• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 261

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    6
    Though a clever album and relatively well composed tracks it still falls short of what Tom said Angels and Airwaves would be. I do believe Tom over specualated when he said this was going to be the best thing in Rock music he went o to say it was even better than Blink-182 (which it is not). So sad for Tom that he no longer takes pride in his best world which was Blink-182
  2. matt
    May 24, 2006
    1
    complete and utter rubbish.
  3. Donners
    May 30, 2006
    2
    Zzzzzzz. Sorry I fell asleep.
  4. JR
    May 23, 2006
    2
    Look, are you kidding me here? This is GARBAGE. This guy spouts off with all sorts of proclamations about how his record will stand with the best of the last two decades...This is putrid, embarassing (oh wait...forgot who we're dealing with) garbage. Adding fade/delay/phaser pedals and other DATED uninspired electronic "influences" to a bunch of completely ignorant, preposterous Look, are you kidding me here? This is GARBAGE. This guy spouts off with all sorts of proclamations about how his record will stand with the best of the last two decades...This is putrid, embarassing (oh wait...forgot who we're dealing with) garbage. Adding fade/delay/phaser pedals and other DATED uninspired electronic "influences" to a bunch of completely ignorant, preposterous attempted proclamations that serve as lyrics does not make an album of any worth, nor one that would be on any sort of label if not for previous sins against eardrums... Expand
  5. JohnH
    May 24, 2006
    0
    Thanx for nothin Tom. It's weak boring and nowhere up to standard of the hype. Everyone who didn't check out blink-182's last CD probably should now and avoid this failure.
  6. MusicCritic
    May 25, 2006
    0
    Okay folks, first off I will say that I think this guy did try to make a good album. Now, Someone shoot me, my ears are bleeding, my god my ears are bleeding. This is so bad I'm scared. It's like the end of the world or something. I can't breath, this music is sewer garbage from satin's azz. Delonge find a hole in the ground, crawl in it and rot away. This is a pile of Okay folks, first off I will say that I think this guy did try to make a good album. Now, Someone shoot me, my ears are bleeding, my god my ears are bleeding. This is so bad I'm scared. It's like the end of the world or something. I can't breath, this music is sewer garbage from satin's azz. Delonge find a hole in the ground, crawl in it and rot away. This is a pile of ardvarch dunge. Expand
  7. DaveA
    May 27, 2006
    1
    witless and passionless.
  8. KevinD
    May 27, 2006
    10
    Amazing
  9. TuomasK
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    Easily best music that has come within few years. Its too bad they never tour in Finland, so ill never have chance to see AVA ever in my life :( Their music is very good and reminds all that there can be a better tomorrow ahead.
  10. AnnM
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Delonge's vocals is best. It is very space & beautiful music. I can dream in this music space. This is my
  11. dymol
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Great album, unique sound and outlook
  12. Toby
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Great, consistant album, Toms voice is amazing
  13. sandyo
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    AVA has created a very meaninggul album that speaks to you - it is intelligent, creative, and beautiful. While many people are comparing it to what Blink-182 use to be I am looking at it as what it is - pure hopeful thoughts that really make you think that if you look past all the drama and the hate in the world that everything will end up ok - and AVA really mean it - It is a wonderful AVA has created a very meaninggul album that speaks to you - it is intelligent, creative, and beautiful. While many people are comparing it to what Blink-182 use to be I am looking at it as what it is - pure hopeful thoughts that really make you think that if you look past all the drama and the hate in the world that everything will end up ok - and AVA really mean it - It is a wonderful enlightening album full of hopes and dreams to make the world a better place for everyone. So don't compare it to the potty-mouth humor that was Blink but look at it for what it is - a new band with a new start creating beautiful music Expand
  14. JOHNB
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    This album rocks.
  15. MacarionM
    Jul 6, 2006
    7
    "I understand a band wanting to explore new options but you dont mess with proven success." I don't care about this album, I haven't even heard it. I just wanted to point out that the guy who said this^seriously needs to be harpooned in the scrotum.
