Yankee Hotel Foxtrot Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The long wait for this fourth album from Jeff Tweedy & co. is partially the result of the tumultuous recording process that left the band without its guitarist (Jay Bennett) and its record label (Warner/Reprise). Fellow Chicagoan Jim O'Rourke mixed the 11 tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. 100
    Complex and dangerously catchy, lyrically sophisticated and provocative, noisy and somehow serene, Wilco's aging new album is simply a masterpiece; it is equally magnificent in headphones, cars and parties.... No one is too good for this album; it is better than all of us.
  2. 100
    The sheer scope of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot is so utterly breathtaking that repeat airings only reinforce its stunning songcraft and otherworldly sonic splendor.
  3. I'm not sure if it's the work by O'Rourke or the progression of the group (or a little of both), but this disc is so multi-layered that it's easy to hear new things many many times after the first listen.
  4. After a while -- a familiarity period if you will -- it becomes clear that these songs are not only fully realized, they're damn near brilliant.
  5. 80
    The most common description of this much-discussed album over the past few months is that YHF is Americana's Kid A. In truth, it's more successful than that. [May 2002, p.112]
  6. Battered, bonkers and bewitching in equal parts, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot at last finds Wilco's "interesting" phase becoming downright fascinating. [May 2002, p.121]
  7. Yankee Hotel Foxtrot's faceless, airbrushed production takes you back to the dead days of 1970s AOR radio. [#220, p.66]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 87
  2. Negative: 5 out of 87
  1. MaxS.
    Apr 22, 2002
    10
    Flawless, haunting, stalking, lingering masterpiece. Wilco have arrived and cemented in place an album that is unique and familiar, an album Flawless, haunting, stalking, lingering masterpiece. Wilco have arrived and cemented in place an album that is unique and familiar, an album that is destined to be remembered. Brilliant. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Awesome, music from the rock and roll angels! Great songs jammed out to their max, along with slow and thoughtful sing-alongs. Instantly andAwesome, music from the rock and roll angels! Great songs jammed out to their max, along with slow and thoughtful sing-alongs. Instantly and unilaterally establishes the Tweedy legend. Expand
  3. JohnC.
    Aug 13, 2002
    10
    10/10...and its not even my favorite wilco album...
  4. TobyI
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    phenomenal album. it is one of those albums that i could listen to over and over again, even though i already know the whole thing by heart. phenomenal album. it is one of those albums that i could listen to over and over again, even though i already know the whole thing by heart. although some tracks are not as great as others, they lyrics are consistantly unbelievable, and it has gotten me hooked to the band and jeff tweedy. clearly, im a huge fan, and i could not have asked for a better album Expand
  5. SeamusS
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Though Not the most immediatly accesable album from the band, it remains one of their greatest, truley turning a corner in alternative Though Not the most immediatly accesable album from the band, it remains one of their greatest, truley turning a corner in alternative country and giving a big fuck you to the rest of the shity music world. If you're smart and not so full of yourself as to have to dislike it because alot of people do, you'll love it. remember kids there's a reason to why some albums are popular Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    many say that it is a kid a ripoff , but the truth is, that is infinitely better
  7. RickR
    Sep 18, 2003
    1
    Your chastizing me!! This album is not even close to the quality of some of justin timberlakes stuff.

See all 87 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.