West

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianK
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    I have to agree with some of the reviews. Great lyrics, same great band, guitars, etc...but doesn't have her usual "soaring" and edgy vocals. This one is quieter and tamer. Maybe that's on purpose but it's not what I've come to expect from her vocally. However, just reading through the lyrics and following along with the meter in the songs, these are just as artful and I have to agree with some of the reviews. Great lyrics, same great band, guitars, etc...but doesn't have her usual "soaring" and edgy vocals. This one is quieter and tamer. Maybe that's on purpose but it's not what I've come to expect from her vocally. However, just reading through the lyrics and following along with the meter in the songs, these are just as artful and brilliant as her previous work. Expand
  2. Michael
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    One of a few artists that have the ability to move me to tears and she does it again. Her own pain is so raw that you feel it yourself.
  3. AlvinT
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    I enjoyed it more than World Without Tears or Essence, but it's still not as strong as Car Wheels on a Gravel Road. Worth listening to, and perhaps buying.
  4. MichaelJ
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    Once again Lucinda delivers a superb CD. I don't consider there is a bad song here.
  5. BillR
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    Grows with repeated listens. Compares very favorably with earlier releases. Hypnotic in places. Overall an excellent release.
  6. george
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. The only singer whose voice can make me horny and make me cry at the same time.
  7. markb
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    One review noted that it was hard to relate with the lyrics that Lucinda sang......and i'm sure that when she wrote the lyrics she wrote what she was going through...what she was feeling......As a songwriter myself...that's just what you do. Anyhow...i related to what a lot of the songs where saying...and the ones I didnt......she was good enough to take me somewhere.....The One review noted that it was hard to relate with the lyrics that Lucinda sang......and i'm sure that when she wrote the lyrics she wrote what she was going through...what she was feeling......As a songwriter myself...that's just what you do. Anyhow...i related to what a lot of the songs where saying...and the ones I didnt......she was good enough to take me somewhere.....The songs are lengthy.....But there's a point to that..... Expand
  8. DaveS
    Feb 23, 2007
    7
    Am I the only person who thinks that "Wrap My Head Around That" is the album's main triumph? I'm not usually a fan of the slow and the drawn-out, but this isn't the first time Lucinda's made something of her obsessive side. Too bad it comes right after "What If", by far the worst -- (dismayingly naive, emptily whimsical rather than clever) song she's ever put on record.
  9. stevew
    Feb 23, 2007
    9
    raw power and lyricism, all the songs are good, some are wonderful, a great cd
  10. andyB
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    The only thing this album lacks is obviousness. It's a classic, as good as anything she'd produced. the less-than-stellar crits say more about the reviewers than the album.
  11. juniorm
    Feb 26, 2007
    8
    Excellent record. LW is a woman with brains, guts and experience to go along with great voice and songwriting. The music is quite one-paced, but I think that gives it a distinctive character or "feel" that really works. This is definitely a world weary survivors record, but I think it is well worth hearing.
  12. PaulM
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Album I've been waitin for from lucinda I can give Car Wheels a rest for a while Excellent
  13. MiamiTom
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Hey ... Lucinda - "Are You Alright?" - AWESOME TRACK ... can't wait to meet you some day ...
  14. AdrianoC
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    And I thought I was crazy for loving "Wrap my head around that" so much (thank you, Dave S). It's the best song on an amazing album - beautiful, serene and fierce. It has the mood of "Essence" and the rawness of "World without tears" (still my favorite one).
  15. ThomasO
    Mar 8, 2007
    8
    Not as good as "Car Wheels" (that's a pretty tall order), but very good anyhow. Credit her for putting out another CD that sounds different from what she's previously done. I think producer Hal Willner was perfect for this set of emotional songs and the CD is unique sounding. However, the two bonus "demo" tracks cut with her great touring band do stand up to those of the CD -- Not as good as "Car Wheels" (that's a pretty tall order), but very good anyhow. Credit her for putting out another CD that sounds different from what she's previously done. I think producer Hal Willner was perfect for this set of emotional songs and the CD is unique sounding. However, the two bonus "demo" tracks cut with her great touring band do stand up to those of the CD -- perhaps there's another great version of this CD awaiting some future release. Lucinda's last CD also caused similar consternation among her fans, but was a damn fine CD as is "West". Expand
  16. MarkB.
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    Brilliant album...the best since "Car Wheels". Something for everyone. Perhaps the most vital female recording artist we have today. Thanks Lucinda!