  16. ADog
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    This is good music. I found that the change in music style from the edgy punk to a more anthem-like sound refreshing. The tone and message of the songs are clear, honest, and even hopeful. I found the message of hope coming from a "punk goof" as hitting a more honest tone than a robed messanger from Rome (not at all "poo-faced"). I listen to this album often and it feels good everytime I do.
  17. JilHIP-hopSucks
    Aug 8, 2006
    8
    gREAT aLBUM gREAT sONG but could of been better we will see if the next angels and airwaves album will be better
  18. davedave
    Sep 7, 2006
    0
    bad very bad
  19. NathanR
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    this album tends to have a certain feel to it. I cant say what it is, as I can not think of what it is, but the guitars are really good, clear and well played, the druming is well observed and done, particuarly in the adventure. The bass is rather well played and tends to be played very well and relaxingly, as if the player is really feeling his way through the music. Tom Delonge's this album tends to have a certain feel to it. I cant say what it is, as I can not think of what it is, but the guitars are really good, clear and well played, the druming is well observed and done, particuarly in the adventure. The bass is rather well played and tends to be played very well and relaxingly, as if the player is really feeling his way through the music. Tom Delonge's singing is very good and his lyrical features are well written and sung. He doesnt put as much swearing and things to do with sex into his lyrics and has grown up a tremendous amount. I love this band and think it should be voted top marks. Expand
  20. mattvocal
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Well, the album isn't great, but I do like it though. I remember when Tom kept saying 'This will be the best rock album in the past 20 years.' Yeah, I was thinking 'Well, he's working hard from what it sounds.'but honestly, it isn;t great. Good, but not great. The album seems to have lag of the same parts a little spread out over the songs. But I will say Well, the album isn't great, but I do like it though. I remember when Tom kept saying 'This will be the best rock album in the past 20 years.' Yeah, I was thinking 'Well, he's working hard from what it sounds.'but honestly, it isn;t great. Good, but not great. The album seems to have lag of the same parts a little spread out over the songs. But I will say this, 'Valkyrie Missile','Do It For Me Now','Distraction','It Hurts', and 'The War' are the best songs on the record. Actaully,'The War' is the only song that sounds like hard rock similar to 'Stay Together For The Kids' and 'Adam's Song'(If you ever noticed) But Yeah, I miss Blink 182. Yet again, I'll have to deal with AvA. Expand
  21. wisnusXe
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    my fav album.... we don't need to whisper... my fav song : the adventure...
  22. TonyJ
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Very good. Way better than blink 182.
  23. BrianF
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Excellent from start to finish. The best CD I've bought in a long time (I buy a lot)
  24. JoeMomma
    May 24, 2006
    8
    musicOMH.com put it best. I haven't heard any other band play U2 songs this well. It isn't original but it is good. You can't help but get sucked in by Tom's vocals.
  25. TimP
    May 24, 2006
    0
    This album could have passed by, under the radar with superficial Blink fans enjoying it and serious music fans ignoring it. But since Tom Delonge decided he was going to call this the best music he has ever HEARD he has over hyped a pretty bad album. He clearly wants to be taken seriously, but he'll find more success with the pop-punk garbage that teenagers love instead of making a This album could have passed by, under the radar with superficial Blink fans enjoying it and serious music fans ignoring it. But since Tom Delonge decided he was going to call this the best music he has ever HEARD he has over hyped a pretty bad album. He clearly wants to be taken seriously, but he'll find more success with the pop-punk garbage that teenagers love instead of making a 'progressive' album. And comparing the break up of your crappy band (Blink) to a war (WWII) is a complete slap across the face to anyone who has ever served in the military. This is a concept album in which DeLonge goes through a warzone to find love, and DeLonge has proudly declared it an analogy for the break up of Blink. Sickening. Expand
  26. BillK.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    More proof that critics are pretentious idiots that should be ignored. This album is amazing. Its like a more lush taste of Blink I can see the reviewer that said it had U2 influence, but I don't think that is a bad thing here. This CD will absolutely blow you away. GREAT.
  27. TomL
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Well to be perfectly honest...it's one of the best things I'veheard in ages...really, they're on my top favourite bands list now...I think its...brilliant!
  28. christieg
    May 25, 2006
    10
    this is an amzing album. nothing short of godly. tom delonges voice sounds amazing.
