Up The Bracket

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 81
  2. Negative: 3 out of 81

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    Listened to it time and time and time again, and still love it. Ignore what any naysayers might say - if you like good, two-fingers (or one - I'm English) -up-to-the-world music that makes you want to scream every song at the top of your voice on top of a high building (or is that just me?) then buy this album. I class a good album by the number of tracks i want to skip, and there Listened to it time and time and time again, and still love it. Ignore what any naysayers might say - if you like good, two-fingers (or one - I'm English) -up-to-the-world music that makes you want to scream every song at the top of your voice on top of a high building (or is that just me?) then buy this album. I class a good album by the number of tracks i want to skip, and there are none on this one. I could listen to each one twice or even thrice in a row. The English might not be able to land a mars probe as well as Americans, but we can still make damn fine music. Expand
  2. peter
    Mar 12, 2003
    8
    I find the Libertines to be rather underrated. Definitely on par with the Strokes, this band really know the perfect sloppy way to smack a guitar. Mick Jones' presence is audible. And the Libertines is the only good band ever to have opened for Morrissey. Nice up-beat album for spring-time.
  3. MattP
    Mar 6, 2004
    10
    Fuc*ing A! Every single track on here could be a single. It's definatly my favourite LP since 'Doolittle'. If you don't own it by now scrub the shame off with wire-wool
  4. BobG
    May 20, 2003
    8
    This is a fun, gritty rock n' roll record that should be played loud with the windows down and sunroof open. Some similarities to the Strokes but even less polished. Terrific album. Turn it up!
  5. MatthewF
    May 9, 2003
    9
    I love the CD. I'm glad that i read my one and only fortune magazine to hear about this band. The music reminds me of a strokes clash
  6. DaveyD
    Jan 13, 2005
    9
    This album hit me hard out of the gate and kept getting better as it went on. My love of the Clash, the Jam, the Damned and every other late seventies British punk act may be coloring (colouring?) my opinion, but still I think this album stands on it's own. Buy it.
  7. Joe
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Ive had the album for years and i still cant stop coming back to it. The best album ever! doherty is a genius!
  8. Bella
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Doherty and Barat's guitar skills are unmatched in this generation. This cd is a must own for any fan of punk music.
  9. SusanB
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    My favourite album, it just sucks you in from the moment you press play. The raw energy, the urgency, the incredible lyrics, the irresistable melodies, this album has it all. I've played it to death and I'm still not sick of it
  10. DuncanB
    Oct 24, 2006
    8
    I think it is a shame that the slavish devotion of Libertines fans stopped me from enjoying this album at the time of its release as it really is fun and a breath of fresh air. Though a fine album the musicianship is average and it is only the charisma of the two frontmen and their lyrical skill that lifts this album. The Libertines like the Arctic Monkeys are blighted by obsessive fans I think it is a shame that the slavish devotion of Libertines fans stopped me from enjoying this album at the time of its release as it really is fun and a breath of fresh air. Though a fine album the musicianship is average and it is only the charisma of the two frontmen and their lyrical skill that lifts this album. The Libertines like the Arctic Monkeys are blighted by obsessive fans whose inability to view the band objectively harms the public perception of them, slavish devotion will only lead to the artist growing complacent as shown by the inferior second album. Most of the L:ibertines die hards I know are like the character in Pulps "common people": Upper Middle Class drama students slumming it whilst they are at university but with the emergency get out of Papa if things get to grim. Expand
  11. ElliotM
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Aside from a couple of weak links (which only pale in comparison to the greatness of the rest of the album), this is raw, invigorating and wholly British in all of it's thirty minutes plus. Messy and refined all at once.
  12. terryb
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    sheer class
  13. PatoR
    May 26, 2003
    9
    Absolutely enjoyable, every song is so catchy and powerful, a good british answer to The Strokes, that is in a general angle, because The Libertines has more punk attitude, and that is not a bad thing.
  14. AdamO
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    PURE CLASS
  15. SomebodyWhoKnowsMusic
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    This is without doubt one of the best albums of the last 10 years.
  16. uigwfaaFs
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    this album is a mix of the finest garrage and every good thing in brtish rock in the last....well ever
  17. jackr
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    amzing carefree lyrics stunnig guitar work and a tight ryhtem section a masterpiece.
