User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 109
  2. Negative: 9 out of 109

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IxatA.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Loretta Lynn's Van Lear Rose surpasses all of my favorite artists' album(and that includes bjork and white's band)... miss being mrs and portland oregon are just exceptional.
  2. EggHead
    May 2, 2004
    0
    Worst Album EVER! Ill Mitch's Album was way better then this.
  3. SteveS
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    That this album was ever released is proof positive that there is no God.
  4. CactuarChocobo
    Jun 13, 2004
    5
    Umm... I dont know how this album got 95 exactly. Kylie Minogue's Fever only had a 63 by the way. Would you rather listen to a 69 year old or a sexy, bootylicious 36 year old? The answer's pretty obvious don't you think. I smell conspiracy brewing...
  5. johnk
    May 8, 2004
    2
    her voice annoys me. wow, shes 70 and jack white was involved so it must be cool. haha. i wish people would form there own opinions and not listen to what spin, rolling stones, or pitchfork have to say...there are at least 50 albums that have come out so far this year that are better than this one. word. but to each hisorher own.
  6. antparker
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    This album has everything going for it, Ms. Lynns voice is a godsend and Mr. White has cemented his talent in translating this music production into one of the most classic country albums of the last 20 years. This WILL win a grammy! and I know thats a very big call.
  7. EricH
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    Best album of the year so far
  8. JenniferH
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    I Just Absolutely Love This Albulm I Think Its The Best Albulm Ever I Love Her Voice, She Has Got A Beautiful Voice, She Just Does An Awesome Job Singin On This Albulm.
  9. KentB
    May 10, 2004
    10
    Since the day I purchased this, it has not been out of my CD player. Some songs bring tears to my eyes, while others make me want to get up and dance. This will be the album to beat at the Grammys.
  10. bjscott
    May 26, 2004
    10
    i love this cd
  11. AndyR
    May 3, 2004
    10
    Some of the very best music of Loretta Lynn's career. Odd combination that worked wonderfully. Maybe Grammy material.
  12. RobertW
    May 3, 2004
    10
    Sublime! Drifting from song to song, Lynn's simple wisdom, unbridled spirit and vocal gifts remind us of why she became a legend: this IS American music. Disparate in its creation, it emerges whole and beautiful. A classic.
  13. AaronL
    May 4, 2004
    10
    I doubt there will be a better album this year. Basically, it's all Lynn - voice and songs. Jack White provides just enough support. Blows all those so-called country singers out of the water (Faith Hill, Martina McBride, etc.). They all should take note and learn from a master. Brilliant.
  14. JoannS
    May 5, 2004
    10
    I love this new CD!!!!!! It is Loretta at her best. It is refreshing to hear Loretta's country voice in the midst of all of the new country music today.
  15. NeilH
    May 6, 2004
    10
    A kick in the pants to Nashville from a 70 year old artist who made a leap of faith into gutsy country rock. Now number one on our FMQB report at WDIY Allentown. Her appearance on the Late Show with the DoWhatters was nothing short of a revelation. Neil Hever
  16. LouisK
    May 6, 2004
    10
    Oh my god! I've never been a huge Loretta Lynn fan...but what an amazing CD! The voice is just magnificent; at 70 years old she puts artists a 1/4 of her age to shame. I haven't felt this great about a CD since hearing Johnny Cash's American IV. Superb!!!! So many standouts but check out her duet with Jack White, "Portland Oregon", or "Little Red Shoes"!Now if only Dolly Oh my god! I've never been a huge Loretta Lynn fan...but what an amazing CD! The voice is just magnificent; at 70 years old she puts artists a 1/4 of her age to shame. I haven't felt this great about a CD since hearing Johnny Cash's American IV. Superb!!!! So many standouts but check out her duet with Jack White, "Portland Oregon", or "Little Red Shoes"!Now if only Dolly Parton can make this kind of CD...I know she's got it in her! Expand
  17. benji
    May 7, 2004
    10
    Loretta Rocks .... A pitcher of slow gin fizzes...right-on!
  18. JeremiahM
    May 9, 2004
    10
    'Van Lear Rose' is the best country music album in years and it is only fitting that 70 year old Loretta Lynn is the voice in this masterpiece.
