Van Lear Rose

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 115

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IxatA.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Loretta Lynn's Van Lear Rose surpasses all of my favorite artists' album(and that includes bjork and white's band)... miss being mrs and portland oregon are just exceptional.
  2. antparker
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    This album has everything going for it, Ms. Lynns voice is a godsend and Mr. White has cemented his talent in translating this music production into one of the most classic country albums of the last 20 years. This WILL win a grammy! and I know thats a very big call.
  3. EricH
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    Best album of the year so far
  4. JenniferH
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    I Just Absolutely Love This Albulm I Think Its The Best Albulm Ever I Love Her Voice, She Has Got A Beautiful Voice, She Just Does An Awesome Job Singin On This Albulm.
  5. KentB
    May 10, 2004
    10
    Since the day I purchased this, it has not been out of my CD player. Some songs bring tears to my eyes, while others make me want to get up and dance. This will be the album to beat at the Grammys.
  6. bjscott
    May 26, 2004
    10
    i love this cd
  7. AndyR
    May 3, 2004
    10
    Some of the very best music of Loretta Lynn's career. Odd combination that worked wonderfully. Maybe Grammy material.
  8. RobertW
    May 3, 2004
    10
    Sublime! Drifting from song to song, Lynn's simple wisdom, unbridled spirit and vocal gifts remind us of why she became a legend: this IS American music. Disparate in its creation, it emerges whole and beautiful. A classic.
  9. AaronL
    May 4, 2004
    10
    I doubt there will be a better album this year. Basically, it's all Lynn - voice and songs. Jack White provides just enough support. Blows all those so-called country singers out of the water (Faith Hill, Martina McBride, etc.). They all should take note and learn from a master. Brilliant.
  10. JoannS
    May 5, 2004
    10
    I love this new CD!!!!!! It is Loretta at her best. It is refreshing to hear Loretta's country voice in the midst of all of the new country music today.
  11. NeilH
    May 6, 2004
    10
    A kick in the pants to Nashville from a 70 year old artist who made a leap of faith into gutsy country rock. Now number one on our FMQB report at WDIY Allentown. Her appearance on the Late Show with the DoWhatters was nothing short of a revelation. Neil Hever
  12. LouisK
    May 6, 2004
    10
    Oh my god! I've never been a huge Loretta Lynn fan...but what an amazing CD! The voice is just magnificent; at 70 years old she puts artists a 1/4 of her age to shame. I haven't felt this great about a CD since hearing Johnny Cash's American IV. Superb!!!! So many standouts but check out her duet with Jack White, "Portland Oregon", or "Little Red Shoes"!Now if only Dolly Oh my god! I've never been a huge Loretta Lynn fan...but what an amazing CD! The voice is just magnificent; at 70 years old she puts artists a 1/4 of her age to shame. I haven't felt this great about a CD since hearing Johnny Cash's American IV. Superb!!!! So many standouts but check out her duet with Jack White, "Portland Oregon", or "Little Red Shoes"!Now if only Dolly Parton can make this kind of CD...I know she's got it in her! Expand
  13. benji
    May 7, 2004
    10
    Loretta Rocks .... A pitcher of slow gin fizzes...right-on!
  14. JeremiahM
    May 9, 2004
    10
    'Van Lear Rose' is the best country music album in years and it is only fitting that 70 year old Loretta Lynn is the voice in this masterpiece.
  15. PaulaW.
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    Is it wrong to say Loretta Lynn rocks? I hope not, because I'm saying it. This is very much a country album, but it has lots of Jack White's signature guitar touches. If anything I think this album shows just how much country flavor is in Jack's rock albums: here we see the logical (and tasty) outcome when he lets his deep-country urges take over. Don't get me wrong: Is it wrong to say Loretta Lynn rocks? I hope not, because I'm saying it. This is very much a country album, but it has lots of Jack White's signature guitar touches. If anything I think this album shows just how much country flavor is in Jack's rock albums: here we see the logical (and tasty) outcome when he lets his deep-country urges take over. Don't get me wrong: Loretta deserves the lion's share of the credit, for her brilliant songwriting, the range of emotion she expresses, and her amazing voice (I'd be lucky to have half her pipes at half her age). Some of these songs, like the title track, are good enough to give me shivers. Other standouts: Portland Oregon, High on a Mountaintop, Mrs. Leroy Brown, and Miss Being Mrs. PS to Cactuar Chocobo: how dare you mention that floozy Kylie Minogue in the same review with Loretta Lynn? Go to your room! Expand
  16. SamanthaR
    Jun 4, 2004
    8
    I don't even like country music, but after listening to Portland, Oregon I had to have this CD.
