Watching Movies with the Sound Off

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2013
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 97
  2. Negative: 12 out of 97
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    6
    Experimental album here from Mac Miller where he is seemingly trying to find his sound. Despite this learning process for him, the album was a lot more successful than his debut; Blue Slide Park. Mac has matured a ton since then and it shows here with his subject matter in some songs, which take a more serious tone than his usual party tracks. Despite that, there are some tracks such asExperimental album here from Mac Miller where he is seemingly trying to find his sound. Despite this learning process for him, the album was a lot more successful than his debut; Blue Slide Park. Mac has matured a ton since then and it shows here with his subject matter in some songs, which take a more serious tone than his usual party tracks. Despite that, there are some tracks such as "S.D.S.", "Avian", and "Bird Call", which are just duds. However, there's more good than bad and as such, I'd say this was a successful sophomore album for Mac and a step in the right direction. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    I dont get the praise. I hated his first album and I find myself bored at the end of WMWTSO listening session. There are few standout tracks (especially Objects in Mirror) but besides that, album is filled with corny punchlines, nonsense metaphors and rhymes about getting high and fu***g bit***s. And we dont need any other young rapper with "shock value".
  3. Mar 10, 2015
    5
    It's meh, its not near as good as the past albums. I was really excited for this album but I expected it to be much doper. There were one or two good songs that was it. I'm a fan of his energetic songs, this whole album is very mellow. Not like the old Mac that's for sure.
  4. Mar 10, 2015
    5
    I am really disappointed in Mac. I was really excited for this album but I expected it to be much doper. There were some good songs, but now as much as I would of liked. I used to love Mac Miller for his upbeat songs, rapping about nikes, yogurt, and waffles. His new stuff I guess just isn't my style.
  5. Mar 10, 2015
    5
    This album is quite different from his old albums. The album places more focus on money and doesn't really have any upbeat catchy beats which is what we loved from Mac in the past.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Q Magazine
    Aug 20, 2013
    60
    [He's tempered] his earlier frat-boy laddishness with some gentler introspection and a keen ear for beats. [Sep 2013, p.107]
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    60
    While the exceptional company he keeps (see appearance by Earl Sweatshirt and the elusive Jay Electronica) sometimes highlights his shortcomings as an emcee, Miller’s guests also push him to be better.
  3. 70
    Watching Movies is Miller’s most enduring, and endearing, project yet.