Uno! - Green Day
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 147

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    Not Green Day's best work. However this is a fun album and as great as American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown are its nice to have some fun. Best songs: Oh Love, Let Yourself Go, Carpe Diem, Rusty James and Troublemaker
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    3
    This album takes the writing style of older Green Day albums while making it sound completely clean, prissy, and void of any grittiness or distortion which they should have being a pop-punk band and all. This album also has some of the weakest lyrics the band has ever produced with a few exceptions. Any song with any sort of potential to be good is just thwarted because the production and mixing just sounds off. Those little 3-chord jam sessions that this trio frequently has in their music just seems to be watered down in this album and it's mostly because the mixing is just off. You can hear a distinct difference between songs with these little sections like Stuck With Me from Insomniac and Stay the Night from this mediocrity. Now I'm all for a band changing their sound and all but this is not the way it's supposed to be done. Green Day has changed their sounds in the past and those changes made much more sense and just sound better. The change from the albums Nimrod to Warning was a refreshing and enjoyable difference in sound, same with the change from the albums Warning to American Idiot. What's trying to be said here is that Changing the sound but keeping the old style of music isn't a good idea. Albums like American Idiot are different from their older stuff but manage to stay under one roof. Uno is different but just sounds like a cheap bubblegum pop rock band rather than the gritty and fast pop-punk bad they should be. This trilogy will forever stain Green Day's solid lineup of excellent pop-punk albums. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    One of Green Day's greatest efforts, "¡Uno!" brings back its pop/punk brilliance with well-crafted rock songs. There are no fillers here (unlike the other albums of this trilogy). "Sweet 16" is THE highlight. "Stay the Night" and "Let Yourself Go" are other highlights here, as they are pure rock 'n' roll. "Kill the DJ", a bit different track from other Green Day tracks, find its way and does not disappoint at all, together with "Carpe Diem" and "Troublemaker". "Nuclear Family" and Rusty James" are also very welcome. "Oh Love", the lead single, closes the album with a sense of "work well done". "Fell for You" is a little sweeter than most of their other tracks, but it's good, though it might not please some fans. "Angel Blue" and "Loss of Control" are the weakest tracks here, but yet they are good.

    "¡Uno!' is the best album on the trilogy and I recommend it.
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    After American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown another great album by Green Day, although it's not on the same level. There are no bad songs in it, and some of them are very good (Let Yourself Go, Stay The Night). I think it's one of their best. Let's see the next two.
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    Take the sound+energy of Nimrod and the style+arrangements of Warning and you have Uno. A great album that I can mostly listen start to finish, (minus tracks 5 and 8, bleh!!). I just wish Billie Joe would use a bit more distortion like he used to! Other than that a really fun, energetic album to listen to.
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    what happened to the band that brought us international top hits such as american idiot, basket case, boulevard of broken dreams, holiday and 21 guns, only to mention a few!
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    Decent album. All the songs have the same sort of feel to them. Only a few songs are really good. Wasnt as good as expected, but Green day is always good.
  8. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Green Day was originally a punk band. Then "American Idiot" happened and the new generation or power-pop lovers fell in love with them. iUno! contunues with that tradition. Definitely not a bad album, not Green Day's worst, but, loving the old 90s stuff, like many of the other reviews for this album, this is very pop influenced. I have a bias towards the genre and will be inclined to give it a worse grade then I give it, but I have to take into account its audience. This is mainly for the mainstream power-pop lovers and for that, this album is a home run. In fact, if that's what you're going for, this whole trilogy is a home run!!! But from a musicians standpoint (which I am), it is catchy, but not traditional Green Day which is what I was hoping for a return to. 7/10. Expand
