With Love And Squalor - We Are Scientists
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Even though With Love And Squalor quickly ingratiates itself, some of its best parts reveal themselves over time.
  2. Despite undeniable similarities to other bands that arrived at this party earlier, this album lacks pretension and self-importance. [21 Jan 2006]
  3. With Love and Squalor certainly won't change pop music as we know it, but it packs surprisingly huge melodies and shamelessly danceable beats.
  4. We Are Scientists come off well in being both snide and playful. Finding that balance is what makes With Love and Squalor a solid debut.
  5. A very respectable pop-punk debut. [Oct 2005, p.121]
  6. With Love and Squalor is pretty much everything you've come to expect from neo-post-punk music: disco beats, prominent basslines, and those ever-angular guitars, all playing under some clipped vocals that have a distinctly British cast to them. And yet, interspersed among the more-of-the-same is a sense of more recent rock history.
  7. Most of these tracks have hooks aimed straight for your jugular, but "Can't Lose" shows the band could go even farther with a little restraint.
  8. Despite a lack of originality, their third-gen post-punk is saved by some winning choruses and singer Keith Murray's swaggering come-ons and mocking of the hipster lifestyle. [20 Jan 2006, p.71]
  9. 60
    No, it ain't rocket science. But when they're headlining arenas, it's gonna look fairly brilliant. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.98]
  10. Suggests a cross between Bloc Party and the band's tourmates Hot Hot Heat.
  11. Sounds rather pedestrian. [Jan 2006, p.142]
  12. Despite losing some steam towards the finish, With Love And Squalor marks this threesome as a band worth watching.
  13. By no means have We Are Scientists made a great record, but it shows enough promise to make us believe that it might just be possible in the future.
  14. Bashed-out third-generation dance-punk and Long Island emo. [#12, p.97]
  15. For 80s nostalgia freaks, you might find that We Are Scientists have a few things in common with The Cure, and you might find that charming. But that’ll tide you over only so long before you realize this is nothing more than a major label trying to play catch-up by signing somebody who sounds like the flavor-of-the-month.
  16. Much of With Love and Squalor is like your old coat rack: You know where the hooks are going to be even in your sleep.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    6
    It's 12 tracks of standard Indie rock that could have been put out by any band. To be fair ,there are some very good songs on this but nothing mindblowing (although I do really like It's a Hit). I've found its the kind of record you'd mildly enjoy but won't play very often. The style is limited - not much variation across the songs. Just fell short of an extra mark for me. Full Review »
  2. MarcusF
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Good album
  3. LukeB.D
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the last few years if not the best!!!