Welcome To Condale


Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    Throughout the record, Steve Mackey's production shimmers both warmly and vibrantly, sounding at once like a throwback from the 1980s and futuristic.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    Welcome to Condale is a refreshingly ambitious, variegated take on the 80s both conceptually and in its execution.
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    Glorious singalong hooks and unashamed sass dominate the debut offering from indie writer Elizabeth Sankey and indie cult-hero Jeremy Warmsley.
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    Sankey and Warmsley still have a lot to offer on Welcome To Condale, with Sankey's large vocal range that easily adapts to the feel of each song and Warmsley's ability to match her perfectly in background singing.
  5. 80
    Summer Camp's long-awaited debut album seethes with updated teen angst set to engaging electropop grooves.
  6. 80
    On Welcome to Condale, Summer Camp evokes the feeling of an idealized vision of these adolescent days of summers past with some bittersweet and irresistibly catchy pop songs.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    Like Bashkirtseff and Pomeroy before them, Summer Camp's debut marks a sincere, wryly appealing turning point in the art of romanticised retrospection.
  8. Fractured techno, torch song balladry, oilsmoke rock'n'roll and soulful synth pop merge sublimely, all rooted in tales of romantic dislocation and repair.
  9. 80
    Welcome to Condale doesn't fetishise the past, its love-gone-wrong lyrics and snatches of chillwave lending Summer Camp a sound that is theirs alone.
  10. Nov 21, 2011
    Thankfully, their lovable debut has more of the former than the latter. They know the importance of consistency and pacing and are only left with the task of fine-tuning their band on the road.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    Summer Camp's debut Welcome to Condale is a rather diverse affair for being essentially a good-time summer pop record.
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    A dizzyingly sweet ride.
  13. Under The Radar
    Nov 2, 2011
    The album is quite vibrant piece of '80s-flavored pop. [Oct 2011, p.103]
  14. Nov 1, 2011
    Straight out of a John Hughes screenplay, Welcome to Condale pulls off the feat of being thoroughly POP--polished and plump, preened for the screen and sequinned to the hilt--yet, somehow, marvellously INDIE.
User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    WTC is ridiculously awesome. Every song is so infectious that i've got a bunch of them stuck in my head all day since the album leaked. EvenWTC is ridiculously awesome. Every song is so infectious that i've got a bunch of them stuck in my head all day since the album leaked. Even my parents start shoulder-shaking when I put on 1988 or Better off without you. Happy family. Full Review »