  29. jt
    May 25, 2006
    10
    unreal!
  30. StephanieH
    May 26, 2006
    8
    I agree that this is the best new CD I've bought in a long time. It does aim a bit high and since theres not a lot of variety you will either love it or hate it. If you don't like the single, "Adventure", or Blink's final album, stay away. The lyrics are well written and complex- I couldn't decide if they were about nuclear fallout of a breakup (turns out both and I agree that this is the best new CD I've bought in a long time. It does aim a bit high and since theres not a lot of variety you will either love it or hate it. If you don't like the single, "Adventure", or Blink's final album, stay away. The lyrics are well written and complex- I couldn't decide if they were about nuclear fallout of a breakup (turns out both and more)! Overall AAA's debut was refreshing- before the album was over I already wanted to hear it again Expand
  31. DevinB
    May 26, 2006
    1
    Wheras Blink 182 was always hollow but had some memorable hooks and moments of irresistable enthusiasm, Angels & Airwaves is a shameful failure on all counts, a truly baffling record that manages to be exemplary of the problems plaguing the music industry today AND sound dated at the same time. Sorry, Tom. Recognize your limitations. You might want to shoot a little lower next time; maybe Wheras Blink 182 was always hollow but had some memorable hooks and moments of irresistable enthusiasm, Angels & Airwaves is a shameful failure on all counts, a truly baffling record that manages to be exemplary of the problems plaguing the music industry today AND sound dated at the same time. Sorry, Tom. Recognize your limitations. You might want to shoot a little lower next time; maybe try your hand at bussing tables? Expand
  32. bobroberts
    May 26, 2006
    10
    this cd rocks my socks off lierally
  33. DanH
    May 26, 2006
    4
    Pretty lame. Had Tom not proclaimed this to be some of the best music in the last 20 years, I may have enjoyed it more. Music is good, but his vocals are weak when it comes to this style. Throw in a better singer and maybe this album succeeds.
  34. DavidN
    May 29, 2006
    10
    i dont see anything wrong with the album.. ok i admit it its not an actual music revolution but it does sound good so dont bag it out. Its like the best music ive ever heard in ages.
  35. ShannonG
    May 31, 2006
    5
    he tries sooo hard to be more serious...but i just can;t by that a guy who liked to talk about boobies and show his ass is suddenly all artsy. and hes been overtaken by celebrity insanity, thinking hes a music god or something. some of the melodies are not so bad, but the lyrics are a pathetic attempt to be "deeper". wouldnt buy it. atmost, ill get used to hearing a few singles.
  36. DonT
    May 30, 2006
    0
    Unbearable, even from a massive Box Car Racer and Blink fan!
  37. ChrisW
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    I really don't like Blink 182, but I love this CD! The first time I heard it I didn't even know that this was the guy from Blink 182. The flow of the songs is perfect and although it sounds like an early U2 at times, they stay far away enough from that to be considered riping it. I hope that we get to hear more from Angels & Airwaves and less from Blink 182.
  38. JennaP
    Jun 18, 2006
    2
    This record is terrible. I foolishly half-believed Tom and his hype. I figured he had good intentions and with members from BCR, The Offspring, and The Distillers how bad could it possibly be? I didn't think it was going to be this pretentious pile of psuedo-U2 crap. AVA aren't going to be saving anything, especially rock and roll, with lyrics like 'your best friend is not This record is terrible. I foolishly half-believed Tom and his hype. I figured he had good intentions and with members from BCR, The Offspring, and The Distillers how bad could it possibly be? I didn't think it was going to be this pretentious pile of psuedo-U2 crap. AVA aren't going to be saving anything, especially rock and roll, with lyrics like 'your best friend is not your girlfriend'. Don't waste your money, instead invest it in something worthwhile like the new Thursday CD. Expand
  39. MattD.
    Jun 1, 2006
    5
    Gone is the guilty pleasure. Instead of this bombastic release, why not continue Blink 182's catchy punk-pop without the immature jokes?
