Wolf - Tyler, The Creator
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 134

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    I think this albums is his best album to me personally. He has matured from Goblin a lot. He stated that, cutting bodies up and raping didn't interest anymore. With this album you get a personal track like "Answer" then you have your having fun go stupid song like "Domo 23" and then you have my favorite which is "Rusty" where he just goes off. His lyrics have gotten way better sinceI think this albums is his best album to me personally. He has matured from Goblin a lot. He stated that, cutting bodies up and raping didn't interest anymore. With this album you get a personal track like "Answer" then you have your having fun go stupid song like "Domo 23" and then you have my favorite which is "Rusty" where he just goes off. His lyrics have gotten way better since Goblin. The production on this album is great!! SO FAR this is the best hip-hop album of 2013. SO FAR!!!! Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This is Tyler’s most mature effort yet, he learned how to channel the anger to create music, the music itself is actually a focus here, and everything is intelligently done. There are also six very standout tracks, but no song is bad. Therefore this becomes one of the best albums I’ve heard in a long time, and honestly the most surprising. I never saw a day when Tyler, the Creator wouldThis is Tyler’s most mature effort yet, he learned how to channel the anger to create music, the music itself is actually a focus here, and everything is intelligently done. There are also six very standout tracks, but no song is bad. Therefore this becomes one of the best albums I’ve heard in a long time, and honestly the most surprising. I never saw a day when Tyler, the Creator would earn five stars, let alone blow me away with the music as he did here.

    Full Review here: http://ranterreviews.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/tyler-the-creator-wolf/
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    The third album of Tyler, The Creator is the awareness of his talent. Domo23 is one of the best songs of this year. Wolf is a dark album that reminds Eminem, but can not be said the height of Goblin.
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    I like it. A lot. It's as strong as Goblin... but in another way completely. I sense a maturity and patience in WOLF.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Tyler the Creator really stepped up his game to the next level lyrically and production. He tackles some difficult topics such as his rise to fame, not knowing his father, heartbreak and the death of his grandmother. His maturity as an artist is clear.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Finally maturing musically-wise, Tyler paints an interesting picture of his conflicting viewpoints and grim childhood through the type of music very familiar with his fans.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Lighter than Goblin, yes, but the concept is pulled off, and the production shines above and beyond anything else he's done. Tyler's rapping is at his absolute best, too (Rusty, Cowboy, Lone).
  8. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    It is clear that Tyler is maturing through his efforts into one of hip hops best new artists. This album showcases his anger in form of lyrical dexterity. Along with his fellow odd future cohorts he delivers an amazing album. Good tracks are domo23 slater and awkward
  9. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Tyler, The Creator finally drops his third anticipated album, and in it contains musical growth from all aspects that most hip-hop fans can enjoy. This concept album strays a little off from the previous story line of his last two tapes and leaves you with a cliffhanger that excites you for his future releases. Everything is tuned and improved from lyrics to production, and each track hasTyler, The Creator finally drops his third anticipated album, and in it contains musical growth from all aspects that most hip-hop fans can enjoy. This concept album strays a little off from the previous story line of his last two tapes and leaves you with a cliffhanger that excites you for his future releases. Everything is tuned and improved from lyrics to production, and each track has a different type of experience to provide. Tyler The Creator's new musical piece just could be his best one yet. Expand
  10. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    This album can only be summed up in one way. Tyler has matured. The themes and sounds on this record are much more mature than those on his previous two records. The beats are brilliant and the features are also spot on. However there is a problem. As Tyler himself tweeted, this record has to be listened to in full when you are out and about. It's the kind of record that accompanies yourThis album can only be summed up in one way. Tyler has matured. The themes and sounds on this record are much more mature than those on his previous two records. The beats are brilliant and the features are also spot on. However there is a problem. As Tyler himself tweeted, this record has to be listened to in full when you are out and about. It's the kind of record that accompanies your everyday jobs. When you listen to the album like this you discover that whilst this may not have the hits the 'Goblin' did, this is a much better record. Expand
  11. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This has to be Tyler's best work since Bastard. He's matured a lot and on this album it feels like he changed his style, but it also feels like it's the same Tyler. He doesn't have all the rape and satanic lyrics, but it's still dark. This album has way more meaning and was more lyrical than Goblin. For the most part, the album has a more serious tone and the stories he tells throughoutThis has to be Tyler's best work since Bastard. He's matured a lot and on this album it feels like he changed his style, but it also feels like it's the same Tyler. He doesn't have all the rape and satanic lyrics, but it's still dark. This album has way more meaning and was more lyrical than Goblin. For the most part, the album has a more serious tone and the stories he tells throughout the album is amazing. This is the best album I've heard so far this year and I advise anyone who thought Tyler's old lyrics were too much for them to try out this album. Expand
  12. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    With the Wolf album, it finally feels like Tyler The Creator is ready and willing to start challenging his loyal followers and get them thinking and as corny as it sounds feeling a bit. Throughout his career no reasonable critic has ever challenged his creativity or intelligence (though it’s been purposely deceptive), but many have criticized how he used it. This project, should thoseWith the Wolf album, it finally feels like Tyler The Creator is ready and willing to start challenging his loyal followers and get them thinking and as corny as it sounds feeling a bit. Throughout his career no reasonable critic has ever challenged his creativity or intelligence (though it’s been purposely deceptive), but many have criticized how he used it. This project, should those critics sit down with it, is definitely going to shut them up. Hell, I’ll admit that I probably fell into that OF “hater” category a bit, and was taken by surprise myself after I got through this one a few times Expand
  13. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Working out the kinks from Goblin while stepping up his game big time. There's not anything here that's "Yonkers" good, at least I'm not sure that there is, but as a whole, this is a tight, solid collection of songs.