  17. Iowa
    Mar 13, 2007
    9
    Before you listen to or judge this album know that the vocals on this CD were from her original demos only. Her producer wanted it that way and added the band in later. If she didn't think it was a good idea artistically, she would never have agreed. Lucinda has had some knock down drag out fights with producers she disagreed with over the years, which is why she never hits the Before you listen to or judge this album know that the vocals on this CD were from her original demos only. Her producer wanted it that way and added the band in later. If she didn't think it was a good idea artistically, she would never have agreed. Lucinda has had some knock down drag out fights with producers she disagreed with over the years, which is why she never hits the mainstream in terms of popularity. Artists are special. You have to cut them some slack sometimes. Not everything is going to be loved her loyal fans. I really like this album and could care less about reviews or what other people think. Expand
  18. Russ
    Mar 13, 2007
    9
    I wanted to listen a number of times before I rated this cd. Unlike a movie, some music needs time to appreciate. Well, sure it's no "Car Wheels", but Da Vinci painted only 1 Mona Lisa. But,cmon, it's Lucinda, the top female songwriter in America. The more I hear it, the more it grows on me. I even find myself humming the tunes. But then, I love slow sad songs with lots of I wanted to listen a number of times before I rated this cd. Unlike a movie, some music needs time to appreciate. Well, sure it's no "Car Wheels", but Da Vinci painted only 1 Mona Lisa. But,cmon, it's Lucinda, the top female songwriter in America. The more I hear it, the more it grows on me. I even find myself humming the tunes. But then, I love slow sad songs with lots of feeling. The only thing that stops it from a 10 are a couple tunes near the end that don't fit with the rest. Overall, a definite classic that will be heard for years to come! Expand
  19. randyg
    Mar 13, 2007
    8
    Always a good offering from Williams...Again, following Car Wheels it is difficult to make some fans/critics happy. That said, is there a more enticing sultry soul out there bellting out such emotion??
  20. MartinB
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    This album took 2 listens for me to get it, but it is right up there with "Car wheels". You really get to feel a whole load of emotin as this appears to be a very personal collection of songs. After seeing her at the Shephards Bush Empire last year (06), I have been waiting for this album since then and it hasn't dissapointed.
  21. CarsonW
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    West is deep, and dark, and honest. Her true feelings reach out just like on every other album. I think the negative critics wish they could come out with an album as real as this...unfortunately they cant, and instead criticize.
  22. ThomasW
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    West is a truly amazinlg dark and honest album. Same calibre of World Without Tears and Essense.
  23. VictorP
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Another great album from one of the premiere songwriters today. I do think that this is an album that does not immediately jump out at you and its richness unfolds over multiple listening. But, I think this is one of the strengths of great songwriting.
  24. ChrisJ
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Pitchfork sucks! Inaccurate reviews almost every time. No credability there.
  25. doglovevee
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    West is best! I thought she could never out do her previous work, but I can't play anything else after this. This album is flawless, perfect. She is the most brilliant songwriter/singer alive. Tom Waits would like these songs.
  26. Darnell
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    Lucinda is tortured, but quite thoughtful here. A little forced on some lyrics and music, but generally easy to overlook the shortcomings with the highs here. She is touching many nerves most wouldn't dare and has put forth her petitions towards healing. Not a classic, but give it time.
  27. VanceH.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Count the number of pompous, bombastic sentences in the negative reviews of this album. That number will tell you a lot. West is low key,contemplative and beautifully produced. What a crime!
  28. JaniceC.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This CD is ahead of its time; it has legs and you know it.
  29. Mikemusicguy
    Feb 7, 2009
    7
    Remember the most depressing Neil Young album you ever heard? Well Lucinda goes beyond it. I like it, I respect it,its real good in a Lenny Cohen kind of way( most cuts) but can't see myself playing it much except when I want to be bummed out or am already there. She's your cup of tea . I wish she'd switch it up a little. Surely shes happy about something ???
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. West may well be her best album. It is easily her most musically adventurous, and often her most lyrically inspired.
  2. Often harrowing, although Williams's emotional odyssey finds resolution on the title track.
  3. Spin
    70
    Let those [few sub-par] parts slide into the ocean and enjoy the remaining hour of perfectly golden brilliance. [Feb 2007, p.89]