Wood/Water

  • Record Label: Anti
  • Release Date: Apr 23, 2002
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimmyH.
    Jul 25, 2002
    9
    I can't stop listening to this beautiful record. New to the band, I immediately checked out a previous cd, but the new sound is infinitely better; slower, quieter, more reflective, with much more expressive vocals and arrangements, but it still rocks.
  2. JonathanH.
    Apr 29, 2002
    10
    this is probably the best album to date......no, not just by the promise ring. ever. it just brings so much emotion (and i'm not just playin' on the emo tag) to the listener, and not just happy/sad stuff. it helps me cope, and relive things. this is a great album to just lie down and fall asleep to, or to put on in the car and cruise. amazing is all i have to say.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Apr 26, 2002
    7
    At first I wasn't sure if I liked this album because it is so different from anything they've done before. After a couple listens, however, I was hooked. TPR has evolved and it will be interesting to see if their fans are willing to also.
  4. andrewt
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    this is probably one of my favorite discs of all time... i don't understand how anyone would like it... very good songcrafting and every song is not only listenable, but catchy and thought-provoking. crititics mystify me sometimes.
  5. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    I think this is their best effort since Nothing Feels Good. It sounds entirely different than any of their previous efforts. The lyrics are top-notch.
  6. StephenC.
    Jun 19, 2002
    8
    Great album all the way through. Takes a couple listens, but give it a chance.
  7. LukeM.
    May 27, 2002
    8
    At first it was maddeningly slow, but this album is a grower. There's nothing that echoes the pop-punk of the past, but every song is well crafted and melodic, and the tracks are sequenced so that things don't get too draggy.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Uncut
    70
    The gentle spectres of Sparklehorse and Elliott Smith are always near, but [Davey] Von Bohlen's mix of bleary wonder and self-deprecation is charming, and his grasp of melody sure. [Jun 2002, p.122]
  2. The disc's bountiful electric piano, plaintive acoustic guitars and gentle vocals recall old AM radio fare like Cat Stevens or, more currently, an American version of Travis.
  3. What may be irritating some of The Promise Ring's former fans is that Wood/Water purposefully leaves aside youthful aggression in favor of probing, thoughtful musicality.