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Uno! it's very good, with great sound and a loud style, and the new song Kill the DJ surprise the music world, demostrating that can make dancing music......good album for the start of this trilogy
  10. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    Green Day has always built their sound on power chords & unbelievably catchy melodies without sounding obnoxious or generic about it, and this album is no exception. While I do love American Idiot & 21st Century Breakdown (as well as the rest of their albums), I like that they're shying away from the political rock operas this time around to make something a bit less complicated but still effective. On this album they go for a more traditional power-pop approach for most songs here. There's relateable & well-written lyrics about love & relationships (Stay the Night & especially Fell For You), anger with the people around you (Let Yourself Go & Loss of Control), making the most of your life (Nuclear Family & Carpe Diem) and even some cleverly written political metaphors (Kill the DJ). This is also one of their most stylistically varied albums to date. Everything ranging from heavily melodic power-pop to blisteringly fast punk jams to even an early-80s-Clash-esque dance-rock song is included here. Despite this however, they manage to keep the whole album cohesive & well-flowing from song to song. Another thing to note is that this album contains some of their best guitar solos to date, most notably the one on Troublemaker. If there's one problem I have with this album it's that it's definitely front-loaded. The first 7/12 songs are just fantastic & Troublemaker's really good but then I feel like it starts to trail off until Oh Love. Angel Blue, Sweet 16 & Rusty James just sound like filler made to make this whole "trilogy of albums" thing actually work. They could've easily cut out these 3 songs, made the trilogy a pair of longer albums, and I would've been perfectly happy. Angel Blue & Rusty James aren't remarkable at all lyrically or musically, with the latter just sounding like a random collection of unused lines from 21CB & even having the exact same chord progression as Viva La Gloria. Sweet 16 is better lyrically but it's still in-1-ear-out-the-other in all the other areas. Another problem I have throughout ¡Uno! is the excessive f-bombs. Now normally I'm fine with cursing in music even though I don't myself, free speech & all. But there are times where it just feels like syllable filler more than anything else. Also, Oh Love SERIOUSLY needs a cutdown in length. If they just cut out the unnecessary instrumental part in the beginning, gone straight into the verse & cut out the repetition of the 1st verse after the solo that does nothing but slow down the momentum, Oh Love could've probably been my favorite song on the album. And like everyone I've heard talk about this album is saying, as great as this song is, it shouldn't have been the first single, or even a single at all. It works much better in context as an album closer. I mean seriously, they could've picked ANY song here from the first half & it would've made a great first taste of the album. Overall, while there's lots of great songs here, the filler tracks drag it down, and having also heard Dos & Tre, this is probably my least favorite in the trilogy, and somewhere in the bottom half of my Green Day album ranking. But still, that's not saying much negatively. This is Green Day after all. 76/100 Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    A great throwback to their earlier stuff while still keeping their more recent themes intact. Not their best obviously but it's definitely a new take on their music. The concept of a trilogy is such a unique idea, especially with the music industry where it is these days.
  12. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Green Day just might as well call themselves the kings of pop punk. The band is not just releasing "Uno", but is releasing two more in the same year, literally named "Dos" and "Tre" both coming out in the later aspects of 2012. "Dos" comes out on Tuesday. Anyway, lets just get on to the review

