World Painted Blood Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Greg Fidelman and Rick Rubin produced the latest disc for the thrash metal band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. It’s a bummer that Slayer’s November 13 Air Canada Centre show, and their entire tour, has been postponed due to lead singer/bassist Tom Araya’s back problems, but we can console ourselves with their excellent new album, which finds the dark-minded, serial-killer-obsessed California thrashers keeping all things in balance.
  2. Greg Fidelman does a better production job here than he did on Metallica’s "Death Magnetic," perhaps due to oversight by Rick Rubin, who produced Slayer’s best work.
  3. World Painted Blood may not be Reign In Blood, but it finds Slayer close to their best.
  4. Slayer has remained unrelentingly true to its origins. The innovations no longer arrive with each album, but the quartet is playing at a high level, and Greg Fidelman’s production captures that sound with thrilling, their-fist-your-face immediacy.
  5. Slayer being timely is not Slayer being timeless. But the way they're still playing, they sure sound like it.
  6. The first listen or two to World Painted Blood might be a bit confusing for the seasoned Slayer fan, but that changes quickly, and the sound of those drums blasting in one's head will become a more than welcome presence in the mix.
  7. 50
    Tom Araya's shriek has grown ponderous, and not until rosary-ripping closer 'Not of This God' do the four mid-fortysomethings bypass their rigid polkacore hopscotch for a devastating groove.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. May 10, 2011
    One of their best albums and an improvement over Christ Illusion. Prue aggression and metal shineyness from start to finish certainly can't be a bad thing. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    great album! slayer proves that they still got it! they haven't lost a beat since reign in blood which was their best album by far! when it comes to modern day thrash slayer is simply the best hands down! i knew i would like this album when i heard psychopathy red back in April of 2009 way before this album even came out! Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    This is the best Slayer album since Seasons in The Abyss. You can feel the old aggressive Slayer in this album. Fast, devastating and complex riffs are combining with old but brutal voice of Tom. All the songs are very good, old school thrash with high quality sound. Slayer fans must listen this brilliant piece of artwork. 10 out of 10 Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2012
    A very nice improvement from Slayer's "Christ Illusion", (which was okay, but it lacked guitar and drum solos), with the potential to even rival against the classic 1986's "Reign In Blood". This one is almost perfect, but other songs like "Unit 731" and "Snuff" drag it down a bit from being so. Its title song however is a milestone towards perfection, (though the music video is rather disturbing), and further songs like "Beauty Through Order", "Hate Worldwide", "Americon", and "Psychopathy Red" are all excellent as well. "Not Of This God" ends the album nicely, and by the time the sound of Lombardo's drum sticks comes, you will sigh with relief, and say to yourself, "Slayer is still going as good as they ever were before". Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2010
    Once again Slayer puts out an album that doesn't lose it's guts for a second. Their hate spreads along another album. Die hard fans will love it and even new fans who want aggressive fast paced in your face lyrics will fall in love with this album. These guys are metal legends and this is just another notch in the belt. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2010
    It's clearly not the best Slayer album I've ever heard, but they are still rocking hard - unlike the other "big 4" from the early 80s who are not so watered down and tired in their approach. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    World Painted Blood is one hell of an album. Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman have once again managed to write some **** riffs and songs World Painted Blood, Unit 731, Beauty Through Order, Hate Worldwide and Playing With Dolls have to be this album's highlights. It seems like this time Slayer managed to write 2 songs that they will perform for sure on many of their lives even after the album's promo tour is over and these are World Painted Blood and Hate Worldwide. Overall the album has some awesome, evil riffness and you can expect many of the riffs and melodic parts of the guitar to be replaying in you head over and over again. Still, the quartet that is Slayer did not achieve making an album that would reach the epicness of Reign in Blood or Seasons in The Abyss. But i think what Slayer tried to do with this release is return back to their roots but not making it look too much with the old stuff. This release receives a 7 out of 10 for me. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews