• Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: May 25, 2004
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 196

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Di
    Sep 3, 2004
    4
    I didn't buy this album because all the songs are the same cliche rock music except for two, most of the songs are boring and this album isn't half as good as Let Go. Don't Tell Me is a very weak (yet leading single) track as well. Not a very good hook to help you remember it either. All the tracks on Let Go were very different but here they are all very similar and I didn't buy this album because all the songs are the same cliche rock music except for two, most of the songs are boring and this album isn't half as good as Let Go. Don't Tell Me is a very weak (yet leading single) track as well. Not a very good hook to help you remember it either. All the tracks on Let Go were very different but here they are all very similar and it's just a phase for her trying to get "credibility". Overall she changed her sound (and image) too much. And left the Matrix, who wrote Complicated although she takes credit for the song because she wrote the "preppy clothes" line. The best tracks on this album are Together, Slipped Away, Nobody's Home and Fall To Pieces. The only ones that stand out to me. And I didn't think this album would do near as well as Let Go and so far it hasn't. Oh well. Expand
  2. janpk
    Jul 5, 2004
    4
    i was interested in this cd because it was dark or something.. it's still the same corny supermarketsound. but hey.. a smart product it is!
  3. Alexisb
    May 20, 2007
    2
    oh god what a shallow album, oh god what a disapointment! i was never an Avril Lavigne fan but i always follow her work because i literally fell in love with Let Go..now? please Avril, you could've IMAGINED more interesting stories..meaningless songs, sort of like the songs u read in a 13 year old girl's diary...so weak, once this album is over ull be like "so what was i doing? oh god what a shallow album, oh god what a disapointment! i was never an Avril Lavigne fan but i always follow her work because i literally fell in love with Let Go..now? please Avril, you could've IMAGINED more interesting stories..meaningless songs, sort of like the songs u read in a 13 year old girl's diary...so weak, once this album is over ull be like "so what was i doing? oh yeah...cleaning the roofs"...Avril is in the spotlight, she should take that in consideration and do her best to write real songs! and if she cant then she has to face the bad critics Expand
  4. MichaelB
    Jun 9, 2004
    1
    Garbage.
  5. k.trujillo
    Jul 12, 2004
    1
    her music sucks, but shes so hot. i want her
  6. jamesl
    May 25, 2004
    0
    man she just sounds bad! there is so much hype but the songs are all the same worst lyricis i've heard for years
  7. -annonymous-
    Jul 27, 2004
    0
    (silence) this is onea those artists. I'm not going to say that she sucks. you guys already know that she is terrible, and she can't even pronounce David Bowie? She called him David Booie, and also, avril is honestly just a little b*tch. she tries to act like she writes her own stuff, but she doesn't.. she does not write her music.. as an artist myself I have absolutely no (silence) this is onea those artists. I'm not going to say that she sucks. you guys already know that she is terrible, and she can't even pronounce David Bowie? She called him David Booie, and also, avril is honestly just a little b*tch. she tries to act like she writes her own stuff, but she doesn't.. she does not write her music.. as an artist myself I have absolutely no respect for her and her music.. every time I listen to it, it bores me and I wanna throw the stereo out the window... thaz all I gotta say Expand
  8. SarahM
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    A boring and try-hard production of a talentless singer. I used to like her, till she started thinking she was some super-hardcore punk rocker. Her music is pop and awful. Her voice lacks talent. Half the time, she doesn't sing, she just talks. It's not talent, get over it.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. A good, if slightly disappointing, follow-up.
  2. Under My Skin is a bit awkward, sometimes sounding tentative and unsure, sometimes clicking and surging on Avril's attitude and ambition.
  3. Both more satisfying and more formulaic.