    This CD has a lot of good songs. Songs like "Nuclear Family", "Stay The Night", "Loss of
    Control", and "Oh Love" make this record a good collect. That is all the review, let's just see what the other two albums are going to be like. Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Green Day have crafted one of the worst albums ever just because they're Green Day. I'm not going to make an argument that can be backed up with evidence and that's why its bad. Musicians playing music that has structure and requires the band playing instruments themselves and writing their own music is a bad thing. Dubstep and indie music are the best in this day and age considering making music is irrelevant now. Stop listening to this and listen to Death Cab For Cutie and Skrillex. Oh by the way, if you can't tell, this is sarcasm and this album rules! Dubstep, Death Cab For Cutie, & Skrillex Suck! Expand
  14. Oct 19, 2012
    6
    Puxando pela minha memória, acredito que o Green Day foi a primeira banda de rock que eu realmente gostei. Foi com o American Idiot de 2004. Isso já faz oito anos e nesse meio tempo minha admiração apenas aumentou. Talvez por isso o crédito da banda está bastante alto, ainda mais agora com o lançamento do álbum ¡Uno!.


    Longe
    da grandiosidade das óperas rock do já citado American Idiot e do último trabalho deles 21st Century Breakdown, ¡Uno! marca a volta do trio para as raízes deles com um rock/punk/pop mais cru e menos pretensioso. É ótimo vê-los de volta a forma antiga, mas o resultado final ficou meio abaixo das expectativas. Não que seja ruim. Longe disso, mas tudo ficou apenas morno. Está lá o resultado de ótimos músicos que são os componentes do trio entregando arranjos caprichosamente trabalhados e com a cara do grupo, mas que perdem força devido ao fato de não irem além do eles já fizeram. É tudo muito certinho e até previsível em alguns momentos. Billie Joe está bem com seus vocais só que parecem ter entrado em um automático. As composições também escritas pelo frontman estão divertidas e com refrões precisos para fazer os fãs cantarem em shows e é só isso. Nenhum momento genial ou acima da média. Gosto especialmente da pop/punk/chiclete Kill the DJ (resenha a seguir) e da melhor do álbum Oh Love, primeiro single do álbum. Como primeiro álbum de uma seqüencia de três que vão ser lançados até o começo do ano que vem, o Green Day ainda tem mais duas chances de acertarem totalmente. Expand
  15. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    I'm gonna say it, Uno is definitely a great album from Green Day. For those who say the new songs all sound the same, (sure they mostly sound the same) but it's definitely Green Day in their fun, punk days. I even enjoyed "Kill The DJ". The album in general really does feel like a blast from the past. And that is nowhere close to a bad thing.
  16. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    When I first listened to this album, I thought that it sounded horrible. However, after a few more listens, I love it! It's not as good as Dookie, Nimrod, Warning, etc but it's definitely up there.
  17. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    As an Idiot I think I can tell that this album is way more better than 21st Century Breakdown. ¡Uno! is a perfect combination between Green Day early years stuff with a perfect power-pop. This is an album with no concept, which is great because you can enjoy every single song individually. I love the way Green Day put the songs on the album, I mean... when you start hearing "Oh Love" you know you should start taking off your headphones, just like "Wake me up when september ends" on American Idiot", "Sassafras Roots" on Dookie and "Good Riddance" on Nimrod. Expand
  18. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    My favorite Green Day album since American Idiot. There's a few songs I didn't enjoy but songs like "Let Yourself Go" "Oh Love" and "Carpe Diem" are my favorite.
  19. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    Something of a return to form for the band after the absolutely dire 21st Century Breakdown, and heads back towards their sound at the middle of their career, Warning kinda time. There are some really strong hooks to be found in the album, but the songs and album overall are just devoid of anything to keep me coming back. Lyrically simple, repetitive and derivative this almost seems like Green Day have gone back to all their previous albums, and ripped off their own songs. Expand
  20. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    While ¡Uno! doesn't have the depth of American Idiot or 21st Century Breakdown, it stands on its own as a new direction for Green Day. Having been around for more than 20 years, it is essential that they continue to change it up, and ¡Uno! is a great example. There's a lot less politics, and a lot more short guitar solos.

    The album opens up with Nuclear Family, which is
    pretty average. It has grown on me over time, though, and it's a quick song (as most are on this album). Then it moves on to Stay the Night, which in my opinion is one of the best songs on the album. It's pretty different from other things GD have done in the past, and I can't think of any of their previous songs to compare it to. After that is Carpe Diem. Like Nuclear Family, this song took a couple listens to really warm up to, and is similar to Life Before the Lobotomy from 21CB.

    Let Yourself Go and Kill the DJ are the most fun songs in the album. Let Yourself Go is a really fast song that is a lot of fun to sing along to, and Kill the DJ, while some might say is too repetitive, has a great beat that you'll be tapping your foot to. Fell for You and Angel Blue seem to represent the weaker points in the album. They lack any real substance, but are at least still fun to listen to in the context of the full album.

    Loss of Control and Troublemaker are another pair of great songs. They're full of energy and fun to blast in the car. Sweet 16 is similar to Stay the Night, in that it is hard to compare it directly to any previous songs. I think the closest I can find would have to be Pulling Teeth from Dookie.

    Finally Rusty James provides a great tune for the penultimate song in the album, leading into the album's closer Oh Love, which everyone has probably already heard on the radio this summer.

