#willpower - will.i.am
#willpower Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth solo studio release for the Black Eyed Peas members includes guest appearances from Justin Bieber, Chris Brown, Miley Cyrus, Skylar Grey, Nicole Scherzinger, Eva Simons, and Britney Spears.
  • Record Label: Interscope
  • Genre(s): Pop, Electronic, Rap, R&B, Urban, Pop/Rock, Contemporary R&B, Pop-Rap, Party Rap
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    He is not ashamed to bleat out inane proclamations and this album benefits from his shamelessness. It’s frequently catchy and almost always compellingly energetic.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    As intended, there’s a little something for everyone.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    #willpower siphons Chris Brown, Bieber, Britney, Miley, Skylar Grey, K-pop act N2E1 and many more through mistily whooshing, thunderously stomping dance pop that manages to be both hilariously one-dimensional and obsessively high-def.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    40
    The factory default is for disposable, cheesy, trance-influenced pop with Auto-Tuned vocals.
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    40
    The songs featuring him alone may be full of undeniably funny arrogance, but they're also laden with recycled beats and Auto-Tune.
  6. Even without the unpleasant association of the Chris Brown guest slot here, #willpower (we're letting people hashtag their album titles now?) is a charmless listen.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    20
    Conveniently, he’s premeditated every song in #willpower with a bevy of wishy-washy, quotable clichés that are meant to fit the space of 140 characters. Sadly, that's as deep as it gets.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    I just joined metacritic and this is the first cd I wanted to review becase I am so sad that it is so underrated. I am a 45 year old white male and I just joined Rhapsody this past year and there are so many new cd's I love and this is one of them I give it an 8 out of 10. It is one of my favorite cd's of this past year and one of my go-to gym cd's. Rhapsody has me excited about music again. This cd has so many songs, enough for two cd's and I think most of them are so high energy and fun and I also enjoy the raegae feel of some of the tracks I sincerely think so many people have been so hard on will.i.am with this cd or they have not given this cd enough of a listen. Expand
  2. May 24, 2013
    8
    The World Is Crazy (feat. Dante Santiago) not only sounds great but is well written and serves it's point in this crazy modern world we live in and takes us off the dance floor while still being a Dance/Pop track it's kinda hard to feel like dancing when reminded of babies thrown in dumpsters, dirty politicians and guns in the classrooms. This track has been added to many of my rotations and is probably 1 of 2 tracks I'll still listen to 5 years from now. #thatPOWER (feat. Justin Bieber) starts off what one would expect from a Daft Punk album and makes you think Harder,Better,Faster Stronger! It's great for the dance floor but will be long forgotten in years to come unless your a die hard Bieber fan and the same is said for Scream & Shout (feat. Britney Spears) which will only be remembered by die hard Britney fans! Ghetto Ghetto (feat. Baby Kaely) makes you think back to Jay-Z's Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem) and serves the same purpose and is the other track I may still listen 2 in 5 years time and has been added to many of my rotations. Fall Down (feat. Miley Cyrus) picks you up at the start of your day with it's catchy sounds and simply put's you in a good mood but sounds more like bubllegum music one would expect from Aqua or The Venga Boys with it's cheesy lyrics comparing someone to an elevator. Let's Go (feat. Chris Brown) is just too busy for my likings and feels like I'm trying to listen to a song but the neighbors are blaring their rave music over it and the 2 are fighting to be heard and the same can be said about Freshy (feat. Juicy J). These are too examples where less would be more! Gettin' Dumb (feat. apl.de.ap & 2NE1) is another busy track but is more harmonious with it's techno beats and is catchy and fits into rotation with David Guetta and Far East Movement. Hello is a feel good summer track that will more likely get played at Graduations for years to come. Geekin fits right into my rap rotation and great for radio and clubs. Bang Bang sounds like a musical track blended with a club beats and I can picture a black and white music video to go with it. Although it works on many levels it's not a track I'd listen to on rotation. Far Away From Home is another that works on many levels but lacks wow factor to be on rotation but is a nice little filler that is still appreciated. This Is Love (feat. Eva Simons) is a decent track but I'm over it. Great Times Are Coming, Reach For The Stars and Love Bullets are decent tracks but missing that wow factor to be great. Smile Mona Lisa is a big bore and I don't even know what to call it. Best Tracks: The World Is Crazy (feat. Dante Santiago), Geekin', and Ghetto Ghetto (feat. Baby Kaely) ....Hot Club Tracks: Scream & Shout (feat. Britney Spears), #thatPOWER (feat. Justin Bieber), This Is Love (feat. Eva Simons) and Gettin' Dumb (feat. apl.de.ap & 2NE1) and the Utter Garbage: Let's Go (feat. Chris Brown) and Smile Mona Lisa. Expand
  3. May 13, 2013
    6
    Now here's a big debate, people here on Metacritic seem to hate will.i.am with the user overall score at 18 which is overwhelming dislike and the Metacritic score at 50 which is Lukewarm at best. Willpower (forget the it's stupid) is will.i.am's fourth studio album after pairing up with The Black Eyed Peas for "The Beginning" which got less than positive reviews by everyone. Willpower is not a terrible album, but it's not great either, at best I can say that it's okay. A few songs stand out, there are some great beats and sounds, and a couple of the guest appearances help make the original song better, but Willpower has problems. First off will.i.am can't sing, we all know that. But unlike certain artists like Ke$ha who use autotune but use it right, will.i.am has heavy autotune to mask any voice which just makes him sound weird. Some of the songs generally sound cool, certain songs include "This is Love", "Getting Dumb", and "That Power', which is also credited to the extensive and popular list of guest appearances which include everyone from Britney Spears to Justin Bieber to even some members of The Black Eyed Peas. But only a few are noteworthy, they include 2ne1, Eva Simmons, and strangely enough Justin Bieber. Everyone else is forgettable as well as most of the songs on this album. The problem is that there's no direction or story for this album, it's just a party album with some unnecessary ballads and cliqued lyrics. And it goes on far too long with too many songs and only a few great songs.That's why Willpower is better heard in a party or club, you'll hum certain songs for a while but you'll forget about it the next day. Expand
  4. May 6, 2013
    4
    Don't expect more from the The Voice Coach. He produced an album made for its intention and that is something we can applaud. He also has a really cool title album... though I hate orange. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2013
    2
    I still love Will.i.am and the Peas, despite them straying from good old hip hop to electronic music, I can deal with that, and I still love them. But this album is just awful and pitiful to Will.i.am's talent Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    1
    There is little that is less pretentious than implied arrogance. At least if you come right out about it, you can argue that it was all for a good laugh, but really, all you're doing otherwise is thinly veiling it behind a layer of seriousness. Similarly, there is, in this universe, no faster way to make me dislike an album than the artist implying that it is good. As far as I can remember, #willpower is the very first album to pull that off in the album itself.