  17. JonH
    Jun 5, 2004
    8
    Not as great as been said, but still a nice peice of work from Lynn, good to see her back.
  18. NathanT
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    I have been a fan of Loretta Lynn for years. I take every opportunity to see her live that I can. I have been to her dude ranch in Hurrican Mills, TN. That being said: This album is classic Loretta Lynn. If "Family Tree" had been released in the early 70's it would no doubt have been a number one hit. I can imagine the same thing being said for "Van Lear Rose." I would have loved to I have been a fan of Loretta Lynn for years. I take every opportunity to see her live that I can. I have been to her dude ranch in Hurrican Mills, TN. That being said: This album is classic Loretta Lynn. If "Family Tree" had been released in the early 70's it would no doubt have been a number one hit. I can imagine the same thing being said for "Van Lear Rose." I would have loved to have heard Conway Twitty and Loretta Lynn pair up for "Portland, Oregan" but Jack White does a very nice job of filling in. I have not stopped listening to this album since I bought it! Expand
  19. JakeC
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    Speaking as an almost purely jazz and electronic music fan, I found it odd that this album (alt.country) is probably the best that I have purchased in the last year. Simply brilliant, scintillating, and emotionally heavy without tipping into sentimentality.
  20. GregS
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    I have always preferred Patsy to Loretta and have never been a big fan. I still prefer Ms. Cline, but I am so impressed by this cd that I have a new respect for a true American original woman as well as the man helping to put her back in the spotlight.
  21. AnneT
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    Absolutely wonderful album!! That's Loretta, all the way!!
  22. Chatto
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    An amazing album. Normally I can't stand country music, but this is just so impressive.
  23. RICKC
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    LORETTA LYNN RULES! She proved once again why she is THE "Queen of Country Music" The Grammy voters must agree as she won Country Album of the Year and Best Vocal Collobration with Vocals with Jack White. Long live the "Queen of COUNTRY"!
  24. SamanthaB
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    great CD!!! I love it! I am 21 and this CD is awesome for any age.
  25. AprilSkies
    Apr 27, 2004
    8
    Loretta Lynn is great, Jack White is great - but the union has its limits.
  26. richardd
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    loretta lynn, the definition of country legend, with the album of her career. startling, honest, heartfelt and powerful.
  27. MarkJ
    May 10, 2004
    10
    Loretta Lynn did it again,This woman never stops,Even thru out all the hardships and Bad things that have happened to her,she always Prevails.
  28. michaelp
    May 15, 2004
    10
    great cd!!! loretta lynn rocks big time.
  29. HBJones
    May 2, 2004
    10
    Amazing! Strong vocals, raw and honest songwriting that can only come from life-long experiences and musical craftmanship that is brilliant and doesn't intrude with Lynn's raw legendary power. I was pleasantly surprised by how good this record was.
  30. BrendanW
    May 30, 2004
    10
    Amazing, fresh and exciting. Loretta sounds terrific. Miss Being Mrs. is heartbreaking, others are joyous. Bravo!
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. It’s not as remarkable a transformation as the one Rick Rubin performed on Johnny Cash, but this is a fine collection and as pleasurable a listen as it undoubtedly was to record.
  2. The fact that a woman of Lynn's tenure can slide so easily into what is essentially an alt-country environment without losing any of her down-home authenticity simply underscores her versatility and timelessness.
  3. White’s arrangements and production are simple and effective, clear without gloss.