    While some may argue that this album wasn't as great as GD's last two, I think it really shouldn't be compared on the same level. ¡Uno! stands on its own as a great way to spend 41 minutes, and adding 12 awesome new songs to your library. If you go in with the right expectations, this album can be really amazing.
    Expand
  21. Oct 6, 2012
    7
    I've been a fan of Green Day since I found Dookie as a kid, probably 13 years ago. When American Idiot received considerable airplay I wasn't even aware it was the same band. Their past two albums have had a more stadium rock feel to them, which is something Uno! lacks. That's not to say it doesn't have some catchy power punk anthems but the album lacks cohesiveness in comparison with their most recent works. It starts on a high note, rattling through 'Nuclear Family', 'Stay the Night', and 'Carpe Diem', and finishes with familiar sounds in 'Rusty James' and 'Oh Love'. The middle however, is filled with relatively short, themeless songs that all sound increasingly similar. I understand the theme of the first album in the trilogy is to be 'Power Pop Punk', but let's hope we see more from volumes two and three, with their "Garage Rock' and 'Stadium Rock' labels. Expand
  22. Oct 6, 2012
    9
    This album is exactly what Green Day said it would be. I am a long time green day fan, and sure this album doesn't necessarily get up to par with Dookie and Insomniac but come on, they are in their forties. This album is pretty sweet if you give it the time and consider that trio, now quartet is no longer the snotty rebellious teens they once were. This is Green Day going back to their basic roots, and i truly respect it. Expand
  23. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This album really takes me back. My best description is a good mix of Nimrod and Shenanigans with a little bit of Warning and Insomniac in small doses. Looking forward to the following releases!
  24. j30
    Oct 4, 2012
    2
    Uno is the sound of a dad trying to hang out with their 14 year old son and his friends. Billie Joe Armstrong's lyrics are dreadful, with lines like "I woke up in a pool of sweat/ First thought I pissed the bed" The fact is Green Day can put **** out like this in their sleep... and they are with Dos and Tre coming out in November and January.
  25. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Definitely not their best stuff, but is well enough to satisfy. Some of the songs get kind of repetitive and aren't very memorable, but there still are good songs that retain those punk roots we're accustomed to like "Let Yourself Go" while at the same time having some unique creative ones like "Kill the DJ" , that are not the usual Green Day that we're used to, but it's a fun change of pace and it works. I'm looking forward to "¡Dos!" and "¡Tré! and hopefully there will be some more improvement. Expand
  26. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    I'm a long time Green Day fan, and have stuck with the band through every change. Sure, Green Day's not the pop-punk, 90-second song-slinging machines they used to be, nor, apparently, are they any longer performers of epic rock operas...Uno seems to be a combination of the two and yet something completely different.
    Very quick songs a la Dookie are here, but it's still not the fast paced
    punk Green Day started with. The themes are centered around love, sexy times, and the like, and the sound is sort of American Idiot-era generica. Simple guitar riffs and drum beats, mixed with the less poetic side of Billie Joe's writing make for a less artistic, but no less fun, Green Day album.
    If this is the direction Green Day is headed in now I won't stop buying albums...but they may need to make room on my favorite bands list.
    Expand
  27. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    After the ambitious and theatrical rock operas American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, Green Day have returned with a straightforward rock album. ¡Uno! sees a stylistic return to the classic vibe of the Dookie-Insomniac-Nimrod era. Some songs are still reminiscent of American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown ("Stay the Night", "Carpe Diem"). But most of the tracks on this album could easily have fit in with the band's work from the '90s. The song "Kill the DJ" - arguably the standout track - is a welcome change, offering a dance-punk style akin to The Clash's Sandinista! Much thanks to Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt, and Tré Cool for making a solid album. Hopefully ¡Dos! and ¡Tré! will be just as good, if not better. Expand
  28. Oct 1, 2012
    4
    I'm a massive Green Day fan. I always will be. I own every one of their albums, and despite my disappointment, will purchase Dos and Tre. That said, this is another step down a disturbing trend for the band.

    21st Century Breakdown was the first green day album since the 80s that wasn't outstanding. Unlike previous entries like American Idiot, Insomniac or Dookie, there were songs
    that were bland, unmemorable, or just flat out bad. Uno is like taking one of the bland songs (Last of the American Girls) and recording it 12 times. For an album that was supposed to return to their roots, it is thoroughly lacking in punk sound. It sounds like a bunch of old men trying to emulate their glory days, which unfortunately is exactly what it is. It is fake in every sense of the word. Say what you want about the political tone of the previous two albums, they certainly seemed a lot less forced both musically and lyrically.

    There is not one song on this album that would be in the top 75 songs Green Day has recorded. And that should say enough about it. I'd steer clear unless you're going down with the ship like me to satiate your nostalgia.
    Expand
  29. Oct 1, 2012
    5
    To be honest, I don't LOVE this album. I was expecting more from Green Day, but this album lacks variety and experimentation. All the songs are similar to each other and even similar to other punk rock bands' records. The only thing I like about this record is it defines the old Green Day, it goes back to their roots, defines where they came from and that's really amazing. I am now waiting for ¡Tré! (the thrid album in the trilogy) because "it will be geared more towards stadium rock and will have more of a grandiose sound complete with string arrangements and brass sections. The mood of ¡Tré! will be "reflective" and the album would be a "mixed bag" with the sound fluctuating from the punk rock feel of Dookie and Insomniac, the experimental elements of Nimrod and Warning and finally finishing with the stadium rock/ rock opera sound taken from American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown", as said by Billie Joe Armstrong. So I'm really looking forward to that. This album is so not up to my expectations and I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy it either. If you want to listen to any song, just YouTube the Goddamn song. If you still want to buy it for your collection then, go ahead. Nobody's stopping you. Expand
  30. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    Quite different from their previous work but it is still a great album when put together. Some of the standout tracks were "Stay the night" and "Kill the DJ"
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    What this amounts to is a sharp and often exhilarating change of gear from the Green Day of the past eight years. [22 Sep 2012, p.50]
  2. There are some parts you'll have to suffer through, but there are at least a handful of tracks that we can save and enjoy into the future.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    After all these years they can still write a catchy tune.