Vespertine

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 291

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Vespertine is her best work to date, as being the most carefully prepared in refined in sound matters, also her voice couldn't be better with highlights as "Undo" "Hidden Place" "Unison" and "Pagan Poetry".
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    CLASSIC. This album is a nonstop ride through heavenly clouds. The album opens with the Erie but rhythmically unique sample of hidden place. It almost seems to awaken your poor bored soul from hibernation to enjoy one of the best albums produced in human history. The album proceeds to serenade with Bjork one of a kind sweet vocal and soft electronic beats. This album for Bjork isCLASSIC. This album is a nonstop ride through heavenly clouds. The album opens with the Erie but rhythmically unique sample of hidden place. It almost seems to awaken your poor bored soul from hibernation to enjoy one of the best albums produced in human history. The album proceeds to serenade with Bjork one of a kind sweet vocal and soft electronic beats. This album for Bjork is like the wild beast being tamed into the most proficient cold assassin. This is her best. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Listening to this album is like listening to the sound of angels, it is really a beautiful trip to the high above. I love all the elements in the songs, while listening to it I feel from calm to passionate and a lot more, that's why I love this album so much, it gives me a lot of feelings.
  4. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the greatest things that Björk has, it's her ability to create very different kinds of music, and this record is not a exception: An album which takes you to the peaceful universe that she wanted to take you from the beginning to the end of this album. With a lot ot bizarre, delicate, relaxing and melancholic electronic sounds, Björk presents you the amazing sound of her beautiful house at the top a mountain in Iceland.
    If you may have insomnia and you can't concentrate, Vespertine is the perfect solution for a good night sleep. Totally recommended
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    This is a powerful album!!! I cannot explain who I felt when I listened this one for the first time. All the harmony is lovely and how it sound is amazing, so awesome and greatest beauty. This is one of the best albums of all time! ♥
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    I love everything on this album is all so pure and magical, the concept and the production are perfect, hidden place seems to have been carved by angels, I love it.
  7. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    After dabbling with 90's pop, jazz and experimental punk, it seems Bjork has finally found her Icelandic feet with Vespertine. The delicate beats and swooping vocals are almost chilling at times, Vespertine is a brilliant album. There was only one song (Sun in my Mouth) that I didn't really care for. The rest are as beautiful as one another- so emotional they make you feel as though youAfter dabbling with 90's pop, jazz and experimental punk, it seems Bjork has finally found her Icelandic feet with Vespertine. The delicate beats and swooping vocals are almost chilling at times, Vespertine is a brilliant album. There was only one song (Sun in my Mouth) that I didn't really care for. The rest are as beautiful as one another- so emotional they make you feel as though you just want to scream. Pagan poetry and Aurora are my favourites, but only just, as this album is one that I recommend anyone to hear. Expand
  8. ivanl
    Dec 17, 2003
    4
    i love "Post", i just dont get this one
  9. MichaelR
    Jan 9, 2004
    10
    A lot of depth and introversian on this album. Good stuff.
  10. frenghyv
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Absolutely Gorgeous!!!! Pagan poetry is my favourite track of ever!!!
  11. BorghiA
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    So delicate so beautiful
  12. izata
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    Pagan Poetry! Pagan Poetry! This is ultimately her best album, yet!!! It's 1000000x times better than the next one, Medulla....
  13. JuliaA
    Sep 19, 2006
    9
    Bjork sung with both love and secrets to its core in this record.very feminine,gentle,but also dark and hidden.an album that tells about being a woman in lots of perspective.
  14. MikeH
    May 2, 2008
    10
    My personal favorite album of any musician I have ever come across. It can not be beaten (in my opinion) in craft, compositional complexity and perfection, pure hearted, genuine, soulful, painful, euphoric expression, and down right love. This album inspects the inner workings of our bodies, the introspection that comes with being human -- our minds, hearts, and even subtle physiological My personal favorite album of any musician I have ever come across. It can not be beaten (in my opinion) in craft, compositional complexity and perfection, pure hearted, genuine, soulful, painful, euphoric expression, and down right love. This album inspects the inner workings of our bodies, the introspection that comes with being human -- our minds, hearts, and even subtle physiological phenomena in a single micro beat. Everything is included in an infinite, yet minute space, crafted by sound in an arrangement to beat all arrangements. This album feels, breathes, loves, and lives. The closest music comes to mirroring primal human life. Expand
  15. DarylD.
    Feb 19, 2002
    10
    Bjork is simply divine, there are no words to describe her music... just enjoy!!!