  19. PaulaW.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    Is it wrong to say Loretta Lynn rocks? I hope not, because I'm saying it. This is very much a country album, but it has lots of Jack White's signature guitar touches. If anything I think this album shows just how much country flavor is in Jack's rock albums: here we see the logical (and tasty) outcome when he lets his deep-country urges take over. Don't get me wrong: Is it wrong to say Loretta Lynn rocks? I hope not, because I'm saying it. This is very much a country album, but it has lots of Jack White's signature guitar touches. If anything I think this album shows just how much country flavor is in Jack's rock albums: here we see the logical (and tasty) outcome when he lets his deep-country urges take over. Don't get me wrong: Loretta deserves the lion's share of the credit, for her brilliant songwriting, the range of emotion she expresses, and her amazing voice (I'd be lucky to have half her pipes at half her age). Some of these songs, like the title track, are good enough to give me shivers. Other standouts: Portland Oregon, High on a Mountaintop, Mrs. Leroy Brown, and Miss Being Mrs. PS to Cactuar Chocobo: how dare you mention that floozy Kylie Minogue in the same review with Loretta Lynn? Go to your room! Expand
  20. SamanthaR
    Jun 4, 2004
    8
    I don't even like country music, but after listening to Portland, Oregon I had to have this CD.
  21. JonH
    Jun 5, 2004
    8
    Not as great as been said, but still a nice peice of work from Lynn, good to see her back.
  22. NathanT
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    I have been a fan of Loretta Lynn for years. I take every opportunity to see her live that I can. I have been to her dude ranch in Hurrican Mills, TN. That being said: This album is classic Loretta Lynn. If "Family Tree" had been released in the early 70's it would no doubt have been a number one hit. I can imagine the same thing being said for "Van Lear Rose." I would have loved to I have been a fan of Loretta Lynn for years. I take every opportunity to see her live that I can. I have been to her dude ranch in Hurrican Mills, TN. That being said: This album is classic Loretta Lynn. If "Family Tree" had been released in the early 70's it would no doubt have been a number one hit. I can imagine the same thing being said for "Van Lear Rose." I would have loved to have heard Conway Twitty and Loretta Lynn pair up for "Portland, Oregan" but Jack White does a very nice job of filling in. I have not stopped listening to this album since I bought it! Expand
  23. JakeC
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    Speaking as an almost purely jazz and electronic music fan, I found it odd that this album (alt.country) is probably the best that I have purchased in the last year. Simply brilliant, scintillating, and emotionally heavy without tipping into sentimentality.
  24. GregS
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    I have always preferred Patsy to Loretta and have never been a big fan. I still prefer Ms. Cline, but I am so impressed by this cd that I have a new respect for a true American original woman as well as the man helping to put her back in the spotlight.
  25. AnneT
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    Absolutely wonderful album!! That's Loretta, all the way!!
  26. BjFBjF
    Oct 3, 2006
    6
    Average.
  27. Chatto
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    An amazing album. Normally I can't stand country music, but this is just so impressive.
  28. RICKC
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    LORETTA LYNN RULES! She proved once again why she is THE "Queen of Country Music" The Grammy voters must agree as she won Country Album of the Year and Best Vocal Collobration with Vocals with Jack White. Long live the "Queen of COUNTRY"!
  29. SamanthaB
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    great CD!!! I love it! I am 21 and this CD is awesome for any age.
  30. AprilSkies
    Apr 27, 2004
    8
    Loretta Lynn is great, Jack White is great - but the union has its limits.
  31. richardd
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    loretta lynn, the definition of country legend, with the album of her career. startling, honest, heartfelt and powerful.
  32. MarkJ
    May 10, 2004
    10
    Loretta Lynn did it again,This woman never stops,Even thru out all the hardships and Bad things that have happened to her,she always Prevails.
  33. michaelp
    May 15, 2004
    10
    great cd!!! loretta lynn rocks big time.
  34. HBJones
    May 2, 2004
    10
    Amazing! Strong vocals, raw and honest songwriting that can only come from life-long experiences and musical craftmanship that is brilliant and doesn't intrude with Lynn's raw legendary power. I was pleasantly surprised by how good this record was.
  35. BrendanW
    May 30, 2004
    10
    Amazing, fresh and exciting. Loretta sounds terrific. Miss Being Mrs. is heartbreaking, others are joyous. Bravo!
  36. ScottM
    May 3, 2004
    10
    The best country CD of the year! The best rock and roll CD of the year! The best CD by a female for the year! The best collaboration of the year! Simply brilliant!
  37. flipperfoot
    May 5, 2004
    9
    Very cool. It's loose, fun, and rocking. The band and Loretta sound like they're having a damn good time. And it doesn't hurt that she sings like a mountain bell.