    Will.i.am is not the trend-setting superstar he was once known as. The onset of new sounds and people have sent him running to keep up, which has made him take some very strange paths of musical experimentation. One could argue that this started during production of The E.N.D, but I think that album, no matter how inane that album was, it had a bit of good in it. Not so for Will.i.am's newest solo album.

    First, a little song called Good Morning. Being the first song in the album, it was refreshing. I actually found myself thinking "wow, this is actually pretty good." And it is a good song. Good orchestration, good production, passable lyrics, overall a good first impression. It got me looking forward to this album.

    Then came Hello. Featuring Afrojack. It started promising enough, but as soon as it really kicked into gear, I realized that it had much akin to the sound of a small child at a drum machine. Truth be told, the only good parts of this song were the bits that were obviously Afrojack's doing. Next.

    This is Love (Featuring Eva Simons) is the closest this album comes to a real dance song. Sure, it would have been a boring, samey Dance song just like everything on the radio right now, but it was coherent. Then Will.i.am started rapping. He's about as rusty as rappers get, and it doesn't help that it sounds like he's not trying.

    Scream and shout (feat. Britney Spears) should be familiar already, but if it isn't, let me put it in as few words as possible: Dirty Bit 2.0.

    Let's Go (feat Chris Brown): I'm not a fan of Chris Brown as an artist or a person, but somehow his moderate lack of talent is overshadowed by a dance beat that is so boring, so devoid of energy and so repetitive that I actually checked to see if my CD player was skipping. It wasn't.

    Gettin' dumb (feat. Al.de.ap and 2NE1): to be honest, I have entirely no idea what Will.i.am, his Old-time Black Eyed Peas cohort, or that Korean girl group were thinking. This is approaching a Look At Me Now level of bad. Repetitive production and terrible use of the guest stars make this song the most pointless yet.

    Then there's Geekin'. A song that I guess tried to explore what the Black Eyed Peas would sound like now if Fergie had never joined. Still sounds the same as all the other songs. Here's the problem, once you've talked about one song in this album, you've at least in part talked about them all. They all sound painfully similar.

    Freshy feat. Juicy J.): second verse, same as the first.

    #thatPower (feat. Justin Bieber): okay, at first I thought this song was going to redeem this entire album. It had an intro that wasn't too samey, not too repetitive, and had a good sense of building energy that everything else lacked. Even Justin Bieber makes a good showing. Then, it drops into the first verse, and I am not exaggerating when I say that I let my forehead fall directly onto my desk in disappointment. That will.i.am could have ruined a half-decent intro to this magnitude absolutely baffles me.

    Great Times are Coming: I was just about as displeased with this album as it was humanly possible to be, when this song came on. It sounded a bit like Good Morning, and this made me think that there might just be salvation in these last few songs. I was wrong. More samey faux-club beats. You think he would have gotten bored copy-pasting beats from song to song by now.

    The World is Crazy (feat. Dante Santiago): okay, this is actually quite reminiscent of old Black Eyed Peas. Not a deep song, but at least it doesn't devolve into mindless club drivel.

    Fall down (feat. Miley Cyrus): see what I mean how all these songs sound the same no matter who's singing? This is really what it's coming to; I have nothing to say because I would just be repeating what I've already said.

    Love Bullets (feat. skylar Grey): this is a new one. Will.i.am tries to supplement a very fake, almost reggae-sounding accent with very stiff, very not-reggae beats and lyrical flow. Overall, soulless despite the attempt to be a slower, more powerful song.

    Far Away from Home (feat. Nicole Scherzinger): okay, this is a bit different. Nice chord progression, but ultimately too repetitive to be enjoyable.

    Finally, we wrap up with Ghetto Ghetto feat. Baby Kaely. I was really enjoying this song, minus Baby Kaely, but there's a very, very small chance that it's just me. I Then realized that this was basically a Kanye West song without the tight production values.

    In all, this album is a massive disappointment. 1/10.
    Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    absolute garbage mainstream rubbish i wouldn't recommend you buy this trash save your money buy decent music or do something good with the money this isn't worth an illegal download Expand

See all 23 User Reviews