  14. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    I'd struggle to call this music. This is pretentious whining from a sad little man with no life experience. It sounds like he recorded it in his basement on garageband. Stay away.
  15. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    To be blunt; it's a really great album. A lot more focused and less 'juvenile bratty' than Goblin was. The lyrical content is much more personal and engaging, and the production is retro but extremely refreshing. Tyler continues to be enigmatic and enthralling. Standouts: 48, Domo23, IFHY, Rusty.
  16. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    There's a lot to love here; however, it's mostly more of the same from Tyler. Albeit he's maturing, fans of Goblin will find many similarities, as well as a few nice departures. Pharrell Williams stops by to lace IFHY with his silky smooth crooning, and Erykah Badu does the same Treehome95.

    It's worth a listen, but it's far from the revelation that Goblin was.
  17. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Wolf shows that even the dirtiest rappers can evolve. The subject matter has changed here. Tyler is talking more about his personal life rather than his rape and murder fantasies. Production wise, it is really good especially "Rusty". This album is awesome.
  18. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    wolf is amazing, i really liked bastard and goblin but this album is my favourite now, tracks like answer and awkward really got to me, is really a album you can relate to.
  19. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    Honestly, it was hit-and-miss. A lot lighter than Goblin and it certainly showed Tyler's maturation as an artist and it was also, in my mind, a better album than Goblin. The production was solid throughout, but the album's a little too long, in terms of there being quite a few "filler" tracks. The best tracks are not all that great, either, but they at least have replay value. The amountHonestly, it was hit-and-miss. A lot lighter than Goblin and it certainly showed Tyler's maturation as an artist and it was also, in my mind, a better album than Goblin. The production was solid throughout, but the album's a little too long, in terms of there being quite a few "filler" tracks. The best tracks are not all that great, either, but they at least have replay value. The amount of filler tracks and the lack of a "great' track really hurt the quality of the overall work. Expand
  20. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    "Wolf", the third studio album from arguably the most popular member of the Hip-Hop collective, Odd Future, fully delivers on all fronts. Tyler, The Creator has most noticeably done two things; progressed and matured as an artist. Tyler, again, produces every song on the album, and in doing so, has once again shown even more potential beyond just rapping. His previous album, "Goblin" has"Wolf", the third studio album from arguably the most popular member of the Hip-Hop collective, Odd Future, fully delivers on all fronts. Tyler, The Creator has most noticeably done two things; progressed and matured as an artist. Tyler, again, produces every song on the album, and in doing so, has once again shown even more potential beyond just rapping. His previous album, "Goblin" has some great beats/instrumentals, but ultimately was plagued by sloppy mixes in many of the songs. This is not a problem on Wolf though, and ultimately, the production is some of the best we've heard on any Odd Future release to date. To go along with his progression in producing, his lyrics and subject matter have also improved. Sure, you get a few of the typical Odd Future songs like "Trashwang", and "Domo23", but it's the other songs like "Answer", "48", and "Colossus" that show Tylers' improvement as a lyricist, and growth as an artist by digging deep into himself and giving us a Tyler we haven't seen too often before. The album as a whole doesn't come without it's missteps, but they're so overshadowed by what Tyler does right here that it doesn't even matter. The album has a little something for everybody; you have your hype tracks, personal tracks, and experimental tracks like the epic "PartyIsntOver/Campfire/Bimmer", and the very worldly "Tamale". Tyler, The Creator has delivered his best album to date, and perhaps the best release out of any Odd Future member thus far (yes, that includes Frank Ocean.) Collapse
  21. Apr 6, 2013
    7
    Tyler, the Creator's 3rd album, Wolf, is probably his best album to date, bringing new music that is sure to please all fans of him abroad. While Tyler definitely progresses into what most would say is a more mature Tyler, he still has plenty of comedic lines and fun tracks(like Tamale and Domo23) for fans looking for more Goblin or Bastard like tracks. Entirely self-produced, the album isTyler, the Creator's 3rd album, Wolf, is probably his best album to date, bringing new music that is sure to please all fans of him abroad. While Tyler definitely progresses into what most would say is a more mature Tyler, he still has plenty of comedic lines and fun tracks(like Tamale and Domo23) for fans looking for more Goblin or Bastard like tracks. Entirely self-produced, the album is very well done, however, the progression can get a little repetitive in a whole playthrough. Standouts on the track include Ifhy(which includes Tyler's childhood hero Pharrell Williams) Answer, 38, and Colossus, and the track that is sure to please the most hardcore hip-hop heads, Rusty. The album is definitely his best in all regards, however it simply gets a little boring at different parts. One thing can definitely be said though is that Tyler does exactly what he wants on this album, giving listeners the ability to really appreciate Tyler's artistic vision with no label influence. Expand