  16. BryanS
    May 7, 2005
    9
    Frankly, a very few artists are capable of even touching the base of the metaphorical Everest Bjork has scaled with the release of Vespertine. 55.5 minutes of, incontestably, some of the most beautiful and stunning music to have been released in the last decade. Layer after layer...after layer of flawless immaculacy. And then you have Bjorks lyrics, --heaven help us-- the lyrics! Given Frankly, a very few artists are capable of even touching the base of the metaphorical Everest Bjork has scaled with the release of Vespertine. 55.5 minutes of, incontestably, some of the most beautiful and stunning music to have been released in the last decade. Layer after layer...after layer of flawless immaculacy. And then you have Bjorks lyrics, --heaven help us-- the lyrics! Given Bjorks fetal grasp of the English Language, these lyrics are literally an expressive testament to her unbounded talent. An Essential own from one of the most incredible and versatile musicians alive on the planet today. Expand
  17. RG
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    this is one of the best records i have heard in recent memory. hidden place sets the track for the record and cocoon portrays one of the sexiest songs. its not up to you is a glorious and revealing pop song and undo works in the same manner. i cant talk about every track but they all complement each other and feed of each other. sun in my mouth repeats hemingway with sparse music. Unisom this is one of the best records i have heard in recent memory. hidden place sets the track for the record and cocoon portrays one of the sexiest songs. its not up to you is a glorious and revealing pop song and undo works in the same manner. i cant talk about every track but they all complement each other and feed of each other. sun in my mouth repeats hemingway with sparse music. Unisom is one of the best closers of the new mellenium. bjork keeps stretching herself and her music with refreshing themes and sounds. not many artists can do that and this a great age we live in where an artist of her calibour can be soo popular around the world Expand
  18. RobbieC
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    A phenomenon.
  19. Bruno
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    One of the best ones ever done!
  20. DavidO
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Like Kid A with a soul.
  21. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    The best album I've ever heard so far. Amazing, perfect, emotional... words cannot describe it. Good job, B!
  22. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful albums I've ever heard. Björk's voice sounds heavenly. It's an emotional battle, her overwhelming voice vs the beautifully arranged insturmental and minimal beats. Indeed, one of the best albums ever.
  23. BrunoD.
    Oct 25, 2001
    10
    It's... perfect. It's magic. It's wonderful. One of the best records *ever* released.
  24. HenryH.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    Full of magic of laptop music and harp and choir and the strangest symphony and Bjork's sensational vocal. The most heavenly perfectly of the decade.
  25. LockneO
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    "Vespertine" shows the more mellow side of Bjork. This album is pure genius! I believe "Heirloom" and "Aurora" are her most deepest tracks. Her albums get better as we go along. "Debut", "Post", "Homogenic", and "Medulla" are also reccommendations of mine. Even "Selmasongs" is worth listening.
  26. NeezaamR
    May 9, 2007
    10
    My personal favourite Bjork album,transports you to a very beautiful sensual place.
  27. EstebanV
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    This album is beautiful. The best track is Unison, with her voice at its peak and the interlude Frosti sounds magical. Although a few tracks sound similar if you understand music you can find each tracks uniqueness beyond the lyrical context.
  28. OlegV.
    Nov 8, 2001
    10
    i like this album sooooooo much, this is her surrealism at its best
  29. HarryH.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    The small pixie girl just sounds devine and you would wouln't you.
  30. MelodyM.
    Aug 27, 2001
    10
    I am the HUGEST Bjork fan...I love everything she does. She's unique! Perfectly. And it always shows in her works.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 90
    With Vespertine, Bjork has constructed a whispering wall of wonders, and instead of forcing everyone out, has invited the world to look through the cracks.
  2. 1997's Homogenic, also a mixture of heavy beats and strings, was not as varied or complete as this album, and while Selmasongs, last year's soundtrack to "Dancer in the Dark" (in which Björk starred), was lovely in its own sweeping, cinematic way, Björk has surpassed herself with this new work.
  3. Björk continues to mine the fine line of minimalist lushness that her last album gave birth to; with tiny, crackling, skittery beats weaving open-toned ambient beds in which her breathy, pushed-forward vocals lithely lay, the closeness and drama of her every syllable commanding attention.