What Did You Expect from the Vaccines? Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album for the British indie rock band was produced by Dan Grech.
Buy On

Top Track

All in White
Break me on the thirty-seventh hour Tout me, doubt me, show me all of your power I will watch you rise on my back from the ground Friend or foe? I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    91
    The Vaccines do a good job of turning up the drama during their more restrained moments, resulting in a rare species: the well-rounded pop-jugular album.
  2. Mojo
    Apr 6, 2011
    80
    What Did You Expect is a breathlessly exciting debut, it's giddy raunch'n'revisionism hard to resist. [Apr 2011, p.100]
  3. Uncut
    Apr 7, 2011
    80
    Their true talent lies in creating songs replete with dreamy, late summer melancholy, shrouded in dusky reverb and topped off with Justin Young's oddly emotive quaver.[Apr 2011, p.84]
  4. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    The overriding impression left by What Did You Expect from the Vaccines? is of a first effort by a fairly good indie band boosted far out of their league by an overexcited music press.
  5. 60
    The Vaccines are clenching onto rock and roll, and this album is an amicable chapter in the genre. Amicable.
  6. May 5, 2011
    50
    "Post Break-Up Sex" feels like the album's centerpiece, and is certainly its most complete track, playing like a compromise between the saccharine punk and the sullen balladry that often polarizes the collection of songs.
  7. 40
    Here, any trace of feedback or distortion has been eradicated to leave just a Fratelli-esque singalong punk-pop sheen to songs.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    This album is for me certainly one of the best ones from this decade. The songs are simple and addictive, and the whole album transmits someThis album is for me certainly one of the best ones from this decade. The songs are simple and addictive, and the whole album transmits some cool and rocky feelings. It's definitely a band more focused on teen fans, but the songs can please to other fans with their more psychedelic and rock n' roll tones. What can we expect from the Vaccines? Answer: more masterpieces like these one. Expand
  2. May 31, 2011
    10
    What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? Everything. The album of the year. And they delivered.
    At first they seemed like a la-di-da-di-da band.
    What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? Everything. The album of the year. And they delivered.
    At first they seemed like a la-di-da-di-da band. I heard the demo version of 'If You Wanna' a few months after the band was formed and I heard potential. Not until I heard 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)' did I realise they will deliver and release a great album. Their debut features upbeat songs that will probably rock any indie kids' party, and keep the crowd jumping during gigs. Along with 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra), there's one more song that runs past through you in a minute and a half. Nørgaard is a song about Amanda Nørgaard and it's about... well, Amanda Nørgaard going all wild and "she's only seventeen and she's probably not ready".
    What comes as a nice refreshment are songs like 'Post Break-Up Sex', 'Wetsuit' and 'All In White'. Slower and darker, they give this almost 'gothic folk' with its lyrics that speak of love, break-ups (obviously), sex and suffering. What makes this album my album of the year is its simplicity, its raw rock edge, fun lyrics that can be quite serious at times, and the unique atmosphere The Vaccines create. It's old school with a modern dressing. Favourite tracks: If You Wanna, Wreckin' Bar (Ra, Ra, Ra), All In White, Post Break-Up Sex, Wetsuit
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2013
    10
    I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music"I didn't know what to expect from the Vaccines. At first I though they were just another overhyped group dubbed the "saviours of rock music" just like Radiohead before them. Unlike Radiohead however, this hype might actually be true. Upon listening to the first few seconds of Wreckin' Bar I could tell that there was something special about this band; they make good old fashioned rock music. There's no new ground being broken here, but the Vaccines have created a modern classic inspired by those great 60s guitar bands and aims it towards the youth culture, singing about growing up, sex, breakups, and post-breakup sex. The lyrical content isn't exactly impressive or original, but who cares? The album is meant for teenagers and parties, that's its audience and it delivers what it says it will (the older generation can still enjoy this album to since its inspired by their old favourite bands, despite the "teen" lyrics). I didn't expect much from the Vaccines, but after listening to this album it was far better than I expected. Collapse
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    7
    Not a bad indie rock album from a very hyped up band. They can certainly bang out a tune and there are some great standout moments on theirNot a bad indie rock album from a very hyped up band. They can certainly bang out a tune and there are some great standout moments on their debut - Blow It Up and Post Break-Up Sex being the highlights for me. There isn't much variation in their style across the record and you'd wonder where the band will go on their next record but this first one is certainly worth a listen. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    This one is a powerful record, in which you will find energy, catchy hooks, raw guitars and cool melodies. There's no innovation, the bandThis one is a powerful record, in which you will find energy, catchy hooks, raw guitars and cool melodies. There's no innovation, the band just wanted to make carefree music, not thinking too much on it, and they succeeded in doing it. Its problem is that it's just a fun record. Nothing more. For this reason, its vote can only be a 6. Nothing more. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    After seeing these guys do an awesome performence of If You Wanna on Jay Leno, or Letterman, or whatever, I did expect a lot from TheAfter seeing these guys do an awesome performence of If You Wanna on Jay Leno, or Letterman, or whatever, I did expect a lot from The Vaccines. However, I was disappointed for the most part. The songs are too simple, the lyrics are too dull and there are only two songs that I find to be worthy of further listening (If You Wanna and Wetsuit). All in all, its not an awful album and its not a great album. Its merely ok. Expand
  7. j30
    Jan 18, 2012
    4
    The is a very average album at best, musically and lyrically. While some of the songs stick, most of them do not. Surprisingly, I'm interestedThe is a very average album at best, musically and lyrically. While some of the songs stick, most of them do not. Surprisingly, I'm interested in what they'll do next. This album is overrated (particularly by NME) and kind of boring (and I like this genre of music ex. Arctic Monkeys, The Strokes, etc.. Love it). Expand

See all 16 User Reviews