  22. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    This album obviously was more mature than Goblin, and Bastard. But that's besides the point. The production value Tyler took the time to mold and create and integrate into WOLF made this album really, really good. This album was really personal and intimate on a good level that we could enjoy. Add Frank Ocean, and friends on the album and you really have a good album. Must buy if you're aThis album obviously was more mature than Goblin, and Bastard. But that's besides the point. The production value Tyler took the time to mold and create and integrate into WOLF made this album really, really good. This album was really personal and intimate on a good level that we could enjoy. Add Frank Ocean, and friends on the album and you really have a good album. Must buy if you're a fan, must buy if you're a first time listener. You won't regret it. Its like listening to art. After this album I really can't say Tyler is a rapper anymore, because he's not. He's an artist who makes awesome music. Expand
  23. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Much better than Goblin and just as good as Bastard, in my opinion...Great album overall (best songs for me are Rusty, Bimmer, Akward and Treehome95).
  24. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    He went from bastard, to goblin to this. This album is better than goblin. And he spits some lyrics this time around. Its worth picking up! THhs album also has some go crazy stuff which will make you wanna hit some back flips lol
  25. May 6, 2013
    8
    Amazing. Probably the best album released this year so far. While some of the lyrics don't rhyme, the beats and story make up for it. If you're into Alternative hip-hop, this is definitely something you'll like.
  26. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Great album, the only negative I have is some of the songs sound like "filler", like they don't really belong there, better then goblin, not sure if it's better then bastard, they have a totally different sound, it feels like comparing a taco bell to burger king, it's a matter of opinion and mine isn't totally formed yet, however, this might be Tyler's best project so far...
  27. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is the best album from Tyler yet, with the most catchy beats like, "Jamba" and crazy lyrics from "Trash Wang", and an overall dark setting like the usual Tyler the Creator. This album however is not all about, "F#@$in B#@$%es and Suicide" like Goblin, but tends to be more like Tyler's first album, "Bastard", and delves through the mind of an innocent teenager living through a disgusting society. Overall, Swag.. swag... swag.. SWAG... SWAG. SWAG GOLFWAAAAAAAAAAAAAANGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  28. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    I won’t lie and claim that I’ve been on this ish since the beginning; I was never the biggest advocate of the Odd Future crew. I found their musings, or lack their of, to be childish and undeveloped (admittedly, the beats were always sick). In recent times, though, the bunch are earning my love and the attention of my ears. This includes ring leader Tyler, The Creator, whose first twoI won’t lie and claim that I’ve been on this ish since the beginning; I was never the biggest advocate of the Odd Future crew. I found their musings, or lack their of, to be childish and undeveloped (admittedly, the beats were always sick). In recent times, though, the bunch are earning my love and the attention of my ears. This includes ring leader Tyler, The Creator, whose first two works, Bastard (2009) and Goblin (2011) didn’t quite do it for me on their own. And yet, he’s got me swooning with Wolf, the seemingly final album of Tyler’s theorized “Wolf Trilogy.”...

    Read more at: http://www.recomedia.net/music/tyler-the-creator-wolf-review/
    Expand
  29. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Tyler's grown a LOT, and it really shows here. Compared to his previous efforts, the production here is way cleaner and diverse, and the lyrics are a lot more focused and driven. This actually sounds like music...to me Goblin just sounded like one long angry rant without a real purpose, although it had some standout tracks of its own
  30. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This may be a little late, but the fact that I have listened to it since it released shows something. This has to be my favorite rap album of all time. It saved my life, and I cannot give an album a greater title
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    It's complex, conflicted, and bipolar. Paranoid, even. Most of all, it reveals the harmless and empathetic character behind Tyler, the Creator's complicated persona.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    He just keeps getting better at writhing around in this narrow space of homage and usually lands somewhere just between endearing and brilliant. [May 2013, p.67]
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Wolf’s production features a more textured and subtle sound than we’ve ever heard before.