  38. SteveQ
    May 5, 2004
    10
    Van Lear Rose is the best country album to come out of Nashville in years. Loretta Lynn is outstanding! The radio stations need to wake up and play the heck out of this music.
  39. dellam
    May 7, 2004
    10
    she has always been a wonderful singer,and she always will be
  40. djmcd
    May 7, 2004
    10
    No matter you taste in music... listen to this CD througout. It's what every music genre has been waiting for. True.
  41. RalphL
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    I've been buying her records for 24 years. I have a copy of the very first album she recorded, which was a fine, fine record. This CD, however is stupifying. It is as monumental as Willie Nelson's "Redheaded Stranger" or Johnny Cash's "Folsom Prison" record. I believe it will change the way many Country-Western performers perform and produce their recordings. Her voice is I've been buying her records for 24 years. I have a copy of the very first album she recorded, which was a fine, fine record. This CD, however is stupifying. It is as monumental as Willie Nelson's "Redheaded Stranger" or Johnny Cash's "Folsom Prison" record. I believe it will change the way many Country-Western performers perform and produce their recordings. Her voice is utterly undeteriorated. It is completely intact. But her soul and talent is so much richer now. Jack White will never top this--I think. Expand
  42. DavisB
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Every song is amazing. Some seriously rock, others are very emotional. Makes you proud to be an American.
  43. StephenW
    Jun 17, 2004
    9
    Ironically, it's almost heretic to have the slightest bit ambivalent or nuanced opinion of a work in the schizophrenically hyperbolic yet detached and aloof world of music criticism. But I'll say it anyway...overall this is a good album with a few weak moments and underdeveloped songs but well worthwhile due to the equal number of transcendent and inspired moments of simple beauty.
  44. Ballz
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable! This has to be one of the best produced albums in a long time. Sorry Man in Black.RIP
  45. HughO
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    The best Loretta album in at least a quater of a century. It is great to see her back on top!
  46. CharlieN
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    I have to give this the highest marks of any country CD ever! This one really takes you back in time, it makes me think of the real old timey stuff like the real "Hank Williams" senior not juniors junk. My Mom was a Big Loretta fan and I know that she's smiling in heaven ever time I play it which is all the time.
  47. ConwayT
    Aug 29, 2004
    10
    This compilation provides a new generation with the opportunity to listen to a true classic and legend. Nashville has been putting its founding fathers and mothers out to pasture for a long time and ironically it is the grunge rockers and alternative crowd that are giving them the respect that they deserve. Loretta Lynn was little more than someone that was paraded around during tributes, This compilation provides a new generation with the opportunity to listen to a true classic and legend. Nashville has been putting its founding fathers and mothers out to pasture for a long time and ironically it is the grunge rockers and alternative crowd that are giving them the respect that they deserve. Loretta Lynn was little more than someone that was paraded around during tributes, televsion specials, etc. I am glad to see (and hear) that Jack White realized that there was more to her than that. She reasserts herself as a superb songwriter and raw, powerful and talented vocalist. Expand
  48. RonnieS
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    It is so refreshing to hear this kind of album. It is not over produced, but lets the strong voice of Loretta Lynn come through loud and clear. The lyrics are typically Loretta Lynn and are outstanding!
  49. TG
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    Inventive and original. Pure fun.
  50. ChrisK.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Sheer brilliance!
  51. TrentS
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    Is it a great CD? Sure, I'd say that 80 percent of the songs are great. The problem I had personally: They are all so SHORT! And there are only around 10 or so tracks......but most of 'em are good songs.
  52. MikeA
    May 6, 2005
    10
    Wow... (did I say wow? I mean't WOW!!!)
  53. BigHuh
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    Tries desperately to be hip and modern--and succeeds. Just about as well as your grandmother.
  54. Amanda
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    You can sure hear Jack White's influences throughout this album. Never thought I'd like it, but I actually love this album.
  55. SammieD
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Big H and Steve S deserve a hard slap to the forehead. No body asked you to be here anyway. Go back home and listen to your Puff Daddy records or whatever the hell else you think is cool. Fat asses!