  18. maxwellw
    May 16, 2006
    10
    The following fuckwit medias can FUCK off: uncut (who gives a fuck what you think you cunts) the onion a.v club or whatever (who the fuck are you?). oh and Q magazine. what cd were you listening to when you reviewed up the bracket?? i think this is a case of 'look at us we're controversial and give the best music the worst marks'. dick heads, perhaps you should review it The following fuckwit medias can FUCK off: uncut (who gives a fuck what you think you cunts) the onion a.v club or whatever (who the fuck are you?). oh and Q magazine. what cd were you listening to when you reviewed up the bracket?? i think this is a case of 'look at us we're controversial and give the best music the worst marks'. dick heads, perhaps you should review it again and remember to listen to it this time, rather than talk about U2 and the foo fighters. Expand
  19. NiallB
    May 27, 2006
    10
    4 years after it was released and i still listen to this masterpiece everyday. it is quite simply the greatest album ever made. Every song is a classic. They are an amazng band who have totally changed my life and inspired me to pick up a guitar. up the albion!
  20. cristianb
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    I usually like cut my wrist bands but this is not one and I loove it!
  21. erinca
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    For me this insane cd is the best album of 2000's. since 2005 I haven't had a single consecutive 3 days period that I haven't listened to that. Subtle, life changing opportunity.
  22. jeffb
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    I live in the U.S so this album is relatively unheard of and has no hype. I found it by chance and it totally revived my love for music. It is a revelation and one of the best albums ever. It sparked my new found interest in the British music scene, which is much better than the current American scene. 40 minutes of pure bliss.
  23. NatalieL
    May 18, 2003
    9
    The Strokes? Are you kidding? This band blows Jules n Co. out of the water. Thank god for Pete and Carl.
  24. DavidB
    Jul 21, 2004
    10
    One of the Best debut albums from any band ever. This is modern day Clash and a must buy for everyone.
  25. Swedishguy
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    As good as every single night for, I don't know how long, I've been telling myself to get those earphones off of my head and go to sleep or something instead of listening to "Up The Bracket". But this album keeps convincing me it's one of the best ones ever released. The tunes! The energy! The way it swings you out of it all! Pure love.
  26. Anon
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums ever recorded. There is not even one average track on the whole cd - everything is great!
  27. KathrynS
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    The Good Old Days is beautiful
  28. paul
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album words can't describe how good it really is.Pete Docherty is quite simply a legend
  29. Dec 20, 2010
    7
    Up The Bracket is very refreshing. I love the sound of this album. Tracks like "Death On The Stairs" and "Horrorshow" really show that this is unlike any other British garage punk album. I recommend it. B
  30. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    I listen to this over and over. Definitely one of the best albums of the 2000's. Being from the States I am definitely disappointed that I didn't find them until after they imploded :(. Thank heaven for Youtube and for their 2010 reunion. The chemistry between Pete and Carl is hard to find and when you combine it with Mick Jones...this beautiful piece of art is what you are left with.I listen to this over and over. Definitely one of the best albums of the 2000's. Being from the States I am definitely disappointed that I didn't find them until after they imploded :(. Thank heaven for Youtube and for their 2010 reunion. The chemistry between Pete and Carl is hard to find and when you combine it with Mick Jones...this beautiful piece of art is what you are left with. Long live the LIBS! Expand
  31. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    One of the best debut records of the 00's. Full of indie punk tunes. Although the only track I dislike here is Radio America, Death on the Stairs and Time for Heroes are the stand out tracks. Lyrically clever and full of great riffs, Mick Jones really captured the essence of this band here. Showed so much potential, it's a pity they only lasted for one record after this and we were luckyOne of the best debut records of the 00's. Full of indie punk tunes. Although the only track I dislike here is Radio America, Death on the Stairs and Time for Heroes are the stand out tracks. Lyrically clever and full of great riffs, Mick Jones really captured the essence of this band here. Showed so much potential, it's a pity they only lasted for one record after this and we were lucky to even get that. Expand
  32. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the album that made the Libertines legends. And this record just improves with time. It absolutely never gets old. Some of the songs on this album are the best of all time. Expand
  33. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    No es difícil de visualizar el porqué de esta puntuación, todo es simple: es un álbum novedoso, lo último en su época (a pesar de que se trate de post-punk revival), el estilo se distingue de los demás y, para finalizar, excelente en todos sus aspectos.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Eventually every song will kick in from a slightly different angle, including faux folk and cracked ballad.
  2. Like The Clash before them, The Libertines draw primarily from decades of rock tradition-- blues, dub, a healthy whiff of the English countryside, and a few gorgeous rock riffs straight from the brainstem of Chuck Berry-- and fuse them into an unruly and triumphant monster of an album.
  3. Spin
    100
    This is music to play in dark, velvety, womblike bars; this is music to play while buying cigarettes; this is music for well-dressed poor people. [May 2003, p.109]