all depressing, and they describe mostly images of heartbreak, hopelessness and especially loss, but she puts it as tastefully as she can. When describing things like that, sometimes you just need to let out all your emotions, which she does perfectly. Her voice is beautiful and crystal clear, and I just love listening to her. What I love about her songs is that it is often easy to conjure up images in reality, which gives it more feeling. One of my favourite songs off of this album is 'Slipped Away', as it is so touching and tear-jerking. A brilliant singer that deserves the best possible in the world. Expand
  66. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Unlike their first album, 'Under My Skin "shows an Avril, but perhaps more somber and serious, nonchalant fashion without talking about music and get lost inside and breakup, Avril is renewed again and manages to captivate us.
  67. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Excellent album by Avril (What less could we expect frm her!). Loved the mellowed down songs ... really beautiful and amazing. I love the way she has purged the weight of sadness and regret to prepare herself for the next steps forward.
  68. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    A lot of the songs on Under My Skin are darker, and deal with darker topics: death, rape,, suicide, sex, love, etc. It still holds a lot of teenage angst, but it does show her maturity range. She has a great voice on this album.
  69. Feb 27, 2016
    6
    6/10 - "She has deepened and darkened her sound without sacrificing her platinum-plated melodies" - Blender

    It's a little bit awkward lyrically; Avril wants to show us that she's a 'serious' songwriter but she doesn't really seem to have anything to write about, apart from boys.
  70. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    With a slight drop of good lyrics, 'Under My Skin' is a set of instrumental climate heavier and a darker, Lavigne fell in his work, but still, his fans have nothing to complain about.
  71. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Although much darker sounding than her previous album, Under My Skin shows true power, where every song is favorable in my opinion. It's been almost nine years since this album was released and I still listen to a tone of the songs from this record.
  72. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Once again, she created an album where every track is amazing in their own way. Freak Out and My Happy Ending are probably the two best which one did hit the top ten of billboards and the other probably would have if it had been released. All the vocals and music are beautifully done and the songs flow perfectly into each other.
  73. Sep 8, 2016
    10
    Era gotica, musicas carregadas de emoção e levando para um lado mais escuro... O disco particularmente é meu favorito por ter varias musicas dignas de serem chamadas de hinos do pop/rock
  74. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    It's been almost precisely 10 years since 'Under my Skin' was released ( and the very fact that Lavigne is still around only serves to prove her staying power) and regardless of it's reviews, it's total sales in excess of 10 million has served her well in establishing her niche in the world of music. In my opinion, however, it is the unreleased tracks that show the potential of this album.It's been almost precisely 10 years since 'Under my Skin' was released ( and the very fact that Lavigne is still around only serves to prove her staying power) and regardless of it's reviews, it's total sales in excess of 10 million has served her well in establishing her niche in the world of music. In my opinion, however, it is the unreleased tracks that show the potential of this album. The opening track, 'Take Me Away', serves an addictively nostalgic introduction, with complicated, angst-laden lyrics. (My words are cold, I don't want them to hurt you.) 'Together', 'How does it feel' and 'Who Knows' back up the consistency, while 'slipped away' serves as a fitting tribute for Lavigne's Grandparent.
    This album may have it's critics, but for many, it recalls the departure of 'Let Go', both lyrically and musically, thrusting Avril into the mainstream once again, banishing any 'one-hit wonder' fears that may have arisen in 2004. Her future releases could do with more of ''Skins' powerful delivery.
    Expand
  75. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    Isso é o que eu chamo de um álbum espetacular. A maioria das músicas pode ser sobre o mesmo tema, mas esta vibe rock dá um pouco de melancolia em mim. Nobody's Home,He Wasn't, Freak Out e My Happy Ending formam um quarteto fantástico.
  76. Jul 7, 2015
    10
    The best album of his career with the Let GO, the perfect music, great lyrics, it worked out this CD, especially the songs Nobody's Home, My Happy Ending, Together, Forgotten, Take Me Away, He Was not, Don 't Tell Me.
  77. Sep 24, 2014
    9
    Her best album released until now, and this album was released a long time ago. I like every song, from the beginning to the end. I won't ever forget "My Happy Ending"
  78. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    In one word: masterpiece. More rock/alt-oriented than Let Go, it contains enjoyable guitar riffs, pop melodies and meaningful lyrics. I think it's a brilliant album with quality instrumentation, passionate vocals and great production. While it may be "boring" and "plain" for some, I think it's a balanced album that flows extremely well and can be enjoyed from beginning to end if you areIn one word: masterpiece. More rock/alt-oriented than Let Go, it contains enjoyable guitar riffs, pop melodies and meaningful lyrics. I think it's a brilliant album with quality instrumentation, passionate vocals and great production. While it may be "boring" and "plain" for some, I think it's a balanced album that flows extremely well and can be enjoyed from beginning to end if you are "in the mood".

