XXX

XXX Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Detroit rapper's latest mixtape was made available on his label's website for free.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    XXX might just represent the most polished and fully formed manifestation of street-meets-art rap so far.
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    86
    XXX is something much more complex, challenging, and rewarding than a dirty joke.
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    82
    His gleeful love of words not only elevates some pretty heavy subject matter; it also helps distinguish XXX as one of the most compelling indie rap releases in an already strong year.
  4. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    XXX is a bloated album; 19-track albums are a thing of the early millennium past. But this bloat is a gluttonous glory.
  5. The Wire
    Dec 6, 2011
    80
    On XXX his own aesthetic seems fully formed. [Oct 2011, p.65]
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    That's the magic of XXX: whether joy, sadness or disgust, Mr. Brown will make you feel something.
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    70
    Beyond its confrontational veneer lies a 19 track collection of a good number of 2011's hardest, freshest, most concrete bars imaginable.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing. Have not heard an album like this. Innovative. One of my favorites of 2010, however if you're not into experimental music,Truly amazing. Have not heard an album like this. Innovative. One of my favorites of 2010, however if you're not into experimental music, don't bother. Collapse
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Danny's flow and wordplay are something else. It takes time to get used to his voice, but it's worth it. Give this record a spin, theDanny's flow and wordplay are something else. It takes time to get used to his voice, but it's worth it. Give this record a spin, the production will surprise you. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This album has everything you could want in a rap album. Dannys flow is sometimes aggressive and mostly joking, but he does it in such a wayThis album has everything you could want in a rap album. Dannys flow is sometimes aggressive and mostly joking, but he does it in such a way that it works perfectly. If you listen to the album from track 1 to the end it is a story. The first half is when he is messed up on drugs, and the second half is when he is coming down off the drugs and realizing where his life is at. Its a album that you can look at it in a grand scheme of things and realize the albums songs all flow into each other perfectly. With punchlines that rival the best in the game, what is not to love about this album? Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    One of the best and most inspiring rap record to come out in the last Five years, From the crazy songs like: Outer space to Aderall Admiral toOne of the best and most inspiring rap record to come out in the last Five years, From the crazy songs like: Outer space to Aderall Admiral to Straight bars like : Pac blood, To the fun : blunt after Blunt, I will, Lie4, Bruiser Brigade, To the storytelling of: noosebleeds or Party all the time, Then the Depressing: 30 just an all around Great rap record which has you waiting for his next album. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    XXX is by far one of the most compelling albums I've heard in a while. Danny Brown may have an annoying voice to some. If you can get past itXXX is by far one of the most compelling albums I've heard in a while. Danny Brown may have an annoying voice to some. If you can get past it (I certainly did), you really do get some great music. Lyrically, Danny isn't a wordsmith. But he is oozing with personality, humor, wit and compassion. The production is minimalistic for the most part and it kinda reminds me of Lil B's style of production. But Danny sounds right at home on some of these songs like I Will, Radio Song, Lie4, Outer Space and Monopoly. These songs don't rely on MBDTF style production to get a reaction out of you. They rely on Danny's lyrics to convey the message. And what's the message exactly on this album? Basically, that Danny Brown is a 30-year old, drug abusing weirdo. But once the song DNA hits, the album turns a new leaf, Danny is rapping in a much more quiet voice and he talks about how his drug abuse has been herreditary and that it runs in the bloodline. The next few songs have him rapping in that voice and a lot more somber production. The last song has him rapping in his higher pitch where he's pretty much having a meltdown, he's taking more pills and trying to OD. That's how crazy it is, Danny Brown isn't really glorifying drugs in the same way Lil Wayne glorifies codeine. He just says that this is part of his life and he has no choice but to act that way. This album is funny, witty, tragic, strange and overall a blast to listen to. My only gripe is that the middle kind of drags a bit. But overall, this album is great. And totally worth looking into. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Great Album that is many things. XXX is entertaining, funny, and overall a pretty solid hip-hop album. Along the way the listener willGreat Album that is many things. XXX is entertaining, funny, and overall a pretty solid hip-hop album. Along the way the listener will experience a very odd hour of many assorted feelings of happiness and they will be caught in awe by what is Danny Browns triple X Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Favourite Songs: Pac Blood, Die Like A Rockstar, 30, Party All The Time
    Least Favourite Songs: Radio Song
    I like it.
    I wasn't really that into it until I got past his voice and realised how many great songs there are on the album. The beats go hard on the first half to match Danny Brown's crazy shocking lyrics and they're really spaced out on the second half to match the melancholy lyrics about drug abuse. Brown has a few memorable lines throughout. Ironically I can only remember one at the moment; "you've got no clue like a toy store without board games". Maybe not the most impressive wordplay ever but it highlights the Adderal Admiral's weird personality. I don't know wether I love it because of the fact it's a concept album or because of how unique he sounds or because of any number of reasons but I find myself returning to it on a daily basis.
    Improvement On Previous Project?: I haven't heard itv
    Try This If You Like: CLPPNG by clipping.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews