XXX

Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    XXX might just represent the most polished and fully formed manifestation of street-meets-art rap so far.
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    86
    XXX is something much more complex, challenging, and rewarding than a dirty joke.
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    82
    His gleeful love of words not only elevates some pretty heavy subject matter; it also helps distinguish XXX as one of the most compelling indie rap releases in an already strong year.
  4. Q Magazine
    Jul 10, 2012
    80
    Brown's vivid storytelling skills bear testament to a major talent. [Jun 2012, p.108]
  5. The Wire
    Dec 6, 2011
    80
    On XXX his own aesthetic seems fully formed. [Oct 2011, p.65]
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    That's the magic of XXX: whether joy, sadness or disgust, Mr. Brown will make you feel something.
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    XXX is a bloated album; 19-track albums are a thing of the early millennium past. But this bloat is a gluttonous glory.
  8. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    XXX is another excellent release from the man who is one of the best rappers out there, proving that you can be lyrical and street at the same time, and that hip-hop doesn't have to be one dimensional.
  9. Dec 6, 2011
    70
    Beyond its confrontational veneer lies a 19 track collection of a good number of 2011's hardest, freshest, most concrete bars imaginable.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing. Have not heard an album like this. Innovative. One of my favorites of 2010, however if you're not into experimental music,Truly amazing. Have not heard an album like this. Innovative. One of my favorites of 2010, however if you're not into experimental music, don't bother. Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    So refreshing to hear a rapper with some zany far-out personality. I have grown to love the crazy danny brown with the insane voice on songsSo refreshing to hear a rapper with some zany far-out personality. I have grown to love the crazy danny brown with the insane voice on songs like xxx and monopoly but I also freakin love the more serious, softer voice of songs like party all the time. A lot of people are sleeping on him because they don't like how he sounds or how he looks, but i really could care less. The dude has talent and i can't wait to hear more from him. Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Favourite Songs: Pac Blood, Die Like A Rockstar, 30, Party All The Time
    Least Favourite Songs: Radio Song
    I like it.
    I wasn't really that into it until I got past his voice and realised how many great songs there are on the album. The beats go hard on the first half to match Danny Brown's crazy shocking lyrics and they're really spaced out on the second half to match the melancholy lyrics about drug abuse. Brown has a few memorable lines throughout. Ironically I can only remember one at the moment; "you've got no clue like a toy store without board games". Maybe not the most impressive wordplay ever but it highlights the Adderal Admiral's weird personality. I don't know wether I love it because of the fact it's a concept album or because of how unique he sounds or because of any number of reasons but I find myself returning to it on a daily basis.
    Improvement On Previous Project?: I haven't heard itv
    Try This If You Like: CLPPNG by clipping.
    Full Review »