    I give it a 10 because there isn't a single song I don't like and it's really timeless. No wonder it's a fan favourite and (sometimes unfairly) used as an stardard to rate any Avril's effort. I can't believe it's so critically underrated and wasn't even nominated for Grammys, like Let Go was.
    Expand
  79. May 9, 2015
    9
    To date, it is Avril Lavigne's best album. Released by RCA Records in 2004, the album features a more mature image than Let Go (2002) with a variety of moods such as Angry, sad, relationships, break ups and how a typical teenager would feel. I also love the appearance Lavigne makes on this album, more grown-up and darker, but it is a little similar er-or inspired by Amy Lee of EvanescenceTo date, it is Avril Lavigne's best album. Released by RCA Records in 2004, the album features a more mature image than Let Go (2002) with a variety of moods such as Angry, sad, relationships, break ups and how a typical teenager would feel. I also love the appearance Lavigne makes on this album, more grown-up and darker, but it is a little similar er-or inspired by Amy Lee of Evanescence whom released Fallen a year ago. My highlights of the album are "Take Me Away", "Don't Tell Me", "My Happy Ending", "Nobody's Home", "Fall to Pieces", "Freak Out", and "Slipped Away". The standout tracks of the album are "Fall to Pieces" and "Nobody's Home", overall the album is agreeably one of the best albums of the 2000s decade. Expand
  80. Apr 15, 2015
    10
    esse é o tipo de cd que eu posso ouvir todos os dias e não enjoar de nenhuma musica. ele tem musicas muito maduras e uma sonoridade incrível. Todos os Álbuns da Avril são incríveis, mas esse com certeza é o melhor.
  81. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Melhor álbum do mundo, melhores músicas, álbum da minha vida, hinário, amo as músicas, amo tudo...
    Melhor álbum dela na minha opinião .
    Rainha, dona do meu cu, dona da minha vida
  82. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    O álbum reflete sobre a vida de Avril Lavigne, trazendo consigo um hino feminista (Don't Tell Me) que conta sobre uma situação que acontece repetidamente nos dias a dias de garotas; Slipped Away que fala sobre a morte de alguém querido e como nunca tivemos a chance de lhe dizer um "Goodbye". A sonoriedade é ótima, para um álbum de 2004, as composições e letras (todas feita por AvrilO álbum reflete sobre a vida de Avril Lavigne, trazendo consigo um hino feminista (Don't Tell Me) que conta sobre uma situação que acontece repetidamente nos dias a dias de garotas; Slipped Away que fala sobre a morte de alguém querido e como nunca tivemos a chance de lhe dizer um "Goodbye". A sonoriedade é ótima, para um álbum de 2004, as composições e letras (todas feita por Avril Lavigne) são tão impecáveis quanto a do primeiro álbum. Expand
  83. Dec 28, 2015
    10
    Under My Skin é um dos melhores álbuns que eu já ouvi, e o melhor da Avril. As letras são fortes, a instrumental é maravilhosa e a voz da Avril está impecável. É o álbum favorito dos Little Black Star's, e é o meu também.

    Pontos altíssimos: Nobody's Home, Togheter, Fall To Pieces
    Ponto baixo: I Always Get What I Want
  84. Jan 18, 2016
    5
    01. Take Me Away - 35/100
    02. Together - 42/100
    03. Don't Tell Me - 69/100
    04. He Wasn't - 67/100
    05. How Does It Feel - 69/100
    06. My Happy Ending - 62/100
    07. Nobody's Home - 71/100
    08. Forgotten - 35/100
    09. Who Knows - 70/100
    10. Fall To Pieces - 78/100
    11. Freak Out - 39/100
    12. Slipped Away - 67/100
    13. I Always Get What I Want - 60/100
    Média Total: 58 (-12)
  85. Apr 22, 2016
    10
    This album helped me so much through a time which i was very upset and confused, but on purchasing this album, I overcame the problem effecting me at the time. Avril Rocks and she always will so everyone who thinks other wise and shut up!
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. A good, if slightly disappointing, follow-up.
  2. Under My Skin is a bit awkward, sometimes sounding tentative and unsure, sometimes clicking and surging on Avril's attitude and ambition.
  3. Both more satisfying and more formulaic.