  40. ChrisA
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    When i first listened to this CD it wasnt as good as I thought it would be. But once i listened to the CD more and more it kinda grew on me. Realising it's very different to any of his previous work and songs like The Adventure and Valkyrie Missile proves that he can still produce good music At times it does take a while for the song to get going and wish Tom or any of the other When i first listened to this CD it wasnt as good as I thought it would be. But once i listened to the CD more and more it kinda grew on me. Realising it's very different to any of his previous work and songs like The Adventure and Valkyrie Missile proves that he can still produce good music At times it does take a while for the song to get going and wish Tom or any of the other guitarists would experiment more on the guitar i.e. solos, but overall a very good album. Expand
  41. MichealS
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Very good album definately grabs your heart the first time you here it and anyone who thinks otherwise has no variety in music.
  42. JonS
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    1 word 'Brilliant!'
  43. Mike
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    revolutionary not likely it's been done before, if i wanted to buy a u2 cd i'd go out and get one. i had high hopes for angels and airwaves but who the hell is tom trying to be now. for all the blink fans that loved tom for being the goofy yet talented singer, telling me that going to an ava concert is like ascending into heaven is absolutely retarded.
  44. ValkyrieMissile
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    I can understand if people dont like the music, thats fine. But keep you're shitty opinions to yourself. It's not entirely easy to do what Tom does, it's a great effort by him, and it sounds amazing. You need an open mind, a good set of headphones and you're set. To keep it simple, AVA is the shit.
  45. AnthonyC
    Jul 19, 2006
    6
    It's a very well made album. It's not bad, but the songs all do sound way too similar. I like the positive feel but I do wish they would've made an album with more than one song on it. Essentially, they wrote one really good song and then recorded 10 varations of it and called that an album. I hope for a little more out of anything further from AVA.
  46. umbertoe
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    yes, this album is an amalgamation of the styles of the Cure, Peter Gabriel, and U2...and yes, it is full of layers of effects and mondoproduction. but, it is very moving and inspirational if you can let go of yourself for a bit and let the music take you to new heights. the progressive movement of the music seems to be built for elevating the listener. and, it is up to the listener to yes, this album is an amalgamation of the styles of the Cure, Peter Gabriel, and U2...and yes, it is full of layers of effects and mondoproduction. but, it is very moving and inspirational if you can let go of yourself for a bit and let the music take you to new heights. the progressive movement of the music seems to be built for elevating the listener. and, it is up to the listener to allow themselves to love it...not be cross with it as to feel some sense of worth as an individual for putting it under your feet with the rest of the dirt. but, one might have recognized that in the lyrics had one really given their ear. I really enjoyed it...not sure about its epicness in relation to the rest of rock, and rock recording echelon....but, I think it is as cohesive and listenable and inspiring as most anything i've heard in twenty years. Expand
  47. RogerS
    Aug 1, 2006
    6
    This album is just a tom delonge driven album, it is not a angels and airwaves theme.This whole entire cd is just about tom delonge, plus it does not even reach the potential that tom delonge proclaimed. This was just an attempt to do something that is already been done. This does sound like an attepmt to be the best when he already was and a cheap shot for glory. The songs all sound This album is just a tom delonge driven album, it is not a angels and airwaves theme.This whole entire cd is just about tom delonge, plus it does not even reach the potential that tom delonge proclaimed. This was just an attempt to do something that is already been done. This does sound like an attepmt to be the best when he already was and a cheap shot for glory. The songs all sound alike and the live performace of this album is a waste of time. This album should only be for blink 182 fans at most. I do not expect tom delonge to continue with this because it is a self centered cd, this coming from one of the biggest blink 182 fan. I think this album would have been better accomplished with blink 182. They we on the verge of creating some amazing but instead used the excuse of "we grew up" well thats BS becasue growing up is not always getting what you want and sometimes getting over things. I trully see this as the end of something great. I hope that plus 44 does not go the same route as Angels & Airwaves. IT IS NOT ABOUT GROWING UP OR LOSING YOUR JOKES OR BEING FUNNY... IT IS ABOUT MUSIC AT ITS FINEST AND EACH MEMBER MAKING ONE SOUND!!! Expand
  48. AmarganthA
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    The best ambiental rock album ever... lol, U2 can pack bags.... Hell, the music is not a bit like the U2 shit, yet still they compare... Well, if you must, A&A are gods. the best album this year... Great music, great singing... This is going to be the best band ever, trust me... just wait... Angels & Airwaves, thank God you brought life into music...
