Wrote a Song for Everyone Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Foo Fighters, Jennifer Hudson, Kid Rock, Miranda Lambert, My Morning Jacket, Brad Paisley, Bob Seger, and Keith Urban are some of the guests helping the Creedence Clearwater Revival singer cover some of his songs.
  • Record Label: Vanguard
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, American Trad Rock, Rock & Roll, Roots Rock, Heartland Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 23, 2013
    100
    Wrote a Song for Everyone does not replace anything Fogerty did the first time around. It affirms the living history in his greatest hits--that of a great nation still being born.
  2. May 28, 2013
    85
    The far-flung vocalists demonstrate how vast his songwriting and cultural influence is, comfortably enfolding each without losing the essence of his intent.
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    70
    These two tracks [“Mystic Highway” and “Train of Fools”] are so strong that one can’t help but wish Fogerty had foregone the duets altogether and recorded a solo album of original material.
  4. May 28, 2013
    60
    All of this is enjoyable but it's rarely compelling, as very few songs play with the original arrangement in any serious fashion.
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    60
    Vocally, Fogerty still shreds, and this lively album omits enough of his gems to hint at a sequel. [Aug 2013, p.97]
  6. 60
    It’s an ambitious collection, but the roots veteran pulls it off.
  7. May 28, 2013
    50
    It's almost impossible to screw up Fogerty's sturdiest numbers, but some of his collaborators sound like they're trying too hard to put their thumbprints all over them.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    Reminded me of how much I love Creedence Clearwater Revival. Awesome covers. The two new songs are also great. I enjoyed the guests on theReminded me of how much I love Creedence Clearwater Revival. Awesome covers. The two new songs are also great. I enjoyed the guests on the album, and am especially glad to hear John Fogerty again. Collapse