User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 106
  2. Negative: 72 out of 106

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2013
    6
    Now here's a big debate, people here on Metacritic seem to hate will.i.am with the user overall score at 18 which is overwhelming dislike and the Metacritic score at 50 which is Lukewarm at best. Willpower (forget the it's stupid) is will.i.am's fourth studio album after pairing up with The Black Eyed Peas for "The Beginning" which got less than positive reviews by everyone. Willpower isNow here's a big debate, people here on Metacritic seem to hate will.i.am with the user overall score at 18 which is overwhelming dislike and the Metacritic score at 50 which is Lukewarm at best. Willpower (forget the it's stupid) is will.i.am's fourth studio album after pairing up with The Black Eyed Peas for "The Beginning" which got less than positive reviews by everyone. Willpower is not a terrible album, but it's not great either, at best I can say that it's okay. A few songs stand out, there are some great beats and sounds, and a couple of the guest appearances help make the original song better, but Willpower has problems. First off will.i.am can't sing, we all know that. But unlike certain artists like Ke$ha who use autotune but use it right, will.i.am has heavy autotune to mask any voice which just makes him sound weird. Some of the songs generally sound cool, certain songs include "This is Love", "Getting Dumb", and "That Power', which is also credited to the extensive and popular list of guest appearances which include everyone from Britney Spears to Justin Bieber to even some members of The Black Eyed Peas. But only a few are noteworthy, they include 2ne1, Eva Simmons, and strangely enough Justin Bieber. Everyone else is forgettable as well as most of the songs on this album. The problem is that there's no direction or story for this album, it's just a party album with some unnecessary ballads and cliqued lyrics. And it goes on far too long with too many songs and only a few great songs.That's why Willpower is better heard in a party or club, you'll hum certain songs for a while but you'll forget about it the next day. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    4
    you can say its bad album but there is only 3 or 4 songs that you can like the other songs just full of loud or noise the this kind of album you should dance when you listen to it but its doesnt happen its make you feel headache
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    With a handful of okay songs on this album, I have to say I expected more and I'm disappointed with this one.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Will.I.Am #willpower

    1. Good Morning- The opening track is relaxed and a really good opening but still only an opening track 6/10 2. Hello With Afrojack. I really don't like this song. There is nothing special. I hate the line "All All of my friends" 3/10... 3. This Is Love Was a UK Nr.1 and has a beautiful chorus. I like Eva's voice. Maybe the best track on this album 9/10... 4.
    Will.I.Am #willpower

    1. Good Morning- The opening track is relaxed and a really good opening but still only an opening track 6/10 2. Hello With Afrojack. I really don't like this song. There is nothing special. I hate the line "All All of my friends" 3/10... 3. This Is Love Was a UK Nr.1 and has a beautiful chorus. I like Eva's voice. Maybe the best track on this album 9/10... 4. Scream and Shout His most successful song ever. I'm not the biggest fan of this song and I never dance to it. The lyrics are stupid, too 5/10... 5. Let's Go With Chris Brown, who has very short parts. This was a good idea 'cause his is a terrible singer. Anyway, I don't like this song, too 2/10... 6. Gettin Dumb Boring. Next song 3/10... 7. Geekin I like the chorus but I don't like the melody 'cause it sounds like an old computer game 5/10... 8. Freshy Look at song Nr.7 plese 5/10... 9. thatpower- With Bieber, who is a really good singer (In this song), compared to Will.I.Am. I like the Chorus, without Will.I.Am 5/10... 10. Great times are coming There is a problem with his album. Everything sound similar and this gets boring. Sorry 3/10... 11. This World Is Crazy Finally something different. I like the lyrics and the chorus and even Will.I.Am. 8/10... 12. Fall Down Sounds a bit like "Die Young" but this song makes you happy 7/10... 13. Love Bullets Skylar Grey is a brilliant singer. The 8 Points are for her. 8/10... 14. Far Away from home The best song on this album. I like everything. Nicole is amazing 10/10... 15. Ghetto Baby With a small child. Sweet 6/10