  49. Elmo
    Aug 2, 2006
    5
    This album is musically beautiful and sounds amazing in the car. But it would have been even better if Tom didn't sing. His voice is emo and annoying and still whiny and bratty-sounding even though he tried to tone it down because this is a more 'serious' project. The bottom line is, his voice is annoying and grating and doesn't fit the music at all. If you can get This album is musically beautiful and sounds amazing in the car. But it would have been even better if Tom didn't sing. His voice is emo and annoying and still whiny and bratty-sounding even though he tried to tone it down because this is a more 'serious' project. The bottom line is, his voice is annoying and grating and doesn't fit the music at all. If you can get past the voice, it's wonderful, but if you hate it, don't keep your hopes up thinking he'll sound much different on this album. Expand
  50. mattsi
    Aug 3, 2006
    0
    this album is terrible. get over yourselves. this is a blantant ripoff of early u2 and the cure. not timeless at all, and not saving anything.
  51. DavidY
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    Personally, I really really enjoyed this record. Sure, it wasn't as truly amazing as I first hoped, and none of the tracks have had such an immediate impact as "The Adventure", and sure, Tom's vocals may seem slightly out of place at times. But this is a really, really good record. The production is state-of-the-art and top-notch and all thoughts of blink-182 simply wash away Personally, I really really enjoyed this record. Sure, it wasn't as truly amazing as I first hoped, and none of the tracks have had such an immediate impact as "The Adventure", and sure, Tom's vocals may seem slightly out of place at times. But this is a really, really good record. The production is state-of-the-art and top-notch and all thoughts of blink-182 simply wash away with the opening synths of "Valkyrie Missile". Long live AVA. Expand
  52. DannyO
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Wow what a great album. Its amazing, it literally makes me cry sometimes. Its beautiful sounds just make the perfect melody. Valkyrie Missile just had everything a song needs. This is how all music should be.
  53. ColinD
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    Tom Delonge's effort i believe is heart winning and i give the guy for having enough balls to say whats hes said about the record and what the music and "BAND" is going to change the world. Now i am a huge fan of delonge. i admire his style. He needs to push himself more musically and expand his capabilites. Most of the songs on the album did sound the same. But were undeniably good. Tom Delonge's effort i believe is heart winning and i give the guy for having enough balls to say whats hes said about the record and what the music and "BAND" is going to change the world. Now i am a huge fan of delonge. i admire his style. He needs to push himself more musically and expand his capabilites. Most of the songs on the album did sound the same. But were undeniably good. My opinion alone and many will disagree. I wish so much that blink who get back together and never broke up. Maybe whatever happened to blink we really dont know for sure. Tom delonge can give us a messege of what he wants the album to be. He is in his own world right now. Its weird to me that he would put out to the world that god wrote half of the album and that this is the best band that have ever come out in 20 years. Thats quite a ego. Those are huge words. Ava will never be bigger than u2 or pink floyd. Tom needs to break the boundraies of his big head and just have fun playing music because that is what its really all about. You can touch someones heart. But one album cannot change the world. Expand
  54. NevinO
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    Essentially a very boring, bland (though competent) rock record, with Delongue still seemingly unable to clear away that cold, perhaps it should have been titled "we didn't have to try very hard"
  55. ChrisV
    Jan 3, 2007
    3
    They must've really liked that clean guitar sound since it's used in every song. To me, all the tracks sound too much alike to be alright. There's a difference between a theme, and writing the same song ten times.
  56. Liz!G
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    I was never a huge fan of Blink, or Tom for that matter, but Angels and Airwaves is definitely one of the best bands to come around in the past 2 years. We Don't Need to Whisper is sheer classic. It's unique and it has it's own style. The drums and guitar riffs are utterly AMAZING. They're one of my favorite bands of all time, and I think they deserve a chance because I was never a huge fan of Blink, or Tom for that matter, but Angels and Airwaves is definitely one of the best bands to come around in the past 2 years. We Don't Need to Whisper is sheer classic. It's unique and it has it's own style. The drums and guitar riffs are utterly AMAZING. They're one of my favorite bands of all time, and I think they deserve a chance because they're trying something new. Harsh criticism for this band really isn't fair because it's their very first cd. This cd has helped me through some really tough times this year and I listen to it all the time. It never gets old. I'm also having the Adventure be played while I walk down the aisle at my wedding next year so BOOYA BITCHES!! Expand
  57. MugstaDeuce
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    i feel like i can fly......try to really listen to it!