  56. ToddJ
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    I have been an audiophile now for over 20 years...with over 3000 pieces of music in my collection, I have spanned generations and genres with my musical tastes and will confess that I am a huge fan of Loretta Lynn. In fact, I have amassed over 200 of her albums from all over the world. With the release of Van Lear Rose, I must say that Loretta has released, in my opinion, one of her best I have been an audiophile now for over 20 years...with over 3000 pieces of music in my collection, I have spanned generations and genres with my musical tastes and will confess that I am a huge fan of Loretta Lynn. In fact, I have amassed over 200 of her albums from all over the world. With the release of Van Lear Rose, I must say that Loretta has released, in my opinion, one of her best recordings in a stellar 40+ year career. This album is stunning....even the rambling Little Red Shoes is almost ethereal and hypnotic....for the individuals who reviewd this cd below, they have a right to their own opinions...but it appears as if they did not even listen to this album before posting their reviews...I mean, to complain that Sexy Kylie Minogue only received a 63..give me a break...Anyway, this album, in no way needs defending...A brilliant piece of work overlooked by mainstream country, which will be receiving my vote when the final Grammy ballots are released... Expand
  57. markf
    Apr 27, 2004
    9
    This album will be much discussed the rest of the year. It covers an enormous amount of ground, from the pure country of "Trouble on the Line" and "Family Tree" to the down-and-dirty country rockers "Portland Oregon" and "Have Mercy" to the bluegrass "High on the Mountaintop" to the spaced-out, spoken-work phenomenon "Little Red Shoes" to the gut-wrenching death house saga "Women's This album will be much discussed the rest of the year. It covers an enormous amount of ground, from the pure country of "Trouble on the Line" and "Family Tree" to the down-and-dirty country rockers "Portland Oregon" and "Have Mercy" to the bluegrass "High on the Mountaintop" to the spaced-out, spoken-work phenomenon "Little Red Shoes" to the gut-wrenching death house saga "Women's Prison." Every other song is wonderful, often in low-key ways. The finale "Story of My Life" might sum up where this album fits into her own discography (only hope she has some more classics in her.) Loretta's voice is mind-boggling for a 70-year-old, and for once, she wrote every one of her songs. Jack White's contributions are to be lauded. I just have to end now before I wear out my welcome. Expand
  58. EdwardP
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    An odd combination of garage rock and Appalachian country... that works like nothing you'd imagine.
  59. BillC
    May 12, 2004
    10
    Excellent CD. One of the best of the year.
  60. RoyR
    May 12, 2004
    10
    Loretta and Jack have taken the common ground shared by country and rock and built on it. This is real singing and real music at its emotionally blistering best.
  61. Brett
    May 15, 2004
    10
    This CD is great, no surpise though. Loretta Lynn is amazing
  62. JohnS
    Aug 23, 2004
    10
    With this cd it is no telling why LORETTA is the Lady The Legend and America's Swetheart.. SHE REALLY BELTS THEM OUT and tells us all how it still is in the real world.. as always for LORETTA............
  63. A.Langendorfer
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    I know some might think an album like this is trying too hard to be hip because it's so very "in" to resurrect older artists these days. But there's not a lot of room to criticize anything about Loretta Lynn's latest. So much heart, so much to mull over: lots of memories and lots of joy and pain and Lynn's voice is soulful and deep and her backup band gives the whole I know some might think an album like this is trying too hard to be hip because it's so very "in" to resurrect older artists these days. But there's not a lot of room to criticize anything about Loretta Lynn's latest. So much heart, so much to mull over: lots of memories and lots of joy and pain and Lynn's voice is soulful and deep and her backup band gives the whole thing such a dead-on perfect sound. Expand
  64. Jari
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    Hypnotic and joyful. An incredibly smooth blend of the old and new. Inventive arrangements and a classic voice. "Rose" makes an impression!
  65. NickM
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Loretta Lynn is an absolutly amazing legend of country music, and delivers an outstanding cd. She is a timeless classic who's music can prevail and suceed in any era.
  66. TheReverend
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Comeback albums are not supposed to be this good.
  67. Petra
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    There'll never be another Loretta. People like her keeps the real country alive. There ain't lot of 'em but they're very special folks. This ain't about money, bussiness or anything like that. This is about heart and real feelings and if you can't appreciate it you better keep your hands off it.
  68. Heather.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Loretta is simply the best and so is this CD.
  69. Mar 23, 2015
    0
    Gay boy honky tonky wonky juggalo hippity clink clank wopperjiggy trash. I did not like this album. The songwriting is not gripping and I cry at the bad production.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. It’s not as remarkable a transformation as the one Rick Rubin performed on Johnny Cash, but this is a fine collection and as pleasurable a listen as it undoubtedly was to record.
  2. The fact that a woman of Lynn's tenure can slide so easily into what is essentially an alt-country environment without losing any of her down-home authenticity simply underscores her versatility and timelessness.
  3. White’s arrangements and production are simple and effective, clear without gloss.