Vows - Kimbra
Vows Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jazz influences the debut full-length pop album from the New Zealand singer, who was featured in Gotye's single "Someone I Used To Know." It includes six new songs in addition to the tracks that appeared on the Australia/New Zealand release.
  • Record Label: Warner Bros.
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    The rest of Vows is equally fresh and surprising, its genre leaps held together by Kimbra's pliant coo.
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Kimbra has created a sparkling, witty debut that hymns commitment at every turn. [Sep 2012, p.102]
  3. May 18, 2012
    70
    For the most part, Kimbra's invention is a marvel to behold, as her enchanting and swooping jazz-pop tones glide across a veritable feast of sounds
  4. 70
    While neither reinterpretations of the past nor genre hopping are unique in the world of pop, it's the effortless way that Kimbra does it all that makes Vows a compelling listen.
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    Vows is a striking, though not impeccable, debut record.
  6. May 22, 2012
    63
    Kimbra's American fame may have come on the heels of someone else's single, but there's a vision here that's entirely her own.
  7. Jul 23, 2012
    40
    Not much here creeps up on you so engagingly [as on Gotye's "Someone That I Used to Know."]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Vows is a great album. From start to to finish every track never feels the same. One of the best surprises was "Something in the Way YouVows is a great album. From start to to finish every track never feels the same. One of the best surprises was "Something in the Way You Are". Buy Vows today you won't be disappointed! Expand
  2. May 23, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. If you're going to judge this album just by it's first 2 poppy singles (which are pretty solid for what they are), Settle Down andBrilliant. If you're going to judge this album just by it's first 2 poppy singles (which are pretty solid for what they are), Settle Down and Cameo Lover, then you're going to miss out on some fantastic soul and funk music. If you can get past the somewhat childish lyrics (she's only 22) and focus in on the music you're doing yourself a huge solid. There's something for everyone on this album, excluding rap and metal fans. Collapse
  3. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Kimbra's album is so awesome! She sound like a woman that so much experience to give for all the world. This one made me feel great and I loveKimbra's album is so awesome! She sound like a woman that so much experience to give for all the world. This one made me feel great and I love when I listen 'Something In The Way You Are' and 'Two Way Streets'. I love this album and Kimbra. ♥ Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This album Rocks! Settle down Cameo lover two way street Sally I can see you Home and Warrior are the highlights of the album but the wholeThis album Rocks! Settle down Cameo lover two way street Sally I can see you Home and Warrior are the highlights of the album but the whole album is Awesome! Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    I've never loved an Album so much, Kimbra has brought us a fantastic range of Music and you really do feel the sense of a true legend in theI've never loved an Album so much, Kimbra has brought us a fantastic range of Music and you really do feel the sense of a true legend in the making. Every song is filled with true emotions and with jazz and pop incorporated into it you can't help but listen to all of the songs over and over again. The highlight for me is Settle Down which is probably one of my all time favourite songs. Kimbra your talented and beautiful and those two combined can be a deadly force, keep doing what your doing and you'll rise up to the rank of legend. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    Very Different Style Of Pop Music!
    Kimbra's Album Vow's Is A No Brainer Good!
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    After working with Gotye's single "Somebody That I Used to Know", Kimbra realeases her own debut album and the result is great: a wellAfter working with Gotye's single "Somebody That I Used to Know", Kimbra realeases her own debut album and the result is great: a well arranged R6B/Soul/Jazzy Pop is what we can hear in "Vows". A brilliant CD which won't disappoint who looks for something fresh and different! Expand

See all 11 User Reviews