  58. MattB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    3
    Basically, this is a rubbish album. There isn't much that is good about it. The music is boring and nothing we haven't heard before. The lyrics are basic and weak. And Tom DeLonge is an pretentious, annoying American. And they're awful live.
  59. AlbertS.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    DeLonge's soaring vocals and Willard's drumming, with Sinn's bass and Kennedy's keyboarding combine to make a 50 minute long masterpiece that makes one's heart soar and mind engage at full throttle. Listen to this album in a dark room with a candle, and see where your mind takes you. Start to finish, gapless playback, the whole shot. You will be surprised, no, DeLonge's soaring vocals and Willard's drumming, with Sinn's bass and Kennedy's keyboarding combine to make a 50 minute long masterpiece that makes one's heart soar and mind engage at full throttle. Listen to this album in a dark room with a candle, and see where your mind takes you. Start to finish, gapless playback, the whole shot. You will be surprised, no, astounded, by the depths this album goes to. It's amazingly well put together, and I'm sure I'm not alone in waiting anxiously for I-Empire. Expand
  60. LiamR.
    Aug 8, 2007
    0
    Just one long, whiny piece of crap, really. Seems like Tom Delonge is trying too hard to prove himself as an artist, to me. All the songs sound the same!
  61. shaeC
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Simply the best album, ever. Yes one mite say its different, but so what? This is a great album that redefines Delonge. You have to listen to it as music not ex-blink guy declaring independence. people who would say that it build the song up to much are obviously fools and know nothing. The build up on each song is perfect. it makes the song more meaningful. SO, fuck you america this Simply the best album, ever. Yes one mite say its different, but so what? This is a great album that redefines Delonge. You have to listen to it as music not ex-blink guy declaring independence. people who would say that it build the song up to much are obviously fools and know nothing. The build up on each song is perfect. it makes the song more meaningful. SO, fuck you america this album rocks. keep it real delonge. Expand
  62. JerryTerry
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    First album of my life that I can listen through over and over to every song. Simply awesome. Concert was even better!
  63. HrafnkellL
    May 1, 2008
    9
    I never liked Blink 182 NEVER they were a bunch of sellouts. But Angels And Airwaves is a different story this band i like it seems that Tom has grown up from all that blink 182 punk pop rock something BLA BLA But his friends Travis and Hoppus are in a band called plus 44 (aka blink 182 with 4 members not 3) But ye back to the album its Mind Blowing like someone stated before i just cant I never liked Blink 182 NEVER they were a bunch of sellouts. But Angels And Airwaves is a different story this band i like it seems that Tom has grown up from all that blink 182 punk pop rock something BLA BLA But his friends Travis and Hoppus are in a band called plus 44 (aka blink 182 with 4 members not 3) But ye back to the album its Mind Blowing like someone stated before i just cant stop listing to it it´s almost perfection but still it´s a little short but i like there style much of effects Keyboard ( Synths) and they create this almost perfect and the guitar lines are just good it´s just i cant describe it the album is a great begining of a great band so 9 out of 10. Expand
  64. Pete
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    This album shows just how horrible America's music has become. This album, straight up, sucks. They have one good song, The Adventure. They took that song and just based an entire album around the same beat. Tom Delonge is not a good musician anymore. Musically, this album is just, the worst thing to come out in the past 30 years. Tom hyped up his album so much, to much it was a This album shows just how horrible America's music has become. This album, straight up, sucks. They have one good song, The Adventure. They took that song and just based an entire album around the same beat. Tom Delonge is not a good musician anymore. Musically, this album is just, the worst thing to come out in the past 30 years. Tom hyped up his album so much, to much it was a complete disappointment. It's funny how gullible the general public is to call this mess of an album: "music". If god wrote this album, then god doesn't know what music is. Sorry AVA fans, but you are all tools. Expand
  65. BenC
    Dec 2, 2006
    0
    I bought the last Blink record on the day it came out, and my bandmate and i were extemely excited to hear the follow up on this project that has taken something like what? 3 years? The Adventure was interesting but when i saw the video, read what Tom was " trying to do" and heard the rest of the album i almost shit a fucking brick. It's absolutley the most hidious whiney shit I bought the last Blink record on the day it came out, and my bandmate and i were extemely excited to hear the follow up on this project that has taken something like what? 3 years? The Adventure was interesting but when i saw the video, read what Tom was " trying to do" and heard the rest of the album i almost shit a fucking brick. It's absolutley the most hidious whiney shit i've ever heard. Unfortunatly i don't know if it's his fault. I think that maybe his wife toldhim she was tired of blink or something. Maybe Blink wasn't selling enough records, who knows? But anyone who betrays his friends has no respect from me, FUCK TOM! Expand
  66. AlyssaJ
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Toms music is awsome!!!
