Wild Smile - Suckers
Wild Smile Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for the Brooklyn-based indie rock band was produced by Chris Zane.
  • Record Label: French Kiss
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Experimental Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    Suckers make this stylistic smorgasbord indisputably their own.
  2. Suckers fire off Wild Smile, an album that exceeds all possible expectations and lays down a challenge for all debuting bands this year.
  3. Sporting three singers/ multi-instrumentalists in Austin Fisher, Quinn Walker (Fisher's cousin), and Pan, along with drummer/ keyboardist Brian Aiken, there's a kaleidoscopic twist of fresh ideas throughout Wild Smile that offers something new with each trip through these tracks.
  4. Disorienting at first spin, Wild Smile rewards by reconciling the easily digestible and the weird with each subsequent listen.
  5. As ridiculously high as his [Quinn Walker's] voice may be, and even though it may take several spins to become acclimated to it, the melodies are sharp and enticing.
  6. Wild Smile is awfully good, but it's really hard to explain what makes it that way.
  7. 60
    At its best, Suckers' baroque pop struts confidently in glam platforms, blithely eager to please.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    This lively, loveable debut album contains some of my favourite tracks of 2010 so far. Ambitious opener 'Save Your Love For Me' is a comic masterpiece, 'Roman Candles' leaves me vigorously whistling it's melody through the streets all day and 'Black Sheep', with it's carry-me-along riff, Pixies-esque yelps and thumping bass is as great a track as I've heard this year. Unfortunately, the album suffers from being rather front-loaded. Tedious track 'It Gets Your Body Movin' is the signal that you've entered the less interesting half of the album. But the pure energy and fun of the first half make it a worthy purchase Expand