WZRD - WZRD
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Great album. Loved all the songs, Cudi is a pure genius when it comes to creating songs. With his collaboration with Dot Da Genius, I believe they create a great album, although it is not traditional rap or rock, they blend together good enough to create great songs.
  2. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    There is one important thing to remember when listening to this album: It is not a hip hop or rap album. He calls it a "rock album", which I guess it counts as.

    With that being said... the album is pretty good. I think it has decent beats and his lyrics are pretty good. Some of the songs are definitely lacking that original Cudi style, but I can still dig it. The only thing that I really
    don't like is that he pretty much completely changed his personal style. He now talks about how he doesn't smoke anymore and stuff like that... kinda weird for him if you ask anyone. I understand he went through a lot in his life recently, but this album seems like a complete 180 in that sense.

    It's good for a pretty relaxed listen as he never goes too hard. Some songs do have some good pep. All in all, I enjoy listening any time.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    This album is not quite a disaster, but lacks quality. The production is definitely not the best, and Kid Cudi perhaps does not understand very well the new role as a rock singer. The ideas are there but must be developed.
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    You have to give him credit for trying something new. I would say that he and dot didn't do too bad. I actually like this album. It's definatly not his strongest. We all can agree man on the moon: the end of day was the best! Overall, this album is good....but not up to cudi's full potential. I award him for making this.
  5. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This is a very good and very misunderstood album. Like the other 2 albums, this one grew on me the more i listened to it. When i first heard it, I did not like it at all. The songs were weird and I did not understand them. But that was the same case with Man on the Moon I and II, so I decided to keep listening and give it a try. Well I'm glad I did. This album is really just like all of Cudi's other's. It has the same flow, same style, he just sings and uses the drums and guitar. (But he does that in all his other albums too) I promise anybody that is a Cudi fan, give this a try and let it grow on you. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This album is not good. Cudi calls it a rock project but it's nothing like rock, just a bunch of cheap synths with lacking vocals. I There was only one decent track in this (Teleport 2 Me) and ithe song is very cheesy.
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This is the worst piece of **** I have ever heard. Cudi's doesn't even know how to mumble, much less carry a note, and he's not even close to singing. He sounds like he's a kid with DOWN syndrome drowning, recorded with a toaster and autotuned. And that's over Dot Da Idiot's terrible imitations of actual dream pop and shoegaze. WZRD should be castrated.
  8. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    This is a good album.Many people don't like it because its not something you would expect from Cudi.Before checking this out, keep in mind that this is an experimental album.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    These bedroom demo-sounding efforts are primitive. {Jun 2012, p.85]
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    40
    Wonky vocals and a lack of guile strangle the project, not least on Efflictim, where a terminal aimlessness befits the melodramatic-teen lyric[s]. [Jun 2012, p.115]
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    40
    The delicate balance of good-then-bad-then-good-again ideas and taste appears rarely on WZRD.