  67. Abbi
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    This is one of my favorite all-time albums. All you Blink fans need to get over the fact that they're over. Delonge has found his musical bliss and I think it is breath-takingly beautiful.
  68. TS
    May 23, 2006
    0
    lame.
  69. LolaH
    May 24, 2006
    10
    It's a really great album.
  70. Justin
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Sorry to say but this album has a very interesting sound, and is one of the best to come out in awhile. Im sick of hearing the same screaming pile of shit that has been releasing.
  71. davids
    May 25, 2006
    10
    best cd ive ever heard
  72. AlexandraA
    May 25, 2006
    10
    an amazing album to sit and listen to.....
  73. SeanP
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This album is incredible
  74. borgy
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Epic. 2006 in music hasnt disappointed me yet, i guess i should lower my standards...... nah.
  75. JOHNB
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This album rocks.
  76. nickl
    May 25, 2006
    10
    just awesome
  77. Dan
    May 25, 2006
    7
    Interesting album. A lot of the songs are someone mellow and slow and I"m not sure if it's going to grow on me or if it's something I'll get tired of quickly. There are atleast 4 solid tracks on this disc which are It Hurts, The War, Start the Machine and A Little's enough. The War is the hardest track on the album and it sounds more like a Boxcar Racer song. A Interesting album. A lot of the songs are someone mellow and slow and I"m not sure if it's going to grow on me or if it's something I'll get tired of quickly. There are atleast 4 solid tracks on this disc which are It Hurts, The War, Start the Machine and A Little's enough. The War is the hardest track on the album and it sounds more like a Boxcar Racer song. A little's enough is one of the softer songs and it's strong track too. The final two tracks It Hurts and Start the Machine are probably the 2 best examples of the Angels and Airwaves sound. What remains to been seen is whether the other tracks and the sound in general grows on me enough so that I enjoy the entire disc. AVA uses a lot of cool sounds, progressions and beats on this album and the production is top notch which make for some really cool moments...especially with headphones. The pivot question surrounding this disc is how well do people enjoy hearing Tom sing at 1/2 the speed he normally does. Some tracks it drags and bit and you just want it to kick in but other times it works. Expand
  78. dylanb
    May 25, 2006
    10
    so fucking good
  79. AlexC
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. The songs are great and some of them have really inspiring, powerful tunes and lyrics. Tom DeLonge, I bow to you my good man.
  80. BennettP
    May 25, 2006
    10
    None of these people understand Tom Delonge...
  81. JayS
    May 25, 2006
    3
    Tom, please get unstuck from the 80's.
  82. JamesG
    May 25, 2006
    10
    In a world filled with rap and hip hop this inspiring album is the hope of all that don't want to hear about guys doing their hos and driving escalades
  83. PaddyM
    May 26, 2006
    9
    This may not be the most artistic album to have come out in the past several years. Music snobs will likely have a problem with this album, but for those to whom the emotional appeal of an album trumps the nuances of the album, this is a must-have. I have not stopped listening to it since a co-worker of mine brought it into the office on the release date.