    5.6 points 6 Points
    Collapse
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    Decent album, but he should've added more tracks than the later versions. Will.I.Am hasn't had an album since 2008, but the only songs that weren't on the album were "Check It Out (featuring Nicki Minaj)" and last year's "Go Home (featuring Mick Jagger)." Not all the songs were quite good on #willpower. I thought he has picked up too many song choices and a little tired on production. IDecent album, but he should've added more tracks than the later versions. Will.I.Am hasn't had an album since 2008, but the only songs that weren't on the album were "Check It Out (featuring Nicki Minaj)" and last year's "Go Home (featuring Mick Jagger)." Not all the songs were quite good on #willpower. I thought he has picked up too many song choices and a little tired on production. I still like "Scream and Shout" with the lyrics that goes "I wanna Scream and Shout and let it all out and scream and shout and let it out. You are now, now rockin' with Will.I.Am and 'Britney I'm still not quite sure about the tracklist and guest appearances including Britney Spears and the overrated Chris Brown. I felt that it's kinda bit too dull and I do respect his ability to do autotune and stuff. The problem is right now, I better skip the album for a minute and try to figure this out. Bottom line is #willpower is a bigger disappointment as a fan of the Black Eyed Peas. And for me, this isn't the album I was excited for. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    4
    Don't expect more from the The Voice Coach. He produced an album made for its intention and that is something we can applaud. He also has a really cool title album... though I hate orange.
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    5
    After all these delays it seemed like will.i.am was going to create something interesting, but it eventually turned out to be a big disappointment. Almost every track is filled with awful auto-tune and shallow lyrics with a few expections like "The World Is Crazy" or "Ghetto Ghetto" (although the earlier still contains auto-tune). Some tracks have interesting instrumentals ("Good Morning",After all these delays it seemed like will.i.am was going to create something interesting, but it eventually turned out to be a big disappointment. Almost every track is filled with awful auto-tune and shallow lyrics with a few expections like "The World Is Crazy" or "Ghetto Ghetto" (although the earlier still contains auto-tune). Some tracks have interesting instrumentals ("Good Morning", "Geekin", "Gettin' Dumb", "Fall Down") but some are very predictable and repetitive ("Scream & Shout", "Let's Go", "#thatPOWER"). Overall, #willpower it's not bad album but it's also not good to listen to it for longer period of time. Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    Wow! People are being too harsh. I'll admit that the album is not that good, but, seriously, it's still an okay one. At least there are two tracks you can actually enjoy and dance to: "This Is Love (featuring Eva Simons)" and "Love Bullets (featuring Skylar Grey). And "Gettin' Dumb (featuring 2NE1 and apl.de.ap) is nice too. Though the production is indeed a mess.
  9. Apr 16, 2015
    4
    This album would have been better if will.i.am made more use of his talent that has been shown over the years with The Black Eyed Peas pre-E.N.D. Instead of will.i.am's rapping skills being shown with good lyricism and his production skills being showed with good production, he is now changing to a more common subject matter, as well as what may seem to be interesting production - but itThis album would have been better if will.i.am made more use of his talent that has been shown over the years with The Black Eyed Peas pre-E.N.D. Instead of will.i.am's rapping skills being shown with good lyricism and his production skills being showed with good production, he is now changing to a more common subject matter, as well as what may seem to be interesting production - but it was stolen. Overall I'd have to say that this album was more about its samples (or, to put it more precisely, copies) of other songs than it was about will.i.am himself. There were a few highlights but overall this is an extremely disappointing effort that was probably one of the worst of 2013. Grade: C-. "Gettin' Dumb", "Reach for the Stars", "Great Times Are Coming" (sounds exactly like The Beatles' "Let It Be" but other than that it's good). Worst songs: "Let's Go", "#thatPOWER", "Smile Mona Lisa" (seriously???) Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. May 15, 2013
    30
    It's hip, it's slick, it's polished, and it's an utter waste of time.
  2. May 10, 2013
    40
    Ultimately, #willpower is an overstuffed pop album that tries too hard to be trendy while not trying hard enough to be cohesive or truly meaningful.
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    20
    Conveniently, he’s premeditated every song in #willpower with a bevy of wishy-washy, quotable clichés that are meant to fit the space of 140 characters. Sadly, that's as deep as it gets.