  84. michaelw
    May 26, 2006
    1
    honestly...this a huge dissapointment and didnt get a bit of satisfaction out of listening to this album, these guys have nothing on blink.
  85. jonm
    May 26, 2006
    9
    best thing delonge as done in his career
  86. JD
    May 27, 2006
    8
    If you like Blink 182's last album, you should like this. This may not be the best record in the last two decades, but it does deserve at least a listen. I liked most of the songs, although there isn't a lot of variation. If you like the U2-Edge guitar sound, you'll love how this sounds.
  87. FrankL
    May 27, 2006
    0
    absolutely crap
  88. ShawnB
    May 29, 2006
    10
    Wow. I really enjoyed so much that I went and saw the concert in Chicago @ the Vic. Both I can tell you are nothing less than SPECTACULAR!!
  89. TomW
    May 31, 2006
    0
    Embarrasing. Buy the new Secret Machines album. Or the old one. Or anything else. Tom Delonge is a menace.
  90. IanC
    Jun 12, 2006
    3
    its not all bad, but unfortunately i just cant listen to 12 songs that almost all sound identical. best songs are: good day, it hurts, the adventure. but honestly i can only stand to listen to 1 song at a time or else his whiny voice, makes me want to punch babies.
  91. MikeyC
    Jun 10, 2006
    8
    It's pretty good all around, possibly because I like the bands where each member came from, but overall it has a pretty good sound too it. Critics are all wrapped up with emo BS right now so just for kinda sounding that way they'll lose point right off the bat. Oh yeah and if you look at some of the posts where they say they hate it, they are aying the exact same thing the It's pretty good all around, possibly because I like the bands where each member came from, but overall it has a pretty good sound too it. Critics are all wrapped up with emo BS right now so just for kinda sounding that way they'll lose point right off the bat. Oh yeah and if you look at some of the posts where they say they hate it, they are aying the exact same thing the critics say, c'mon at least put some effort and make up your own review. Expand
  92. TheCriticTheCritic
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Very dissapointing. Maybe this guy should actually get singing lessons. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE crap and I very much like saying so.
  93. TomC
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    It's an alright listen. If you liked the slower material on Blinks last album, then it's worth checking out. All in all though, it gets boring quickly.
  94. NikkiP
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    They sound so much like blink 182. and yes i agree most of the songs do sound alike but all of the songs are good!!!!
  95. AndresA
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    perfect album, i just love it so epic and uplifting.
  96. DaveK
    Jun 26, 2006
    1
    Yikes, for all the hype they (Tom Delonge) gave it, it sure doesnt pan out to anything really. The radio song is bland as ever, don't really know why they dont stick to their old stuff. Last Blink album was horrible too, I understand a band wanting to explore new options but you dont mess with proven success.
  97. HomieBB
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    this is great stuff
  98. ArroyoSD
    Jun 5, 2006
    2
    Pure rubbish. Tom trying way too hard to be serious, to be something that has already been done. This band and album will be forgotten. Overproduced, overhyped, garbage. Blink-U2 light.
  99. ShaneF
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Okay it's not a rock n roll revolution but it's still a really good album. It really refreshing to hear music with a positive message rather than bands bitching about their tough lives which is what most music today is about. The album is a little over produced in parts but musically and lyrically it's top notch stuff. Anyone with an open mind should check it out, but Okay it's not a rock n roll revolution but it's still a really good album. It really refreshing to hear music with a positive message rather than bands bitching about their tough lives which is what most music today is about. The album is a little over produced in parts but musically and lyrically it's top notch stuff. Anyone with an open mind should check it out, but don't expect it to sound like Blink or Boxcar. Expand
  100. AndrewW
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    lame-ass 80s guitar noodling + lame-ass nü-emo noodling = GOLD
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 40
    The resulting batch of songs... just pad out the duller bits of blink, then add walls of mid-'80s-era U2 guitar chimes. [Jun 2006, p.136]
  2. If only DeLonge's nasal vocals were more suited to the Robert Smith romanticism of tracks like "It Hurts." [26 May 2006, p.107]
  3. Many of Angel's midtempo tracks, while well-intentioned, fail to reach the lofty heights to which they aspire.